WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Russell Crowe Interested in "Man of Steel" Prequel

Posted: July 8th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Russell Crowe Interested in "Man of Steel" PrequelSubmit Comment
Now that "Man of Steel" has become a hit, Warner Bros/Legendary Pictures is moving forward with a sequel. But it turns out that many fans enjoyed scenes of Krypton so much that they want to see Russell Crowe return for a prequel.

The actor has now commented on this on his Twitter page, stating that he would be happy to reprise the role of Jor-El if the studio wanted to make a "Man of Steel" prequel.

"A lot of you are asking about a KRYPTON prequel. If that's something you feel strongly about let Legendary Pictures know your thoughts," he wrote, adding: "If it came up, I'd give the tights another go."

Source: Russell Crowe


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 66 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:20:57 AM

The Krypton opening act was the only good thing in MOS - a prequel could be interesting but at the same time I don't see it holding together as a 2 hours motion picture.
WV-Films writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:23:39 AM

Didn't WB drop Legendary Pictures?
Taco writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:24:11 AM

^^^^ Nailed it. ^^^^ my thoughts exactly.
boogiel writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:29:26 AM

"If it came up, I'd give the tights another go."

Don't push you luck, mate.
boogiel writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:30:20 AM

*your*
GreenLensman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:38:40 AM

They won't do it because they can't subliminally commercialize Krypton like they can with Metropolis... Unless Dr. Pepper is Jor-El's assistant or something.
cress writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:39:23 AM

If this happened, it would probably contain 2 hours of dialogue as stilted as the Star Wars prequels.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:39:40 AM

f*ck no! He was one of the worst things about the film. He doesn't need whole a f*cking movie too. The amount of Screen Time he got is already too much.
KillerCOck writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:40:20 AM

a whole**
Dr_Venture writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:41:42 AM

So we get to see people gripe and complain about their government being sh*t and a group of militant whackos wanna overthrow it?

Why would I pay money to see that, when I can just turn on Fox News....
DriveMemento writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:43:03 AM

@ Rambo

care to explain yourself.

the krypton opening act was EPIC but not the only good thing about MOS, Were we watching the same movie?

MOS hands down is the best movie of the summer so far in my opinion.

it was like the Avengers but with only 1 superhero doing the same amount of fighting

I've never been a superman fan until this new one. I've always felt the style of superman has been out of date and real cheesy but finally a superman movie and all his powers shown right, showing actually what superman and the kryptons can really do.
Rambo writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:52:46 AM

^I explained myself in the review I wrote,check it out through my profile if you want.

I'm glad if you or others enjoyed it,for me it was a big disappointment
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:07:08 AM

Man of Steel was f*cking wank! Boring, depressing, dull. Welcome to the Nolanification of modern cinema... dark... gloomy.... serious.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:10:02 AM

"it was like the Avengers but with only 1 superhero doing the same amount of fighting"

No, Avengers didn't take itself seriously, had some funny moments and had people with personalities as the super heroes. If Henry Caville had got any more 1 dimensional mathematicians would have to write a new equation for him.

I'm glad you enjoyed it though!

minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 9:05:37 AM

lol@cinema


"If Henry Caville had got any more 1 dimensional mathematicians would have to write a new equation for him."

Yeah, the old equation Cavill = Shit just didn't provide enough significant digits.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 9:48:23 AM

Maybe a cool 30 minute mini movie but thats it.
Cannon writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 10:02:03 AM


Deckman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 10:03:19 AM

I f*cking hate superman. Man of Steel BEST PART was easy Russell Crowe.

A PREQUEL WOULD BE AMAZING!!
Feature Brainiac or set him up for Man of Steel 2.
Cannon writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 10:08:53 AM


My question is who was Man of Steel for? Because it certainly wasn't for kids. That's right, they made a Superman movie -- I repeat: a SUPER. MAN. movie -- that was about as fun for kids as a goddamn math test ...in the rain ...with Soundgarden playing over loud speakers. Hooray.

f*ck this movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 10:15:16 AM

@Cannon

That song when Cavill comes out of the water and steals the clothes is actually 'Seasons' from the Singles soundtrack from 1992. It's written and performed by Chris Cornell, not Soundgarden.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:20:26 AM

Yea.. I enjoyed the Krypton scenes as well, But a whole prequel? Couldn't see it making enough money. Nobody wants to see Jor -El lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:21:54 AM

A prequel would be just another Chronicles of Ridd*ck or Dune.

Would bomb.
Cannon writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:29:13 AM


*Cannon punches Deaft0ne through collapsing skyscraper – kills thousands*

minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:33:46 AM

^lmao.
velocityknown writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:46:31 AM

Russell Crowe was the only good thing about the movie. Having him share the screen with Henry Cavill (walking cardboard) was one of this movie's many many many missteps.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:48:24 AM

lol Ron Swanson
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:07:50 PM

Mink- I believe the way to work it out is:

The energy put in to the film is equal to the masses that watched it times the speed of sh*te squared.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:08:54 PM

Why would they genetically grow soldiers when scientist like Jor-El kick so much ass? MOS was f*cking stupid...
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:20:14 PM

@Cinema: lol.

e = m*shit2 <--Energy mass relation for the heaping pile of sh*t known as Man of Steel.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:29:06 PM

Thats the one!
shiteater writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:49:52 PM

The mass public would likely see this as a Superman movie without Superman.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:54:45 PM

Another movie for you TANMAN
Time After Time

and its not about Cyndi Lauper either
DriveMemento writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:12:54 PM

kevin Costner and diane lane did amazing as mr. and mrs. kent, along with Michael Shannon as general zod I thought he pretty much alone made the movie, best villain since Heath ledger.
cress writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:52:03 PM

@Porn. TIME AFTER TIME..great flick. McDowell is terrific in it.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:55:10 PM

Russel Crowe needs to stay the hell away from Zach Snyder and focus on doing good movies.... he's one of the better actors out there working these days IMHO
cress writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:59:36 PM

I thought Snyder arrested his visiual style in MOS. I thought he went overboard with too much hand-held. It didn't look like Snyder film at all. Nolan or WB might have had something to do with that. Visionary my ass...
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:06:37 PM

I enjoyed the movie, as for a prequel only about Krypton, I doubt it would work, people want to see Superman fly, being super etc, being normal people on Krypton kinda beats the purpose of the main story.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:19:27 PM

@greenlensmen hilarious id love to see a jor el dr pepper buddy movie

yer the Krypton parts were the best but not worthy of a prequel thats taking it too far. Spot on Cinema cavil did not have to show much emotional depth or acting range and wasnt russell crowe the main actor in Man of steel anyway? Id like to see how many lines for the movie they both had. My recollection of the film I remember about four flashback scenes where he talks to kevin coster and diane lane then the rest of it hes fighting or just walking around looking at things
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:23:38 PM

@cress

I also thought that all the 'quick-zooms' was really excessive. The first movie to do this was Avatar and it originated with video game cut scenes because that type of zoom is only possible with a computer generated environment.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:27:55 PM

@PatrickBateman

Russell Crowe is definitely not the lead in MoS. He had about 30 minutes of screen time as opposed to Cavill's 90 minutes.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:46:39 PM

And Kevin Costner has about 10 mins.
cress writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:47:00 PM

@Deaft. I honestly feel that Snyder was a "yes man" on this production. Whether you like Snyder or not, he has employed a visual aesthetic that is very recognizabe since 300. None of that was on display in MOS-maybe the scene where Clark is floating underneath the water after the oil rig explosion-but that's it. I liked MOS, but have always felt it had so many things that were "off" in it since I walked out of the theatre. It's certainly not a film I have enthusiastic feelings for.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:27:04 PM

@cress

Yeah I really only liked Snyder's Dawn of the Dead remake and the Owl movie and some parts of Watchmen. Specifically Jeffrey Dean Morgan's standout performance as Edward Blake/The Comedian.

Snyder does have a distinct visual style and I did notice it in the production design of MoS and the costume design. Also colors or lack thereof as well.

His style was definitely still there but not as overt as his past films. Scuttling his use of slo-mo I actually preferred because Kryptonians on Earth are certainly not slow at all.

Also even though the action sequences were very hyper-kinetic and fast-paced, I never had any problem following exactly what was going on.

I don't hate the movie and anyone calling it "a complete pile of sh*t" is just wrong because that just is not true.

This was not Battleship or After Earth or the upcoming RIPD bad. THOSE are definitely piles of sh*t.

Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:36:09 PM

First poster for the American remake of Oldboy, directed by big-time *sshole Spike Lee:

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/63164
SACdaddy writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:41:16 PM

I liked MOS but I didn't love it. Been dying to go back and see it again for a second dose and maybe more clarity. Other than Lois and Zod not living up to their predecessors' standards in general MOS delivered the entertainment without being campy like The Avengers. I appreciated the serious tone and heightened level of maturity and violence.

Oh and more Crowe is never really a bad thing.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:54:56 PM

Porn. TIME AFTER TIME..great flick. McDowell is terrific in it.

CRESS posts


There you go,TANaramadingdong
So make sure you wear your rubber pantaloons
crazyr746 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:23:52 PM

They can make an animated feature for the prequel. Don't think there would be much of a story to invest the money in to a live action.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:41:37 PM

Theres no money in an animated flic
DC is flying blind
theyre not even thinkin twice about the quality of movies theyre puttin out
They just market the sh*t out of it and beat you over the head till youre punch drunk with the idea that its gonna be an instant classic

Especially since they know that the movie is an already established staple of American pop culture and recognizable world wide

Theyll make money off of an animated feature
But theyll make Mask Of The Phantasm money


pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:45:55 PM

Which is classic,btw
and was responsible for the combustion of DC/Marvel animated features on DVD
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 6:22:40 PM

I can always tell the time just by checking the posts on here. You can even watch the post activity rise and fall with the five o clock line as it sweeps across western Europe, Canada and the US.

If I were so inclined, I'd capture this website's post activity data and plot it against time to prove my point. If I were so inclined.

Yawn.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 6:51:22 PM

Ive noticed that also
even going so far as to check out posters' point of origin on Google Earth

Im bored Im bored Im bored
You know that Im bored
-he's bored he's bored
regnaR writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 6:55:09 PM

.nerdlihc ym lla era uoY
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:00:38 PM

@pornfly

Were you the one that said you never saw The Dark Knight Returns animated film? If so you should dl it because it was very cinematic and well made and I enjoyed it a lot.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:03:18 PM

The Dark Knight Returns animated film (part one and two) is the best Batman animated ever made, imo, and hell, it's probably better than anything Nolan or Burton did.

I think Porny said he saw one, not two, though.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:03:36 PM

sigh.

Film.
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:05:41 PM

ooo you mudda f*ckah *squints eyes*
I saw part1
n o t part2
I just located part2 at a RedBox round da way

Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:26:05 PM

@DriveMemento
First of all the movie showed three powers. Strength, flight, and heat ray. There was no style to that film at all. It was an hour long action scene backed by a poor backstory that was made up and didn't adhere to the original Superman mythology at all!!! Seriously Nolan actually used past material to make the Batman films but this one they just made up sh*t. Like seriously where did this codex sh*t come in? Interesting story...but not for a Superman story. Goyer has no respect for material. Blade: Trinity he just threw together scenes from the first two movies that didn't get put in. And this one you get a director who has, to this point, has one decent movie to his name which is "Watchmen" and that is mostly because he was lazy and just followed the graphic novel frame by frame for the most part. Like really why movie did Rambo see? What movie did you see?

@everyone
Seriously why does everything have to be gritty and gruesome. What happened to some damn imagination? Why is every hero a jackass or a loner? It's not interesting anymore. "Hunger Games", "Man of Steel", and even "Green Lantern" are examples that come to mind. All these films feature pain in the ass leads who are not likeable at all. They treat everyone like to sh*t and yet, for reasons beyond me, we are suppose to like them by the end of the film?! I want all these *ssholes to be shot in the head by the end of their respective films. That is a happy ending to me now. These dark, gritty leads are boring as hell and show just how unoriginal Hollywood is now.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:32:54 PM

Nolan's Batman/Bruce Wayne had no personality or character either, his unintelligent growling and stalking around in the daylight aside.

Keaton was a far, far better "both".
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:34:16 PM

And I like how more than half of Batman Begins was about Bruce Wayne becoming a ninja, like I was watching a sequel to The Last Samurai instead of a Batman movie.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 8:44:33 PM

@mink
What's interesting is that was the backstory to another character. "The Shadow" back in the 90's with Alec Baldwin. He goes to some ninja academy after being a spoiled brat most of his life.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 10:33:52 PM

@Sleuth: interesting you mention that, as Bob Kane, creator of Batman, cited The Shadow as a direct inspiration for the Caped Crusader. Now you're telling me Batman Begins was "inspired" by the 1994 movie.

I guess history does repeat itself.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:27:24 PM

@mink
Yeah I guess it does although you have to admit that the way "Batman Begins" used that backstory was fairly well thought out than "The Shadow"...at least the way it was used in the movies and not necessarily the comic books.
python6 writes:
on July 9th, 2013 at 4:36:51 AM

I say yes and maybe have Brainiac as the villain introduce The Eradicator and maybe The Ultimate
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 9th, 2013 at 6:15:50 AM

Man of Steel was easiely a more entertaining movie than The Dark Knight and better looking than Avengers(that was truely great).
Don´t think a prequal is necessary !!
witwicky-potter writes:
on July 9th, 2013 at 6:37:03 AM

I don't think a prequel would work at all.I really enjoyed Man of Steel,sure it wasn't perfect but I enjoyed it.@DeaftOne,thanks for sharing the title of the Chris Cornell's song,been looking for it ever since I heard it in MOS
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 9th, 2013 at 5:46:51 PM

"@Sleuth: interesting you mention that, as Bob Kane, creator of Batman, cited The Shadow as a direct inspiration for the Caped Crusader."

This always urked me as a comics fan, but contrary to popular belief, Bob Kane is not the sole creator of Batman, nor did he put forth the most effort towards his character. Bob Kane came up with the name, and the original design (a man with a red jumpsuit and blue bat wings) but it was his partner, Bill Finger, who came up with Batman's origin, color scheme, and refined his design into the character we are familiar with today.

I'm sure you already knew that Mink, since you seem like a knowledgable fellow, but that was just a nugget of info for those of you are not comics-inclined

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved