WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"

Posted: August 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
Back in March, James Cameron revealed that was still writing the scripts for "Avatar 2" and "Avatar 3." Now comes word that Cameron hired Josh Friedman to do some re-writes on the "Avatar 2" script.

Friedman is no strange to sci-fi, having previously worked on Steven Spielberg's "War of the Worlds" and expanded Cameron's "Terminator" franchise by creating "Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" TV series.

Not much is known about the sequels, except that Cameron is planning lots of underwater scenes and that "Avatar 2" was initially targeted for Christmas of 2014. Whether that's still the plan is unclear.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:28:55 AM

I just couldn't bring myself to watch the Terminator television series. I tepidly tried, but from what I glimpsed, it looked terrible. A female teenage Terminator named Cameron? Way too hokey. Should have been on the CW or something.

Kind of sad though someone like Cameron needs a television writer to do a rewrite. You'd think he'd have the script nailed down in his head, since he declared tot he world he was now exclusively in the "Avatar business".
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:37:55 AM

T:SCC started off strong
But it ended up being what MINK said,
CW material

Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:41:11 AM

did anyone manage to watch the first one without breaks ?
Stapes writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:42:59 AM

Don't know if that's much of an improvement but couldn't get much worse
cress writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:46:07 AM

Yeah, the show sucked, but I wanted to bang the female Terminator. She reminded me of a hotter Christina Ricci, minus the gigantic forehead.
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:52:16 AM

Cameron asked,"Are you the writer of Sarah Connor?"
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:13:50 AM

Lena Headey was a decent Sarah Connor but everyone else hung around her giving lukewarm performances at best. Also I never bought Shirley Manson from Garbage as the secret Terminatrix running SkyNet.

The season 2 series finale wasn't too bad though.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

Xmas 2014? If cameras aren't running within a month that's going to be an impossible date to hit. It's probably already too late.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:50:09 PM

Sarah Connor Chronicles I think started and ended on a strong note but the problem with making 20-something long seasons on subject matter that is very restricted to basically finding those behind Skynet and who to trust is hard. The seasons should have been 13 episodes. I think what the show needed was a more compact storyline. Plus Fox...well don't get me started on their history with bad television programming and scheduling. One word..."Firefly".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:54:06 PM

On the matter of the film itself, for some reason I feel he still could meet the Christmas date of 2014. He already has the technology and assuming the underwater mechanics are ready he should be able to just take everyone into the sound stages and film. It's not like a normal film where they have to worry about weather conditions or something stupid like that. So I can see this being filmed and done in about a year at the most.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:39:09 PM

No f*cking way. The original Avatar took 2 1/2 years to finish from the beginning of principal photography. If they haven't even finished the f*cking script for this, how on earth will they do it in less than a year and a half? You can argue 'but the already have all the assets built, blah blah blah' but sorry, that NEVER pans out as a valid argument. Unless you shoot these films back-to-back on a continuous production schedule, you're basically reinventing the wheel every time you start back up. In fact, the more I think about it, the more I realize that a Xmas '14 release date is completely f*cking impossible. When you consider the number of VFX shots, in 3D, no less, the render time alone will take months.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:02:54 PM

@mustardayonnaise
I looked up info and he said 2015 is when the film would be released so Alex I don't know where you are getting your info but 2015 is the planned release date.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:04:34 PM

A+ TO ALEX FOR ACCURATE AND THOROUGH REPORTING.

jesus christ
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:19:59 PM

@cinema

lmao :-)

where can i see the full movie?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:07:05 PM

Rambo- Alien vs Predator 3 only released on Vhs in Vietnam.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:25:00 PM

damn,i knew i should have kept my vhs player
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 6:58:23 PM

http://www.deadline.com/2013/08/fox-james-cameron-set-group-of-writers-to-spearhead-trio-of-avatar-sequels/

According to the Deadline article the first sequel will be out December 2016.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:56:28 PM

2014, 2015. He had better hurry. Because by X-mas of next year half a decade will have passed since the first film. People just may not be that interested in a sequel so far removed from the first. Not like this is Star Wars.

As for whether they can hit the date...no clue. I do agree with Mustard that of they haven't started principle photography by now, they're not going to hit the X-mas 2014 date. Way too much CGI. Setting up those kinds of shots takes months. And again like Mustard said, the rendering alone will take at least several weeks if not months. I say weeks because someone like Cameron isn't going to wonk around on 2008-09 hardware.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 9:19:46 PM

@Mink- true, but he's also not going to be rendering at 2008-09 resolutions and poly counts.

Basically, however much time the studio gives them, they'll aim for a few months beyond that, because hey, HE'S f*ckING JAMES CAMERON, AND f*ck YOU. What do they say? The liquid expands to fill the allotted volume...

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved