WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Shoot Three "Avatar" Sequels Simultaneously, Release Dates Announced

Posted: August 2nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Shoot Three "Avatar" Sequels Simultaneously, Release Dates AnnouncedSubmit Comment
We just reported that James Cameron hired Josh Friedman (War of the Worlds) to help him re-write the script for "Avatar 2." And now comes word from 20th Century Fox, the director is making bigger plans for the franchise.

It was initially reported that Cameron will direct "Avatar 2" and "Avatar 3" back-to-back, but now the plan has expanded to include "Avatar 4." And in addition to Friedman, the helmer also hired Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver (Rise of the Planet of the Apes), and Shane Salerno (Savages) to collaborated with him on the screenplays for the next three installments.

All three will be filmed simultaneously with production set to begin next year. The release of "Avatar 2" is now set for December 2016. "Avatar 3" will follow in December 2017, and "Avatar 4" in December 2018.

"Building upon the world we created with 'Avatar' has been a rare and incredibly rewarding experience," said Cameron. "In writing the new films, I've come to realize that Avatar's world, story and characters have become even richer than I anticipated, and it became apparent that two films would not be enough to capture everything I wanted to put on screen. And to help me continue to expand this universe, I'm pleased to bring aboard Amanda, Rick, Shane and Josh -- all writers I've long admired -­ to join me in completing the films screenplays."

"Avatar" is the highest-grossing film of all time, and is also the top-selling Blu-ray disc of all time.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
timothy archer writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 7:24:38 AM

"The release of "Avatar 2" is now set for December 2016. "Avatar 3" will follow in December 2017, and "Avatar 4" in December 2018."

you know what? f*ck it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 7:41:15 AM

December 2018, 2019, and 2020. Got it!
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 7:52:40 AM

Seven years after the first? That's the better part of decade. Who will give a f*ck by then?

I have a feeling none of this Avatar business is going to turn out quite like old Cammy thinks. He might make one other, but what historical technological developments will he offer to audiences this time to get people running? Brand name? But Avatar isn't Star Wars, and mistaking one for the other might be his first hubristic overstep.
bandolero999 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:03:33 AM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
pornfly writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:09:30 AM

Now that that news is outta the way
No more Avatar news for 2 1/2years
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:15:58 AM

lol, yeah right!^
HerrGeneral writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:32:30 AM

good bye Battle Angels
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:32:36 AM

Instead of making something original like Cameron always did he's only motivated to make more money obviously.

What a shame and disgrace.

Patrick Bateman writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:34:54 AM

the executives must have really needed an extra billion. please james 4 movies is the new trilogy
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:53:58 AM

RIP Cameron
Chris_G writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:56:45 AM

@mink

"Seven years after the first? That's the better part of decade. Who will give a f*ck by then?"

Both Aliens and Terminator 2 came 7 years after the first(Bit of a Cameron trend)

Star Wars Episode 1 came 16 years after Episode 6, The Hobbit came 9 years after Return of the King, Star Wars Episode 7 is coming 10 years after Episode 3(32 years after Episode 6)
Chris_G writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 8:58:48 AM

Terminator 3 was 12 years after the 2nd, Tron: Legacy was 28 years after the first, etc etc.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:09:07 AM

@Chris: I am aware that not all sequels arrive
immediately, but that wasn't my point. My point is that Avatar isn't Terminator. It's not Aliens. It's not even Fast and the Furious. It sure as f*ck isn't Star Wars.

Even most of the folks who enjoyed the first Avatar aren't salivating to see another one. I know I'm not. I couldn't even finish the BluRay, and believe it or not, it's very, VERY rare I cannot or will not finish a film.

On the other hand, I can watch Aliens, Terminator, even The Abyss repeatedly in a month and never ever get tired of them.

That was my point, specifically, that Avatar just doesn't get people fired up, and by the time Cammy makes another one, in 2016, people may have just forgotten the first one.

He should have struck again while the iron was hot. But no, he needs seven years to make more blue cat people dancing among the tress of Unobtanium, I mean Pandora.
ollos1986 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:13:13 AM

@Chris_G
I agree with you, you saved me some typing, don't worry about mink he has bitch fits about every movie
ollos1986 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:19:03 AM

@mink
Learn what Chris_G said Bout JC sequels... They always work out... You are such a simpleton!!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:41:06 AM

lol, I grew up watching James Cameron while your fathers were d*ckfeeding the both of you. I'm well aware of when Cameron made what. I was actually THERE when the films appeared in theaters. lol.




Kids. In such a hurry to have something to say in reply, they don't even bother to comprehend what they've read or bother to request clarification.

I weep for the future of humanity.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:47:49 AM

6 Reasons Avatar Sucks


http://www.overthinkingit.com/2010/01/13/6-reasons-avatar-sucks/
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:49:25 AM

True to form for movies like this, the technology the humans employ in Avatar is poorly suited to combat with the Na’vi to a comical degree. True to my expectation, the villain is killed by arrows shot through the giant glass window of his steel battlesuit. Arrows. Wooden arrows. Against a space marine. Disgusting.



lol!
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:50:14 AM

LOL Exactly what Deaft said! They ain't releasing these on time, Not to mention a fourth probably won't even happen. Exspecially after they find out that nobody gives a f*ck about the series anymore.

Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:50:48 AM

and if anyone needed a proof that Putman is gay,check out his latest fb status message as response to what is happening in Russia
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:52:32 AM

Don't weep for me mink! I'm smart I swear lol
Cannon writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:54:17 AM


Poor Cameron. Still trying to fulfill his own version of a Star Wars legacy. Still diluted into thinking the first Avatar, despite its financial success, was some kind of pop-cultural shift-turned-instant classic like the original Star Wars was.

Jimbo's got the audacity -- he's got balls -- I'll give him that. But, really, that's all he's got. Because nowhere in sight do I see a genuinely interesting story-pop-myth that's worth revisiting with three more goddamn sequels.

There's really no other clever or crafty way to say it, so I'll just say as simply as possible: Avatar just wasn't that great ...bland, forgettable, dated, vanilla.
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:55:55 AM

6 Reasons Avatar Sucks:

1.sh*tty script
2.Sam Worthington
3.little action
4.too much cgi
5.gay aliens
6.ultra crap soundtrack
TRUEMAN writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:56:14 AM

By the way where is the leading actor of GAYVATARD? where is this international star? i wonder what happen with his successful movie career?
EAT FROG sh*t CAMERAN!

BadChadB33 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:03:03 AM

I could care less.
ollos1986 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:20:20 AM

@Mink
I can read your personality but you can't read mine cause you think I'm some kid just like everything else you have ever posted I say to that "WRONG AGAIN DOUCHE BAG"!
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:26:00 AM

You're 27 years old and crying because someone is talking trash about Avatar and Fast and the Furious.

Functionally, that makes you a f*cking retard in my book.

And yes, I knew your age from your moniker. ollos1986? 14 + 13 = 27?

Durrrr.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:30:50 AM

I like how the 27 year old retard tells me I'm wrong when I "assume" he's a man-child, but he then goes on to reinforce his supposed maturity by calling me a "douche bag" in all capital letters.

lol.
ollos1986 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:35:19 AM

@ mink
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
"Wrong again" "old man"
Not to mention that didn't describe my personality!
You ignorant person.
You choose to take your poor child hood out on other people's work because you choose to compensate for some of your short comings.
After all this time you have never been able to answer why the hell you are on here considering you don't like movies
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:45:30 AM

I can't take anyone who puts more then three 'Ha's' in their 'Hahaha' seriously. ^
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:55:40 AM

Meh. I experience great difficulty trying to take seriously a 27 year-old "man" with a Bart Simpson avatar.

Must be a south of the border thing as I hear Mexico is just now getting season ten of The Simpsons.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:06:05 AM

"After all this time you have never been able to answer why the hell you are on here considering you don't like movies"


You should instead ask me a question that doesn't presume the validity of a falsehood.


Zzzzzzz.....
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:30:21 AM

guess who wrote that...

'If the cinema is first and foremost about ratcheting up emotions within the viewer, then "Avatar" has not done its job. Sam Worthington (2009's "Terminator Salvation"), Sigourney Weaver (2008's "Baby Mama") and an especially striking Zoe Saldana (2009's "Star Trek") give it their all, but they are let down by James Cameron's negligible pen. Here, he has become so enraptured with his flights of computerized fancy that he has lost track of the film's very substance and soul. Without that, and without much in the way of novel imagination, all that is left are some pretty pictures and a well-meaning, if sanctimonious, advertisement for Greenpeace. Unfortunate though it is, "Avatar" isn't even worth a fraction of its built-in hype.'
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:44:15 AM

Putzman?
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:46:09 AM

correct.

here's your prize:

http://ep.xhamster.com/000/036/497/777_1000.jpg
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 11:50:56 AM

Thanks mate but I'm still at this office...
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 12:24:29 PM

Bad news: Ellen DeGeneres will host the Oscars!


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2383720/Ellen-Degeneres-emcee-Academy-Awards-second-time.html
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 12:29:27 PM

That is super lame…^

Ricky Gervais should host.
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 12:49:14 PM

let her host it - doesn't matter anyway since this show sucks every year and the movies that get nominated every year are made for 80 year old critics.
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 12:50:26 PM

like who the f*ck enjoyed 'Lincoln' ? slow boring piece of crap
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 12:51:02 PM

Funny ad:


http://www.funnyplace.org/stream/kuoni-travel-holidays-22576/
vincere01 writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 12:57:32 PM

Cameron has not made a good film since true lies, ever since he went off the deep end literally leading up to and during and after titanic. Maybe something in the deep blue depths changed him, maybe he has just lost it. I dont know.

but if you have to go all the way back to when arnold was respectable bankable star, tom arnold was comicly relevant(tiny window), jamie lee curtis wasnt saggy and grey, and when elisha dushku was just a kid then thats saying something.

just retire jim, please, while you still have a tiny shred of respect left from audiences and before you completely sh*t the bed as far as looking back 50 years from now on your legacy as a whole.

just STOP
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 1:02:52 PM

^word
Rambo writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 2:04:00 PM

35 min into 'the internship' - what a dud...
d.nadeau writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 3:44:39 PM

James Cameron is greek for pretentious douche.
That Guy writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 4:17:59 PM

I did not like the first Avatar film
so I have no interest in seeing its
sequels.

Ricky Gervais will never be brought
on to host the Oscars because his brand
of humor makes the Hollywood elite way
too uncomfortable.

Machete Kills looks like it's going to
be a lot of fun!

Hey if you're in the mood to have pizza
tonight, then you might want to try this
place:

http://www.dominos.com/

Not only do they have a couple of
different styles of pizza such as
thin crust and pan, but they also
have breadsticks, cinnamon sticks,
chicken wings, pasta, sandwiches,
and more. Maybe give it a shot,
maybe not, it's up to you.
supaflywill writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 4:41:00 PM

Maybe ...just maybe ....Cameron should of done the new Star Wars with this new tech ...but instated he is he'll bent on creating his own world in avatar . Which in all honesty is a food film ...fern fully with cgi lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 4:44:27 PM

@That Guy

Why in the hell do you randomly advertise fast food & take-out places in your posts? I would understand if you were posting some affiliate link and were trying to earn a commission sneakily from someone possibly ordering online from Domino's, but it's just the normal url.

Seriously WTF?!?
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 5:27:20 PM

Where are all the happy trolls to tell us that Avatar was a GREAT movies? Where's Spooky to argue Avatar was Cammy's greatest hit ever?
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 5:41:01 PM

New Transformers 4 Video Featuring Explosions

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/transformers-4-first-look-explosions-youll-paying-see-154424368.html
pornfly writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:15:15 PM

Good thing Transformers isnt based on a true story
otherwise no one would wanna see it
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 9:45:23 PM

Man Who Played the Original Klingon Has Died


http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/wireStory/michael-ansara-played-original-klingon-dies-19858471
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:10:57 PM

@mink

I did see Avatar in theaters and it was okay the first time through but it is certainly not a masterpiece and it ends how it should and I don't see any need for sequels.

Stephen Lang was the best aspect of it because he is a very good actor and his character represented 'conservatism' but was the most interesting.
DriveMemento writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 10:04:08 AM

lol I remember Minkowski saying Avatar was going to bomb so bad before it came out. You don't know sh*t Minkowski.
DeVries writes:
on August 3rd, 2013 at 1:48:35 PM

I hope he will take a few days break to come and suck my sh*t while it's hot.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved