WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone to Return for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"

Posted: July 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester Stallone to Return for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"Submit Comment
MGM has signed Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station) to direct "Creed," the seventh film in the "Rocky" franchise that will focus on Apollo Creed's grandson, played by Michael B Jordan (Chronicle, Fruitvale Station).

In the movie, Creed's grandson grows up with money thanks to his grandfather. The young man doesn't have to box and his family doesn't want him to. Yet, he has the natural instinct and gifts and potential that made his grandfather the heavyweight champion until Rocky Balboa took his crown in "Rocky II." Creed's grandson needs a mentor and turns to Balboa, who is out of boxing completely and not eager to return.

Sylvester Stallone will return as Rocky Balboa, who is now retired and spends most of his time training boxers. The plan is to start filming as soon as possible.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:44:34 PM

Rocky Balboa was a near-perfect swan song to the Rocky film series. This is just f*cking stupid.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:47:14 PM

Thanks for keeping us updated on the latest breaking news, Alex.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:47:23 PM

this is the dumbest sh*t i ever read.
mpiper821 writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:48:02 PM

Agreed.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:51:28 PM

I must be getting really old if Apollo Greed has a grandson old enough to fight professionally.






Yeah, the title should be Greed instead.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:55:21 PM

great now rockys gonna go interracial and listen to lil wayne and two chains.i rather have a sequel to bullet in the head than or over the top than this sh*t
bandolero999 writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 11:59:09 PM

this youngblood of jordans already annoying the f*ck outta me trying to be black human torch and all.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:01:36 AM

Jordan was excellent in that liberal-championed Poor Ole Negro narrative Fruitvale Station though.
Rambo writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:07:25 AM

ADRIAAAAAAAAAAAN....
boogiel writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:30:47 AM

I thought Creed's grandson turned out to be Trayvon Martin.
vincere01 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:37:57 AM

I dont doubt jordans talent. He had a stint on the nbc show parenthood and was quite good there.

This has the possibility of being decent....but a much higher probability of ruining the goodwill rocky ended with.

rocky 5 proved that there is such a thing as overstaying your welcome. Rocky balboa was a once in a lifetime freak movie that happened to run the table on the odds and for the most part make us forget about the abomination that was rocky 5.

why run the risk of ruining the series again? At this point making an all original movie centered around this same story arc minus the creed and balboa characters would amount to the same box office reciepts.

most rocky fans wont give two sh*ts about an entry in the series that does NOT focus on rocky. And most rocky fans are older white people who REALLY could not give two sh*ts about a movie not only NOT centered on rocky, but a movie centered on a young black kid.

not trying to incite racisim here, just speaking the truth, at least demographicly. sh*t just dosnt add up to me.

I see this either never making it out of scripting phase or releasing in january to a low theater count and an even lower fresh rating.

change the title, change the names. Only then will you have my permission to film.... I kid
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:50:32 AM

"not trying to incite racisim here, just speaking the truth, at least demographicly. sh*t just dosnt add up to me."

Stop apologizing, Vincere. Christ. Speak your mind and f*ck all on the people who would say otherwise.






Just reboot Rocky with Channing Tatum, Selena Gomez as Adrian, Jonah Hill as Paulie, 50 cent as Apollo and Harrison Ford as Mickey.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:55:37 AM

They're really making a new installment... Guess I gotta go back and watch all the Rockys again! Lol.

Fact: I haven't seen Rocky Balboa. I'm sorry...
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:00:01 AM

You're not missing much, tanman. Worst of the series.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:02:34 AM

@Deaft0ne
"Rocky Balboa" was a masterpiece. The final moment where the character fades away was beautiful. And I don't think this was Stallone's idea either. MGM did this to milk it since they have been struggling in the last few years. And it's damn sickening. And worse, you get a director and a star from a ghetto like film and all I am thinking is "They are going to make this a big minority promotion". So vincere01 you are right in the sense that you switch the story to a black kid in a franchise about an Italian boxer with a black director now. I mean fine do it as a separate story but don't mess with a franchise that featured a white boxer.
vincere01 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:09:30 AM

@mink. You cant honestly believe rocky balboa was worse than rocky 5? Right? I would rank it ahead of rocky 5 and 3 personally. But none of those come anywhete close to rocky 1 or 2. Or the colossal cold war and montage cheese that is rocky 4.

but I would still say its the best ending the series could have ever hoped for outside of just ending it after 1 or 2.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:18:03 AM

My best to worst for the Rocky movies:

1. Rocky
2. Rocky II
3. Rocky Balboa
4. Rocky IV
5. Rocky III
6. Rocky V
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:19:39 AM

Rocky Balboa sucked, Vincere. The entire film was him recollecting how much of his life was either dead or buried in rubble, only then for Rocky to fight some wimpy black guy who wasn't good enough to fluff Creed, all set to some lousy hip hop crap.

Balboa was nothing more than an unnecessary, cynical depressing cash grab pandering to inner city "youths".
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:21:51 AM

@mark2828

I like the Family Guy version too.
mark2828 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:26:38 AM

"'Creed' is going to be nothing more than an unnecessary, cynical depressing cash grab pandering to inner city 'youths'."

That also works. Just saying.


minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:27:01 AM

And let's be honest, the only real reason people hate Rocky 5 is because of the "annoying" kid, which if you think about, seems to be a common complaint with a ton of media, from television programs like The Brady Bunch and Married...With Children to Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of George Lucas' Stupidity.

Remove the kid and most people would say that although Rocky 5 is a bit weak it's still a damned good entry.

Personally, the kid didn't bother me.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:27:52 AM

@Mark: the series ended with Rocky 5 as far as I am concerned, so this one can go f*ck up a rope.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:43:03 AM

I think it was the 4th that had him going to Russia? I liked that one lol
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:47:10 AM

Yeah, tanman, that one had it all. MTV rock videos set to Robert Tepper music, Vince Dicola workout songs, flashback montages, homages to Rocky 2, Doomsday versus Superman, wide-view mountain shots, and a dead Apollo Creed hitting the mat like a dud daisy cutter.
vincere01 writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 1:57:25 AM

@mink. To each his own I guess. I for the most.part enjoyed RB. alot more than 5 or 3. I just liked how it got back to being a simpler story closer to how the series started instead of an even more bloated sequel which is the norm.

Its faults and all I found it to be just enough for me to be happy and sendoff rocky into the great unknown without feeling shafted.
Rambo writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:13:33 AM

saw 'Mud' 7/10 - a bit overrated (98% at RT) but overall well acted slow paced drama.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:15:12 AM

"I just liked how it got back to being a simpler story closer to how the series started"

I know, Vincere, and it's the reason Deaftone has one, two and six as his top three, whereas four and three are second tier (bigger, louder) and five is dead last.

Trust me, I understand.
Rambo writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:21:07 AM

Ryan Gosling, Zac Efron Rumored for Star Wars: Episode VII

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni55966837/?ref_=hm_nw_tp_t1
KillerCOck writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:27:51 AM

Never liked Rocky. He needs to spend time fixing Rambo.
hellsingfan writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:30:34 AM

When will you people learn bashing on a movie that's not even made yet is just freaking stupid and yes I'll go and see it it sounds interesting and rocky balboa was the best film in the series
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:31:33 AM

Stop trolling, hellsingfag.
Rambo writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:48:36 AM

^you know you just made alex c*m?
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:52:30 AM

Thanks for the nightmares, Rambo.
pornfly writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 2:58:45 AM

So now a whole new trilogy with Thunderlips ex-wife
Micks illegitimate great grandson
and Tommy Guns' AIDS
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 3:09:29 AM

Stallone is missing the point. No one wants this.

Everyone cared about Weathers, but to pull this off an basic unknown would have to bear the weight of the movie with Stallone doing a cameo now and again. Who's gonna believe that?!

Everyone hears Rocky, Stallone and boxing movie, they're gonna be disappointed in this...I can almost see the walkouts a mile away.
Rambo writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 3:10:56 AM

walkouts?

this will be direct to dvd at best...
pornfly writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 3:24:15 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PbRZ5QMAs0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Trivia Newton John writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 3:32:42 AM

"Creed's grandson needs a mentor and turns to Balboa, who is out of boxing completely"

"Sylvester Stallone will return as Rocky Balboa, who is now retired and spends most of his time training boxers."

f*ck this site


pornfly writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 3:37:41 AM

Terror On Tape
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSpSkL8Grvk&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Paloche writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 3:55:33 AM

pathétic...
HerrGeneral writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 4:25:06 AM

Oh look it's Eddie Mur- i mean Michael B Jordan
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 6:33:53 AM

That is a better role, now he has to kill the n*gger!
Shafty writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 11:48:42 AM

Normal studio executive meeting.

Today were giving the go ahead on 5 sequels, 3 reboots, Michael Bay explosion robot movie, lens flares, Saw #27 (titled something else).

I hate you hollywood!
hellsingfan writes:
on July 25th, 2013 at 12:28:58 PM

Wow mink a gay joke how very original
catoc writes:
on July 27th, 2013 at 6:53:05 PM

As a fan of the Rocky series (ok 5 was crap but it had some good moments) I say this is a f*cking terrible idea!

Rocky Balboa was the perfect ending to the series so no spin offs or prequels, sequels, reimages, reboots or anything f*cking else!

Leave it be, it's done, accept it, it was great, thanks for the memories but now it's over, no more, move on, the end.
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 5:26:45 PM

aleale writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 5:20:44 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 9:49:49 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 3:18:26 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved