WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dead Space" Video Game to Become a Movie

Posted: July 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dead Space" Video Game to Become a MovieSubmit Comment
Electronic Arts is planning to turn its popular "Dead Space" video game franchise into a movie. "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li" writer Justin Marks has already been hired to provide the script, while Neal Moritz (I Am Legend) is on board to produce.

During the San Diego Comic-Con, Marks said that the "Dead Space" film shouldn't be faithful to the video game. "You would be making 'Event Horizon' or 'Alien.' I've already seen that movie," he stated, adding that the director should instead focus on the main character's story.

While a director has yet to be brought on board, John Carpenter (Halloween, The Thing) had previously expressed interest in taking on the project. "I maintain that 'Dead Space' would just make a great movie because you have these people coming onto an abandoned, shut-down space ship and they have to start it up and something's on board," he said. "It's just great stuff. I would love to make 'Dead Space' [into a film]."

Electronic Arts attempted to make a "Dead Space" movie back in 2009 with "Eagle Eye" director DJ Caruso attached to helm.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:08:48 AM

No.
Morbius writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:17:52 AM

This ^

No matter how they make this (the first game was phenomenal, the next two canon... Not so much) it's going to be Event Horizon meets Alien.

Unless you set it in Isaacs' late teens, have no necromorphs, and lots of topless lesbiens, binge drinking, partying, graduation, and Steve Stiffer.
Taco writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:17:56 AM

Lol Mink.
Just no to all these ideas. I agree, no. Theres yet to be a good video game/film adaptation.
Morbius writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:18:23 AM

Lesbians*

Always happy to create a fresh post for them.
timothy archer writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:18:54 AM

f*ck caruso. let john carpenter helm this one.
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:39:50 AM

Same thing Mohammed Ali said after coming back from Zimbabwe (iirc): thank god my great granddaddy got on that boat!
minkowski writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:46:48 AM

Wrong article.
nawtnt writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 7:58:53 AM

Finally some video game movie adaptations.

At least it is not a classic movie remake.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 8:09:34 AM

Silent Hill and the first Mortal Kombat movie were good video game to film adaptations, so it can be done.

Dead Space can be made into a good movie with the right writer and director. Prometheus was lame and weak with top talent at the helm.

Make good choices with a Dead Space film and this can be avoided, but I doubt that will happen.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 8:54:55 AM

How the f*ck does Marks still get work?
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 10:08:37 AM

I know its a 1% chance it will be any good at all but imagine if carpenter did it would basicly be the thing in space
TheAmicko writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

@Patrick : was thinking the same thing about it just being "The Thing" in space. But maybe that wouldn't be so bad. Since "The Thing" is one of my favorite movies. Carpenter is good. @Deaft : I'm glad I'm not the only one who liked the Silent Hill movie. And I'm a big SH game fan.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 11:34:00 AM

@Patrick : was thinking the same thing about it just being "The Thing" in space. But maybe that wouldn't be so bad. Since "The Thing" is one of my favorite movies. Carpenter is good. @Deaft : I'm glad I'm not the only one who liked the Silent Hill movie. And I'm a big SH game fan.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 12:35:08 PM

@TheAmicko

Yeah and even the 2nd Silent Hill movie wasn't bad either, I have enjoyed all the games as well.

Also, I know that Prometheus is not based on a video game, I meant that even with Ridley Scott directing a space movie, it was sh*t.

Compare it to Danny Boyle's Sunshine which eclipses (pun intended) Prometheus in every way imaginable. And it was made with a much lower budget but has a much better story that actually makes sense.

Get someone like Boyle to do a Dead Space film and it could be decent. The games themselves already have solid storylines to begin with.
Stapes writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 12:54:05 PM

Dead Space is hugely derivative itself, but most games are, I would be down with giving carpenter another chance, and I would pay to see a dead space adaptation helmed by him, one caveat: practical fx only.
Stapes writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 12:55:06 PM

Dead Space is hugely derivative itself, but most games are, I would be down with giving carpenter another chance, and I would pay to see a dead space adaptation helmed by him, one caveat: practical fx only.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 1:58:44 PM

@Deaft : Yeah The second one was solid too. The first game series to give a really good story and real intense psychological horror and suspense. I enjoyed all the games as well. "The Room" was the weakest for me. It wasoobvious it was originally intended not to be a SH game. That damn Pyramid Head stil haunts me... Lol
TheAmicko writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 2:01:54 PM

Good call on Danny Boyle directing also. Sunshine was very well made and a Good movie. I liked Evans in his role as well. Showed there he actually Can act well with an interesting script.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 2:14:51 PM

Dead Space was a brilliant game with great scares...they will surely f*ck it up !!!
Videogame- movies never work !
Zeroguy writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 4:44:25 PM

If it means work for Carpenter then yes please. He's in need of a big break before he goes to the heavens. His last few flicks have done poorly, both critically and financially. Plus I just want him to make another movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 19th, 2013 at 6:51:22 PM

This guys are retards. Seriously, there is no other possible explanation. I f*cking love the first two games, this kicks me in the balls.
pH0u57 writes:
on July 20th, 2013 at 4:34:22 AM

"Marks said that the "Dead Space" film shouldn't be faithful to the video game."


Yeah, Marks, f*ck you, too!
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 5:44:06 PM

aleale writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 5:42:36 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 10:36:07 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 4:16:28 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved