WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp's "The Lone Ranger" is Officially a Flop, "Despicable Me 2" is a Huge Hit

Posted: July 7th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny DeppSubmit Comment
Despite opening during one of the most lucrative times of the year, Johnny Depp's "The Lone Ranger" grossed a disappointing $49 million over the five day weekend, which is far from enough to earn back the film's $250 million budget.

According to analysts, Disney has to earn around $800 million to break even. Overseas, "The Lone Ranger" added another $29.4 million, a surprisingly low amount considering Depp's popularity in foreign markets. To make things worse, the movie has a lousy 24% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"The Lone Ranger" ended up in second place at the domestic box office. The first place went to "Despicable Me 2," which grossed an impressive $142 million over the five day weekend, one of the best results for an animated film, just ahead of what "Toy Story 3" earned in its first five days. And "Toy Story 3" eventually broke the $1 billion mark globally.

"Despicable Me 2" earned another $151.1 million from international markets to bring its worldwide debut to $293 million. The movie is obviously already a hit, especially since it cost only $76 million to make. It also has a decent 75% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Kevin Hart's stand-up comedy movie "Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain," earned a solid $17.4 million from only 876 theaters. That was good enough to land in eighth place. It has a 72% fresh rating.

The other limited release of the weekend was "The Way, Way Back," starring Steve Carell and Sam Rockwell. The new movie grossed $575,000 from 19 theaters for an impressive per-screen average of $30,263. Fox Searchlight will likely start expanding the film to more theaters.

Click here to read our "The Lone Ranger" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 61 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:23:21 PM

"According to analysts, Disney has to earn around $800 million to break even."

So the other 550 million went where, again? Depp's make-up and coke binges?
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:23:36 PM

Huge flop? No sh*t. Where have you been all weekend Alex? To busy stuffing PussMan? And by analysts do you mean your calculator?
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:26:02 PM

lol.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:26:32 PM

haha
well armie join your buddy brandon routh and taylor kitsch in d lister world.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:36:18 PM

Did The Lone Ranger’s Failure Endanger Future Films?

http://wallstcheatsheet.com/stocks/did-the-lone-rangers-failure-endanger-future-films.html

GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:39:03 PM

cowboys and aliens was a flop too

armie hammer is the reason
it didn't make that much huge money

depp shoulda been the lead instead

http://www.nowvideo.eu/video/51d94554c35c8
Han0 writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:42:34 PM

I actually liked The Lone Ranger, just after the first hour.
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:51:23 PM

First,we'll make it a comedy
then we'll cast an Army Hammer
then we'll allow Depp to play the same character he's played in four Pirate movies
and we'll make it a 250 million dollar western

Doesnt anybody remember The Wild Wild West??
YOURE FIRED!
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 10:58:38 PM

bane writes:
on July 26th, 2012 at 4:24:50 AM

i admire Bale

he is not like that sick c*nt Tom Cruise

religion freak

Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=25561#ixzz2YQ2j6Icu
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 11:11:15 PM

TANMAN
Have you seen Runaway or any of the Scanners films?
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 11:12:56 PM

"Johnny Depp's "The Lone Ranger" is Officially a Flop"

as it should be!!
boogiel writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 11:22:39 PM

Huge flop? why am I not surprised?
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 11:29:43 PM

One knew it was gonna be a flop when the Lone Ranger was wearing a f*cking casual blazer...in western...with a A-lister that chose to be the sidekick, for kicks using a over-the-top, "look-at-me" costume made by a taxidermist!! Add to that a virtual bland, unknown newcomer to carry a 200 mill blockbuster.

It had flop written all over it...sorry to say.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 11:30:55 PM

When Disney said "250 million dollar Western", flop was the first relevant thought I experienced.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:35:29 AM

f*ck disney
GreenLensman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:58:42 AM

stopped giving a sh*t about depp in 2005
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:58:45 AM

Zod what relevance is that to anything?
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:00:22 AM

@Porn : Tanman32123 has seen them if he has not then he certainly will and he will LOVE them both.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:03:55 AM

Regarding the thread, I feel Western's really only do wel in the U.S.A. They are not huge overseas wild card's because they are historical, it's like sporting movies, Baseball & football movies only do well in the U.S.A or Canada, otherwise nobody gives a f*ck, like a rugby movie would do well in a rugby related country, or a soccer related country etc ....
mustardayonnaise writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:05:15 AM

Who around here was saying it would top a global 300+ million box office? Not an ice cubes chance in hell now. My estimate of 250 million is plausible but might still be too generous.

What a colossal dose of cold water in the face of bruckheimer & company.

You know what they say... NEXT...
telur writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:05:25 AM

Johnny Depp should play The Lone Ranger not Tonto

but why he's play tonto? because to become jack sparrow style?

superstar as sidekick never succeed, look around the world in 80 days's jackie chan

but still like mink said, So the other 550 million went where, again?

look like disney never learn from john carter
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:09:43 AM

Armie Hammer has no appeal to Straight men!
AngryBird writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:24:08 AM

Taylor Kitsch thought he could change his name and hope that would break his losing streak? lol
KillerCOck writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:34:53 AM

Damn.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:36:25 AM

@Mink

Thank you! I've always wondered how some people can say a film needs 3 times it's budget to become profitable. Like how the f*ck?

Cause I know DAMN well they didn't spend 550 Million on Marketing...
GreenLensman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:37:35 AM

dude, JB, you are on to something with a soccer movie, all the good sports have been done, the movies that do well are usually comedies. I find soccer particularly uninteresting, but a comedy movie with good actors would sit well with me. The only soccer movie I can even think of is Air Bud. If you know of one, do tell.

Anyway, heres my pitch: Since soccer requires great stamina and coordination, an obvious cast of seemingly overweight and out of shape actors would fit perfectly, such as Will ferrel, John C. Reilly, Woody harrelson, you get the idea...Or if those actors disgust you, maybe a more youthful cast like Sam rockwell, Bradley cooper, tom hardy...I dunno, I'm just saying that a soccer comedy would be funny even though I dislike soccer...that is all
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:39:09 AM

@Porn and JB

By 'Scanner Films' do you mean like.. 'A Scanner Darkly' or something like that? Otherwise I'm not sure which films those are.

In other words: No I haven't aha ;P
Gimme details and I'll check em out!
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:41:21 AM

A soccer movie with an all robot team loosely in the vein of Real Steel would be a cool animated flick....

@Tanman: lol. Yeah the actual movie cost 250 million, but to market it cost another 550 million? I don't believe it and I would love to see how Disney cooks their books over in accounting.
Tebeck writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:41:25 AM

Who the hell got a five day weekend?
GreenLensman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:42:23 AM

Just realized will ferrel was in "kicking and screaming" a soccer movie...it could still be done better though, that movie wasn't that great.
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:42:53 AM

Alex can't count, apparently.

@Tanman: The David Cronenberg film, they mean

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0081455/
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:49:24 AM

@Mink

Oh I see lol, I'm on my phone so I can't see what film is in the link. And yea, Disneys a big fail.

@Green

I actually saw Kicking and Screaming when It first came out in theaters. Soccer movies usually suck. It's the plot aroun them that end up being cool.

Cause who would pay to watch a ball get kicked around?
-Looks at Europe on the map- ...
GreenLensman writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:52:58 AM

Damn, I just remembered "the big green" also...though, I'm not talking about another tired ass team of misfits, I'm imagining will ferrel with his disgusting body, but is ranked one of the best soccer players in the league. Say, his contract expires and his current team won't pay his rediculous salary so he is picked up by some kind of new expansion team, and his teammates are decent players with low salaries... God damn I'm bored.
shafe41 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:53:40 AM

Well duh. I could have told you it would flop.

Another trailer where you had no clue what the f*cking movie was even about. Advertising "Armie Hammer???" Not a single person this movie is geared towards knows who he is. Hell I even had to look who he was. If you're going to share your name on a movie poster, shouldn't people know who the f*ck you are?
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:09:14 AM

There actually was a great soccer film made a few years ago, I myself am not a soccer fan but it was well made and I believe based on true events.

Called Goal!
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0380389/?ref_=sr_1

But I agree a funny one would be good, kinda like the longest yard. But with funny people and a mix of tough people, Tom Hardy would be great as a goal keeper!
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:23:20 AM

^^ What no love for Rodney Dangerfield's Ladybugs?! That soccer movie was good for a couple of chuckles...its no Easy Money, I'll tell you that much.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:27:23 AM

I do remember seeing that, I loved Rodney Dangerfield movies, There was a VERY hot girl in it too.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:29:40 AM

I just learned the kid from it who played Marty / Martha hung himself in 2003. Always got him mixed up with the guy from Detroit Rock City.
Rambo writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:38:59 AM

hopefully this will be the last western ever made and Armie Hammer's last appearance in a big budget movie.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:47:30 AM

Lone Ranger is a great popcorn flick and movies like Despicable Me are worse than crap...always truing too hard to be funny, with the same lame-ass humor !!
Funny how the world works !!
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:49:40 AM

* trying
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:09:33 AM

Iguess i'm gonna say it, in regards to soccer films...

Victory
Sly,Pelé and My Cocaine

I guess a remake could have Statham,Gerard Butler and that soccer player that head butts
Toss in Adrian Brody for that lovable hostage look


pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:32:40 AM

TAN
Runaway
Tom Selleck Gene Simmons and Kirstie Alleys boobs

IMO a more relevant scifi killer robot movie now than when it was released
IDK why Gene Simmons didnt play anymore villain roles
He kills it

SCANNERS bro SCANNERS! lol
Im talkin about exploding heads,TAN
Peep the whole series

I recommend you dont see anymore new crap with the exception of Pacific Rim
Till you see some classics,k?

It'd be alot cooler if you diid
:-)
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:46:35 AM

f*ck you Alexhole, for deleting our Sharknado images. YOU are the real debbie downer around here. Anytime anyone has any real fun, you have to come in deleting posts. Lazy greedy hack. All you care about is the money. Go f*ck yourself thoroughly.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:20:59 AM

We like this site but your pushing buttons on valued contributors. I get your wanting to keep things professional as can be.

I Have An Idea for you.

Say once a week, make a thread where people can vent say whatever the f*ck they want, that you will just leave be, you will gain more respect from that than you can imagine.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:22:40 AM

Call it SPEAK YOUR MIND
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:15:13 AM

Wanna soccer movie?
Ask and you shall receive
http://m.usatoday.com/article/news/2495199
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:19:39 AM

I always type 'w' in my google chrome browser to get to this page
Then i click on the first link that takes me here

But while waiting for this site to upload due to another friggin crash
I scroll to the bottom of the page to see that the fourth related link says:
Worstpreviews minkowski

Thats just awesome
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:23:33 AM

In other news, former Miramax's CEO embroiled in a sex scandal:


http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2357825/Showbiz-CEO-treated-sex-addiction-reportedly-resigns-worker-claims-sexual-harassment-explicit-photos-porn-star-hit-internet.html
j-man writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 5:26:27 AM

@Jb

They did a british remake of the lingest yard called 'the mean machine' but soccer instead, was pretty good
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 6:25:20 AM

^^ The Mean Machine was also the original title it was a football movie with Burt Reynolds :)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0071771/?ref_=sr_2

I have seen the british one, it was good, Jason Statham was a f*cking nut.
j-man writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:33:16 AM

Id have him my goalie any day lol
Dr_Venture writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 7:39:01 AM

Sweet, saved me a few dollars to not see this movie.

Yet sadly it will have to be rented because my wife adores anything Johnny's in.

:(
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:14:48 AM

Agreed with JB.
That idea is good man lol

@Mink, What a jackass.. Those were hilarious..
@Porn- I'll look into those mate! :)

Bunny X writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 11:55:45 AM

Wait, "Now You See Me" has made over 100M in 6 weeks? I can't find 4 unrelated people who went and saw that film voluntarily.
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:54:09 PM

I did.. But it sucked lol
pornfly writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 4:25:43 PM

^
dont lie,TAN
you tought youreself how to shuffle a deck of cards with your butt cheeks after watching Now You See Me
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iXBE81FYZJ0&feature=youtube_gdata_player
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 7:03:47 PM

aleale writes:
on November 8th, 2017 at 6:15:32 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 11:49:26 PM

sevelace writes:
on November 13th, 2017 at 4:24:03 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved