WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp Plans to Retire Soon

Posted: July 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp Plans to Retire SoonSubmit Comment
Last month, Johnny Depp told Rolling Stone magazine that he can't see himself acting for another ten years. He has now clarified his comments, stating that he may retire fairly soon.

"I wouldn't say I am dropping out any second, but I would say it's not too far away," Depp told BBC Breakfast. "At a certain point you start thinking and when you add up the amount of dialogue you say per year and you realize you've said written words more than you've had a chance to say your own words that becomes an insane option for a human being. Are there quieter things I wouldn't mind doing? Yes, I wouldn't mind that."

Before Depp officially quits acting, he has several more films set to be released within the next 2-3 years, including "Into the Woods," "Transcendence," "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and possibly "Alice in Wonderland 2."

Source: Contact Music


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
i124q writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 7:07:57 AM

Yay!
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 7:46:19 AM

Dear god, whoever then will play the goofy gay overly made-up pirate/Indian/clown/whatever in all of Disney's bloated-budget amusement park ride movies, and how will Tim Burton take a dump without having Depp there to assist the turd on it's way to sh*t heaven?
cress writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 8:29:38 AM

The role of Johnny Depp will now be played by Helena Bonham Carter.
Whitta writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 8:31:04 AM

In unrelated news, Tim Burton plans to retire soon.
Rambo writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 9:08:37 AM

of course he plans to retire soon - he's a f*cking millionaire
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 9:11:40 AM

Aww Lone Ranger flops and he wants to quit.
mrstretch writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 9:28:43 AM

Overrated one trick pony. Go ahead and retire all your movies suck.
That writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 11:09:56 AM

Is POTC5 even have a script yet? I highly doubt it.
HerrGeneral writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 11:17:41 AM

I thought he already had after the massive box office hit that was The Tourist
vincere01 writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 11:57:23 AM

Spoiler, upcoming headline to read as follows.

TIM BURTON HAS AIDS, ONLY 6 MONTHS TO LIVE. Reports say he received it from helena who turns out is actually a man who had a sex change in the late 70's.

Coincidence that depp is retiring? I think not!
TheAmicko writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 12:12:21 PM

Why all the hate on Depp? Yes he has done some mediocre movies lately. How quickly people forget all the great ones.One trick pony???? Wtf. He is still one of the best and seems very genuine. If i remember correctly he only took on offbeat roles with a modest paycheck until the first pirates. And he was offered great leading man roles for Blockbusters for many years. He only wanted to give great performances for his fans and himself. How much integrityis there llike that in Ho-wood?
GreenLensman writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 12:20:31 PM

I really only liked fear and loathing ... and his small part in parnassus... you won't find me watching anything else he's made unless I start doing acid again...
Shafty writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 12:21:54 PM

I used to like Depp, but his star is long gone. Might have left after the 1st pirates.

Though I did kinda like Burtons Alice, theres no need for a sequel. Saw Dark Shadows on HBO over the weekend, what pile of sh*t, though interesting visuals, ill give it that.

Hopefully Burton retires/commits suicide when Depp leaves. Go enjoy your millions johnny, because no enjoys your crap movies anymore!
insightlessness writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 12:22:00 PM

I suppose if you didn't do every single movie you were offered you might not have that problem
cress writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 12:52:07 PM

I will personally fund a Kickstarter for FEAR AND LOATHING 2.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 12:53:30 PM

I liked dark shadows, the ending just sucked.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 1:49:28 PM

Bummy news
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 2:03:25 PM

I come to find it's not him that sucks in movies. It's the movies themselves. He always does very strange, unique roles but the movies he is in are so boring. Like 'Alice in Wonderland", he was great with his split personality Mad Hatter character, but the rest of the film was basically heavy visuals and zero character development.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 2:25:56 PM

Well said Sleuth!
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 2:45:28 PM

Is Fear and loathing any good? It's one of those movies I've always wanted to watch but never gotten around to it.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 4:43:09 PM

yes tanman is a weird movie.give it a chance
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 4:55:45 PM

Fear and Loathing is great, and one of Terry Gilliam's better films.

@TheAmicko, I think the hate stems from the fact that yes, Depp used to be an actor 'of note', even up through the first POTC, which was a great, interesting choice. But after that he's gone the way of the more typical sellout, rehashing the same quirky character in every following film. It's disappointing to see someone who used be quite credible go the way of the big paycheck.

And don't even try to defend sh*t like Dark Shadows or Alice in Wonderland as something he did in the name of 'art'.
sdpepper writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 5:12:02 PM

My two fav Depp movies are POTC1 & Dark Shadows. For me DS was freaking laugh fest from start to finish. I know there is a lot of haters for DS but I bought the blue-ray the day it came out......
pornfly writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 6:09:19 PM

dammit TAN
leave Cars,The Purge and White House Jumpstreet alone and watch Fear and Loathing already.

One of the few books Ive read also
Nihilus writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 6:59:38 PM

ABOUT f*ckIN' TIME!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 7:53:01 PM

Porn - Iol You're hurting my feelings.. And stop saying cars! I just stayed I liked it and now you always bring it up. And the purge was alright, But I'd never watch it again. And I'm sick of jump sh*t, It's overplayed.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 8:58:48 PM

Tanny is psyched up for Alice In Wonderland 2:The Dark World.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on July 29th, 2013 at 11:27:22 PM

Is this what every actor says after several major flops in a row?
vincere01 writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 12:01:49 AM

@tanman. Dont worry you will like fear and lothing. Im not a big benicio del toro fan but I looked past that.

then again.....you have kinda been on a movie hating bender as of late. I swear one more and us WP users might have to get you commited like miss bynes.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 2:39:24 AM

The guy sounds burnt-out, but at the same time, the f*cker is always working!!

He puts out films left and right and I think has sacrificed good, challenging roles for pigeon-holed quirky characters...which probably gives him small challenges to make his career not suck.

Anyway, I think he could've saved his star from going dull if he worked with more talented people doing more varied work.

And what?! No love for DONNIE BRASCO?! Depp and Pacino!! Michael Madsen badass as ever!! What's not to love?!...and it helps that the guy that the movie was based on says the way they did it in the movie was really how it went down.

I've had to buy that f*cking movie 3 times!! They've never returned it when I lent them out since very few have actually heard of it...bunch of uncultured, thieving movie c*nts.
GIST writes:
on July 30th, 2013 at 5:47:16 PM

"Too weird to live, too rare to die..." - Hunter S. Thompson
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 5:25:00 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved