WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Conjuring" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "RIPD" Bombs

Posted: July 21st, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Conjuring" Dominates Box Office Weekend, "RIPD" BombsSubmit Comment
It seems that Warner Bros made the correct decision by giving James Wan's "The Conjuring" horror film a summer release, because the movie grossed a whopping $41 million and took first place during a busy box office weekend.

"The Conjuring" has an impressive 85% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost only $20 million to make, which means that it's already a hit for the studio. A sequel was announced about a week ago. "It shows that fresh material attracts audiences in a big way," said Warners.

Meanwhile, every other new release bombed in theaters. Ryan Reynolds' animated "Turbo" film took third place with only $21.5 million, marking one of the lowest domestic openings for a DreamWorks Animation movie. "Turbo," which has a 66% fresh rating, has a budget of $135 million. It will heavily depend on international ticket sales to break even.

Bruce Willis' "RED 2" took fifth place with $18.4 million, not enough to match the $21.7 million opening of "RED" in 2010. The sequel, which has a 40% fresh rating, cost $84 million to make, once again making it rely on foreign box office.

Reynolds had a second new release this weekend, "RIPD" comic book film, which cost $130 million to make, but grossed $12.8 million. That was only good enough for seventh place and not enough to become profitable. Universal Pictures is already estimating a loss of tens of millions of dollars.

"RIPD" has been performing so poorly that the studio scaled back its marketing spend as soon as it noticed the terrible box office numbers. The movie has a lousy 11% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "The Conjuring" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 79 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 8:42:58 PM

Ryan Reynolds is f*cked.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 8:46:42 PM

Bryan Cranston Pranks Comic Con

http://tv.yahoo.com/blogs/tv-news/-breaking-bad--at-comic-con--that-guy-dressed-up-as-walter-white-might-actually-be-bryan-cranston-215813113.html
bandolero999 writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 8:48:32 PM

i wanted to watch ripd for bridges.guess ill have a bootleg even faster.and it cant be worse than after earth and iron man 3
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 8:56:26 PM

I made the dumb mistake of paying full price to see R.I.P.D. and it really is an awful movie.

It was such a rip off of the first Men In Black movie that I kept thinking that Will Smith was gonna make a cameo. And the special f/x were poor quality at best.

The rest of the public must have suspected this was a bomb because in a theater that could seat 110 people, there were only about 20 total when I went. And that was on a Saterday night.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 8:59:22 PM

Yes it can Bando. Watch the movie when it's free online. It's barely worth a Redbox rental.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 9:05:48 PM

ryan reynolds will just take his frustations on his wife
shiteater writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 9:24:52 PM

I saw both The Conjuring and RIPD this weekend. The Conjuring was really good. Not as scary as advertised, but the film was effective and well done. Good use of camera work and sound effects.

RIPD sucked, and I knew it was going to suck but had time to kill. It was pretty much exactly what you'd expect it to be by watching the trailer. It lost me, I didn't care by the half way point. I thought After Earth was better because even though the acting was bad, it was more basic and straight forward and didn't drag. RIPD was just a bunch of sh*t going on that I didn't care about.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 9:25:23 PM

RR and a MIB rip off expect to be a hit? Dream I. Unless your dreamworks - just give us another goddamn incredibles
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 9:27:46 PM

Dream on
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 9:37:23 PM

The trailers for RIPD are so awful that it didn't even look like a real movie. Countless cliches, CGI effects from over a decade ago, and terrible 'jokes' that wouldn't even make a child snicker.

A better director should have handled the material because from reading about the comic, it does not seem like a comedy.

R.I.P.D.?=Reject it! Putrid dogsh*t!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 10:29:04 PM

What Deathtone said.
Dirt writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 10:37:04 PM

Reynolds is f*cked. How does he pick his scripts? I think it might be too late, but he needs to fire his agent.
Dirt writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 10:39:06 PM

Reynolds is f*cked. How does he pick his scripts? I think it might be too late, but he needs to fire his agent.
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 10:45:32 PM

deathtone...lol.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 10:58:50 PM

lol
Gates writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 11:07:10 PM

Ryan Reynold's fail-a-thon weekend extravaganza!
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 11:11:53 PM

But they still want him for the Deadpool movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 11:47:24 PM

RIP RIPD!!!
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 11:56:49 PM

He could pull of a good dead pool when hell freezes over make a still f*cking waiting and go back to your b-movies
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 11:58:23 PM

Wait they don't want you in anything that anyaine has to pay for here's our next washed up actor for Sharknado 2
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:28:42 AM

I hear the afterlife is all the craze. Even on TV there's some bunch of medium/ ghost stories, you'd think it was October.

I gotta say I saw Biography channel's Celebrity Ghost Stories and The Haunting of (insert celebrity name here).

In Celebrity Ghost Stories, I first I doubted if it was real, but all the celebrity say it so convincingly...there's even a Tom Green tale where he's dead serious the whole time. What really draws you in is that they recreate what the celebrity is saying and pretty good TV special effects that really add to the story. It's mostly a washed up who's who, but then again, if they'd be working, they wouldn't have time to do this.

Celebrities include Meet the Parents' Teri Polo, Marilyn Manson, Ming Na, David Carradine, WWF wrestler Rowdy Roddy Piper, Scott Baio, Jack Osborne, Kevin Sorbo, Daniel Stern, drummer of Guns & Roses Matt Sorum, Linda Blair...those type of names. They sometimes come off as corny, but would make pretty good movie or TV adaptations.

In The Haunting of...they follow up on Celebrity Ghost Stories and re-visit and solve some of the celebrity's paranormal problems they have. There's a medium that works with them...they really seem on the level, but that's just me.

Celebrity Ghost Stories

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ioJlqCZ5gq8

The Haunting of...(Roddy Piper's pretty good)

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x11xnem_the-haunting-of-s02e05-rowdy-roddy-piper_shortfilms#.Uey0kY03tWw

It sounds like bullsh*t at first...and then you're not so sure anymore.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:35:57 AM

Ghosts, aliens, ESP, poltergeists, Bigfoot, Loch Ness...it's all bullsh*t.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:42:36 AM

Downloading Spring Breakers now. Any opinions?
Rambo writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:44:21 AM

yes - shift+delete
Rambo writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:45:21 AM

putman gave it 10/10...here's a hint for you
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:54:45 AM

Ryan Reynolds is f*cked

I'll take Ryan Reynolds f*cked over regular guy f*cked anyday

right DEATHTONE?
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:57:58 AM

A 10 out of 10???

Are you sure he saw this movie???
Rambo writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:58:35 AM

Ryan Reynolds is good for comedies - his cameo in the first harold and kumar was his finest hour,I don't know who decided to make him an action star although i'm sure he's not the only one to blame for R.I.P.D bombing.
mark2828 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 12:58:43 AM

"Downloading Spring Breakers now. Any opinions?"

I haven't watched it. I saw enough of James Franco in the trailer to ascertain that he is capable of playing a wigga very convincingly, for whatever that's worth. So if you're a fan of Franco's work, then yeah, go for it, I guess.

What other reason is there to watch it? The titillation factor? Hell, watch a typical porn film, and you'll see hotter chicks who show a helluva lot more.

mark2828 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:12:00 AM

I must admit, though, that blonde got my attention. Not enough to make me wanna bother to look up her name, but nevertheless... hey now.
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:14:11 AM

Oblivion
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9uRhjnOuVk&feature=youtube_gdata_player
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:15:45 AM

Turbo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjB9Y5t5E2o&feature=youtube_gdata_player
John1017 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:16:40 AM

Never a good idea to give your movie a title that could eventually end up being used as a play on words for how it performs in the box office. R.I.P RIPD
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:16:44 AM

@Mark: the blonde is smoking. The hips, the tits, the face, all of it.


SMOKING!
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:17:04 AM

Parker
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpEAZDJbye8&feature=youtube_gdata_player
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:48:06 AM

At Mink:

Dismissive are we? Believe in them or not, they're still there, they still happen.

We all have dealt with the some supernatural...happen to us or heard it happened to somebody else. It just...happens.

Nothing ever happened to me...but...I had a friend in high school that would say sometimes her baby brothers toys would scatter almost the same distance in separation on the rug in the mornings.

I have had acquaintances that work in the nursing home that have seen old school cap and dress nurses in the graveyard shift go into people's room that later would have to be revived. Or that people in nursing homes tend to die in 3s...one old person would kick the bucket and two more would do too.

But they're bullsh*tting?! What would they gain? No point, no money, no fame...just as-a-matter-of-fact type deal.

The problem, I guess, is if people admit that ghosts/ spirits exist, it means there's an afterlife. If there's an afterlife there's a heaven. If there's a heaven, there's a God and that doesn't work for atheists...I get it.

Some things are just bigger than our understanding, not everything can be explained is my point.

Just remember The Conjuring and The Exorcist WERE based on real occurrences.

But let's stick to the movies. I'll check out The Conjuring to see if it's as good as they say...
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:21:44 AM

@Celluloid Man: There's no such thing as the supernatural. That's merely your primitive, superstitious mind jumping at phantasms.



We all have dealt with the some supernatural...happen to us or heard it happened to somebody else. It just...happens.

People make up sh*t or they hallucinate. That's what happens.



Nothing ever happened to me...but...I had a friend in high school that would say sometimes her baby brothers toys would scatter almost the same distance in separation on the rug in the mornings.

Awesome. An anecdote told to you by a friend which you're now recounting anonymously to a stranger over the internet.

I guess we don't need that scientific method anymore, then, right?


I have had acquaintances that work in the nursing home that have seen old school cap and dress nurses in the graveyard shift go into people's room that later would have to be revived.

Mere hallucinations.


Or that people in nursing homes tend to die in 3s...one old person would kick the bucket and two more would do too.


Pure coincidence. Or someone seeing a pattern that doesn't exist. It's called pareidolia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pareidolia

or

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apophenia


The problem, I guess, is if people admit that ghosts/ spirits exist, it means there's an afterlife. If there's an afterlife there's a heaven. If there's a heaven, there's a God and that doesn't work for atheists...I get it.


I'm afraid people such as yourself, forever caught up in fairy tales and irrational nonsense, never get it. If you did, you'd be literally terrified to death of a reality that doesn't revolve around either your primate self-importance or your self-serving primitive fantasies.

Your ignorant arrogance astounds me.


But they're bullsh*tting?! What would they gain? No point, no money, no fame...just as-a-matter-of-fact type deal

The schizoid has nothing to gain either, but the echoes and voices inside his head don't care regardless, and that's what all this sh*t is: hallucinations, seeing sh*t that's not there, and outright hoaxes, because people such as yourself think the reality inside your head is EXTERNAL, when instead everything you think you hear and see and feel is really just a faulty reconstruction of an external world your limited senses cannot perceive, which is why we have science, thankfully, so we can comprehend and perceive that which is beyond our limited organic capabilities.


Anyway, I have the infinite majesty of science, you have empty anecdotes, fantasies, hallucinations and a whit load of wishful thinking.

Good luck with that.

Dismissive are we? Believe in them or not, they're still there, they still happen.

lol. Yeah, okay, Bring me incontrovertible proof of ET, or ghosts rearranging your socks, because until then, you're just another irrational, superstitious primate baying at the full moon.

Good night.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:22:13 AM

*sigh*.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:25:19 AM

I hate HTML. Leave off one f*cking symbol and everything is screwed, which wouldn't be so bad if we could EDIT OUR f*ckING POSTS like every other website.

Alex is the sort of "frugal" idiot who if he had invented the pencil would have left off the eraser just to save his cheap ass a nickle or two.

d*ckhead.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:29:45 AM

he.

I have had acquaintances that work in the nursing home that have seen old school cap and dress nurses in the graveyard shift go into people's room that later would have to be revived.

Mere hallucinations.



Or that people in nursing homes tend to die in 3s...one old person would kick the bucket and two more would do too.

Wow. People dying in threes. What a proof of the supernatural indeed!

Pure coincidence. Or someone seeing a pattern that doesn't exist. It's called pareidolia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pareidolia

or

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apophenia


The problem, I guess, is if people admit that ghosts/ spirits exist, it means there's an afterlife. If there's an afterlife there's a heaven. If there's a heaven, there's a God and that doesn't work for atheists...I get it.


I'm afraid people such as yourself, forever caught up in fairy tales and irrational nonsense, never get it. If you did, you'd be literally terrified to death of a reality that doesn't revolve around either your primate self-importance or your self-serving primitive fantasies.

Your ignorant arrogance astounds me.

Not like if ghosts or spirits did exist, the existence of heaven and all that other rubbish you mentioned would logically follow, right?


But they're bullsh*tting?! What would they gain? No point, no money, no fame...just as-a-matter-of-fact type deal

The schizoid has nothing to gain either, but the echoes and voices inside his head don't care regardless, and that's what all this sh*t is: hallucinations, seeing sh*t that's not there, and outright hoaxes, because people such as yourself think the reality inside your head is EXTERNAL, when instead everything you think you hear and see and feel is really just a faulty reconstruction of an external world your limited senses cannot perceive, which is why we have science, thankfully, so we can comprehend and perceive that which is beyond our limited organic capabilities.


Anyway, I have the infinite majesty of science, you have empty anecdotes, fantasies, hallucinations and a sh*t load of wishful thinking.

Good luck with that.

Dismissive are we? Believe in them or not, they're still there, they still happen.

lol. Yeah, okay, Bring me incontrovertible proof of ET, or ghosts rearranging your socks, because until then, you're just another irrational, superstitious primate baying at the full moon.

Good night.

minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:34:03 AM

Just remember The Conjuring and The Exorcist WERE based on real occurrences.

Bullsh*t. They're based on some half-baked nonsense someone invented to sell a book or movie or both, just like those Amityville Horror *ssholes, just like the crook who made the Bigfoot tape, or George Adamski, who cooked up a bunch of bogus UFO photos, just like the Loch Ness morons who invented the legend to lure in tourists.

Money. Greed. Love of it is the root of all evil, and all stupidity too, while brilliant scientists and mathematicians often die on the verge of poverty, e.g., Paul Erdos.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:43:59 AM

I gotta see that Bryan Cranston prank link when I'm at a computer mink lol I'm probably going to see this like.. Tuesday. Lol And I'll most likely watch RIPD eventually.
Taco writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:47:58 AM

After earth
White House Down
Lone Ranger
Pacific Rim
Turbo
RIPD
Red 2

Whos the next bomb? Any predictions?
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:49:12 AM

All of the above.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:53:40 AM

Red 2 has a PB of 84 million but made only 26 mil WW over the weekend.

Bomb?

Probably. Deserves to be one. f*cking old as sh*t cast doing sh*t we've already seen.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:56:21 AM

the newsroom
season 2 episode 2

http://vidto.me/okpng7xroc90.html
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 2:56:27 AM

JOBS will bomb, and hopefully so will Kick Ass 2 and The Butler.
Taco writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:37:28 AM

I didnt know Kick Ass 1 was successful enough for a sequel.
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:39:43 AM

I would just like to say,"go f*ck yourselves with a camel d*ck"
to all the Bollywood movie uploaders disguised as Hollywood movies on YouTube
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:42:45 AM

They even plant fake comments to rope you in
f*ckin sand n*ggers
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 3:58:42 AM

At Mink:

I like the little presentation with the "breaking down" of each part of the argument...color coordinated. Nice...

You missed my point. Like I said, for the cheap seats, is that it happens, it cannot be proven of why...that's what makes it supernatural. Millions of people over the years have reported, but you can't accept it...you don't want to accept it and even going so far as calling me ignorant does nothing to the argument.

"There's none so blind as they that won't see."--Jonathan Swift

You're saying there's nothing supernatural. I'm saying they're things out there the human mind could not understand. What's so hard to understand...are you that arrogant or self righteous that science is all you believe?

Before man thought the world was flat, we also thought mammals gave milk with fur, then we saw the Platypus. There seems to be an exception to everything we ever know...

But if I made a weak attempt of proving ghosts/ spirits or sh*t, even God, I gotta say you're dismissive stand is equally weak and that everything is "Pure hallucination" or...

"Money. Greed. Love of it is the root of all evil, and all stupidity too, while brilliant scientists and mathematicians often die on the verge of poverty, e.g., Paul Erdos."

Brilliant scientists?! You want to talk about brilliant scientists? How 'bout Albert Einstein? The guy apart from his scientific achievements, the guy was religious. If a Nobel winning scientist that can believe in an afterlife and religion, then what would you say?

"The human mind is not capable of grasping the Universe. We are like a little child entering a huge library. The walls are covered to the ceilings with books in many different tongues. The child knows that someone must have written these books. It does not know who or how. It does not understand the languages in which they are written. But the child notes a definite plan in the arrangement of the books—-a mysterious order which it does not comprehend, but only dimly suspects."

“I never made one of my discoveries through the process of rational thinking”

About religion...

"I see a pattern, but my imagination cannot picture the maker of that pattern. I see a clock, but I cannot envision the clockmaker. The human mind is unable to conceive of the four dimensions, so how can it conceive of a God, before whom a thousand years and a thousand dimensions are as one?"

“Science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind.”

One of the most smartest man that "restructured physicist's ideas of the nature of space and time leading to the theories of Special and General Relativity which underpin cosmology. To date, these key theories have been found to be consistent with all known data." is arguably one the smartest around in the 20th century believing in religion and the unknown...
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:02:47 AM

Einstein also said:

The further the spiritual evolution of mankind advances, the more certain it seems to me that the path to genuine religiosity does not lie through the fear of life, and the fear of death, and blind faith, but through striving after rational knowledge.


and


The scientists’ religious feeling takes the form of a rapturous amazement at the harmony of natural law, which reveals an intelligence of such superiority that, compared with it, all the systematic thinking and acting of human beings is an utterly insignificant reflection.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:09:05 AM

Brilliant scientists?! You want to talk about brilliant scientists? How 'bout Albert Einstein? The guy apart from his scientific achievements, the guy was religious. If a Nobel winning scientist that can believe in an afterlife and religion, then what would you say?


Einstein only believed something or someone created the order of the universe. He didn't subscribe to the notion of a Christian god, nor did he believe in a heaven, or ET, or ghosts or any of that other rubbish. He simply believed something or someone created the universe and his "religion" was the awe in discovering the details of said creation.


Never mind he was totally f*cking wrong when he said "God does not play dice", losing entirely his side of the argument with respect to quantum mechanics, which prompted another physicist to say "not only does god play dice, he sometimes throws them where you can't see them".





But whatever. Believe in UFOS, Bigfoot and eternal abodes in the clouds, even if all rational thought and common sense, not to mention experimental and empirical knowledge, is entirely opposed to such childish notions.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:26:43 AM

You missed my point. Like I said, for the cheap seats, is that it happens, it cannot be proven of why...that's what makes it supernatural. Millions of people over the years have reported, but you can't accept it...you don't want to accept it and even going so far as calling me ignorant does nothing to the argument.


Pffftt. Millions of people believed in faeries, gods on Mount Olympus and little green men on Mars too. What people "believe" is irrelevant compared to what can be proven to actually objectively exist, you know, like the electron.

And I didn't miss your point. I understood exactly what you were trying to say because I have heard it a thousand times from people who have absolutely zero understanding of science and the art of rational thinking.


You're saying there's nothing supernatural. I'm saying they're things out there the human mind could not understand. What's so hard to understand...are you that arrogant or self righteous that science is all you believe?

I believe in the scientific method and what the scientific method can prove to actually exist, and if you can use the scientific method to prove god or heaven or aliens or ghosts exist, then I challenge you to do so, but until you can, all of your beliefs are just that: your beliefs.

Furthermore, if that is arrogance to you, then you've already conceded the argument for you not only have nothing to prove, you have no way to prove it.



Before man thought the world was flat, we also thought mammals gave milk with fur, then we saw the Platypus. There seems to be an exception to everything we ever know...

We can PROVE the world isn't flat, but can you or anyone else PROVE ghosts exist, or heaven, or god? That's the difference. Proof.

You're confusing the continuance of, the indulgence in, ignorance with its historical declination.



But if I made a weak attempt of proving ghosts/ spirits or sh*t, even God, I gotta say you're dismissive stand is equally weak and that everything is "Pure hallucination" or...


Prove it! Prove god or heaven or ghosts exist.

I can prove an electron exists because I can show you an image of one. Can you show me an undisputed image of a ghost or god, and can you show me one on demand?

Repeatability. It's the cornerstone of science, which is why all this claptrap isn't scientific and never will be, and if it isn't science than it's nothing but personal fantasy.

pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:28:13 AM

I dont know if its been said
But even Stephen Hawking said that if the government is keepinh aliens/UFOs a secret,
Its the only thing they have been successful with

Besides with all the sightings/abductions etc. over all these thousands of years
you would think someone would have gotten a hold of at least one phaser
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:32:48 AM


Really.

I can only wonder in merriment at how little you understand either Einstein and science, and just what the hell they're teaching you kids these days. Putting on condoms and how not to offend your darker-skinned fellow citizens?
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:34:23 AM

^^Totally f*cked up post because this c*nty website ate half of it.
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:43:05 AM

Twins is ready for streaming on netflix TANMAN
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:46:43 AM

More proof the common person is a f*cking moron:

http://tv.yahoo.com/news/media-frenzy-over-royal-baby-imminent-arrival-broadcasters-190515087.html

You'd think this damned baby was the second coming of Christ...sh*t, there hasn't been such a big damned deal over a birth since Mary shat out Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 4:53:48 AM

I bet Celluloid Man believes fluoride is the Devil's work.
minkowski writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:07:09 AM

Spring Breakers = East Coast Savages = hedonistic, nihilistic, narcissistic American trash.
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:07:36 AM

for all the Peter Weller fans
Of Unknown Origin
the ol'man dug this film
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YT5jzJhApdQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:08:57 AM

If there's an afterlife there's a heaven. If there's a heaven, there's a God and that doesn't work for atheists...I get it.

I don't think that necessarily has to be the case Celluloid Man. Even if ghosts were real and could be proven doesn't mean there has to be a God and a heaven, it could be just some form of energy after people die.

I don't believe in ghosts but my girlfriend and her sister are both convinced they saw a black ghost type thing in their old house and they were 14 and 16 when they saw it so it wasn't even like it was their young minds imagining stuff. Their dad used to tell them ghost stories when they were younger so they pretty much believed that ghosts were real growing up so if they saw a shadow out of the corner of their eye that normal people would dismiss they would probably assume it was a ghost. If they were real and moved objects like you say you'd think someone would have doc*mented them by now, some scientist would have gone to a "most haunted" location and proved their existence but so far it seems to be people who already believe seeing things that most probably have a logical explanation.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:18:36 AM

At Mink:

If I showed you a picture/ video of a ghost, you'd say it's doctored.

If I compared to you the complexity of the world to be as a clock, then who'd be the clockmaker, you'd say it's not enough. Etc...

It will never be enough...there will always be the doubt and never absolute.

This thinking has taken great thinkers down this road and has never been absolutely resolved.

But I'll go around it another way...my last stand, if you will. Get it or not, it will be the last of my argument for this can go on and on...if great thinkers like David Hume (proving there's no God) and Rene Descartes (proves there IS a God) cannot completely prove it, then I doubt two weak ass anonymous movie fans will ever get it.

The argument hangs on the balance of something out of the immeasurable, empiric, and thus out of the ordinary, extraordinary or supernatural but everything such as that happens everyday.

You hold science, math, or knowledge as the all powerful equalizer, but there such things that do not fit in such parameters.

What is love? How do you measure love? How can it be measured objectively? What made your mother care for you since you were born? Did other mother love their kids more than you? Why? For what purpose?
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:22:58 AM

The Penitent Man expands on the consequences of no God
Nice plot

REAL sh*tTY f*ckIN MOVIE

even as an old man from the future
the assassin still has the same douchy facial hair as he did in his twenties
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:26:27 AM

Where do all our souls come from?
If the world started out with two people,
who made the souls?

Grandpa where do we go when we die?
-in the ground
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 5:34:18 AM

sh*t!! Pre posted prematurely (hee-hee)

by those things are immeasurable...if you believe in such things you are being spiritual.

If we were to follow your thinking of rational knowledge, why help your fellow man? You don't get anything in return?

For example, if you give money to the poor, is that rational? Why? You won't get anything in return...doesn't make sense.

It falls on spirituality that for its full function and purpose, has no knowledge. It holds life sacred and based on giving, a belief, an ideal to put others in front of you're own needs.

But where's the purpose, empirical numbers, or reason for it?!...it has none.

Spirituality sees what the rationality does not. It happens every day...

So my stand is this, make the improbable or unreasonable happen and it will make you understand that not everything can be measured, studied, or factualized...in doing so it leaves the door open to the unknown, which goes up the alley of the point I was going for...

I await your response and afterward consider the matter closed of agreeing to disagree.

Cheers Mink.
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:19:42 AM

"Downloading Spring Breakers now. Any opinions?"

It's sh*t! It's so bad that I had to watch it in fast forward mode. Extremely boring and slow as f*ck. There's no story whatsoever; it was made only to see some girls in their bikinis. The only question I asked myself was: what was the bloody purpouse of this to be made as a film?

To think of it, I rather not know it after all.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:20:46 AM

At Pornfly:

Well bro, the souls thing and the Adam and Eve thing is coming from religion (Christianity) which is another thing...

Let me get this off my chest first, one cannot believe blindly in church cause it will f*ck you over...why? It is setup in imperfect man. Just don't confuse the church with the religion...religion is how you deal with your deity and church/ temple/ mosque are how they interpret it. A gym for your spiritual muscles if you will...But if you confuse them and blindly trust the church, you get priests f*cking little boys...and the cover up? The ego/ arrogance to cover the truth...

Anyways, all those stories of Adam and Eve/ the apple, the tower of Babylon...don't take them so literal. No one knows this for sure...I consider them fables to teach the lesson, lessons that still hold true today. Adam & Eve (temptation is a bitch or can be your downfall), Tower of Babylon (men's mob mentality are ungrateful f*ckers), Stoning of Mary Magdalene (don't throw rocks if everyone lives in glass houses)...don't choke on the details Pornfly. Pick up the message and apply it to your life...I think it might be more fulfilling.

Now the basic idea of religion is to spread the word for other to benefit from them, but then the fanatics come in. If they're trying to force feed you their religion or it takes away value from human life, get outta there, simple as that.

In Christianity, the Bible is one of the few that teaches to turn the other cheek, take the higher road, don't be petty, watch out for the basic downfalls of man (7 sins). The kicker is they're all pearls of wisdom but if you notice, they come from common, simple farmers/ sheep herders, slaves, or egotistic kings...where did they come from? That's where the divinity comes in.

All these different religions, personally, give me a headache. I'm not going to be saying "you're all a bunch of sheep", "God/ Allah/ Zeus doesn't exist...no proof".

All I say is stick with a way of thinking spiritually that will make you a better person (Help others that can't help themselves, be truthful/ faithful, respect your elders...etc.)that will help this world. The rest is splitting hairs IMO...

Like in Christianity, everyone says they're the real deal, but they all have faults because they handled by imperfect men so I think some of the message is lost. But it's the same God!! God probably sees the whole thing as children fighting to see who's the favorite...

It's like everyone wants to get to heaven, but it just has different roads, that all.

But whatever, just choose a road you like that goes with your views and ride it, be a better person.

Of course if this makes sense, good. If not, try to find out yourself, cause the thing is nobody really knows for sure, there is no (numeric/ facts) proof and its all based on faith and hope.

Also it's assumed that it won't be from one day to another...it is a self improvement, a tough challenge to better yourself spiritually. If you f*ck up, don't worry, just try your best working on your perceived faults. That's it, the rest will fall into place.

If it sounds preachy, didn't mean to. Just talking outta my ass of my personal view.

Cheers, Senor Pornfly.
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:43:57 AM

Dont worry bout it CELLULOID
i dont care what anybody thinks about anything
Except for things that are tangible

If anybody wants to see me get my temper tested,
Let TAN tell me he has never seen either of the 80s Fly movies
but will be first in line for the remakes of The Crow/Robocop
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:50:20 AM

*Purpose*

---


Cheers Celluloid,
pornfly writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:56:17 AM

Oyea
sahlute,CELL
TonyWalnuts writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 7:30:20 AM

@Mink Bullitt is right. I watched it last week and it is awful. A truely awful piece of sh*t. The fact that is only about 90 minutes saved me from going mad.
matternm58 writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:12:33 PM

I think Ryan Reynolds best role was Buried. That movie reflects his career. Lol
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 1:15:29 PM

At Pornfly & Bullitt

Cheers gents...
Orias writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:16:24 PM

The two most stubborn people to convince of anything that counters their understanding of the world are really conservative religious people and really scientific community that are part of an establishment type of understanding where anything outside of the norm must be wrong. I don't understand why so many posters here waste time trying to convince Mr. Minkowski that ghosts are real. I believe in some of them, he dose not believe in any of them and even if I or anyone else could convince him otherwise who would care? I will never meet the man in real life so why should I care. Also, to do so would be purely for my vanity or ego so why bother? As for skeptics, being skeptical is a good thing because so much of the occult really is "bullsh*t" as you say. However, if you have an open mind about the chance *some* of it can be real and would like to read some scientifically based chapters of a book theorizing on a science-based methodology how spirits might exist and hauntings occur in those rare legitimate cases I can at least point you to a good book or two. The events in this movie were VERY closely based on true events and there is a book out there that came out a few years before the movie. Ed and Lorraine Warren NEVER took money for their services and even if ALL the haunting they helped on were imagined or had rational explanations they DID help hundred if not thousands of people through horrendous fear and terrible psychological terror so their motives should no be questioned in my opinion as they NEVER got rich of ANY of this even though they could have being the lead paranormal investigators on such high profile cases that were made into movies such as A Haunting in Connecticut and The Amityville Terror. When those movies came out did you see them come to every town and have seminars at every local Motel charging $100 to hear them talk about the case? No!
here is the real case the movie was closely based on: http://www.amazon.com/House-Darkness-Light-Story-Volume/dp/1456747592
Here is the book on Ed and Lorraine Warren.
http://www.amazon.com/The-Demonologist-Extraordinary-Career-Lorraine/dp/0595246184
And for those of you interested in the potential science behind haunting the last third of this book is gold using quantum physics and theories to rationally explain how it might be possible.http://www.amazon.com/books/dp/1936608855
Orias writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:25:43 PM

Oh, BTW-Annabelle the cursed doll really exists, here is the background story. In the movie they changed how it looks, the real Annabell looks very innocent and harmless and not at all like the creepy doll in the movie. http://www.warrens.net/Annabelle.html
Orias writes:
on July 22nd, 2013 at 6:37:57 PM

Also the museum of cursed, haunted, and possessed objects also exists in real life as well. Some of the TV shows and movies you have seen over the past decade were writers and directors reading the books and newspaper articles of the Warrens and making a fictional derivative of it as a horror movie. So it is ironic when I see short sighted critics saying THIS movie copied off of other when in fact the other horror movies that came out earlier copied off of the Warren's cases that happened decades before those movies were ever produced. Here is a link to the museum, not everyone is invited but if you go through the right channels even a skeptic can get in to see it for him or herself first hand and in real life. https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Warrens-Occult-Museum/126070474135029?sk=info
Dirt writes:
on July 23rd, 2013 at 9:58:09 AM

Reynolds is f*cked. How does he pick his scripts? I think it might be too late, but he needs to fire his agent.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved