WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pacific Rim" is a Massive Box Office Flop

Posted: July 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pacific Rim" is a Massive Box Office FlopSubmit Comment
After the Thursday and Friday results, many thought that Guillermo Del Toro's "Pacific Rim" sci-fi film would be able to earn at least $50 million, which unfortunately would still not be enough to put the $200 million film on track to becoming profitable.

Now that the weekend results are in, it turns out that "Pacific Rim" performed worse than expected. The movie grossed only $38.3 million domestically, which means that it will heavily rely on international markets to break even. But those markets weren't interested in "Pacific Rim" either. The film grossed only $54 million overseas, much less than expected.

"Pacific Rim," which has a decent 72% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, took third place at the box office, losing to Adam Sandler's "Grown Ups" sequel which landed in second place with $42.5 million. Since the comedy cost only $80 million to make, "Grown Ups 2" is already on its way to become a hit.

"Grown Ups 2," which has a 7% fresh rating, actually opened better than the first film ($40.2 million), which went on to become the highest-grossing Sandler movie with $271 million.

First place once again went to "Despicable Me 2," which earned an additional $44.7 million to bring its worldwide total to $472 million after only 12 days of release.

On the specialty side, Michael B. Jordan's "Fruitvale Station" was released at the same time as the verdict was made in the George Zimmerman case. As a result the movie grossed $377,285 from only seven theaters for an amazing per-screen average of $53,898, the third best of the year. "Fruitvale Station" has a 90% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Pacific Rim" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:56:59 PM

I fell asleep twice while watching DM2. I feel sad that Pacific Rim didn't do big business. It was a more enjoyable film than Man of Steel.
Electro Rock writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 11:00:10 PM

Pacific Rim is awesome. Makes Johnny Sokko look like the muppets.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 11:05:19 PM

cant believe people went to see grown ups 2.bunch of washed up 90s comedians from SNL.stupid americans
Gyro_44 writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 11:16:37 PM

I gotta say, this article is disgustingly biased against Pacific Rim, and really inaccurate.

The domestic debut was certainly underwhelming, yes. But the overseas numbers are perfectly good, even very good. It opened in 38 markets overseas (which is only about 50% of the markets it will eventually release in). Even Box Office Mojo thinks that's damn solid, and could eventually reach $300 million overseas. And they're a box office site I trust, and not, you know, completely full of crap:


So even if it collapses domestically with only $100 million or something, it's still reasonable that it could bring in $400 million worldwide. It's far from a "massive flop", especially at this point. What's with the obvious bias, and clearly inaccurate information? Not so cool...
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 11:27:31 PM

Most people just don't want to see Power Rangers the Movie and you can argue otherwise, but the fact they flocked to a piece of sh*t comedy and an animated cartoon tells me del Toro and the studio don't know what audiences really want.
jthm-1 writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 11:29:29 PM

How the hell did "GU2" cost 80 million? I know, salaries.

Haven't seen "PR" yet, but would gladly buy 2 tickets, (matinee of course, I'm not rich), just to support Del Toro. He's an important genre talent.
Taco writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 11:58:09 PM

I knew this would never be profitable with such a high buget. They spent more than transfomers and people still have a bad taste in there mouth from that. Sfx was not going to save this movie. Sorry but its just a dumb idea and it was dumber to spend that much money on it.
velocityknown writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:02:30 AM

I kind of don't care.

We got this one and that makes me immensely happy. It's going to be enjoyed for a long time.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:40:57 AM

Well, the dvds and bluerays should help with the money so stop with the moaning. On the other hand, if the movie turned out to be a huge hit the sequels would have been announced inmediately and set to release 2014 and 2015 and everybody would be pissed anyway! It was a good experiment, a great one-time experience. And that was it, no need for yet another "franchise" polluting the theaters.
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:44:02 AM

Alex you are very petty.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:45:34 AM

And gay.
Rambo writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:54:51 AM

he just likes the word massive
Rambo writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:58:39 AM

I'll be watching a free screening of Pacific Rim on wed although my brother which hated MOS as well told me it was crap but I keep my hopes up....
DriveMemento writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 1:20:44 AM

"del Toro and the studio don't know what audiences really want."


I don't think Del Toro was doing what every audience would want, I think del toro was doing what he wanted to do. This is the movie he most likely wanted to do his whole career. This is what he got in the movie business for. Del toro has been making monster movies his whole career. Monster movies are not for everyone. Monsters vs Robots are not for everyone.

I applaud del toro for his effort in doing something he truly wanted to do. He was finally given the opportunity and went for it!
I enjoyed Pacific Rim with only a few cheesy and predictable moments that I have to complain about.

Tanman32123 writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 1:49:26 AM

I probably wont even en up watching pacific rim. But you never know lol..
Taco writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 2:33:32 AM

@ DriveMomento
If what you said is true of Del Toro than he and the studio are rich ignorant morons. I highly doubt he made the movie just for himself while not thinking about audience attendence. And the studio will always be thinking about how many butts they can get in the theatre. More than likely they were hoping people would react to this like Transformers and hopefully gather more crowds from the asain monster movie demographic. I bet it worked on paper and thats what studios use. And thats why they fail.
Cannon writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 3:29:49 AM


Though technically proven true (so far, anyways), I still think its unfair to specifically blame Del Toro and the studio for not knowing what the masses wanted. You say the movie is a dumb idea, but that doesn’t really hold water -- as if dumb ideas don’t sell. Grown Ups 2 is a dumb idea. Transformers is a dumb idea. And while the budget here was more than the first Transformers (possible inflation?) it certainly wasn’t higher than the following two sequels.

And if Transformers left a bad taste in audiences’ mouth, they must have nonetheless favored such a spoonful, seeing as all three of those films were enormously successful, both stateside and overseas. Also, and this is purely a shot in the dark, I suspect next summer’s Transformers 4 will do just as well, or at least better than the film in question is doing now, therefore I’m not sure how much giant robot fatigue is really playing a factor here.

So, form that perspective, its easy enough to see why the studios thought, "Hey, why wouldn’t this work?" Now, again, the box office results don’t lie, but I reckon in this case its just one of those unfortunate, bad luck, loophole-phenomenons where a (relatively) sure bet succ*mbed to unforeseeably bad timing, that audiences just weren’t in the mood this summer around, that multiplex attendees in general are just f*cking stupid ...or all three of the above, or whatever.

In any event, f*ck Grown Ups 2, f*ck Transformers, f*ck the Movie Gods and f*ck people.

minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 4:19:27 AM

What taco said.
Rambo writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 4:26:42 AM

what mink said
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 4:37:14 AM

what rambo said
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 4:55:30 AM

What Brick said.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 7:54:33 AM

Grown Ups was successful because 30-40 yo parents who loved Sandler during their late high school and early college years (the Happy Gilmore Era) took their young kids to see it. Unfortunately, these parents were also children of the 80s Voltron/Gatchaman era so losing them to GU2 took a huge bite out of PR's opening weekend. Lets see if that persists in week 2 when Sandler films usually take a dive and good reviews/word of mouth fuels PR.
Džeko writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 7:54:51 AM

The oversea numbers will cover it...or at least that's what I am hoping foe.
Džeko writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 7:55:05 AM

SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 7:57:03 AM

Pac Rim's lack of star power is also hurting it. Even Transformers had Shia LeBitch headlining.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 8:03:13 AM

Not sure where Del Toro dug up his lead actors but they have zero drawing power and have even less scene presence. Even Idris failed to shine in this, something that is starting to become a little repetitive with his film choices. He's awesome on TV, but he was terrible in The Losers, Prometheus, and Pacific Rim. WTF?
BigRedCat writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 8:35:29 AM

del Toro is regarded as a significant director, but I can think of only two films he actually directed that have any merit.

Pan's Labyrinth
TheAmicko writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 9:57:48 AM

You now why original films flop? Because Americans are kind of stupid and have no taste (not all of you of course... You know who you are). So now and for many years to come we can enjoy masterpieces like : Saw 24, Transformers 33 and countless remakes!!!! Arrghhhh!!!!
Shafty writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 11:46:30 AM

ehh I've heard mixed reviews. I'll wait till its out on HBO or some other cable channel. I could care less about this movie.

Though its rather pathetic anyone went to see grown ups 2. Adam Sandler hasn't even made a mediocre film since Happy Gilmore. I guess people really will watch anything.

Is it wrong that I get excited when movies fail and studios lose a sh*t ton of money? My dream is that Hollywood goes completely bankrupt and all these worthless celebrities become unemployed!
Chris_G writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 12:49:45 PM

To say it's a massive flop is really jumping the gun. For starters, the budget reported by any official source was $190 million at the highest. Del Toro and co. talked about how they kept it quite low for this type of film and that they even came in under-budget.

It JUST opened...it has the rest of it's domestic run to go, and depending on word-of-mouth, could do fine. It also only just opened in HALF of it's international markets...so it has the other half left to open in...plus the entire length of it's run in all of those markets. It's not going to be some amazing, blockbuster performance.

But to call it a massive flop is ridiculous. If these were it's final numbers, THEN it would be a massive flop. Chill with the hyperbole.

I remember when this site reported that 'Life of Pi' bombed after it's first weekend...even though the film went on to gross over $600 million worldwide on a $120 million budget.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 2:47:22 PM

38 million domestic + 50 million overseas (half of all territories) weekend basically means this film will likely pull in about $300-350 million, all told. That's probably good enough for a little over break even for the studio... last I checked 'break even' is rarely synonymous with 'huge flop.'
That writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 5:51:53 PM

Really deserves more than just breaking even.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 7:43:18 PM

This movie was never gonna have an epic opening, but I think it'll have some sleeper hit potential with good word of mouth. I bet we'll see some surprisingly strong numbers next weekend. Also, it has yet to open in China and Japan, where it should do pretty well.
BillyBunter writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 10:17:50 PM

I also think this has been the most overcrowded summer in years as far as huge box office movies coming out. Can any of you guys think of a year that was this crowded? i for sure can't and that has has probably hurt this film.
jikae writes:
on July 18th, 2013 at 12:38:55 AM

All right. WHAT THE FLYING f*ck ARE YOU GUYS TALKING ABOUT? Transformers made more money with each film. Let's face the facts. Not all directors are adept at making summer blockbusters. GDT is a talented director, but he should stick to low/modest budget genre films. THAT'S IT. That's where he's good at it. Stay here.

You actually think, "oh, we tried to make a movie and it didn't make money. okay, that was worth the $250 million that for a film which they're only doing 3-4 times a year".

And yes, GDT gets all the blame because he directed, wrote, AND produced. Do you know what means? There's nowhere to place the blame except on him. He had his fingerprints all over this film. If it does well, he gets all the praise. Well, guess what? Grown Ups 2 did better with no other competition.

The script was sh*t. The characters were sh*t. The f*cking names were terrible. Stacker Pentecost? Really? Come on man. And the dialogue? It felt like an elementary student could write that sh*t.

The action? Everything was at night and in the f*cking ocean. Couldn't see a damn thing. All the action was incomprehensible and convenient. Oh, I'll fist fight this monster who's f*cking me up, but oh yeah, that's right. I have a sword...f*ck THIS sh*t.
jikae writes:
on July 18th, 2013 at 12:40:36 AM

And not to mention the hour in the middle of the film where NOTHING was going on. Nothing of importance anyways. I don't sleep through a lot of movies, but this would've done it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved