WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Watch IMAX Trailer for "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 18th, 2015
"X-Men: Apocalypse" Unveils Photos of Apocalypse, Psylocke and Storm
Jul 17th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Finally Hires Writers
Jul 17th, 2015
Stephen King's "It" Movie Hires a Director
Jul 17th, 2015
Casts of "Batman v Superman" and "Suicide Squad" Unite for Photo Shoot
Jul 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Joy," with Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro
Jul 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"

Posted: August 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
Back in March, James Cameron revealed that was still writing the scripts for "Avatar 2" and "Avatar 3." Now comes word that Cameron hired Josh Friedman to do some re-writes on the "Avatar 2" script.

Friedman is no strange to sci-fi, having previously worked on Steven Spielberg's "War of the Worlds" and expanded Cameron's "Terminator" franchise by creating "Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" TV series.

Not much is known about the sequels, except that Cameron is planning lots of underwater scenes and that "Avatar 2" was initially targeted for Christmas of 2014. Whether that's still the plan is unclear.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:28:55 AM

I just couldn't bring myself to watch the Terminator television series. I tepidly tried, but from what I glimpsed, it looked terrible. A female teenage Terminator named Cameron? Way too hokey. Should have been on the CW or something.

Kind of sad though someone like Cameron needs a television writer to do a rewrite. You'd think he'd have the script nailed down in his head, since he declared tot he world he was now exclusively in the "Avatar business".
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:37:55 AM

T:SCC started off strong
But it ended up being what MINK said,
CW material

Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:41:11 AM

did anyone manage to watch the first one without breaks ?
Stapes writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:42:59 AM

Don't know if that's much of an improvement but couldn't get much worse
cress writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:46:07 AM

Yeah, the show sucked, but I wanted to bang the female Terminator. She reminded me of a hotter Christina Ricci, minus the gigantic forehead.
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:52:16 AM

Cameron asked,"Are you the writer of Sarah Connor?"
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:13:50 AM

Lena Headey was a decent Sarah Connor but everyone else hung around her giving lukewarm performances at best. Also I never bought Shirley Manson from Garbage as the secret Terminatrix running SkyNet.

The season 2 series finale wasn't too bad though.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

Xmas 2014? If cameras aren't running within a month that's going to be an impossible date to hit. It's probably already too late.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:50:09 PM

Sarah Connor Chronicles I think started and ended on a strong note but the problem with making 20-something long seasons on subject matter that is very restricted to basically finding those behind Skynet and who to trust is hard. The seasons should have been 13 episodes. I think what the show needed was a more compact storyline. Plus Fox...well don't get me started on their history with bad television programming and scheduling. One word..."Firefly".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:54:06 PM

On the matter of the film itself, for some reason I feel he still could meet the Christmas date of 2014. He already has the technology and assuming the underwater mechanics are ready he should be able to just take everyone into the sound stages and film. It's not like a normal film where they have to worry about weather conditions or something stupid like that. So I can see this being filmed and done in about a year at the most.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:39:09 PM

No f*cking way. The original Avatar took 2 1/2 years to finish from the beginning of principal photography. If they haven't even finished the f*cking script for this, how on earth will they do it in less than a year and a half? You can argue 'but the already have all the assets built, blah blah blah' but sorry, that NEVER pans out as a valid argument. Unless you shoot these films back-to-back on a continuous production schedule, you're basically reinventing the wheel every time you start back up. In fact, the more I think about it, the more I realize that a Xmas '14 release date is completely f*cking impossible. When you consider the number of VFX shots, in 3D, no less, the render time alone will take months.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:02:54 PM

@mustardayonnaise
I looked up info and he said 2015 is when the film would be released so Alex I don't know where you are getting your info but 2015 is the planned release date.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:04:34 PM

A+ TO ALEX FOR ACCURATE AND THOROUGH REPORTING.

jesus christ
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:19:59 PM

@cinema

lmao :-)

where can i see the full movie?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:07:05 PM

Rambo- Alien vs Predator 3 only released on Vhs in Vietnam.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:25:00 PM

damn,i knew i should have kept my vhs player
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 6:58:23 PM

http://www.deadline.com/2013/08/fox-james-cameron-set-group-of-writers-to-spearhead-trio-of-avatar-sequels/

According to the Deadline article the first sequel will be out December 2016.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:56:28 PM

2014, 2015. He had better hurry. Because by X-mas of next year half a decade will have passed since the first film. People just may not be that interested in a sequel so far removed from the first. Not like this is Star Wars.

As for whether they can hit the date...no clue. I do agree with Mustard that of they haven't started principle photography by now, they're not going to hit the X-mas 2014 date. Way too much CGI. Setting up those kinds of shots takes months. And again like Mustard said, the rendering alone will take at least several weeks if not months. I say weeks because someone like Cameron isn't going to wonk around on 2008-09 hardware.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 9:19:46 PM

@Mink- true, but he's also not going to be rendering at 2008-09 resolutions and poly counts.

Basically, however much time the studio gives them, they'll aim for a few months beyond that, because hey, HE'S f*ckING JAMES CAMERON, AND f*ck YOU. What do they say? The liquid expands to fill the allotted volume...

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved