WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "The 33" Chilean Miners Rescue Film
Apr 1st, 2015
Trailer for Jack Black's "The D Train" Comedy
Apr 1st, 2015
"Arrow" Star Stephen Amell to Play Casey Jones in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2"
Apr 1st, 2015
Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje is Killer Croc in "Suicide Squad"
Apr 1st, 2015
New Trailer for "Spy" Comedy, with Melissa McCarthy, Jason Statham and Jude Law
Apr 1st, 2015
Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Mar 31st, 2015
Disney to Make Live-Action "Mulan" Movie
Mar 31st, 2015
Trailer: Dwayne Johnson Stars in Disney's Action-Packed "Bambi" Film
Mar 30th, 2015
First Footage From "The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series
Mar 30th, 2015
"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
Mar 30th, 2015
"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
Mar 30th, 2015
New Footage in "Jurassic World" TV Spot
Mar 30th, 2015
Photo: Hugh Jackman Hints at Final Appearance as Wolverine
Mar 29th, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
Mar 29th, 2015
20th Century Fox to Turn Popular "The Leviathan" Short Film into Feature Film
Mar 29th, 2015
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"

Posted: August 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
Back in March, James Cameron revealed that was still writing the scripts for "Avatar 2" and "Avatar 3." Now comes word that Cameron hired Josh Friedman to do some re-writes on the "Avatar 2" script.

Friedman is no strange to sci-fi, having previously worked on Steven Spielberg's "War of the Worlds" and expanded Cameron's "Terminator" franchise by creating "Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" TV series.

Not much is known about the sequels, except that Cameron is planning lots of underwater scenes and that "Avatar 2" was initially targeted for Christmas of 2014. Whether that's still the plan is unclear.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:28:55 AM

I just couldn't bring myself to watch the Terminator television series. I tepidly tried, but from what I glimpsed, it looked terrible. A female teenage Terminator named Cameron? Way too hokey. Should have been on the CW or something.

Kind of sad though someone like Cameron needs a television writer to do a rewrite. You'd think he'd have the script nailed down in his head, since he declared tot he world he was now exclusively in the "Avatar business".
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:37:55 AM

T:SCC started off strong
But it ended up being what MINK said,
CW material

Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:41:11 AM

did anyone manage to watch the first one without breaks ?
Stapes writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:42:59 AM

Don't know if that's much of an improvement but couldn't get much worse
cress writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:46:07 AM

Yeah, the show sucked, but I wanted to bang the female Terminator. She reminded me of a hotter Christina Ricci, minus the gigantic forehead.
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:52:16 AM

Cameron asked,"Are you the writer of Sarah Connor?"
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:13:50 AM

Lena Headey was a decent Sarah Connor but everyone else hung around her giving lukewarm performances at best. Also I never bought Shirley Manson from Garbage as the secret Terminatrix running SkyNet.

The season 2 series finale wasn't too bad though.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

Xmas 2014? If cameras aren't running within a month that's going to be an impossible date to hit. It's probably already too late.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:50:09 PM

Sarah Connor Chronicles I think started and ended on a strong note but the problem with making 20-something long seasons on subject matter that is very restricted to basically finding those behind Skynet and who to trust is hard. The seasons should have been 13 episodes. I think what the show needed was a more compact storyline. Plus Fox...well don't get me started on their history with bad television programming and scheduling. One word..."Firefly".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:54:06 PM

On the matter of the film itself, for some reason I feel he still could meet the Christmas date of 2014. He already has the technology and assuming the underwater mechanics are ready he should be able to just take everyone into the sound stages and film. It's not like a normal film where they have to worry about weather conditions or something stupid like that. So I can see this being filmed and done in about a year at the most.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:39:09 PM

No f*cking way. The original Avatar took 2 1/2 years to finish from the beginning of principal photography. If they haven't even finished the f*cking script for this, how on earth will they do it in less than a year and a half? You can argue 'but the already have all the assets built, blah blah blah' but sorry, that NEVER pans out as a valid argument. Unless you shoot these films back-to-back on a continuous production schedule, you're basically reinventing the wheel every time you start back up. In fact, the more I think about it, the more I realize that a Xmas '14 release date is completely f*cking impossible. When you consider the number of VFX shots, in 3D, no less, the render time alone will take months.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:02:54 PM

@mustardayonnaise
I looked up info and he said 2015 is when the film would be released so Alex I don't know where you are getting your info but 2015 is the planned release date.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:04:34 PM

A+ TO ALEX FOR ACCURATE AND THOROUGH REPORTING.

jesus christ
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:19:59 PM

@cinema

lmao :-)

where can i see the full movie?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:07:05 PM

Rambo- Alien vs Predator 3 only released on Vhs in Vietnam.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:25:00 PM

damn,i knew i should have kept my vhs player
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 6:58:23 PM

http://www.deadline.com/2013/08/fox-james-cameron-set-group-of-writers-to-spearhead-trio-of-avatar-sequels/

According to the Deadline article the first sequel will be out December 2016.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:56:28 PM

2014, 2015. He had better hurry. Because by X-mas of next year half a decade will have passed since the first film. People just may not be that interested in a sequel so far removed from the first. Not like this is Star Wars.

As for whether they can hit the date...no clue. I do agree with Mustard that of they haven't started principle photography by now, they're not going to hit the X-mas 2014 date. Way too much CGI. Setting up those kinds of shots takes months. And again like Mustard said, the rendering alone will take at least several weeks if not months. I say weeks because someone like Cameron isn't going to wonk around on 2008-09 hardware.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 9:19:46 PM

@Mink- true, but he's also not going to be rendering at 2008-09 resolutions and poly counts.

Basically, however much time the studio gives them, they'll aim for a few months beyond that, because hey, HE'S f*ckING JAMES CAMERON, AND f*ck YOU. What do they say? The liquid expands to fill the allotted volume...

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved