WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fight Club" Author Writing Sequel, Plot Details Revealed

Posted: July 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fight Club" Author Writing Sequel, Plot Details RevealedSubmit Comment
Author Chuck Palahniuk just revealed that he's working on a sequel to "Fight Club" that will be in the form of a graphic novel series and take place ten years after the end of Tyler Durden.

"Tyler is telling the story, lurking inside Jack, and ready to launch a come-back," said Palahniuk. "Jack is oblivious. Marla is bored. Their marriage has run aground on the rocky coastline of middle-aged suburban boredom. It's only when their little boy disappears, kidnapped by Tyler, that Jack is dragged back into the world of Mayhem."

The author added that due to contract obligations, he won't be able to launch the new series before 2015. At this point, it seems that the decision to continue the story of Tyler Durden is purely Palahniuk's idea and not coming from a movie studio looking to make a sequel to David Fincher's original, which starred Brad Pitt and Edward Norton.

Source: Chuck Palahniuk


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 7:28:05 AM

Makes so much sense. I still want to see the conversation with god
Mongoloid dad writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 7:44:27 AM

For f*ck's sake, WHY DOES EVERYTHING NEED A f*ckING SEQUEL??
TonyWalnuts writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 7:59:33 AM

I remember I went through a phase of reading his books, at about the same time I was reading Hunter S Thompson.
I thought they all had a interesting slant to them but the one I alwas remember is the book of short stories called Haunted they were grim.

On this news I don't think there is any point in a sequel to Fight Club and often feel that an author is looking for lost fame when they go back to their most famous material and it can end up diluting the quality of the original work.
Mongoloid dad writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 8:02:18 AM

Well said. It is frustrating cause I'm also a fan of the guy's work. Rant is the one that marked me the most, and quite frankly I would hope for the gent to keep at it with the original works. He certainly has a unique voice. It's a shame to see the guy cash checks.
Wallace writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 8:24:01 AM

The film, although considered to be a modern classic by many, didn't even break even at the boxoffice, so a sequel 20 years after the original is unlikely.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 10:50:18 AM

@Mongoloid dad Yes that was another truely bizarre novel. Certainly unique.

@Wallace I doubt there will be a movie adaption. I was just talking about the novel sequel.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 11:07:41 AM

I have always liked Chuck Pahlaniuk and I have read all of his works but a Fight Club sequel seems unnecessary, even in GN form.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 11:08:46 AM

Palahniuk^
bandolero999 writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 11:39:42 AM

marlas an ugly anorexic hoar.stupidest idea ever.

tyler needs to be played by channing tatum this time.michael cera as ed nortons character.
velocityknown writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 12:20:41 PM

Fight Club was pretty unnecessary so I don't see how a sequel would be anymore necessary. Definitely among Fincher's weakest films.

The Social Network
Zodiac
Seven
Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Game
Fight Club
Alien 3

Have yet to see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I'm sure it'd rank above Benjamin Button.

The thing about The Game and Fight Club is that both of their endings were kind of stupid. But the overhype surrounding Fight Club is enough to knock it to the bottom of the Fincher list.
velocityknown writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 12:21:47 PM

I realize it's not a film sequel, btw. I just wanted to steer discussion.
velocityknown writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 12:22:39 PM

And I won't blame just Alex for this, but I'm tired of seeing all film sites put "Fight Club sequel in their headline" and then you click the article and it's like, "It's a f*cking graphic novel that surely no one will give a sh*t about."
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:02:16 PM

Fight Club is one of Fincher's weakest films? Bawahahahahaha!

Nah, the weakest was The Social Network, which was two hours of some nerd *sshole talking about a website he made, or perhaps Panic Room, a movie shot in black and blue narrated by the cold steel face of Jodie Foster in a box with and some black guy pretending he's a bad ass. Or Zodiac, an incoherent, driveling film that not only f*cks up the entire case up but is nothing more than a boring rehash of Graysmith's bullsh*t second book. Or the Curious Case of Benjamin Button, an overlong rip off of Forrest Gump with the most preposterous premise of a man aging backwards, or how about Alien3, definitely the weakest of the original trilogy and roundly criticized for killing off three of the most likeable characters from Aliens only to replace them with an wholly unlikable black prison rapist/preacher wearing Leave it to Beaver's glasses.

Maybe you mean Fight Club is a "weak" film because it didn't make sh*t at the BO, but to me that means nothing because most people are f*cking morons who wouldn't know a good film if it kicked their balls up their *sshole.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:14:39 PM

dude youre the first person ever to say that fight club was weak.probably one of the best films of the 90s.and fincher couldnt top that film afterwards

every other film he made after that was pretty mucj sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:18:10 PM

i wanted my 3hrs back after watching zodiac.im not even gonna talk about panic room or social network.

and fightclub is not or will ever be overrated.wtf!!!!

thats like saying manns miami vice is a better film than heat.
Rambo writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:26:52 PM

Fincher's from best to worst:

1.Fight Club - 10/10
2.The Game - 9/10
3.Se7en - 8/10
4.Panic Room - 7.5/10
5.Alien 3 - 6/10
6.Zodiac - 5.5/10
7.The Social network - 4/10
8.Benjamin Button - 2/10
TonyWalnuts writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:38:36 PM

I'd say my top three are seven, Fight club and Zodiac. I thought that the three hours of Zodiac flew by and it was entertaining. Perhaps it wasn't 100% accurate but I liked it.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:49:54 PM

@Bando: what you said, especially that sh*t "Zodiac". Came off like a PBS biography of a guy who doesn't even appear in his own film.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 1:51:46 PM

@Rambo
Hear hear !!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 2:00:59 PM

Yeah Fight Club and Se7en are easily Fincher's best films. Not sure why anyone would say otherwise.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 2:10:07 PM

Velocity said Fight Club was "unnecessary" too. Still scratching my head over that one.




"But the overhype surrounding Fight Club is enough to knock it to the bottom of the Fincher list."

In other words, you hate Fight Club because everyone else likes it? You should judge the film objectively and on it's own merits, not solely based on its mass popularity. That's like hating the pretty and smart girl at school just because everyone else thinks she's great.

Hell, when I trash TDK at least I have a heap of real criticisms, and even then I've never said TDK is a piece of sh*t or a "bad" movie.
velocityknown writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 2:54:38 PM

I definitely don't dislike a film because it wasn't a box office hit. And I'm just trying to be honest in saying that my dislike of the culture surrounding Fight Club lends to me disliking it more. I'm not saying it's definitive list. It's my list, people have different ones and obviously that's fair.

I just don't think it's a very good film (and I also don't think it's a very good book).

I think Fincher wanted to go as over the top as possible (which he hasn't done since, for good reason in my opinion) and the results just didn't work for me. I think the message is muddled (at best), it's angsty in a way that a teenager is angsty which is to say it's irritating and I realize what Fincher is trying to do with the fight club, the cult of Durden, etc, but I just don't think it works in the way he wanted it to. If he made it now, I think it'd be better just because of how he's evolved as a filmmaker.

Calling it unnecessary was...unnecessary. I don't like the film, but at least it's interesting enough to dislike. That's better than being boring.

Forgot about Panic Room, also. That's number 4 for me.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 3:16:10 PM

Okay, First of all.. You all just broke the first role of Fight club, And secondly, Rambo... Are you serious? Benjamin button was f*cking amazing, 2/10? Are you insane!?

I f*cking LOVED that film... Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 3:21:54 PM

Yeah Benjamin Button is more like a 6/10. It's not THAT terrible.
Stapes writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 3:28:37 PM

Palahniuks best books: Fightclub, Survivor and Choke. I hear Rant and Pigme are good also, but havent read.
Stapes writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 3:30:21 PM

How many remember the Survivor rumors with Jim carrey?
cress writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 6:24:23 PM

SEVEN is my fave Finchy film, followed by THE GAME. I would have to rewatch FIGHT CLUB, because it has been awhile, and my judgment may have been impaired in '99. THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO was good, but even better on a second viewing. And ALIEN 3 is a terrible ALIEN film, but a good flick if it wasn't associated with that franchise, if that makes any sense. It sh*t all over the events and characters Cameron established in ALIENS, which was a bummer and frustrating. But if you forget it's associated with those films, it was a decent horror film debut for a first-time director. It still pisses me off as a fan of the ALIEN series, but not as much as the sh*tfest PROMETHEUS.
Champ1432 writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 6:50:21 PM

I think I agree with Rambo on the top three. Fight Club, The Game, and Seven, all awesome. Definitely better than all the others mentioned, Aliens 3 , Social Network, etc.

This kind of "sequel" doesn't bother me. I don't think it ruins anything about the original film to put out a graphic novel expanding on the story decades later.

Just as an example, look how many Star Trek and Star Wars books/novels/etc there are. Its just expanding on the universe. Most people aren't even aware of them, and if they are, haven't read many or even some of them. I think the same will be true here.

Sure, maybe its unnecessary, but it's not going to ruin anything about the movie. Certainly better than putting out some crappy sequel, most likely with the roles recast. That would be a shame, this is no big deal.
Stapes writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 7:04:11 PM

I don't get why everyone likes The Game, that movie was terrible.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 7:23:54 PM

"And I'm just trying to be honest in saying that my dislike of the culture surrounding Fight Club lends to me disliking it more."

That's a highly irrational and emotional attitude, Velocity. You should judge the film in a vacuum, not in the context of how popular it is with total strangers.
Stapes writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 8:09:36 PM

As far over the top as possible? That's funny because that was Palahniuk's thinking exactly when he wrote it. He was unpublished at the time and decided to write something as a middle finger to the industry, and low and behold, the book put him on the map.
velocityknown writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 8:59:48 PM

@Mink

I definitely do judge the film in a vacuum, and it would rank low on my Fincher list anyway. I like Fight Club and The Game about the same, so just for me, personally the culture around Fight Club is what makes me rank it lower than The Game. I don't dislike the film purely for the culture around it.

@Stapes

I think that's great for Palahniuk. Just not a fan of it.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 9:14:23 PM

I've always liked Seven a well. "What's in the box!?!?"
GreenLensman writes:
on July 24th, 2013 at 4:47:08 AM

I'm finding it more hard to believe that deaftone has read all of Palahniuk's work.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved