WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Someone Leaked "The Expendables 3" Online, Already Downloaded 200,000 Times
Jul 26th, 2014
Marvel's "Ant-Man" Loses Patrick Wilson and Two Other Actors
Jul 26th, 2014
"Argo" Writer in Talks for "Justice League"
Jul 25th, 2014
"24" Movie and "X-Files" Reboot May Happen
Jul 25th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Role in "Shazam" Superhero Film
Jul 25th, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Writer Hints at Direction of Third Film
Jul 25th, 2014
Vin Diesel on "xXx 3" and Guillermo Del Toro on "Pacific Rim 2"
Jul 25th, 2014
Poster for "Chappie" Robot Film, with Sharlto Copley and Hugh Jackman
Jul 25th, 2014
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"

Posted: August 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
Back in March, James Cameron revealed that was still writing the scripts for "Avatar 2" and "Avatar 3." Now comes word that Cameron hired Josh Friedman to do some re-writes on the "Avatar 2" script.

Friedman is no strange to sci-fi, having previously worked on Steven Spielberg's "War of the Worlds" and expanded Cameron's "Terminator" franchise by creating "Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" TV series.

Not much is known about the sequels, except that Cameron is planning lots of underwater scenes and that "Avatar 2" was initially targeted for Christmas of 2014. Whether that's still the plan is unclear.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:28:55 AM

I just couldn't bring myself to watch the Terminator television series. I tepidly tried, but from what I glimpsed, it looked terrible. A female teenage Terminator named Cameron? Way too hokey. Should have been on the CW or something.

Kind of sad though someone like Cameron needs a television writer to do a rewrite. You'd think he'd have the script nailed down in his head, since he declared tot he world he was now exclusively in the "Avatar business".
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:37:55 AM

T:SCC started off strong
But it ended up being what MINK said,
CW material

Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:41:11 AM

did anyone manage to watch the first one without breaks ?
Stapes writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:42:59 AM

Don't know if that's much of an improvement but couldn't get much worse
cress writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:46:07 AM

Yeah, the show sucked, but I wanted to bang the female Terminator. She reminded me of a hotter Christina Ricci, minus the gigantic forehead.
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:52:16 AM

Cameron asked,"Are you the writer of Sarah Connor?"
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:13:50 AM

Lena Headey was a decent Sarah Connor but everyone else hung around her giving lukewarm performances at best. Also I never bought Shirley Manson from Garbage as the secret Terminatrix running SkyNet.

The season 2 series finale wasn't too bad though.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

Xmas 2014? If cameras aren't running within a month that's going to be an impossible date to hit. It's probably already too late.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:50:09 PM

Sarah Connor Chronicles I think started and ended on a strong note but the problem with making 20-something long seasons on subject matter that is very restricted to basically finding those behind Skynet and who to trust is hard. The seasons should have been 13 episodes. I think what the show needed was a more compact storyline. Plus Fox...well don't get me started on their history with bad television programming and scheduling. One word..."Firefly".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:54:06 PM

On the matter of the film itself, for some reason I feel he still could meet the Christmas date of 2014. He already has the technology and assuming the underwater mechanics are ready he should be able to just take everyone into the sound stages and film. It's not like a normal film where they have to worry about weather conditions or something stupid like that. So I can see this being filmed and done in about a year at the most.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:39:09 PM

No f*cking way. The original Avatar took 2 1/2 years to finish from the beginning of principal photography. If they haven't even finished the f*cking script for this, how on earth will they do it in less than a year and a half? You can argue 'but the already have all the assets built, blah blah blah' but sorry, that NEVER pans out as a valid argument. Unless you shoot these films back-to-back on a continuous production schedule, you're basically reinventing the wheel every time you start back up. In fact, the more I think about it, the more I realize that a Xmas '14 release date is completely f*cking impossible. When you consider the number of VFX shots, in 3D, no less, the render time alone will take months.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:02:54 PM

@mustardayonnaise
I looked up info and he said 2015 is when the film would be released so Alex I don't know where you are getting your info but 2015 is the planned release date.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:04:34 PM

A+ TO ALEX FOR ACCURATE AND THOROUGH REPORTING.

jesus christ
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:19:59 PM

@cinema

lmao :-)

where can i see the full movie?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:07:05 PM

Rambo- Alien vs Predator 3 only released on Vhs in Vietnam.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:25:00 PM

damn,i knew i should have kept my vhs player
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 6:58:23 PM

http://www.deadline.com/2013/08/fox-james-cameron-set-group-of-writers-to-spearhead-trio-of-avatar-sequels/

According to the Deadline article the first sequel will be out December 2016.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:56:28 PM

2014, 2015. He had better hurry. Because by X-mas of next year half a decade will have passed since the first film. People just may not be that interested in a sequel so far removed from the first. Not like this is Star Wars.

As for whether they can hit the date...no clue. I do agree with Mustard that of they haven't started principle photography by now, they're not going to hit the X-mas 2014 date. Way too much CGI. Setting up those kinds of shots takes months. And again like Mustard said, the rendering alone will take at least several weeks if not months. I say weeks because someone like Cameron isn't going to wonk around on 2008-09 hardware.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 9:19:46 PM

@Mink- true, but he's also not going to be rendering at 2008-09 resolutions and poly counts.

Basically, however much time the studio gives them, they'll aim for a few months beyond that, because hey, HE'S f*ckING JAMES CAMERON, AND f*ck YOU. What do they say? The liquid expands to fill the allotted volume...

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved