WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Henry Cavill Says "Man of Steel" Sequel Will Happen
Jul 7th, 2015
Watch Two Action Scenes From "Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation"
Jul 7th, 2015
First Look at Pixar's "Sanjay's Super Team" Short Film
Jul 7th, 2015
Disney Making Live-Action "Prince Charming" Movie
Jul 7th, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" and "Magic Mike XXL" Flop in Theaters
Jul 6th, 2015
"Deadpool" on EW's Comic-Con Magazine Cover
Jul 6th, 2015
The Falcon in New "Ant-Man" TV Spot
Jul 6th, 2015
Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
Jul 5th, 2015
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"

Posted: August 1st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Hires "Terminator" TV Series Writer for "Avatar 2"Submit Comment
Back in March, James Cameron revealed that was still writing the scripts for "Avatar 2" and "Avatar 3." Now comes word that Cameron hired Josh Friedman to do some re-writes on the "Avatar 2" script.

Friedman is no strange to sci-fi, having previously worked on Steven Spielberg's "War of the Worlds" and expanded Cameron's "Terminator" franchise by creating "Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" TV series.

Not much is known about the sequels, except that Cameron is planning lots of underwater scenes and that "Avatar 2" was initially targeted for Christmas of 2014. Whether that's still the plan is unclear.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:28:55 AM

I just couldn't bring myself to watch the Terminator television series. I tepidly tried, but from what I glimpsed, it looked terrible. A female teenage Terminator named Cameron? Way too hokey. Should have been on the CW or something.

Kind of sad though someone like Cameron needs a television writer to do a rewrite. You'd think he'd have the script nailed down in his head, since he declared tot he world he was now exclusively in the "Avatar business".
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:37:55 AM

T:SCC started off strong
But it ended up being what MINK said,
CW material

Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:41:11 AM

did anyone manage to watch the first one without breaks ?
Stapes writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:42:59 AM

Don't know if that's much of an improvement but couldn't get much worse
cress writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:46:07 AM

Yeah, the show sucked, but I wanted to bang the female Terminator. She reminded me of a hotter Christina Ricci, minus the gigantic forehead.
pornfly writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:52:16 AM

Cameron asked,"Are you the writer of Sarah Connor?"
Deaft0ne writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 10:13:50 AM

Lena Headey was a decent Sarah Connor but everyone else hung around her giving lukewarm performances at best. Also I never bought Shirley Manson from Garbage as the secret Terminatrix running SkyNet.

The season 2 series finale wasn't too bad though.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

Xmas 2014? If cameras aren't running within a month that's going to be an impossible date to hit. It's probably already too late.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:50:09 PM

Sarah Connor Chronicles I think started and ended on a strong note but the problem with making 20-something long seasons on subject matter that is very restricted to basically finding those behind Skynet and who to trust is hard. The seasons should have been 13 episodes. I think what the show needed was a more compact storyline. Plus Fox...well don't get me started on their history with bad television programming and scheduling. One word..."Firefly".
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 2:54:06 PM

On the matter of the film itself, for some reason I feel he still could meet the Christmas date of 2014. He already has the technology and assuming the underwater mechanics are ready he should be able to just take everyone into the sound stages and film. It's not like a normal film where they have to worry about weather conditions or something stupid like that. So I can see this being filmed and done in about a year at the most.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 3:39:09 PM

No f*cking way. The original Avatar took 2 1/2 years to finish from the beginning of principal photography. If they haven't even finished the f*cking script for this, how on earth will they do it in less than a year and a half? You can argue 'but the already have all the assets built, blah blah blah' but sorry, that NEVER pans out as a valid argument. Unless you shoot these films back-to-back on a continuous production schedule, you're basically reinventing the wheel every time you start back up. In fact, the more I think about it, the more I realize that a Xmas '14 release date is completely f*cking impossible. When you consider the number of VFX shots, in 3D, no less, the render time alone will take months.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:02:54 PM

@mustardayonnaise
I looked up info and he said 2015 is when the film would be released so Alex I don't know where you are getting your info but 2015 is the planned release date.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:04:34 PM

A+ TO ALEX FOR ACCURATE AND THOROUGH REPORTING.

jesus christ
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 4:19:59 PM

@cinema

lmao :-)

where can i see the full movie?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:07:05 PM

Rambo- Alien vs Predator 3 only released on Vhs in Vietnam.
Rambo writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 5:25:00 PM

damn,i knew i should have kept my vhs player
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 6:58:23 PM

http://www.deadline.com/2013/08/fox-james-cameron-set-group-of-writers-to-spearhead-trio-of-avatar-sequels/

According to the Deadline article the first sequel will be out December 2016.
minkowski writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 7:56:28 PM

2014, 2015. He had better hurry. Because by X-mas of next year half a decade will have passed since the first film. People just may not be that interested in a sequel so far removed from the first. Not like this is Star Wars.

As for whether they can hit the date...no clue. I do agree with Mustard that of they haven't started principle photography by now, they're not going to hit the X-mas 2014 date. Way too much CGI. Setting up those kinds of shots takes months. And again like Mustard said, the rendering alone will take at least several weeks if not months. I say weeks because someone like Cameron isn't going to wonk around on 2008-09 hardware.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on August 1st, 2013 at 9:19:46 PM

@Mink- true, but he's also not going to be rendering at 2008-09 resolutions and poly counts.

Basically, however much time the studio gives them, they'll aim for a few months beyond that, because hey, HE'S f*ckING JAMES CAMERON, AND f*ck YOU. What do they say? The liquid expands to fill the allotted volume...

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved