WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bizarre Facts about Last Year's "The Town" Inspired Robbery Revealed

Posted: July 31st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bizarre Facts about Last YearSubmit Comment
Last year, we heard of a robbery in which three white men dressed as cops robbed a check-cashing place, fully armed. The entire robbery was inspired by Ben Affleck's "The Town" movie. The men were eventually caught and are now on trial in federal court, where bizarre facts about the case are coming out.

It turned out that the white men are actually black men, who spent many months planning their robbery, which included the hiring of a special-effects company, CFX Composite Effects, which worked on such films as "2 Guns" and "Wolverine." According to the company, the men told them that they needed the disguises for a music video and paid $2,000 to be turned into white men.

Just like in "The Town," they dressed as cops, doused bleach at the crime scene to destroy DNA traces and provided evidence to a victim (a photo of her house) to prove they knew where she lives in case she decided to talk to police.

Within roughly three minutes, the thieves raided a safe and a cash drawer and got away with $200,000. The money didn't last very long, because the men immediately began spending, buying pricey Gucci and Louis Vuitton clothes, and an $11,000 Rolex watch.

Prosecutors showed a photo of one of the men actually wearing "The Town" t-shirt (see below). They also plan to show four clips from the film in order to prove that there are similarities between the movie and the robbery.

Witnesses were shocked to learn that the men were black, telling the court that they were completely convinced that they were being robbed by three white men.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:29:47 AM

Hey, it's John Singleton.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:32:43 AM

Where the hell were the Wayans Brothers when this happened?!
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:38:33 AM

Black guys committing robbery? I'm shocked, I tell ya, shocked!
Taco writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:46:52 AM

Black guys recklessly spending money on jewlry after a crime???? No way dude! That never happens!
Avirex writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:49:43 AM

There was also a guy a couple years ago running around robbing various banks while wearing an expensive 'black man' mask while actually being a white guy.

Then there's the young Asian dude who got caught on a plane wearing an 'old white man' disguise.

Basically, this sh*t happens often.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:52:45 AM

When I rob a bank, I'm wearing a Jack Nicholson mask.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:53:03 AM

Every movie looks better with a shark

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/slideshow/sharks-make-movies-19820299
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:53:23 AM

How did they catch those wankers?
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:57:34 AM

They followed the trail of chicken wings and Colt 45 cans.
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 8:11:39 AM

@Avirex

The black mask guy that was in London wasn't it?
telur writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 8:25:29 AM

so how be they could be caught?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:17:42 AM

They figured everything out except the most important part, how to spend the money. Is it because all the actual clever people all have jobs that criminals do silly sh*t like this?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:28:16 AM

Why are black people so strong? TVs are getting heavier.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:30:48 AM

The Olympics: The only time black people ever run BEFORE they get the gold
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:32:33 AM

A black man takes a girl home from a nightclub. She says, "Show me it"s true what they say about black men."So he stabbed her and nicked her purse.
Aubrey Plaza 123 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 10:11:53 AM

@ alex

stop deleting me (please)

http://www.movieplayer.it/video/trailer-a-most-wanted-man_14658/
TonyWalnuts writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 10:20:47 AM

Well I appreciate the theatre of their crime but f*ck'em no doubt they have traumatised witnesses for life.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 10:45:13 AM

Haha Aubrey Plaza 123 asks to stop being deleted, then posts more spam. Can't tell if winding him up or actually retarded...
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 11:12:40 AM

I wouldn't be surprised that Aubrey Plaza is actually Bane/Tom Cruise/General Zod aka Gerry Kenelly. Either way, he sure spam like him.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 11:22:13 AM

soubnds liek they took alot of precautions about the robbery not to be caught but then when it works lets throw money at tmz reporters
pornfly writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 11:27:39 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTSrrhabozQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player
pornfly writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 12:18:57 PM

Here ya go BANDO
Ip Man3
youve probably already seen this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yOhL98YjIU&feature=youtube_gdata_player

just turn the 'cc' on
bandolero999 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 12:24:57 PM

thanks i havent seen that one.I did get to see the link of Fast 6 you put here.and i'm glad i didnt pay for that movie.

Vinny weasel knocking out meatheads with headbutts and him catching Michelle rodriguez in the air.
velocityknown writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 12:26:20 PM

American Hustle trailer debuts. Amy Adams is hot.

http://www.avclub.com/articles/american-hustle,100980/
pornfly writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 12:37:41 PM

Yea,BANDO
Alot of times you gotta jump on those youtube links before theyr taken off

Youtube streaming cuts off at around 1hour06
I have read to prevent recording(which is stupid)
Just restart youtube

If a vid gets taken off
Just wait till Reddit posts another
Oblivion got taken off while i was watching
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 1:01:48 PM

@Velocity

Thanks mate. It's too bad that Tart of Jennifer Lawrence is ruining it. Looks promising though.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 1:17:02 PM

Hansel and Gretel:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdYznVMHZtk
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 2:33:02 PM

@Gerard Kenneally

Alex is deleting your accounts because you always post stupid spam links to bullsh*t no one cares about. If any of us want to watch or download movies online, we are resourceful enough to figure it out ourselves.
Rambo writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 2:58:54 PM

wtf is this sh*t? you call this movie news? go f*ck yourself !
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 3:35:58 PM

I actually find this hilarious, because they could have gotten away with it, if they didn't decide to adhere to classic stereotypes, and what not.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 4:50:28 PM

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ryanhatesthis/11-ways-to-cook-bacon-that-will-probably-kill-you
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 5:26:22 PM

This is why you should watch more than one robbery movie so you can take better precautions.
Joey Joe-Joe Jr. Shabadoo writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 5:44:55 PM

Hey there, folks, I'm just a new WP "Worst User" here to talk movies with you fine ladies and gentlemen! So, wow, those Sentinels look pretty neat! And that Alex... SHEESH, what a character, huh?


Heh heh heh...


Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 6:52:40 PM

Damn Blacks, What're they good for!
pornfly writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 6:53:57 PM

OT
Police were tipped off when one of the robbers E-mailed CFX to thank them for the realism and effectiveness of the masks
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 6:57:26 PM

@Joey
Welcome to worst previews. You won't be here long lol Most new people don't stay for over a month :P
Joey Joe-Joe Jr. Shabadoo writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:11:58 PM

@Tanman32123: Oh, I'm quite sure that I'll be "visiting" worstpreviews.com at least 2-3 times a day, EVERY day, for the rest of the web site's existence.

Heh heh heh...





Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 7:46:34 PM

@joey shabadouche

Ending every post with "heh heh heh" is very obnoxious.
cress writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 8:10:31 PM

Joey is with the FBI's Internet Crimes Division. He's the one that took down Ranger.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 8:10:32 PM

Yeah, I think that Database Error guy was here first anyway.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 8:35:35 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLMyxZV9op4
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:14:55 PM

You're the one who took down Ranger!? May you burn in hell! Lol Also, Was bored so I went and saw Red 2 today. Meh.. It was okay, Nothing id ever watch again. 6/10
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:15:53 PM

Alex- take your face out of DPs crotch and get the news updated by 8 like you used to.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:17:00 PM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.................
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:20:25 PM

Guys I'm going to the casino, Wish me luck!

I talk about my personal life with WP more then I do with anybody else, Is this sad?
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:21:54 PM

Yes. Very.




I had no idea Stephen Root is in Fox and the Hound 2. Huh.

Sure is very little secondary animation in that movie...
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:25:53 PM

They made a sequel to Fox and the hound? Who woulda knew!
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:43:04 PM

They made seven for Cinderella and ten for Aladdin.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved