WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pacific Rim" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pacific Rim" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Guillermo Del Toro's $200 million monster movie "Pacific Rim" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "Pacific Rim" has a decent 72% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the film is "awesome" and the kind of movie that needs to be seen in theaters, in IMAX, and in 3D. While almost everyone believes it's entertaining and ambitions, there are plenty of critics who found the movie predictable and lacking in the story department.

"Pacific Rim" performed well on Thursday and Friday, but will struggle to compete with Adam Sandler's "Grown Ups 2," which has been trashed by critics (7% fresh rating). According to early predictions, "Pacific Rim" may earn as much as $50 million during the weekend, which means that it will need to have a strong overseas performance to become profitable.

Click here to read our "Pacific Rim" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 4:15:20 AM

According to ticket sales, it's an inferior film to Thrown Up Too.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 4:37:28 AM

I went in really not expecting much more than monsters and robots fighting and was pleasantly surprised to get much more than that. I would even go so far as to say this is Del Toro's best film to date. Its script is intelligent, the action set pieces are concise and effective (and thrilling), and I walked out of the theater smiling. I saw it in 2D but might actually go back to see it in 3D.
TheFilmmaker writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 4:48:24 AM

Saw it for my first IMAX film and I was pleasantly surprised. The story is kind of lacking but I had fun watching it the whole time. Charlie Hunnam and the asian chick pissed me off the whole time though. Hopefully a sequel focuses on Charlie Day since he was the most likable and his part of the story was the most intriguing.
cress writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:20:46 AM

Going Monday bitches.
cress writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:43:17 AM

@Mink. It will probably still be profitable enough overseas that a sequel might get greenlit, from what I've read. If I was Del Toro, though, I would just move on to something else. This film might not even clear $100 mil in the States. That never bodes well for a sequel, no matter how good it does overseas
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:45:49 AM

Bring us back a cam, Cress.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:47:06 AM

@Cress: yeah, I don't think so, and I'm starting to wonder if del Toro might have to go back to smaller budget films as well.

I guess there goes At The Mountains of Madness.
cress writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:50:54 AM

@Mink. Is there not one out already?
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:54:00 AM

@Cress: nope. Not that I can see. You can be the first. Just don't get caught.

http://www.localmemphis.com/news/local/story/Woman-Charged-with-Movie-Piracy-for-Drink-Cup/wSNoOAQX50SZdx4pbCC_hg.cspx
j-man writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 5:58:52 AM

Brillaint film, f*ck every adam sandler theatre going c*nt that there is......
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 9:06:26 AM

IM3
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LbMFE2fb6hg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Im probably late to the party with this link but just in case
not too much use of the kid
Smart action
Smart ass but not too much
and we were this close to having a puertorican President
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 9:24:38 AM

Entertaining and ambitions.
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 9:38:19 AM

Atlantic Rim will make its money back before this film does.
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 9:57:02 AM

Lunopolis

given the fact that it contradicts itself with having found footage
Its still a cool lil movie
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:01:08 AM

@Stuntman Mike:

As you know, there is no rim in the Atlantic, but there is a spread. No...Atlantic Spread, then.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

so.
Cannon writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:14:17 AM


It was fun. It was actually fun. It was Saturday cartoon heroism at its finest. It wasn't moody or uber-serious. The whole affair was very unselfconscious and entertaining.

It was also directed with singular vision and top-notch artistry and craft; some wonderful exotic imagery. For me, it is THE summer movie.

Cannon writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:15:10 AM


I meant to say Saturday morning cartoon...
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:17:42 AM

Interesting article

Will Hollywood Franchises Destroy Originality?


http://wallstcheatsheet.com/stocks/will-hollywood-franchises-destroy-originality.html
velocityknown writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:20:46 AM

Just plain f*cking great. Everything you want and needed out a summer blockbuster film and then some. I can't recommend it enough.
shiteater writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 12:38:28 PM

The effects were awesome. The camera views and general experience made it feel like you were really there and the size of an ant compared to the huge monsters. The battle scenes were incredible.

Everything else was so-so. The characters were weak. I could have cared less if the main leads died or not. The Asian chick was really weak and brought the film down for me. The only exceptions here were Charlie Day and especially Ron Perlman, he's always good.

Worth seeing for the monster fight scenes alone. Lots of opportunity for piss breaks inbetween.
BillyBunter writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 2:04:57 PM

I saw pac rim it yesterday and really enjoyed it. Its does not take its self to seriously and it really does have a comic book fun feel about it.

I loved the steam punk elements from the set design and even what some of the characters were wearing. I also agree with sh*teater, you really did feel like these robots were massive in scale. It was also good that it was a world effort saving the day not just the US like in most action movies.

This is probably the most fun summer action movie that has come out so far, i i think i am going to see it again in Imax 3D because you really need the biggest fricking screen around to watch this thing, its so immersive and such a cool world. I tip my hat to GDT for trying to create something new and taking a chance instead of picking up an already established toy or franchise name.Plus it does lend loads from other cult things we loved growing up but it really does work with this film.
ChaseEvolution writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 2:49:58 PM

Of course all of you negative people are praising this film wince Guillermo Del Toro is directing, but if he wasn't then you'd all be bitching about how bad the movie is.

Y'all are negative. Simple as that.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 3:11:11 PM

^^ Only one complaining is you ballbag sucker!
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 3:24:42 PM

lol@enforcer.
Rambo writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 3:45:06 PM

Negative.
BillyBunter writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 3:49:34 PM

What are smoking chase? I think you will find that most of the crowd in here will bust balls about a movie but if it turns out to be good people have no problem in saying they were wrong and the film was good.

The problem is there is a large amount of sh*t out there being made. Some people like Mink, Deaft and bullet analyze films because they really love movies and they are good at calling films out for what they are. But they will be the first to hold up there hands up if they are surprised by a movie.

Others like Myself, Tanman and some on here are more tolerant and less critical because we are not looking for the same things in a film as the above folks. And there is a bunch of people on here not to name any names that just have no real opinion or anything insightful to add and just talk utter sh*t or just get involved with other peoples beef on here. And there are others that talk random nonsensical sh*t that makes me laugh.

This is the joy of worst previews and if you don't like it, jog on ! Plus if you go to any other message board like deadline, ain't it cool news and so forth every one is pretty much the same thing.
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:02:24 PM

watching STNG Unification eps.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:03:41 PM

The movie is fun, all I gotta add is a simple thing: f*ck Adam Sandler and his pathetic friends.
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:06:03 PM

If STNG was made today it would be brilliantly produced garbage

they would probably have Khloe K/Snookie as aliens from planet Ew
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:16:45 PM

Pickards jacket is pimp
Spocks dad looks like he's havin a wet dream in the beginning
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:24:05 PM

Klingons-whats in it for the Klingon empire?

Pickard- our gratitude

-and what if we refuse?
-then we will go to another Klingon empire and THEY will have our...gratitude

THATS writing,bitchez
SACdaddy writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:30:40 PM

Great fight sequences and attention to effects details. Also some of the best use of 3D in awhile. But the story, editing, and most of all the acting were laughable. And when I say laughable I mean myself and many others in the theater were laughing every time someone opened their mouth or tried to show what they thought was emotion. Oh well those shortcomings actually made it feel a lot like a bad early 90s action film or Voltron cartoon so they didn't hurt the film as much as they could have. It also had scenes lifted right out of films like Top Gun and Independence Day that actually were so laughable that they kept a very slow 2nd act somewhat entertaining (even if for all the wrong reasons).

All in all its a good bad movie much like Independence Day. 6.5/10 or 7.5/10 if seen in IMAX.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:31:33 PM

Kind of a less annoying Transformers.
zxz writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:32:28 PM

This could be a surprise mega hit. For one, if enough people dig it, some will see it more than once, and two, it may really have legs. I figure most of those who want to see the new Sander will see it this weekend, but that will give Pacific Rim some breathing room. Also, let's see how it does in Japan, where films like this that we never even hear of in the states, are huge. I would not be so quick to discount the potential box office mojo of Pacific Rim.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 7:35:52 PM

I liked it. I hate it when good films don't get seen but it looks like it might happen here. Not Oscar worthy but good.
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 8:14:43 PM

The back and forth between Spock/Data was just outsanding
pornfly writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 8:14:43 PM

The back and forth between Spock/Data was just outsanding
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 9:17:44 PM

I enjoyed the movie. The few complaints that I have: Why was every fight scene filmed at night? I had a difficult time seeing the details of the fight between the monsters and the machines. And no more victory speeches just before battle. That part was lifted right out of ID4.
Slidefire writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 9:38:51 PM

Best movie of the year
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:03:07 PM

I saw it earlier this afternoon, it was just a really fun and truly enjoyable movie and the general tone and feel of it is like when you were a kid and imagined giant robots and monsters battling.

GDT took this exact sense of imagination and wonder and made it into an actual movie. The acting was deliberately cheesy because this is how you imagined people talking in your head as a kid. It was very clever once you figure that out.

8/10 from me. I will see it again once it hits the $2 theater too.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:07:33 PM

Michael Bay Casts Chinese Star Han Geng in 'Transformers 4'

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/michael-bay-casts-chinese-star-han-geng-transformers-202311577.html
Stapes writes:
on July 14th, 2013 at 10:11:04 PM

Thanks, deaftone. Definitely a rental.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 3:55:43 AM

To be honest I doubt I will see this until I get a 3d Bluray, For me to goto the movies I have to be really into it. I purchase bluray films and have a hell of a collection.

The ones I have seen this year are

Man Of Steel 7/10
Fast 6 (Took step daughter) 7/10
Star Trek Into Darkness 7/10
The Evil Dead 8/10
The Hobbit 6/10
Iron Man 3 8/10
biniwoo writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 6:51:02 AM

According to Corey Monteith, "Pacific Rim" is not that good
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 15th, 2013 at 7:43:17 AM

Rimming by the pacific is always fun,
especially when the receiver has a wonderful bum!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved