WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Wall Street Analysts Predict "Star Wars: Episode VII" Will Gross $1.2 Billion

Posted: July 10th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Wall Street Analysts Predict "Star Wars: Episode VII" Will Gross $1.2 BillionSubmit Comment
Even though analysts said that Disney will lose as much as $190 million after the failure of "The Lone Ranger," the company's stock still went up by over 1 percent. The reason for the improved stock price is due to the belief that Disney can handle a loss this big.

Disney's "Iron Man 3" grossed $1.2 billion earlier this year and its "Monsters University" has already surpassed the $400 million mark. But the biggest reason the stock didn't drop is due to a report by Credit Suisse, which predicted that "Star Wars: Episode VII" will be another huge hit.

The report states that the new "Star Wars" installment will gross $1.2 billion in theaters, earning $733 million in profits. The film is also expected to generate billions from merchandise and other sources. "The 'Star Wars' franchise should drive strong profit growth and mitigate risk at the studio with fewer risky high budget films," wrote Credit Suisse.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:07:10 AM

Well "into darkness" didn't make more than the first star trek so it depends on if Jar Jar Abrams can make a good movie.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:15:09 AM

Star Trek is on diminishing returns because it's just Fast and the Furious in space. Most youngish people don't care about that sh*t, much less the film's original foundation, anyway. Star Wars on the other hand is the biggest film franchise ever, so I would guess closer to 1.5 if Abrams does it even half right.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:17:42 AM

On the other hand, if Disney f*cks up Star Wars, then it might be one of the films Lucas and Spielberg predicted crashing the movie industry, ironically enough.
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:22:24 AM

Agree star trek should have been geared more towards the intellectual crowd and less Michael Bay.
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:24:24 AM

Btw just watched the best of both worlds pt 1& 2. Awesome all over again. I wish they filmed in wide screen back then.
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:26:24 AM

^yes,me too,it's a shame there isn't any technology that can convert all those 80's 90's tv shows into wide screen
English_Bloke82 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:27:15 AM

@Mink, Do you think Abrams would / could make a better film with Wars than Trek and not just a all guns blazing 2 hour Hollywood cash cow? I guess if he has to continue the series with an established story it could focus him, unlike Trek where it was a re-invention of the world.

Either way, it will be a universal agreement that if he floats the idea of Binks then a lynch mob will be storming the studios.
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:31:52 AM

@ Rambo,

Is it just me or was Commander Shelby hot?
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:34:45 AM

@Taco

not my type but Riker wanted to bang her all along...give me Deanna Troi any day or even better seven of nine
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:36:39 AM

Funny I never cared for 7 of 9. I like Kess better.
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:39:40 AM

my fav all time scene from voyager:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zH6R-w2ARc
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:40:49 AM

@English_Bloke: definitely. I thik Abrams is going to be far more at home and comfortable with the space western of Lucas than the thoughtful utopia of Roddenberry.


@Rambo: not even remotely possible. Television shows are shot on film shaped more like a box because television screens back then were shaped like a box, whereas films were/are shot on rectangular film because theatrical screens are shaped like a rectangle. Now that's not really the case as most televisions are shaped like a film screen, but back then during TNG most if not all televisions were square.

Thing is, you only get what you film. You can't get what was never filmed, so box like film is missing data from both sides. You can stretch the box into a rectangle, or you can "crop" (cut the box's top and bottom off) the box down to a rectangle, but you'll get a very, very sh*tty look.

That's what happened with the original animated Transformers movie. The theatrical widescreen version was lost, so Sony took the boxish version and chapped off the top and bottom, giving it a more rectangular/widescreen look.
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:45:40 AM

J Micheal Strazinski created Babylon 5 knowing one day tvs would be wide screen and so they filmed that 90s show widescreen wich is now available. Smart guy.
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:46:09 AM

@mink

shame.would have been nice to see TNG episodes in wide screen.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:47:26 AM

@Great seen Rambo.

Voyager, TNG, Deep Space Nine, all television gems that will never be surpassed, no matter how hard Paramount tries with this new Star Trek franchise.

Now me, I was always partial to any and all time-travel/space warp episodes, like the Nth Degree or Cause and Effect or All Good Things...episodes like Inner Light too. The worst episodes are anything to do with Troi's mother, Alexander and Worf, or where Picard engages in some boring diplomacy. Also the Sherlock episodes are great as well. Most Wil Wheaton episodes a total miss too.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:49:22 AM

@Rambo: I know, I know, but if they had they would have spent even more on sets because the box format meant that they didn't have to have anything outside the box filming area.

You should see the new Bluray versions of TNG though. They're gorgeous with all new effects and totally remastered. Enormously improved on the broadcast and DVD versions.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:49:42 AM

scene
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:49:53 AM

Alexander and worf...aaghh...every f*cking time I saw Alexander in the beginning of an episode and realized it's one of those episodes i felt like puking.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:51:04 AM

@Taco: the way I see it, all action-oriented films are either Nolanified or Bayified. There doesn't seem to be a profitable third way anymore.
Avirex writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:52:33 AM

I haven't seen the new Star Trek, but somehow its actually making more money than the last one (worldwide). Brand recognition I guess.

Anyway, I wonder what property Disney will buy next? Is there anything significant left?
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:53:41 AM

travel/space warp episodes were the best indeed...i'll add 'clues' as well - the twist in the end blew me away
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:54:59 AM

@Mink
I loved that episode Cause and effect. Directed by Riker too.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 7:56:48 AM

@Avirex: I hope they buy Image and DC.


@Rambo: I just watched Clues not long ago. Great episode!
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:00:17 AM

@Rambo: where the story for Clues originated, supposedly

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thanks_for_the_Memory_%28Red_Dwarf%29
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:03:27 AM

@Taco: how the hell did Strazinski get the budget for widescreen?

And Shelby was hot but most of it was her aggressive take-charge attitude.

Now Guinan, she was smoking.
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:04:02 AM

thanks,MINK
sounds like its worth a buy
only a franchise like ST would take the time and effort to update their shows to accommodate hi-tech home entertainment

Trekkies will always somehow find the money

URN
NEW liquid metal 3D printers
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:06:25 AM

http://scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/13495/what-is-the-history-between-q-and-guinan
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:07:50 AM

@mink

thanks for that link...the part where picard asked date 'who gave you that order ?' and then data finally answered : ' you did,sir ! ' and the wtf expression on picard was priceless
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:11:29 AM

http://www.hecklerspray.com/the-26-hottest-star-trek-babes/200816466.php
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:15:18 AM

@Rambo and Mink

Another fav of mine from DS9 "whispers". Its the blade runner episode.

Mink
No idea bout Strazinsky's budget but he did write 97 of the 112 episodes i read. Prob saved $$ there. Oh and Guinan? Really? Lol
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:22:20 AM

@Pornfly: check out some of the trailers for the Bluray releases, like this one

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzeRF0SHFE0


@Rambo; they're getting old, aren't they?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-dws39KsvU

Wheaton looks fat, Spiner has white hair...the only one that looks like he hasn't aged is Stewart.
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:22:52 AM

everytime i see TACOs avatar
i want to brew some café con leche
Taco writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:25:23 AM

@ Porn. Lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:25:29 AM

It may gross 1.2 billion but I have a feel I g a rushed star wars movie like this will be utter sh*t. I want a quality movie and that's not gonna happen.

Taco- I got the blu ray release of best of both worlds when it can out earlier this year. Its worth the but. Its more like the movie that should have been released instead of the turd that was nemesis.
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:26:01 AM

considering the fact that most of them were at their 30's when the show was filmed - it's understandable. Michael Dorn looks ok as well..probably Brent Spiner and Jonathan Frakes aged the worst
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:34:10 AM

@Rambo: yeah, I know, I just hate the thought of getting old and I hate to see these people I grew up watching getting old too.

Hilarious 2012 Comic Con TNG reunion.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mtif-1edUu4
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:38:37 AM

you're doing pretty good for a 102 year old man..lol
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:39:35 AM

@Rambo: lol!
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:40:05 AM

Data says Spot was stupid

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pEiLpxzuCY
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:45:52 AM

they have the easiest job in the world
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:49:30 AM

No
Dustin does
He's living the overweight gay americans wet dream
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:52:25 AM

Dustin puts tuna in his ass so the cat has to eat it from there. Then Dustin eats what was in his ass out of the cat's ass.

He calls it the Feline Reciprocation.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:55:02 AM

In Dustin's wet dreams the cat's mouth is sewn to his ass and the cat's ass is sewn to his mouth.

The Human Catipede.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:57:46 AM

Patrick's role in The Human Catipede is to stroke all the d*ck and balls.

Hey Tom Sick, do I have a movie for you!
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:58:22 AM

There is a Bill moving through Congress to create a National Park on The Moon to preserve landing areas due to the ramping up of independent space exploration
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:59:20 AM

Only 1.2? To be honest I bet it'll gross more towards 2 Billion. There's not a sole on this planet who won't end up watching this f*cking movie lol

It's literally the biggest upcoming movie. When the news hit of a sequel Trilogy the Internet blew up lol Biggest movie news in like.. A decade lol
Rambo writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:02:01 AM

Tanman,most teenagers nowadays don't know anything about star wars plus the fact that women don't give a sh*t about this franchise...I wouldn't be that optimistic...this could end up making as much money as the star trek reboot
cress writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:13:36 AM

As Mink said, Abrams will be far more confortable and better suited for Star Wars than Trek. There are shots and sequences in INTO DARKNESS that look so much like a Star Wars film. INTO DARKNESS was a letdown to me because of the f*cking lazy, contrived, ham-fisted script Orci, Kurtzman, and Lindelof came up with. I enjoyed the hell out of the first one, but was highly disappointed by this years crappy follow-up. Maybe if Abrams was a fan of Trek, he could've recognized the problems with the script he was given and said "no" to some of the awful things in it(Khan).

Abrams is a fan of STAR WARS, and he has Michael Arndt and Larry Kasdan writing the script. These are things that will almost certainly guarantee that Episode VII will be a superior film to INTO DARKNESS in every way. I like Abrams. I think he's a good director; his fluidity of camerawork, direction of action scenes and actors are all extremely good. Even SUPER 8, which I thought was terrible, did have genuine moments of real emotion, something that I think a lot of today's f*ckers like Bay couldn't reach if they were given a map.
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:15:35 AM

With releases in the 70s/80s
re-releases in the 90s
Prequel trilogys 2000s
An award winning animated series in the late 2000s early 2010s
And an exponential buzz about a new sequel trilogy

Its hard for even the most dense jegging wearing,
faux-hawk growing turd to not know about StarWars
velocityknown writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:17:38 AM

Star Wars? Profitable? Get out of here, that's insane.
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:23:04 AM

Speaking of exponential buzz...
http://m.deadline.com/2013/07/star-wars-disney-d23-expo-2013/
cress writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:25:33 AM

Is it embarrassing to say I already know all the latest Star Wars news?
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:29:52 AM

Star Wars versus Avatar.


Let's see what happens.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 9:55:45 AM

@Rambo:

Regarding Star Trek The Next Generation in widescreen, watch this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tp-kMKvtnY4
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:02:09 AM

@Rambo

Guess anythings possible lol
pornfly writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:08:50 AM

Dont worry bout it TAN
StarWars has been a mainstay since the seventies
(read my post above)
If it bombs
It will not be due to irrelevance
Stapes writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 12:28:23 PM

Amazing, Star Wars is on track to become something akin to a minor religion at this point. I'm pretty sure $1.2 billion is more than scientology's annual gross.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 2:31:54 PM

Very interesting Read, all comments have merit. I think it will make a little more than the 1.2 mark, it has too. The publicity alone will be incredible enough.

Ona departing note, William Shatner is a fat c*nt!
James Blond writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 3:14:35 PM

same opinion here'!
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 5:34:26 PM

@rambo

http://kotaku.com/the-good-news-is-theres-a-rambo-game-its-the-bad-new-735039045
KaloVisor writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 8:08:29 PM

1.2 billion?! are you kidnapping me!? 1.5 at the LEAST. more like 2-2 and half billion.
darthraige writes:
on July 10th, 2013 at 11:27:59 PM

Yea because a movie will cost $25 f*cking dollars by the time it comes out.
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 6:53:26 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved