WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeff Bridges Fights Evil in "Seventh Son" Trailer

Posted: July 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeff Bridges Fights Evil in "Seventh Son" TrailerSubmit Comment
Warner Bros unveiled the trailer for its "Seventh Son" fantasy adventure, starring Jeff Bridges, Ben Barnes and Julianne Moore. It based on Joseph Delaney's novel series and is set to hit theaters on January 17th, 2014. Check out the trailer below.

Plot: An evil is about to be unleashed that will reignite the war between the forces of the supernatural and humankind. Master Gregory (Bridges), the last of the Falcon Knights, had imprisoned the powerful witch, Mother Malkin (Moore), many years ago. But now she has escaped and is seeking vengeance. Summoning her followers, Mother Malkin is preparing to unleash her wrath on an unsuspecting world. Only one thing stands in her way: Master Gregory.

In a deadly reunion, Gregory comes face to face with the evil he always feared would someday return. He has only until the next full moon to do what usually takes years: train his new apprentice, Tom Ward (Barnes) to fight a dark magic unlike any other. Man's only hope lies in the seventh son of a seventh son.

Trailer:


Source: Apple


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:09:37 PM

Jeff Bridges is Gandalfowski.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:22:13 PM

He looks like Grandpa Jesus.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:35:43 PM

He looks like Danny Trejo's mestizo grandfather.
Mudders writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 10:00:17 PM

the sorcerers apprentice mixed in with van helsing/Solomon kane

and the soundtrack from transformers

im interested...but not sold
mark2828 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 10:10:49 PM

Somewhere out there, perhaps Nicolas Cage is reading this article and thinking, "Damn, how did I miss out on this role?"
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 10:29:23 PM

Moore can release her wrath on my face
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:00:18 PM

Unleash the wrath of her bad acting replace her and i might place this somewhere with hansel and gretel
KillerCOck writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:04:21 PM

Looked way better than I thought it would.
Dreamcast writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:06:18 PM

Shot in March 2012.
Released in January 2014.
If there was any doubt that this was going to be a sh*tpile of a stuffed turkey...
boogiel writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:56:12 PM

The sorcerer apprentice 2.0
Rambo writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 12:34:45 AM

January release date,Vis-ŗ-vis,flop.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 12:46:57 AM

Yep. January, February is where bad films go to die hard.
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 3:13:47 AM

Seems decent.Glad to see the lady who played Faora Ul is also in this one,she totally stole every scene in Man of Steel
Cannon writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 4:13:05 AM

@Mink: "Yep. January, February is where bad films go to die hard."

I disagree ...sort of.

Cloverfield
Rambo
Outlander
Taken
Coraline
The Book of Eli
Edge of Darkness
From Paris With Love
Shutter Island
The Ghost Writer
Drive Angry
Haywire
Underworld: Awakening
The Grey
Chronicle
The Woman in Black
Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

Iím not saying all of these were great films; some I liked while some that I thought were average nonetheless proved commercially and/or critically successful. But I will say that a number of films listed above I enjoyed a hell of a lot more than Into Darkness or Man of Steel.

We really should ask ourselves what true difference there is between many of the popcorn films released in the January/February and those released in March and the summer months other than budget sizes and Hollywood hype. The early months of the year is where stupid-but-fun genre films get to be stupid-but-fun without all the blockbuster over-hype baggage and the flat-out pretension that touts something like Man of Steel as an epic, life-changing event for filmgoers.

This movie looks to fill the past Jan/Feb slot of Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Season of the Witch, The Eagle and, most recently, Hansel and Gretel. Iíd contend that not only does it have a chance at being as good if not better than any of those films, but even much of the summer bullsh*t slated for 2014 i.e., Transformers 4, Michael Bay Ninja Turtles, Spider Man 2.

It looks like a more male oriented, down-to-business version of Snow White and the Huntsmen and a less pussified version of Jack the Giant Slayer. In fact, judging from the trailer anyway, it looks the most like an 80s fantasy flick weíve had in some time. For a fan of such things, seeing this monthly back-to-back with The Hobbit sequel will be a treat.

P.S. what goes for January and February also goes for the other allegedly annual dumping ground: September -- Dredd was my favorite film of 2012.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 5:11:55 AM

Cannon: there's a huge difference between what Jan-Feb film(s) you enjoyed, as a consumer, versus what the STUDIOS see as a moneymaker, and I can assure, if you don't already know it (I think you do) studios quite clearly plan their releases very strategically, and from THEIR perspective, the first few months of the new year are good place to put out to pasture their sick horses.


And that list you created is replete with crap, not just from the studio's perspective, but from my perspective as a consumer as well.

For instance, The Grey, a film all the nascent Neeson fan's liked, but almost no one else. Rambo, too, another masculine action gut-punch far too ill-suited for the mainstream masses the studios typically target.

Other films, like Hansel and Gretel and Season of the Witch, while perhaps guilty pleasures, are relatively low budget trash.

Haywire was a runt of the litter action vehicle for a no-name MMA star.

Taken was action filler, a film no one ever thought would be profitable enough to spawn a sequel, much less two.

Coraline was a stop-motion film, which puts in near the bottom in the animated film hierarchy.

And so on.

Most of the films you mentioned might have been good from your perspective, from the perspective of people like yourself, and some of them might have done better than expected, but my point is that what I said is from the studio perspective, not the "guy on the street" viewpoint, because the studios see film as a commercial venture *only* and not as a means to while away a few hours watching a fun flick on a slow Monday afternoon.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 5:29:17 AM

Well I'm a sucker for both action adventure and Jeff Bridges. I hope this is a season of the witch/sorceres apprentice/Solomon Kane mix done right. We probably all can agree these were bad movies but I think they all had a interesting premise. Just badly executed.
Cannon writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:05:40 AM

@Mink

Thatís all fine and dandy, but it wasnít really my argument. I of course agree with your take from the studioís perspective, but when I said, "We should ask ourselves," I was stressing the "we" part. Us, the filmgoers.

My only real point here is that, typically speaking, Iíve been no more entertained by Hollywoodís over-postured blockbusters and prestigious fare of the summer and holiday seasons than I have their second tier endeavors slated for the off months; and that, furthermore, I often enjoy the latter output for its low(er)-rent, underdog charm, as films that aim to please cinema junkies like myself instead of trying to win Oscars or, worse, placate to the ridiculous, obsessive standards of Comi-Con fanboyism

Of the films I listed:

Cloverfield
Rambo
Outlander
Coraline
The Book of Eli
Shutter Island
Ghost Writer
Edge of Darkness
From Paris With Love
Drive Angry
Haywire
The Woman in Black
Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

...were, at the very least, pleasantly entertaining, and most of them vastly better directed (with artistry or f*ck-it-lets-try-something genre experimenting) than much of the mediocre sh*t Iíve seen in the past two months or so. And Iím not just referring to Scorsese or Polanski either.

minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:19:21 AM

@Cannon, fair enough, but then perhaps I don't understand the confusion. It seems you understood my original post was speaking from the studio's perspective, but then you tell me you "kind of" agree with me, and then when I clarify, you tell me you were speaking from the man on the street perspective and that you of course agree with the studio perspective.

So I guess I'm just confused why you didn't agree with me originally.

Anyway, I get what you're saying, and we both obviously agree there's two ways of looking at the issue (personally and come4rcially)

minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:19:41 AM

commercially.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:23:38 AM

Yeah, see I thought Shutter Island was pretty awful, and Edge of Darkness was no prize either. Drive Angry was almost abominable as well. In fact the only film in your list I would say deserved a better release is Cloverfield, and even then it's a shaky found footage film starring a bunch of nobodies directed by a nobody, featuring some really good CGI and decent exposition, but little else. Even the acting was average.


Most of those films are kind of crap, imo, and I can see why they were released in the trash heap months instead of the more competitive, big budget/holiday months. But that's just me.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:26:43 AM

I do agree too that much of what the studios call "prime property", i.e., the summmer and holiday tentpole films, are largely crap too, but these are the films the studios see as being the most profitable. These are the films the studios feel cater to the current needs and wants of the masses, so they, the studios, pour the bulk of their money into them, whereas the Jan and Feb films just graze on the edges.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:35:13 AM

In short, I guess what I am saying is that most of what Hollywood makes these days, whether big budget summer tentpole fodder, New Year filler, or holiday pandering, is crap, and to be even more candid, I really don't see much difference in story quality between, say, Drive Angry and Man of Steel, save for the "top shelf" marquee listing and the amount of money spent on visuals.

It's like two sh*tty identical pair of shoes made in the same sweatshop factory, but one has a cool well-known label and expensively adorned box, and the other does not.

Inside, it's really just the same crap.


Sorry if that's too "negative/cynical" for you, but I am at this point enormously bored and disheartened by most of the sh*t Hollywood produces these days.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 6:36:41 AM

I should have added a few more "these days".
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 11th, 2013 at 9:21:05 AM

The difference in the films and the Time of year is this.

Low budget crap vs high budget crap

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved