WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

Posted: July 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Robert Downey Jr is HollywoodSubmit Comment
Robert Downey Jr really turned his career around. He not only starred in six movies that have each grossed over $500 million, but two of those movies, "The Avengers" and "Iron Man 3," each earned over $1 billion.

Due to that success, Downey has topped the Forbes list of highest paid actors, earning a whopping $75 million from June 2012 to June 2013. Even though he has an impressive salary, most of his earnings came from owning a percentage of "The Avengers" and "Iron Man 3." He likely has an even better deal to return for "The Avengers 2" and "The Avengers 3."

Taking second place on the list is Channing Tatum with $60 million, thanks to "Magic Mike." He and director Steven Soderbergh put up $7 million to make that movie, which went on to gross $167 million globally, with most of the profits going directly into their pockets.

Tom Cruise topped the list last year with $75 million, but ended up taking seven place this time with $37 million. Leonardo DiCaprio, Dwayne Johnson, Mark Wahlberg and Adam Sandler all made the list for the second year in a row. Johnny Depp, who usually dominates these lists, didn't make the top ten.

1. Robert Downey Jr: $75 million

2. Channing Tatum: $60 million

3. Hugh Jackman: $55 million

4. Mark Wahlberg: $52 million

5. Dwayne Johnson: $46 million

6. Leonardo DiCaprio: $39 million

7. Adam Sandler: $37 million

8. Tom Cruise: $35 million

9. Denzel Washington: $33 million

10. Liam Neeson: $32 million

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 7:14:48 AM

Hey Alex, thats actually a good pic for your article. Good job. Dont let it go to your head though.
boogiel writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:17:45 AM

Shiiitt, Twatum is second? Who the hell made that list anyway?
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:21:58 AM

What the f*ck was Denzel in last year?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:26:02 AM

Adam Sandler made that much?? Never knew Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore were selling that well at Walmart.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:37:30 AM

@Biz: He was in Flight and Safe House.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:46:20 AM

Good for him. Who doesn't like a comeback story?
Cannon writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 9:39:39 AM


Given his current status and pay grade, all it would take is one speedball and...bye bye, Marvel franchise.

Seriously, though, I wouldn't wish that on the guy. Good for him.



pornfly writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 9:41:51 AM

RDJ deserves it
i watched IM2 again last night and he carried the sh*t outta that movie
If he was in Rock Of Ages instead of TC
there would have been no problem
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 10:11:28 AM

I thought Fred Dryer would be numero uno!
nawtnt writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 10:22:11 AM

Good fo RDJ.

Great comeback when no one didn't give a sh*t about him as he struggle with addiction.

Who knows? Maybe Lohan can make a comeback but some people think that will never happen which may I agree too.
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 10:59:36 AM

What is even more amazing is how his life changed from being a drug addict and a regular inmate of the federal penitentiary in California and now he's on top that list.

That is the most impressive come back I've ever seen. Good on him anyway as he is a very talented actor.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 12:28:17 PM

No Bruce Willis :(
Curbcooler writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 1:27:22 PM

This list is inaccurate! Will Smith is still the most
Paid with over 80 million a movie. I don't see why
He is not on this list. Same thing with Johnny Depp.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 2:21:30 PM

Tanman32123 After seeing the latest Die Hard Bruce Willis can go suck Channing Scrotums c*ck.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 2:34:46 PM

Be nice to my favorite actor! Lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 2:39:31 PM

The last Die Hard made over 300 million but its still a pile of Rhino sh*t.

I will probably see RED 2 this weekend though because I did like the first one.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 2:39:50 PM

Denzel is on the list mostly because of Flight, actually. The film only cost $33 million to make but both him and Bob Zemeckis took tiny upfront paychecks in exchange for a fat cut of the backend gross profits. Taters was smart to gamble on Magic Mike for the same reason, a lot of stars do this nowadays because it actually affords them more creative control in exchange for less upfront money and the chance to bank some serious cash if the film hits.

Taters may be a forgettable actor but kudos for him to put his money where his mouth is. He earned that paycheck, fair and square... and honestly I'd rather him get it than some ineffectual middle management suck-up piece of sh*t studio exec.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 3:34:25 PM

Same, I liked he first RED, So I'll watch Number two. An yes, The last Die Hard was f*cking Garbage. And you have no idea how hard that is to type...

Also, I'm in the Theater for Lone Ranger right now. Review will be up later. Expectation: 6-7/10
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 3:36:55 PM

Ralph Macchio is number 5,681,463 on this list.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 3:53:11 PM

Downey is proof you can stroll up the abyss, kick a rock or two into it, dance along the rim, stand on your head, and then merrily walk away into the sun.

Cory Monteith, on the other hand, proved Darwin's premise that the least fit members of a species don't deserve to leave.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 3:53:50 PM

Wow. Auto-correct is a c*nt-whore.

Live.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 4:01:21 PM

After "Valhalla Rising,
" I got offered a Paul Schrader script,
"The Dying of the Light."
They asked if I'd like to do it,
and agreed.
First, we were going to cast Robert DeNiro.
I came to New York
, and met with him for like, 10 seconds.
And he said, "I don't wanna do the movie." Well, he could have told me that
before I came here!

So ok, who would I like instead?
Well, Harrison Ford would be cool.
Harrison Ford saw "Bronson"—
he didn't like it.
Forget that one.
But he did see some of my Danish films,
which I think he did respond to, especially "Pusher 2
So he said, "I'll do the movie."
And I thought great,
but the character has to die.
So my contribution to cinema was going to be killing Harrison Ford.
But he didn't like that,
so it didn't happen.

And then I thought, "You know what? I'm going to make 'Drive'

http://www.rogerebert.com/balder-and-dash/art-is-an-act-of-violence-an-interview-with-nicolas-winding-refn

mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 6:11:50 PM

"Art is an act of violence"... really, this article really should be entitled "Art is an act of dealing with aging actors who don't give a f*ck what some upstart director wants"
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 6:49:47 PM

I'm just curious...does this list reflect merely acting salaries, or total paid, because I can certainly see someone like Cruise making a hell of a lot more from other involvement besides acting.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 6:53:57 PM

About to watch the evil dead reboot finally made it to redbox
mark2828 writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 6:58:51 PM

Minkowski:

"To compile our list, we talked to agents, producers, managers and other people in-the-know to estimate earnings for each star between June 2012 and June 2013. We don’t deduct for taxes, agent fees or any of the other costs of being a celebrity. While Downey tops this list, he only ranked 20th on our Celebrity 100 list, which is based on earnings and fame. Here we’re only looking at income."

http://www.forbes.com/sites/dorothypomerantz/2013/07/16/robert-downey-jr-tops-forbes-list-of-hollywoods-highest-paid-actors/

The article doesn't appear to elaborate beyond that.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 7:08:16 PM

@Mark: thanks for that. Would be nice if you could get people's tax records via a FOIA request.
mark2828 writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 7:34:37 PM

I remember back in 2002 when "The Scorpion King" was released in theaters, I thought that by 2012-2013, Dwayne Johnson would be reduced to making straight-to-DVD B movies just like every other wrestler-turned-actor before (and after, so far) his transition into film acting.

Look at him now. He truly is the closest to a new Arnold Schwarzenegger that one can find in the modern movie age.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 7:47:15 PM

I think I just cried a little.
pornfly writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:18:07 PM

Cool lil article,BANE
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:19:18 PM

I always knew that Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson would be a huge movie star, much to bandoloser's chagrin!
pornfly writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:33:23 PM

XD classic
so he CAN smell what The Rock was cooking
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 8:53:04 PM

@mark2828

Lol that looks more like Alex Jones than Dustin Buttman there.
elrei writes:
on July 17th, 2013 at 9:25:47 PM

Whaaaaaat no Amazing Spiderman 2 News today?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=dEHcD9XFhhA

Theres is the teaser trailer at ComicCon

It sucks.
mark2828 writes:
on July 18th, 2013 at 12:14:42 AM

Yup.
Shafty writes:
on July 18th, 2013 at 1:55:38 PM

Good on downey, he deserves it.

Ugh Channing Tatum pulled in that much? Makes me wish 2012 actually went down. Oh well good on him, he gambled on magic mike and hit big.

Adam Sandler doesn't deserve 37 cents though. Honestly, how hard is it to take a giant dump and call it a movie!
goeygogo writes:
on July 21st, 2013 at 1:24:28 AM

Christian Bale's agent sucks

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved