WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp Says Disney Fought to Fire Him From "Pirates of the Caribbean"

Posted: July 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp Says Disney Fought to Fire Him From "Pirates of the Caribbean"Submit Comment
In a new interview, Johnny Depp revealed that Disney executives wanted to fire him after they got a look at what the actor was planning for his Captain Jack Sparrow character in the first "Pirates of the Caribbean" film.

"I was probably as close to getting fired as anyone could be. They wanted to fire me so bad they could taste it," he said. "I spoke to one of the execs at the time and said, 'You're right, you should fire me but you'll have to pay me for my time.'"

Depp's over-the-top performance was too much for Disney, which worried about that the film would be impossible to market. "I'm very happy to explore all possibilities of a character and really dive into the role," the actor explained. "They couldn't understand what I was doing. They didn't understand the character. They were actually contemplating subtitling the film."

Depp ended up getting his first ever Oscar nomination for the role and "Pirates of the Caribbean" become one of Disney's biggest franchises, which is now in its fifth film.

Source: Metro


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:30:57 AM

Umm.. this is really old news Alex. This was talked about when the movie came out on blu ray. Seriously this is way old news.
alexgi writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:33:36 AM

@Taco: Depp mentioned this before, but never said that he dared the studio to fire him.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:39:14 AM

That's why old men in suits shouldn't have any say over the direction of a film aimed at young audiences. WANKERS.
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:39:39 AM

At first I found a bit strange to look at a dandy pirate but at the end he did a brilliant job.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:42:56 AM

In other words, he's the reason the series became such a huge hit despite the fact they wanted to can him in the beginning.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:55:22 AM

Wonder if they're looking at him the same now that The Lone Ranger exploded in their stupid suited faces?
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:59:39 AM

But when he played a Native American they same way in Lone Ranger,Disney said,"YOU GO HOMO NAVAHO"
boogiel writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:59:51 AM

This story is waaay too old. About 4 sequels old!
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:14:38 AM

Can i have a job here?
This place is right up my,lazy puertorican scoff law bare minimum half ass alley
Rambo writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:50:14 AM

and Taco wins the monthly award for provoking a rare response from Alex...Bravo Taco !
velocityknown writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 9:41:21 AM

You know it's funny that Depp and Disney...You know what I can't.

I can't sit here and pretend like this article never happened: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=29037
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:16:21 AM

Jesus the news gets sadder and sadder on here daily.
Rambo writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:57:08 AM

^news? where?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 12:36:18 PM

Rambo- Well the new for this site or lack thereof.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 12:52:47 PM

Check collider.com for the latest movie news!
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:09:37 PM

^ ^ I just did
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:09:38 PM

^ ^ I just did
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:09:58 PM

and it's great.

Cheers,
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:28:20 PM

Deaft- nice find!
Rambo writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:30:06 PM

@deaftone

thanks for the link.bookmarked.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:32:57 PM

Np, I like that site for the look and layout and they seem to update as often as possible.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:40:17 PM

Comingsoon.net is also really good
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 1:57:35 PM

Man! I can't believe ALL the real movie news I missed.

Alex and his bloody useless comic books updates.


Thanks BadChad,
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:02:59 PM

Yeah I like that one too.^
velocityknown writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:03:19 PM

Hitfix.com is my personal favorite.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:31:38 PM

It is sad I got to at least 6 different movie sites daily now. Lol
wesleysnipes123 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:35:47 PM

http://collider.com/elysium-movie-clips/
velocityknown writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:44:05 PM

@BadChad

I hope you're not counting this site in that list.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:53:29 PM

cityonfire gives free dvds and other cool sh*t away.

wp sh*ts out useless spam from bane/zod/gerard kenelly
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 5:20:12 PM

And if you're interested in that Velma cosplay link:

http://geektyrant.com/news/2013/1/20/sexy-scooby-doo-cosplay-velma.html
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 5:44:35 PM

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-3vQfkl3NGZQ/UZx6pKU5enI/AAAAAAAAHsI/WgWZgiqbuuk/s320/daphneCosplay.jpg
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 6:00:37 PM

http://rule34-data-000.paheal.net/_images/063f78451aa44c613d74d8127ae5c246/1058308%20-%20cosplay%20Scooby-Doo%20Velma_Dinkley%20Daphne_Blake%20Shaggy%20Freddy_Jones.jpg
Syrius73 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 6:07:37 PM

@minkowski:

Where is rottentomatoes in your list? :b
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 6:10:11 PM

It's a partial list only. I could grab only as many as would fit on the screen.
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 6:20:03 PM

OHF
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnS_lPAYF5I&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:02:18 PM

@pornfly

Yeah let's get high guy, we can talk about the imaginary action epic, EXPLOSION WAR, Starring Ace Chancer and Bruno Furby. With a special appearance by Clarissa Gourmet and Chi Skeffington as "Shotgun Billy".
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:35:53 PM

Just started Vehicle 49 the wife loves Paul walker looks like I might get laid tonight see not all sh*tty situations end in disaster
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:41:04 PM

You mean Vehicle 19? That movie sucked.
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:57:32 PM

Bobby Z was way better than i expected
Except for that extra Dustin ending
Reminded me of Ford Fairlane
But thats what FF was goin for

What kind of person posts a brown people movie under a Hollywood movie title,any f*ckin way?
With disabled comments?
You would think they would want to see the angry comments
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:58:08 PM

dustin=fruity
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 9:09:14 PM

Velocity- Nope I come to the site for the chit chat and colorful characters we have here.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 9:55:19 PM

To be sorta on topic, wtf is POTC 5&6 going to be based upon? The old Treasure Island story? Captain Hook? I suppose Peter Pan and Jack Sparrow could meet up for an adventure..
velocityknown writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:10:06 PM

Alex loves deleting images. You know what else he loves...

Not knowing how to watch Man of Steel.
velocityknown writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:10:14 PM

I'm not ever going to let that go.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:19:23 PM

He also loves sucking c*ck.
velocityknown writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:27:55 PM

^^^

I knew I was setting someone up for that as I wrote it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved