WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pacific Rim" Sequel May Actually Happen

Posted: August 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pacific Rim" Sequel May Actually HappenSubmit Comment
"Pacific Rim" cost $200 million to make, but grossed only $37 million during its opening weekend. In three weeks of release, the film has only been able to gross $86 million domestically, far from enough to earn back the money spent on the production and marketing.

The good news is that "Pacific Rim" has been performing much better overseas, already grossing $140 million. The film hit theaters in China, where it gross a record-breaking $9 million. That's 23% more than any "Harry Potter" installment. The week before that, "Pacific Rim" took first place at the international box office, despite being released in only half of the global territories.

While domestically "Pacific Rim" will likely only earn $100 million, there's a chance that it may actually end up profitable due to its success overseas. Because of this, Warner Bros is now considering developing "Pacific Rim 2," something that director Guillermo Del Toro is eager to get to work on.

Click here to read our "Pacific Rim" review.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:25:38 AM

Unless they're enormously desperate for franchises, WB should pass on a Pacific Rim sequel and angle instead for something far cheaper to produce. Surely, outside their DC portfolio, they have other series they can refresh or reboot.
Taco writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:25:46 AM

(Head smack)
cress writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:29:25 AM

Make the sequel devoid of cheesy dialogue, cliched characters, and bad acting and I might be interested. Tell you what, just make it 2 hours of jaegar/kaiju smackdowns and I'll f*cking go. I'm easy.
Taco writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:31:55 AM

WB should try making a movie that doesnt contradict its own "movie logic"; like building giant robots to protect cities and people only to have said robot distroy trample and kill in populated areas. Just a little common sense is all I ask.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:34:19 AM

what cress said.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:38:01 AM

@Taco: is that what happened? They built robots to defend the cities only to fight within them? lol. You'd think the robots would battle far outside the cities then. You'd think they'd have early warning systems. You'd think they would have missile strike systems that would at least slow the critters down. Gigantic battle boats. Anything to keep the monsters in the water instead of the middle of downtown.

Pacific Rim sounds stupid as hell. del Toro must have taken that pedestrian Super Nintendo Ultraman game far too literally.

Taco writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:39:39 AM

The action and fighting in Pac Rim reminded me of MOS. Completely reckless disregard of any and everything around the protagonist just to have a cgi action scene of destruction.
Taco writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:46:04 AM

They did fight in the water but it was so close to the cities they made it there anyway. Yeah some missile system to kill or slow them down would be too easy. And yeah it was dumb. All the decisions the earth defense made no sense! After years of research and resources and trillions spent building the f*cking robots, the drop the program and build s wall! A f*cking wall to stop them! Of course that didnt work so que the rogue pilot and his old robot.
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:49:10 AM

Click here to read our "Pacific Rim" review

https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/p480x480/600394_493103454079986_1176218649_n.jpg
Avirex writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:02:57 AM

The studios probably recommended the battles need to take place in densely populated cities. Likely because according to data collected by executive John Doe Coke Snorter the people prefer watching cities being destroyed by the protagonists. Sadly, Coke Snorter isn't necessarily wrong if Transformers and Man of Steel is any indication.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:26:08 AM

I'll watch the first one on saturday before I have an opinion on a sequel but announcements like this basically ruin the end of the film for me, now I know that everyone doesn't get killed and the earth destroyed... unless it's a prequel... Atlantic Anus?

THE_c*nt you funny c*nt!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:26:34 AM

I'll watch the first one on saturday before I have an opinion on a sequel but announcements like this basically ruin the end of the film for me, now I know that everyone doesn't get killed and the earth destroyed... unless it's a prequel... Atlantic Anus?

THE_c*nt you funny c*nt!
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:06:16 AM

database error

database error

database error
Taco writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:08:18 AM

Time for the daily data base error!
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:09:00 AM

DATABASE GODDAMNED ERROR!
velocityknown writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 11:15:02 AM

@Taco

Really you wanted common sense out of Pacific Rim? Dude, the movie doesn't pretend its anything more than what it markets itself as: Monsters fighting robots.

I think it's HUGELY unfair to compare Man of Steel and Pacific Rim.

Man of Steel tried to have its cake and eat it too. It tried to be a overtly serious superhero movie where everything is grounded in reality, etc, etc, Christopher Nolan. But it also wanted you not to question that there were hundreds of thousands of people dying because of Superman's ridiculous recklessness.

Pacific Rim didn't take itself too seriously. Del Toro knew what kind of movie he was making. He wanted it to be like an anime come to life and a Godzilla movie. They don't really ever linger on the fact that people probably die as a result of collateral damage, but it's not the type of movie that sets itself in a cinematic universe where those consequences matter. Is it silly? Of course. But it's supposed to be! At least they acknowledge in the prologue that thousands of people die in Kaiju attacks which is more than Man of Steel did when the entire Daily Planet staff was back to work the next f*cking day as if nothing had happened talking about going to basketball games (seriously, what the f*ck?).

Pacific Rim doesn't have the disaster porn that Man of Steel and Roland Emmerich films have. Most of the fights took place in the ocean or on the outskirts of a city. I remember a few buildings being destroyed in the Tokyo fight but it hardly lingered on it. A big part of that fight took place in a shipyard area. And it's hardly the CG masturbation fest that Man of Steel was in its f*cking ridiculous Superman/Zod fight scenes. You'd think a fight scene between a giant robot and a monster would be harder to watch than a fight scene between two people. But then again, Guillermo Del Toro and Zack Snyder are VERY different directors.
velocityknown writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 11:17:45 AM

As you can probably tell: I hated Man of Steel and loved Pacific Rim.

Also, does anyone know what the deal is with Lois Lane and Superman in the Man of Steel sequel? Alex, can you inform of us of whether or not Lois will know that Superman is Clark Kent?

I NEED TO KNOW!!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 11:37:21 AM

What velocityknown said. Taco just looks stupid bitching about the logic, or lack thereof in Pacific Rim. It's purely a sci-fi/live-action anime movie. Who gives a f*ck about imaginary collateral damage?

Also i'd much rather see a sequel to PR than MoS.
Shafty writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 12:38:57 PM

ugh I miss the days before CGI sometimes. Where people actually had to think about what the f*ck they were filming for a few minutes
Taco writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:16:35 PM

Deaftone says: Who gives a f*ck about imaginary collateral damage?

Okay well lets take your logic to its next natural conclusion. Who gives a f*ck about the characters too? Who gives a f*ck about the story or whats happening in it? Why should I care about anything? If the movie doesnt give a f*ck, then why should I? There's clearly no investment here so all I have is an appreciation for the animators cgi work. Well guess what? Thats not good enough! I have no problem with "fun" movies, but keep your movie world in check and dont under mind it with contradictions with in itself. And im tired of watching dumb characters make dumb decisions just to have another dumb action scene just for the sake of it. Sorry if my wishing for a little consistency in story telling is ruining your love for Pac Rim.
And yes MOS was worse, but Pac Rim still sucked.
M. Bullitt writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:22:42 PM

Pacific Rim was a boring CGI sh*tfest! The kind of flick made for an audience like Forrest Gump as you don't have to Think AT ALL. As I said a very boring stupid piece of sh*t!

Man Of Steel was all right but I think Brandon Routh would have been better than Cavill.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:33:56 PM

Pacific Rim II: Ass Rim
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:41:16 PM

@mink
Besides Harry Potter all they had was Dark Knight and that's done. So DC is all they got. LOL
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:42:19 PM

Didn't watch this one, Won't watch a sequel.
BadChadB33 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:32:27 PM

No more database Error!! Maybe I can finally post now. Again Alex take your head outta DP's crotch and fix your damn website.

As for this, 1 was good 2 will be over kill. Make a Hellboy 3.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:43:50 PM

Global c*me is currently at $225 million. At this rate it'll probably hit the low end of my predicted $300-$350million global tally when it finishes its run. Unlike Alex's characterization of this film as a 'massive flop,' it will end up barely paying its own bills.

Some are so quick to judge!
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:33:51 PM

DATABASE ERROR

please contact Rambo for help.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:38:44 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybJWKZB0Erk
SACdaddy writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:39:27 PM

"@Taco: is that what happened? They built robots to defend the cities only to fight within them? lol. You'd think the robots would battle far outside the cities then. You'd think they'd have early warning systems. You'd think they would have missile strike systems that would at least slow the critters down. Gigantic battle boats. Anything to keep the monsters in the water instead of the middle of downtown."

They covered all that in the first 20 mins of the film in seriously the longest opening sequence ever. It still didn't make much sense, but it did answer many of those questions and scenarios you mentioned. There was a warning system (which they used the entire film). Missiles and standard military defenses worked very well for a while until the monsters (and their aliens sending them) got smarter and more aware how to beat said defenses. Humans created the giant robots to keep up with these adaptations and they worked well for a time too (getting to the point where killing monsters was more sport and entertainment than dire necessity). With the monsters on the ropes, (in a move straight out of current conservative playbooks) the world's nations start defunding giant robot program (that worked) and instead start building giant walls to keep the monsters out of the cities (which of course worked about as well as the walls we're building now to keep Mexicans out of the US). The aliens stepped their game up and started sending more monsters more frequently putting man on the brink of annihilation again. The robot program is resurrected and a plan to attack the source of the monsters (in the Pacific Rim) is hatched. And that's where the real film starts.

Outside of bad acting and dialogue the film's premise and backstory were decent IMO (and should have been the actual focus of the film imo). What I didn't understand was why the robots didn't use more weapons to fight these monsters. They did try to meet the monsters before they hit the cities though. Sometimes the monsters just broke through the defenses and made it to the cities, and the jaeger fighters had to duke it out wherever the fight landed.

As for Man of Steel, am I the only one who appreciated all the collateral damage of a Kryptonian fight? Fights like this (or much much worse) have gone on for years in Superman comics (and others), so why now are we worried about collateral damage. I think the films established a version of Superman that the comics (or at least the ones or the last 30 years or so) never intended. He's fast for sure, but the idea of him being everywhere at once always bothered me. Even the first Donner film tried to address this a little when Lois is killed in the earthquake while Supes is off saving everyone else, but they overcome her death by doing something far less plausible than him being everywhere at once. In the comics he tried to be the savior of the world and every soul in it, but he rarely succeeded when a major fight was brought to his doorstep (ie Darkside, Braniac, even Lex). Here's where the question should be asked imo: Do you want a Superman who is so amazing that he is completely and utterly not unbound by any sense of reality at all like in the first 4 films, or do you want one who's based in some form of reality where actions have consequence and people die. I'll take the latter because it creates points of conflict and contention that should make for a more interesting hero and better story lines in his future. Humans are going to have to deal with how powerful he is and the damage just his sheer presence creates for the people of Earth. Hell, that's what MOS is all about, dealing with the alien among us and choosing whether to accept him and all the baggage (good and bad) that comes with him. I guarantee that will be a major theme of the next film (kind of like Supes embracing his humanity was in Superman 2).

I also think all the collateral damage and the killing of Zod could be a great catalyst for developing Superman's moral code of no killing that has been a part of the character forever but who's origin had never been explained before MOS. You see how much it hurt him to kill Zod even after all the death and destruction he'd caused. Maybe the pain is so great that SM vows never to kill anyone (good or bad) from that point on. Remember this is just the first chapter in the modern character's story much like Batman Begins is for Bruce Wayne. It establishes the WHY behind all of the character's future choices and actions. That's good character development imo and should be interesting to watch as he evolves.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:39:33 PM

I honestly think 'Dude,where is my car?' is a better movie then 'Man of steel'
velocityknown writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:42:12 PM

I feel like, every week I have to explain why Man of Steel was a terrible movie. So here we go again:

I've never been crazy about the Reeve/Donner films and I never saw Superman Returns. I entered Man of Steel with just about a clean of a slate that you can have, however, when it comes to this movie, it doesn't really matter what baggage you came in with. It's just not a very well made movie.

This could have very good movie about fathers and sons (what they were apparently going for), only they didn't seem interested in pursuing that theme after the first hour of the movie. They skipped right through the Jonathan Kent scenes and I never felt like the chemistry or material that Kal and Jor El shared was enough to make me feel invested in their relationship. Also, you just can't help but feel that Pa Kent is a pretty damn illogical in what he says about keeping Clark's secret. It's one thing to say, "Don't fight kids because you could really hurt them." But to imply that he "maybe" shouldn't have kept a school bus full of children from drowning would be totally irredeemable for a character that wasn't being played by Kevin Costner. All I could think after that is: How stupid is he? Clearly, it'd be more of a problem if Clark was the only survivor of the crash. Either situation is going to draw attention to itself, at least the saving option comes with more lives saved and less guilt for his son.

Not to mention the way he died was completely idiotic, but we're well past that having any effect at this point.

Nothing between Kal and Jor worked because their whole scene was exposition of something we'd already seen in the opening 25 minutes. It was just boring.

Goyer's script ranged from mediocre and inoffensive to just plain bad in so many places. There were lines that literally made me cringe backwards into my seat and one that actually made me throw my hands up in the air. The pacing and structure of it was all wrong as well. You have Superman getting his suit in the first 30/40 minutes which is fine, but they built it up as this moment where the audience is supposed to say "Finally!" Superman has his suit and he's flying!" But it just fell completely flat, probably because there was no real build up since the movie had pretty much just started (at least Clark's Earth story had).

Lots of moments that were annoyingly on the nose. Clark sitting in front of the Jesus stained glass. Sinking into the skulls. C'mon. You gotta be a bit more subtle than that.

Zod was a little too...villainy for a villain. Let me explain: He showed his cards to his detriment at every turn and it just made me think he was kind of an idiot. It also was never made clear which genetic beings he would want to wipe out on Krypton (stupid people?) and it seemed like his villainous plans were divulged only so that the audience would really have a clear picture of Zod as the bad guy. Because his coup makes sense considering what we've been presented with and then he talks about genocide like two seconds into his presentation to Jor El and you're just wondering: Is this guy the world's worst villain? Even Hitler didn't make the Holocaust a part of his original pitch. Michael Shannon, an actor I usually love, was lackluster here as he was never really given much to do except yell, which he does well, but it's nothing I haven't seen before done to much better effect.

Speaking of actors: Henry Cavill. He's cardboard. Dude can't act. Want to know why this is his first big role and he's missed out on James Bond, Superman the first time, and many other high profile parts: Because he can't act!

Here's where the collateral damage thing comes in:

The ending was frustrating in a number of ways. It's supposed to be this huge moment when Superman kills Zod (because Superman doesn't kill I'm assuming) but he hasn't even been Superman long enough for us to be aware of the weight of this no-kill rule AND he just probably killed thousands of people with his reckless fighting. So it didn't really sit with me that he'd be so upset after just killing one evil dude. So what? This one genocidal maniac matters to Superman, but not the innocent people he just killed by being a f*cking idiot?

This might be a personal preference, but if Zack and Co really want to make this a 21st Century Superman, they should've dropped the Daily Planet angle. It made me so mad in its idiocy that people who definitely saw this guy fighting in Metropolis and other parts of the world, who was found so easily by a reporter, would walk into a newspaper organization with only a pair of glasses using HIS REAL NAME. One of the largest cities in the world was just destroyed, more reporters will be trying to find out who he is, they definitely will (and that's not even considering in this day and age that some people definitely got pictures of him on their phones), and they'll say, "Oh Clark Kent works at The Daily Planet. That secret last 2 full days!"

So yeah. It was a lazily put together movie. At best.
velocityknown writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:43:29 PM

*why I thought Man of Steel was a terrible movie
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:17:54 PM

I've not seen Pacific Rim.
Nihilus writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:21:37 PM

Who cares....
Tanman32123 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:28:44 PM

Why would I lie yea big c*nt
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:32:02 PM

According to Forbes, Alex is an idiot

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2013/08/01/the-wolverine-waterworld-and-other-flops-that-werent
WallyDee writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:01:54 PM

I hope they make a sequel! Pacific Rim was awesome!
Saw it twice in Imax, great popcorn movie.
KillerCOck writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:39:34 PM

pointless, this movie was trash. However a Prequel would be more interesting than a sequel.
That writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:44:03 PM

I actually think this may be possible if Del Toro does it.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 8:46:30 PM

@Scrapes:

The World Without the US....a propagandist film made by Niall Ferguson, the Brit who never ever fails to tell the world America's empire is great because it reminds him of the British Empire, wish is where Ferguson's brain is stuck: the glory of the Union Jack, and Mitch Anderson, a Stalinist reactionary who believes as long as it's not the Soviet Union and it's not China, it's a-okay.
Janus writes:
on August 2nd, 2013 at 4:27:26 AM

That's what I keep saying. The domestic market doesn't matter anymore. The international market is the important one. It's not what I came up with. It's what Hollywood producers said in interviews this year but seriously, it's been obvious before.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved