WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Spike Lee Responds to Criticism of His Attempt to Raise Money on Kickstarter

Posted: July 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Spike Lee Responds to Criticism of His Attempt to Raise Money on Kickstarter Submit Comment
A lot of people agree that there's something strange about successful filmmakers using Kickstarter to raise money for their films. The latest addition to this trend is big-time *sshole Spike Lee, who is attempting to raise $1.25 million for a new movie, about humans who are addicted to blood.

Even though Lee has every right to ask fans to give him money, unlike many filmmakers looking for funds on Kickstarter, Lee can actually raise money from studios or put the money in himself.

In a new interview, Lee responded to the criticism that he's taking funds away from struggling filmmakers. His main point is that the money is coming from people who would have otherwise never used Kickstarter if it wasn't for him.

"I'm bringing people to Kickstarter who never even heard of Kickstarter," he said. "I'm talking [about] a lot of people of color who've never heard of Kickstarter, who've never made a pledge on Kickstarter. I really think it's a fallacy, it's a misconception, and it's just plain-out wrong that because someone puts $5 in my film, that was $5 that a young filmmaker was going to get."

Source: FilmCourage


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:33:16 AM

Bringing people of color to kickstarter? Shut the f*ck up!
30YoVirgin writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:33:55 AM

I swear I read it "Stan Lee"
Taco writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:35:39 AM

If people of color aren't aware of kickstarter its because they either dont have access to Internet, or are too poor to contribute to a millionaire filmmaker whos too cheep to fund his own sh*t.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:42:01 AM

*COLOUR or African Amnesians as they prefer to be called.

"big-time *sshole Spike Lee,"

Gotta love a bit of unbiased, unprovocative, unread journalism. Bravo Alex... bravo....
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:48:42 AM

I like how even when talking about using Kickstarter to fund one of his bullsh*t movies, he has to mention "people of color", as if everyone else other than blacks simply ceases to exist inside his little brain.

f*ck this four-eyed maggot monkey dwarf.
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:53:18 AM

Its gotta be da shoes
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:57:47 AM

"about humans who are addicted to blood."

He should make a movie about humans who are addicted to welfare and call it "My People". Send Eric Holder two free tickets.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:00:04 AM

Anyone else getting the feeling his new movie is a thin anti-Semitic allegory? Would certainly explain why the little jungle dildo can't get Hollywood to pay up.
Taco writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:00:57 AM

^^^^ Lol no sh*t. Do a real black movie.
cress writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:24:21 AM

"...attempting to raise $1.25 million for a new movie, about humans who are addicted to blood."

MO' BETTER BLOOD
MALCOLM AB
DO THE SICKLE CELL THING
pornfly writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:26:45 AM

Blood In My StoolDaze
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:31:38 AM

Spike's right, he's not taking money away from other filmmakers by being on kickstarter, but goodluck getting "people of color," to invest in Blackula II, you're more likely to get them to start tipping at restaurants first.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:45:41 AM

All I want to say to Mr Lee is this.

f*ck OFF SPIKE LEE YOU BLACK c*nt!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:22:44 AM

f*ck off Spike!!
Džeko writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 10:38:05 AM

I heard that Zimmerman is moving to New York...that should take care of that.
drewsmit24 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 12:17:51 PM

A Spike Lee's fart > minkowski's life story
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 12:28:14 PM

he is such an *sshole
HerrGeneral writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 12:45:03 PM

"I'm talking [about] a lot of people of color who've.."

I'm sure if his kickstarter fails he'll accuse the site of being full of white nazi supremasicts, the usual..
WallyDee writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:05:27 PM

I asked this in a previous headline about Spike Lee, but it was to old so nobody responded so i'll ask again.

Why does Alex keep calling him a ''big time *sshole'' every single time there is news regarding Spike Lee???
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:12:21 PM

Because alex doesnt like spike after he bitched about clint eastwood not having an black actors in his flags of our fathers flick.... and lets face it, Clint's the sh*t.
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:13:13 PM

*any
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:16:36 PM

And drewsmit, not that I disagree with your statement, but if you're going to troll a semi-functioning retard like, little bitch minkowski, at least make an avatar.
WallyDee writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:18:28 PM

And thats it??

He should try counting the black actors in the LOTR trilogy, after that he can start calling Peter Jackson a ''big time *sshole'' too.
wesleysnipes123 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:37:18 PM

http://collider.com/elysium-movie-clips/
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 3:17:47 PM

@WallyDee

I think alex actually started calling him a big-time *sshole after Spike Lee gave out the wrong address on his twitter to his followers thinking it was George Zimmerman's address and telling them to kill him when it was some lady instead.

I seriously doubt that alex gives a sh*t about spike bitching about a lack of black actors in Flags of Our Fathers, which was a dull movie anyways.

Letters From Iwo Jima was the far superior film of those two.

WallyDee writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 3:19:30 PM

So no one knows for sure...
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 3:28:02 PM

Spike Lee has always been a d*ck though and he has always made really exaggerated and idiotic statements in interviews about 'black issues' as far back as I can remember. This statement from him regarding kickstarter is yet another example. So i'd understand if someone just dislikes him in general.
zxz writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 3:35:57 PM

Don't give any money to a struggling young white film maker on Kickstarter. Help middle-aged rich black *sshole Spike Lee because he brings people of color to Kickstarter. What a c*nt.
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 3:47:00 PM

@wallydee, that's just the first time I saw alex refer to him as *sshole, it may go back further, maybe alex can clear it up.
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 3:48:01 PM

@wallydee, that's just the first time I saw alex refer to him as *sshole, it may go back further, maybe alex can clear it up.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 4:49:50 PM

@stapes

You were not registered on here as a user back when Spike Lee made the comment about Flags of Our Fathers not having black actors in it, which was in 2008.

Also, I googled worstpreviews "spike lee" and before the Zimmerman incident, alex was just calling him "controversial" director Spike Lee, not a big-time *sshole. It changed to the latter in March of 2012.

If you can find any article prior to the Zimmy incident where alex called Spike Lee a big-time *sshole, then please post a link because I could not find any.
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 6:45:16 PM

Just because I wasnt registered then doesnt mean I didnt visit the site, dipsh*t. And I dont think the comment was even made at the time of the films release. And come to think of it, I think Alex was calling Spike "racist"asking at the time, *sshole came later, speaking of *ssholes, why dont you go a tongue punch a chocolate star fish, geek.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 6:56:34 PM

@stapes

I proved your claim wrong, plain and simple. No amount of backpedaling will change that because your inaccurate comments are right here in this very thread.

If I was unable to verify your claims with a simple google search then that makes you full of sh*t. Accept it.

Also, Spike Lee derided the lack of black actors in Flags of Our Fathers when his own film, Miracle At St. Anna came out in 2008, not right when FoOF came out in 06, another inaccurate claim from you.
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:23:08 PM

@deadftone, please share whatever powerful drug you're under the influence of that makes you think you have proved me wrong in some way, do you even read my posts? Or just the first three words and guess the rest. You have the intellect of a twelve year old and suffer from delusions that rival, minkowski's. Do the world a huge favor and get back to head butting a mirror rather than trying to instigate a thread feud that you dont have the m
Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:28:12 PM

ental strength to handle.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 7:39:47 PM

Stapes writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:12:21 PM
Because alex doesnt like spike after he bitched about clint eastwood not having an black actors in his flags of our fathers flick.... and lets face it, Clint's the sh*t.

Whatever you say, stupes.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:20:21 PM

@Deaftone: you're absolutely right. Alex never had much personal or public issue with Spike until he posted Zimmerman's address. That's a fact, and that's when he started calling Lee a big-time *sshole.

Anyway, don't argue with this lazy retarded imbecile who calls himself "stapes".

Ever notice how that idiot always places commas in the absolutely wrong place? Like between "rivals" and "minkowski"? It's not just a momentary mistake, either, because Brainiac does it repeatedly.

Another thing with this idiot was his inability to understand my simply Spider-man musing, or that he thought I was the one who thought Orwell was American (LOL!) even though it was clearly SacDaddy. Numerous other idiocies abound.

Then there's the issue where he accuses people of being drug-addicts even though he's done everything he can to broadcast his drinking problem.

Just ignore the little idiot. Perhaps he'll get wasted one night and murder his wife. We'll see him on Greta van Susteren or something.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:40:12 PM

@Stapes: you're a f*cking idiot. I just went back thought several hundred WP articles, mid-2008 to January 2009, and in none of them does Alex call Lee a racist.

Go get f*cked, idiot.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:40:26 PM

through
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:42:46 PM

Lol nice dude^

I am disregarding this turd as a digital anklebiter with zero notable things to say. You are expressing your own memory of when alex called Spike a BTAH and it was post Zimmy, not prior to.

It is corroboration and within stupes liquor-addled mind he perceives it as a slight to his paper-tiger ego.

I called it like I saw it so his hubris can get f*cked.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:50:21 PM

Sorry if my post is a bit jumbled, i'm going to eat at Macaroni Grill and my friends are loud&talkin.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 8:50:26 PM

^^Yep. Kind of like when I mildly questioned his joking about people getting blown apart by Muslim terrorists.
Frank4969 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 9:15:25 PM

@wallydee. What do you mean no blacks in lotr? Weren't there orcs , trolls , goblins and wring wraiths
WallyDee writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 6:06:04 AM

@Frank

Lol! you know what i mean.
Stapes writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 9:53:33 AM

Twiddle dumb and twiddle dumber are insane, alex has been calling spike "racist" and "*sshole" in every article for years, long before zimmerman.
struck21 writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 10:19:06 AM

Veronica Mars pulled this off only because the series fan wanted more and if they had to pay for it to get it they would and did. No one has wanted your movies since the early 90s. I am still pissed they let you butcher Old Boy let alone even considered you. Why don't you take your racist talentless ass off to some corner to masterubate with Dharpen and Jackson over everyone hating you. By the way, shut the f*ck up you black c*nt.
WallyDee writes:
on July 31st, 2013 at 12:54:08 PM

So Alex calling Spike Lee a big time *sshole is just a personal thing??

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved