WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Mendes Officially Confirmed to Return for "James Bond 24"

Posted: July 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Mendes Officially Confirmed to Return for "James Bond 24"Submit Comment
First director Sam Mendes (Skyfall) said that he had no interest in returning for any more James Bond films. Then he expressed some interest. Then producer Michael G Wilson and Barbara Broccoli started searching for his replacement. And finally, it was confirmed that Mendes will return to direct his follow up to "Skyfall," which will be the 24th installment in the James Bond franchise.

Wilson and Broccoli announced today Mendes will direct from a screenplay by John Logan. Daniel Craig will once again reprise his role as British secret agent. The new movie will be released in theaters on November 6th, 2014.

"Following the extraordinary success of 'Skyfall,' we're really excited to be working once again with Daniel Craig, Sam Mendes and John Logan," said Wilson and Broccoli.

Mendes added: "I am very pleased that by giving me the time I need to honor all my theater commitments, the producers have made it possible for me to direct 'Bond 24.' I very much look forward to taking up the reins again, and to working with Daniel Craig, Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli for a second time."

Source: Columbia Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 9:45:16 PM

I still don't quite get the hoopla behind Skyfall. It was fine. It was entirely too long. Casino Royale was superior in every way, and, quite frankly, I have always thought QoS was a decent entry... in fact, I'd lump Skyfall into the same tier as QoS.

But that's just me, I suppose.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 9:46:07 PM

Meh ant-man comes out a year later
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 9:47:40 PM

I havnt watched a bond movie since golden eye just not my cup of tea
elrei writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 9:47:47 PM

It's all about the Benjamins baby! But all jokes aside, I'm glad. Skyfall was a lot of fun... I'm pretty sure it's 2015 Alex. Bitch.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 9:57:52 PM

Then it is up against ant man ought to be interesting
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:00:32 PM

So Mendes changed his tune when the money started calling, huh?

And I agree with Mustard, not that he or I should care who agrees with who, that Skyfalls was too damned long and convoluted, clearly right there with Quantum of Solace and really nowhere near Casino's elegant, simple, straight-forward execution.

Band mostly sucks anyway, especially the Sean Connery films, anyway, and the series seemed to have hit a creative peak with GoldenEye.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:01:04 PM

o -anyway.
Dreamcast writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:15:45 PM

All that "I'm not interested in coming back" and "we're looking for a replacement" bullsh*t, it's just codespeak for contract negotiations.

They drove a dumptruck full of money up to his house and that solved everything.
Champ1432 writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:18:51 PM

This is good news to me, I really enjoyed Skyfall, I think it was near or equal in quality to Casino Royale. I don't think it was quite as convoluted as QoS, Mink, that's a pretty high bar lol.

But as I said, this is good news to me. Hoping for another good entry in the Bond series.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:44:53 PM

"They drove a dumptruck full of money up to his house and that solved everything."

lol....that's funny...
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:49:40 PM

"I don't think it was quite as convoluted as QoS, Mink, that's a pretty high bar lol."

Yeah you're right, Champ, I was being facetious, but SkyFall COULD have used some judicious pruning in the editing room for sure.


Seems the Hollywood method now is creating a new franchise and then spending the money to build up its momentum. Took them awhile to figure that one out, if all the old series like Jaws and Nightmare are any indication, where they just lazily and haphazardly made a sequel and waited to sell it on the original film's name.

Sequel franchise is the new keyphrase for cinematic empire, I guess.
Champ1432 writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 10:59:15 PM

Yeah, Skyfall probably could have been a bit shorter. And you're also right about the franchise theory. It's what every studio wants. As many as possible. That's why they put so much effort into creating and aquiring new ones, and then keeping the ones that they have going.

Many times it does go as you say, and the latter installments usually don't live up to the earlier ones. I like what I see from the new Bond so far, though. Casino Royale was a great starting point, and while QoS was admittedly not the best follow-up, I think they're gotten back on track with Skyfall, and this movie will be one the few I'll be looking forward to when it comes around.
pornfly writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 11:15:56 PM

Does anyone know if Barbara Broccoli needs a pool boy?
boogiel writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 11:35:05 PM

Come on, Sam. It's time to see some bond's motherf*cking gadgets.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 11:37:45 PM

Check your source Alex 2015 there bub!!
vincere01 writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 12:20:05 AM

If its 2015 and currently is up against ant man for that same day. You better believe marvel is sh*tting theyre pants and feverishly trying to reschedule far away from bond.

Ant man has enough roadblocks to success and they dont need a billion dollar plus bully stealing its lunch money
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 12:26:27 AM

Good!
Paloche writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 3:01:06 AM

What a sad day !
hellsingfan writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 3:33:31 AM

Can't wait skyfall was bond film we've had in years and for those that say it was to long you do realise casino was longer
FBO writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 4:49:39 AM

I really liked Skyfall but I think this is a bad move. Mendes has a particular style and tone to his movies. And even though that style was very refreshing for a single Bond movie it'll end up being overwhelming to do it for a second one.
FBO writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 4:54:37 AM

And @helsingfan, it's not about how long it actually is, it's about how long it feels. And Skyfall feels just an intsy bit too long.

@Mink - Agreed. Connery had one descent Bond movie and the rest are pretty horrible.
Taco writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 6:24:06 AM

Imho I hated Skyfall. The villian didnt show up until the 1hr 9min mark and was no real threat. "M" apparently has no security when MI6 is bombed, and the 3rd act was just a more violent retread of home alone. Plus Bond immediately f*ck a woman who moments earlier told him she was a sex slave.....nasty. all logic and common sense for all the set pieces were thrown out for stylistic lighting and camera movement. Not to mention what the f*cking f*ck did they spend 200 mil on? It sure as sh*t wasnt on screen.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 8:13:38 AM


suggestions for titles for Bond 24
We'll send the best to EON
Hashtag #Bond24titles

https://twitter.com/GerardKennelly/status/355617992769425408/photo/1

TRUEMAN writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 9:44:18 AM

meh...
Llew80 writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 12:09:00 PM

Dunno about this. Yes, I loved Skyfall and think it was an exceptional (but nowhere near the best) Bond film, but look what happened in the 70's/80's when they had the same director(s) over and over. The series went stale and people stopped caring. I think that Mendes should come back for another, but not just yet, like Campbell did. I dare say it'll bring very little argument if I say that GoldenEye and Casino Ronald are 2 of the best Bond films EVER.

Personally, I would love for EON to break with tradition and do a one-off standalone film that can freely exist outside of the current or previous continuities... and let us see what Tarantino would have done with Casino Royale. That, I probably will get a lot of hate for.
Llew80 writes:
on July 12th, 2013 at 12:10:52 PM

*Royale, not f*cking Ronald. Stupid autocorrect!
vincere01 writes:
on July 13th, 2013 at 1:18:59 AM

Queertin terriblino needs to stay the f*ck away from any and all movies I care about. Keep his foot licking, ravaged by lohan juices face, pretentious self absorbed holier than thou art douche bag sad excuse of a person away. The day he "directs" a bond movie is the exact day a movie directed by me is posted on that website dedicated to chopping your own d*ck and balls off. We all know what im talking about.

if there is a god. Smite his ass now. Thank you

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved