WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Lone Ranger" May Lose $150 Million

Posted: July 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Lone Ranger" May Lose $150 Million Submit Comment
Disney's "The Lone Ranger," which re-teamed Johnny Depp with his "Pirates of the Caribbean" director Gore Verbinski, grossed only $49 million domestically over the five-day weekend and is now in danger of losing over $150 million due to the fact that the film had a production budget of $250 million and a marketing budget of $175 million.

According to analysts and studio insiders, "The Lone Ranger" will reach about $125 million domestically and another $150 million internationally for a worldwide gross of $275 million, which will have to be split with movie theater owners. That's short of the $425 million Disney already spent.

The good news is that Disney can overcome this due to the success of "Iron Man 3" and "Monsters University." And the result is slightly better than studio's "John Carter" disaster, which also cost $250 million, but lost a whopping $200 million.

Disney commented on the failure of "The Lone Ranger," stating: "It's very disappointing. Everything was perfect on paper, so today was incredibly frustrating."

Click here to read our "The Lone Ranger" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 68 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:22:28 AM

Depp's response: 'who cares? I'm 50 mil richer,screw world hunger ! '
Taco writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:26:29 AM

Now Depp can buy another island.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:33:46 AM

What a bomb
what a bomb
What a bomb-bomb-bomb
cress writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:36:14 AM

This film could've been made for $90 million and been profitable. Where was that money spent? The train heist/whatever/bullsh*t? Were there delays? How do you spend $250 million to play cowboys and indians? Disney is f*cking stupid, but at least this was greenlit pre-Bob Iger's stewardship, I think.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:39:43 AM

I knew i should have bought stock in scarves!
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:51:53 AM

Everything was perfect on paper...
Charmin
boogiel writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:08:43 AM

How come they spent $250 million dollars on a western flick? Did those horses get paid or somethin'?
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:27:13 AM

^ I can imagine Johnny Depp was 75% of the budget.

minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:58:38 AM

It's going to be a yearly thing, I think, to see Disney make a ridiculously expensive summer movie bomb. Sad, too, because although John Carter is greatly disliked and ridiculed, I feel it isn't nearly as bad as almost everyone says, and I feel The Lone Ranger probably isn't nearly as bad as the critics are saying either.

Still, does Disney not know its audience or what?
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 9:17:23 AM

"This film could've been made for $90 million and been profitable. Where was that money spent?"

I read somewhere Disney made all of the trains from scratch. Also, Depp probably took at least 20-30 million, which is just ridiculous.

And what happened to the 800 million dollar estimation from yesterday?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 9:51:35 AM

Who gives a f*ck not like Disney is a bankrupt now.

Porn- take your meds my friend. Lol
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:06:53 AM

I would be willing to wager that Depp got more than 20-30 million. My guess would be 40-50. That's the only way to help explain the enormous budget, and that's close to what he already gets on the Pirates movies now. Add to that Jerry Bruckheimers and Gore Verbinskis fee and you've probably accounted for one quarter of the budget.

For three people. On a film that probably employed thousands.

And they say CEO pay is outsized... 'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:06:53 AM

I would be willing to wager that Depp got more than 20-30 million. My guess would be 40-50. That's the only way to help explain the enormous budget, and that's close to what he already gets on the Pirates movies now. Add to that Jerry Bruckheimers and Gore Verbinskis fee and you've probably accounted for one quarter of the budget.

For three people. On a film that probably employed thousands.

And they say CEO pay is outsized... 'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:06:54 AM

I would be willing to wager that Depp got more than 20-30 million. My guess would be 40-50. That's the only way to help explain the enormous budget, and that's close to what he already gets on the Pirates movies now. Add to that Jerry Bruckheimers and Gore Verbinskis fee and you've probably accounted for one quarter of the budget.

For three people. On a film that probably employed thousands.

And they say CEO pay is outsized... 'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:06:54 AM

I would be willing to wager that Depp got more than 20-30 million. My guess would be 40-50. That's the only way to help explain the enormous budget, and that's close to what he already gets on the Pirates movies now. Add to that Jerry Bruckheimers and Gore Verbinskis fee and you've probably accounted for one quarter of the budget.

For three people. On a film that probably employed thousands.

And they say CEO pay is outsized... 'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:06:55 AM

I would be willing to wager that Depp got more than 20-30 million. My guess would be 40-50. That's the only way to help explain the enormous budget, and that's close to what he already gets on the Pirates movies now. Add to that Jerry Bruckheimers and Gore Verbinskis fee and you've probably accounted for one quarter of the budget.

For three people. On a film that probably employed thousands.

And they say CEO pay is outsized... 'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:06:57 AM

I would be willing to wager that Depp got more than 20-30 million. My guess would be 40-50. That's the only way to help explain the enormous budget, and that's close to what he already gets on the Pirates movies now. Add to that Jerry Bruckheimers and Gore Verbinskis fee and you've probably accounted for one quarter of the budget.

For three people. On a film that probably employed thousands.

And they say CEO pay is outsized... 'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay...
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:10:34 AM

^^lol.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:12:28 AM

@Mustard: I was going to say 50mil, specifically, but a little voice in my head said "some troll is going to call you stupid for suggesting that much...", so I emphatically low-balled the figure just to avoid an argument...
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:14:04 AM

Sweet Jesus, apologies for that. Alex please fix your dogsh*t website.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:17:24 AM

"'They' should have a hard look at flunkie actor and douchie producer pay..."

I suspect you, as a person working in the entertainment industry, appreciate the unions, and not without good cause, but let us both be serious for just a moment and admit Hollywood doesn't exactly operate on a true laissez-faire model with respect to competition, and yet on the other hand don't exactly pay much observation to more socialistic models, as you've clearly demonstrated above...

What am I saying? I have no f*cking clue.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:18:09 AM

Who the f*ck spends 175M on Marketing... What did they do? Been the trailer over to mars! Like Come on lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:26:50 AM

I'm willing to bet there may even be some people out there that didn't know Johnny Depp was even in the movie because of the makeup. Also everyone else said "Army WHO?!?,"
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:37:43 AM

Army Hammer is a failure of one.
velocityknown writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:45:20 AM

@Mink

Disney did make all the trains from scratch per Verbinski's request.

And based on what I read, Verbinski couldn't get it to work how he wanted. Huge waste of money. Like the film.
Bunny X writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:49:41 AM

"Everything was perfect on paper" Really??!!?! So someone must have not wrote down "Cowboy Film" on paper at any point.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:51:30 AM

@Velocity: thanks for confirming that fact. Wasn't sure I was right.

Haven't seen the movie, but are the trains therein that special? Couldn't they have used pre-existing locomotives? CGI? Sounds like Verbinski wanted to make some good work for fellow craftsmen friends, or else he was skimming off the top, or else he's just perfectly happy to waste other people's money.
velocityknown writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:55:31 AM

I'm sure Depp got paid $50 million for this. That was his Pirates fee and with Bruckheimer involved I'm sure he got what he wanted from the studio.

I think Armie Hammer is a fine actor, but he's definitely not a box office draw. Who the f*ck is these days? No one's a guarantee so I can't believe that studios keep paying people like Jolie and Depp insanely high salaries for movies that they can't carry anymore.

People thought Channing Tatum was going to be the next big "draw." Look at what happened to White House Down. There isn't talent that brings people into big budget movies anymore. That era of films is, hopefully, dying. Time to start making quality stuff for half the price. Trust me, it can be done.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:14:51 PM

@mink

I haven't seen the movie either but I saw a special on abc a few Sundays ago about the production of the movie and they did build a radius of 5 miles of a few train tracks in the New Mexico desert and forged fully functioning locomotives of the era and multiple train cars.

They also cloned several Native Americans from the 1800s with their DNA.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:21:56 PM

@Deaft0ne: lol. Wouldn't surprise me either, the DNA cloning part.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:24:22 PM

The men at Gold's Gym call Alex "the Loin Ranger".
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:41:44 PM

lol^
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:58:51 PM

Damn
i was hopin MUSTARD had alot to say lol

BC
i wish i could
How dry i am
TheAmicko writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:11:53 PM

I liked John Carter. This is fare more NOT interesting. I like Deep also but wont see everything just because he is in it.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:17:27 PM

A deep fare indeed!^
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:45:45 PM

Mink- yeah, I'm in the editor's union, which is probably the most toothless union of them all. The one major benefit of the union, IMHO, is getting a pretty great health plan, which, when you have kids, is critical, to say the least.

Fact is, however, I'm working on a non-union job right now. I work on non-union stuff all the time. There is no directive to go out and picket in some incensed fashion because a show is non-union; basically, as long as there's one show out there that covers my healthcare for the year, I don't give a f*ck. And I think I've mentioned this before, but organizing a show or film with a union will tack about 10-20% additional costs to your production. So on a film like this, what, you're talking an extra 20 million? That's pretty significant, undoubtedly. But if Johnny Depp was paid ONLY $30 million instead of his normal $50 million, you'd have a zero sum game. Why am I talking about this? I don't even f*cking know.

I think you can be assured, however, that Depp's fee will experience some serious shrinkage in the next few years. It happens to all the big stars... He's had a good run at this point, now he can please go the f*ck away.

Am I the only one around here experiencing a healthy dose of shadenfreude watching two of hollywood's most bankable (Depp and Smith) crash and burn this summer?
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:11:06 PM

Yeah I think from now on that Depp will 'only' get 20 million a movie. Also Disney may want to rethink a 5th and 6 POTC movie as well.

Aside from Ian Mcshane who is good in anything, the 4th POTC was just dreadful.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:01:10 PM

my cinemataic summer so far...

man of steel --too long

world war Z --loved it

this is the end --up it's own ass

the heat rips off brendan gleeson 'THE GUARD'
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:02:48 PM

cinematic *
Bunny X writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:15:00 PM

Wow, Disney is swimming in money when they can absorb 2 movies losing a collective 350 million in 2 years
James Blond writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:18:35 PM

john carter from mars salutes the lone ranger
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:03:37 PM

Being raised in a Disney family where both parents worked there
And my mother retiring after 30years
i can say that Disney has been puttin out good movies from inception till the mid nineties
When Pixar exploded on the scene
And probably has the most impressive catalog that all ages can enjoy
(and no duh there are exceptions,so dont start with your sh*t)

If they can figure out how to get that magic back they'll be on top again

Ever since they bought Pixar/Marvel/StarWars
with that ol'school Snow White $$$

They have increasingly lost focus
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:07:04 PM

and in case you dont know i grew up on that DisneyWorld sh*t
Not that half-assed DisneyLand gahbage
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:40:27 PM

Disneyland came first. Respect your elders.

If by 'losing focus' you mean they've diversified their content such that they don't need to rely on arcane fairytale princesses anymore, well, then, they're guilty as charged. Listen, for better or for worse, Disney has become extremely adept at purchasing existing properties and milking them for all they're worth... they're the Berkshire Hathaway of entertainment companies. Sure, they've had a couple huge misfires in the past two years, but put against all the properties that have been cash cows, they're manageable write-offs, at worst.

They're a god-awful octopus, but I'd say their focus is pretty strong.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:48:02 PM

@mustard: thank you for the cogently interesting reply, sir.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:49:57 PM

I wonder if people realize The Lone Ranger did worse than Dark Shadows?

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/4-charts-show-badly-lone-162700651.html
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:50:11 PM

-?
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:53:20 PM

For me, Disney's a great bank, providing high-return "loans" to its many acquisitions, but when it tries to make its own projects, it seems to fail spectacularly, kind of like if JP Morgan decided to start a construction company instead of loaning some Mexican the money to do it himself.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:55:46 PM

Ok fine
they have 100% focus
But they used to have 130% focus or some sh*t
Im sure you know MAYO
because youre deeper in the biz than anybody here which is why i actually pause to find out what youre postin about

Disney seems like theyre puttin out bombs that bomb HUGE
and not 'After Earth' bombs
But theyre bombing with Scrooge McDuck money!

If Im workin at McDonalds and i keep burning the french fries
Theyre gonna tell me to kick rocks
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:01:14 PM

What Mustard said about Depp and Company taking home the lion's share of the bacon seems to be on target

http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2013-07-08/how-disneys-grave-diggers-will-bury-the-lone-ranger

The highly anticipated film didn’t even take in $30 million in theaters this weekend, which is pretty low considering the spectacle’s $225 million budget—a sum no doubt inflated by Johnny Depp, star producer Jerry Bruckheimer, and award-winning director Gore Verbinski.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:08:42 PM

didnt mean to say mayo in a derogatory or condescending kinda way
I'll just say DAYO:-)
Tebeck writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:15:22 PM

For @#$%*&!! sake your amateur! Gimme $250 Mil and Ill make 3 profitable movies.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:41:58 PM

That article kinda echoes everything I've said... of course, I was just shooting my mouth off but that article backs it up with real data. Interesting.

Christ, if I had $250 million I'd invest a lot of it, not spend it all on one goddamn movie. But that's a whole other industry... these bigass companies have investment teams to manage their cash hordes. An old friend of my worked for Microsoft years ago, and told me that at the time (roughly 1998-99) M$ was earning ~$5 billion/year on its investments. That's BEFORE IT SELLS A SINGLE f*ckING PIECE OF SOFTWARE. Imagine what Apple makes these days, considering they've got the biggest cash pile of all at like $140 billion.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:47:21 PM

DAYO
you need to write a column here
but then you would need a condom for your rear

sahlute
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 6:18:56 PM

Apple. lol. What a ruse. Manufacture ten dollar phones, sell them for for 500 dollars a pop because cellphones are a religious fashion and not a necessity.

Microsoft. Buy DOS for 50k, sell it for a sh*tload more to IBM. Send the next fifteen years adding to that core. Buy NT tech from DEC, spend the next twenty years adding to that core. Make a hundred million dollars on code that can reproduced for next to nothing.

Must be nice.


@mustard: yeah, that makes sense. Most companies aren't just pure corporations anymore. Most of them double as venture capitalists, fronting other startup companies, investing in them, waiting for their products to mature and then buying them up. Microsoft is no different.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 6:19:23 PM

be.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:03:25 PM

@mink

Do you think that Bruckheimer/Depp/Verbinski knew this would bomb but were like "f*ck it we's gettin paids haha!!"?

Armie Hammer probably got paid a couple mil so he ain't to worried either.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:04:19 PM

too*
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:25:24 PM

Deaft0ne: the cynical part of my mind would say "probably", but the more balanced part would say Verbinksi and Bruckheimer might have had doubt but thought they could spit out another Pirates-like franchise if enough money was thrown at the problem.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:54:31 PM

I actually kind of doubt that it's about the money for guys like that. they already wipe their asses with $100 bills, they don't need the cash. more likely its an ego thing, these guys measure their wieners with the BO results, so when a turkey like this comes down the pike i bet they're genuinely bummed about it....
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:05:00 PM

I don't know, Mustard. You never hear of many Fortune 500 CEOs turning down golden parachutes or enormous raises/bonuses.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:20:05 PM

speaking of flops, here's a guilt-free diversion on youtube... check it out before it gets yanked :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adqOt7bxuGI
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:25:21 PM

and mink, you're probably more right than i am on this one, but i would say that at some level it's not ONLY about the money...
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 10:36:41 PM

@Mustard: I think we're both equally right, in that V and B love both the big paychecks AND the freedom to paint on a canvas as big as they choose.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 9th, 2013 at 2:00:22 PM

I'm pretty sure any amount of money Disney loses for the next two years, is still covered by the Avengers and Iron Man 3.
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 7:03:43 PM

aleale writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 6:15:03 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 11:47:33 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved