WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon Talks Ultron's Origins and Possible Superhero Death in "The Avengers 2"

Posted: July 22nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss Whedon Talks UltronSubmit Comment
One of the big announcements out of the San Diego Comic-Con is that the title of "The Avengers" sequel is "Avengers: Age of Ultron," confirming that the villain will be Ultron. While very little details were revealed about the plot, many assumed the movie will be based on the "Age of Ultron" comic book series, which was released in March.

In that storyline, Hank Pym (Ant-Man) creates Ultron, who goes on to destroy earth and kill many key Marvel superheroes. The problem is that Ant-Man won't get his own movie until after "The Avengers" sequel and many believe it would be strange to give the character such a big role without first exploring his origins.

It turns out that the movie will have very little to do with the comic book. "Because there was a book called 'Age of Ultron' quite recently, a lot of people have assumed that is what we're doing, but that is not the case," said director Joss Whedon. "We're doing our own version of the origin story for Ultron. In the origin story, there was Hank Pym, so a lot of people assumed that he will be in the mix. He's not."

Unless Ultron will be a completely different character from the comics, someone will have to create him. Possibly Tony Stark. "We're crafting our own version, where his origin comes more directly from The Avengers we already know about," Whedon continued.

Having Ultron means that Whedon will have an opportunity to kill some of the superheroes. While he never directly mentioned doing that, he previously stated that he would like "The Avengers" movies to rotate members of the team.

It seems that Hawkeye may be the first to die. The character is human and will likely never get his own movie. His death is likely why Whedon plans to build him up in "The Avengers" sequel. "Part of the fun for me, definitely this time around, is writing Hawkeye," said the helmer. "He did get possessed pretty early by a bad guy for most of the movie, so now it's nice to actually have the character there and see him interact with the other guys."

Regarding Thanos, Whedon previously said that the villain will be saved for "The Avengers 3," but his presence will be felt in many other films. Marvel just confirmed that he'll next appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy." Kevin Feige explained: "Thanos plays a part in 'Guardians' as a mastermind."

With both Thanos and Ultron yet to be cast, many believe that Vin Diesel will end up taking one of the roles. Right before the Ultron announcement, the actor revealed: "There's going to be very big news coming out at the end of this month," referring to the meetings he's had with Marvel.

Source: PeliBlog.com, Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 8:14:55 AM

Hawkeye dies? Talk about symbolism to Jeremy Renner's acting career.
Rambo writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 8:18:18 AM

what career? hurt locker ? bourne sh*tfest?

he was never meant to be a star..a side kick maybe.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 8:19:44 AM

I actually think his acting career is going up ^ lol
I enjoy Renners films. But that's just me. Plus I liked the human touch in the first film. Hole they don't kill him off

JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 8:39:42 AM

Well I liked him in Hansel & Gretel, and as Jeffrey Dahmer. His role in the Town I feel Made the movie.
boogiel writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 8:43:28 AM

Honestly I don't know much sh*t about Ultron or Hank Pym/Ant-Man so I'll just wait and see how this turns out.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 9:07:21 AM

I watched "Only God Forgives" tonight, turned it off half way, f*cking terrible film! What is the deal with Gosling???? does he emphasize boredom.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 9:08:33 AM

No matter what they do this movie will still make mad cash.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 10:19:45 AM

No Hank Pym?!...f*cking Denied!!

They're missing a great oppurtunity to setup Ant Man...just a cameo, just involve him in the origins, setup a quick relationship with some or all like Agent Coulson to just more easily re-insert him when he's already Ant Man.

Guess Marvel hasn't thought that far off much ahead...I'd thought they'd already start casting it.

That's a misjudgement, IMO. Every fanboy knows the origin of Ultron...but let's see what Whedon has up his sleeve this time around.
Cannon writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 11:21:08 AM


Is it really going to be the "age" of Ultron, or is it just going to be a sequel where Ultron shows up to fill the episodic villain slot and dies in the end?

Side note: this is the first time I've ever said/typed/thought the word "Ultron" multiple times within a single discussion.

I just broke my Ultron cherry, and I'm feelin' pretty good about it.

Cannon writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 11:22:31 AM


Wait ...popped, not broke. Popped.

vincere01 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 11:28:52 AM

I wonder if when putnam takes a sh*t it sounds like musket fire after all those rods he slams down his barrel. That sh*ts densely compacted.
vincere01 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 11:30:10 AM

Sorry im starting the day off in a weird place. Had some crazy dreams last night. It involved a chia pet, a clown and a geo metro.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:15:04 PM

JB- I liked him in Hansel as well lol Still haven't seen him in the Bourne film
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:31:29 PM

@Vincere: I dreamt of having 90% cholesterol blood, but that was after two home made hamburgers and a heap of fries.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:33:05 PM

Anyway, looks like Avengers is going to have a proper villain and some serious repercussions for the Avengers.

Not like I care, but at least Whedon is finally putting the series into second gear.
kickit writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:38:40 PM

Alex, you f*cking schmuck. Hawkeye dying is never once mentioned or even hinted at by whedon.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:39:39 PM

@JB I watched Only God Forgives last night. Terrible! Every dumb character just staring like morons at the camera. Terrible.

In unrelated news I hear the UK is blocking porn by default and you have to tell your ISP you want it, so you can be added to some digital pervert list. What is going on?
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:51:10 PM

@Tony: lol. A war on pornography. What a bunch of idiots. Like that worked well for the war on alcohol, the war on premarital sex, the war on drugs, the war on poverty...all it will do is create more crime.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:52:18 PM

The Book That Is Making All Movies the Same




http://www.slate.com/articles/arts/culturebox/2013/07/hollywood_and_blake_snyder_s_screenwriting_book_save_the_cat.single.html






If you’ve gone to the movies recently, you may have felt a strangely familiar feeling: You’ve seen this movie before. Not this exact movie, but some of these exact story beats: the hero dressed down by his mentor in the first 15 minutes (Star Trek Into Darkness, Battleship); the villain who gets caught on purpose (The Dark Knight, The Avengers, Skyfall, Star Trek Into Darkness); the moment of hopelessness and disarray a half-hour before the movie ends (Olympus Has Fallen, Oblivion, 21 Jump Street, Fast & Furious 6).
TheAmicko writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:10:51 PM

Im with JB on Renner. He was very good as Dahmer and he was excellent in The Town. He made that movie awesome. Haven't seen Hansel & Gretchel yet. It was a kind of boring role in Avengers though since he got brainwashed.
Shafty writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:26:06 PM

A war on porn?? Lol...just what we need. Lets add a criminal element to the porn industry, like its not already f*cked up enough!

Renner isn't terrible. I think he works in a supporting role. The last bourne movie sucked, he can't carry a film by himself.
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:26:33 PM

In other news I saw "Hard Times" (1975) with Charles Bronson and James Coburn last night and it was real pleasure to see his best film IMO. Great director, great soundtrack especially at the end. Again, they don't make this kind of films anymore.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:28:03 PM

When everyone opts to still receive porn, a 'pervert list' will be useless.
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:33:30 PM

Dennis Farina dies

Lets see if Alex knows who he was

Rest In Peace
from stories i have heard of him
He was a class act
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:37:53 PM

Farina was great in Snatch.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:43:45 PM

@pornfly

Yeah I always liked Dennis Farina. He was great on the tv series Crime Story which was executive produced by Michael Mann.

He was always fun to watch in all his roles. Only 69 too.

RIP Dennis
triggax writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:52:44 PM

Midnight Run and Manhunter were highlights for Farina.

I think we will all remember him as Cousin Avi though.

Sad day in movies. This guy was a class act.
Shafty writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:57:37 PM

Thats a Major Bummer. Always liked Dennis. He Wwas great in Snatch and Get Shorty. Sorry to hear about this!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:16:42 PM

thats horrible that farina died.
2013 has had lots of celebrities die except for thay glee twat he dont count.

as for this avengers thread who the f*ck cares
mark2828 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:18:47 PM

Farina was Jack Crawford in the first and best Hannibal Lecter film, Michael Mann's Manhunter.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:20:17 PM

Agreed Dennis Farina was great in snatch
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:53:44 PM

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=106783

This is a good interview with Farina about The Last Rites of Joe May. I redboxed it a while ago and it was a very good film.
shiteater writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:09:12 PM

Upcoming movies ranked that I will try to see in theaters, ranked by how good I think they'll be:

Elysium
The Wolverine
Prisoners
The counselor
Don Jon
Gravity
Thor 2
Carrie
The way way back
The Worlds End
Runner runner
The Family
We're the Millers
Ridd*ck
Kick Ass 2
Jobs
Escape Plan
Prince Avalanche
Getaway
2 Guns
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:12:57 PM

George Zimmerman rescues family from overturned SUV:

http://abcnews.go.com/m/story?id=19735432&sid=81
KillerCOck writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:16:57 PM

Maybe Hawkeye becomes Vision in this version haha!
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:22:11 PM

@Deaftone: Go Zimmerman go!
mark2828 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:51:16 PM

"George Zimmerman rescues family from overturned SUV"

If it turns out to be a black family, will Sac Daddy's head explode?
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:53:55 PM

Nah. Vacuums implode, not explode.
HerrGeneral writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:04:44 PM

"We're doing our own version of the origin story for Ultron"

Well obviously, killing all the super heroes wouldnt be good for future Marvel movies if they arent any left..
Bane_Rises writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 9:01:46 PM

Really hoping Vin Diesel is Thanos. It would be pretty bad if they pulled a "Mandarin twist" on him. Haha. "I'm not really Thanos, I'm just a bouncer they hired."
cress writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 9:55:00 PM

@JB and TONY. Yep, ONLY GOD FORGIVES was a f*cking weird movie. Refn's direction was like David Lynch meets Soderbergh meets Kubrick, a lot of symbolism with a boring, incoherent story. Very disappointing.
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 3:52:31 AM

If they could kill Iron Man,that would really make things totally awesome.But seeing that Downey signed for two movies,I don't see that happening.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved