WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Seagal to Fight Mel Gibson in "The Expendables 3"

Posted: July 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Seagal to Fight Mel Gibson in "The Expendables 3"Submit Comment
Steven Seagal previously said that Sylvester Stallone offered him a role in "The Expendables 3." Meanwhile, we've heard rumors that Mel Gibson will play the villain in the new movie. At the time, both stories were unconfirmed.

Now comes word from several Bulgarian news outlets that "The Expendables 3" will be shooting in the country and will contain a fight scene with Seagal and Gibson. The scene will also include Stallone, Jason Statham and Dolph Lundgren.

"The Expendables 3" will be directed by Patrick Hughes (Red Hill) and will co-stars Nicolas Cage, Jackie Chan, Wesley Snipes, Milla Jovovich, and Arnold Schwarzenegger. It's set to hit theaters on August 15th, 2014.

Source: ExFlix, Movieweb


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:12:15 AM

I only hope the third is more coherent than the second and more quickly paced, too, with better lighting, although I readily admit it will be something of cheap thrill to see Gibson fighting Seagal.
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:12:24 AM

Seagal doesnt like to lose and very rarely gets touched (its like in his contract along with intern tushy)
So Im not buyin it

But if its true
Itll be EPIC
DriveMemento writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:14:00 AM

This movie is going to be hilarious!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:21:01 AM

bulgaria

mel gibson in machete 2 and ex3.double feature
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:22:21 AM

even gibson and glover lost to jet li in LW4
boogiel writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:27:11 AM

Mel Vs Steven? My money is on Mel gibson.Steven won't stand a chance.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:31:17 AM

seagals most likely gonna eat mel gibson.cany believe he outlived james gandolfini with all the food he eats.
cress writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:37:07 AM

The first two were terrible. Why will this one be any better?
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:48:37 AM

@Cress: I thought the first one was decent enough and held promise for a nascent, modern action series, but the second one was, is a heaping pile of sh*t. I don't even remember it, really. Something about Thor's brother getting killed and van Damme in sunglasses.
cress writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:03:56 AM

@Mink. Yeah, the second one was worst, but I hated the first as well.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:22:57 AM

theyre better than those dreadful fast and the furious movies and gijoe.

its a bunch of explosions and east Europeans being blown up.if you were looking for a plot in that then you are not gonna find much.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:28:43 AM

Funny how Seagal was in MACHETE and now Gibson is in MACHETE KILLS and now these Troublemakers will battle in THE EXPENDABLES 3
i124q writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:31:59 AM

These will be the longest fisticuff sequences ever filmed. I mean, take a swing at each other, grab onto their zimmer frames to keep from falling over and repeat.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:44:25 AM

Seagal will have to be shipped in a ship, he can't fit in a plane.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:05:48 AM

I was hoping Van Douche was coming back as his characters twin and he and Seagal finally got to fight it out.
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:06:34 AM

And I mean in real life to the death.
The Tall Man writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:24:44 AM

@pornfly:

What seems to be in Seagal's contract:
1. Rarely gets touched.
2. His own wardrobe.
3. His personal 1911's.
4. Sex scenes with 20-30 year old girls.
HerrGeneral writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:42:06 AM

Ah.. Dolph, he's back again
TheAmicko writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 12:15:55 PM

Well never been a Seagal fan. Seems very arrogant. But this could be cool. I love The Expendables movies. Thought the second one was very good as well. Van Damme did a Damn good job as evil in that one.
vincere01 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 12:20:46 PM

Liked the first. Hated the 2nd. NEVER gonna see 3rd. SS absolutely ruins this for me. He is a horrible actor with zero beliveability as an action star. Ever sunce the first under siege hes movies just became too crazy to take seriously.

its just sad to see what his filmography represents. Only movie I enjoyed him in was executive decision, and thats only because he gets sucked out of a plane at 30 thousand feet in the openining action sequence.

mickey rourke was bad enough, but at least I could grit my teeth and bare through his scenes. CANNOT do that fir SS. So sorry sly not gonna get my money or time for this one
TheAmicko writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 12:33:07 PM

Say what you will about Van Damme... He seems very down to earth and is quite funny. Love when he imitates Seagal http://m.youtube.com/index?&desktop_uri=%2F

TheAmicko writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 1:35:14 PM

I speak to Lee Priest sometimes over FB. (For those who are not bb or training fanatics he is a well known bodybuilder). He knew Van Damme and Arnold and those. I asked if they where in reality *ssholes. He said they are both very nice people. Van Damme asked him to train him for a movie right before he went into rehab. Lol. He also know some of the *ssholes from when he lived in LA. But nice that not all celebritys are selfish egocentered f*cks.
Cannon writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 1:40:11 PM


@Mink and Vincere01 -- really?!

The first one was the by far the more mediocre of the two, with too much shaky cam, poor editing, and it only PARTIALLY delivered on the initial promise/gimmick of bringing back 80s action stars; aside from Sly and Dolph, only Bruce and Arnie show up for, like, five minutes just to talk. Lame.

Expendables 2 was no masterpiece but it definitely had a faster paced narrative and more action -- more coherent action -- and we get Sly, Arnie, Bruce and Chuck altogether in one action final where there actually blowing sh*t up. Plus Sly then goes head to head with Van Damm in a ridiculously dumb-but-fun fight scene. No, sirs, with all due respect I'm afraid you've got it backwards here: the sequel was a more honed and satisfying product.

Now, as for the upcoming 3rd installment, all sounds fine and dandy, I suppose, but with Gibson it feels like he's playing ball with these second rate Machete and Expendables gimmicks just so he can save up and finance his own Vikings movie that he's been trying to direct, which would be awesome, by the way.

So who would win? Look, I've enjoyed Seagal's highlights as much as the next action movie buff (Out for Justice is almost pure genius), but were talking Mad Mel here. And, no, bandolero, he did not lose to Jet Li in LW4. If you'll recall, he took that motherf*cker to the depths of the ocean and filled him with AK-47 lead. A win's a win.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 2:18:21 PM

Above The Law, Hard To Kill, Marked For Death, Out For Justice, and Under Siege are the only good Seagal movies.

All the other ones are just putrid fecal vomit.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 2:54:08 PM

@Cannon I totally agree what you said about the first vs. the second expendables.
Tebeck writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 3:36:24 PM

Why? Why not make Gibson a hero? They Should have made Van Damme a hero in the last one. He hardly put up a fight. It was pathetic, I'm sure they will do the same to Gibson. Segal (being as c*cky as he is) never lets himself get hit in his choreography. It will be a disappointing fight I can see it already.
Tebeck writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 3:43:53 PM

@TheAmiko. Yea Lee is awesome. He tried to base his physique around Tom Platz. That's cool you bring him up, because I own a personal training gym, and we ordered some equipment from a guy that used to train with Platz, Arnold, and Ferrigno and I'm pretty sure Lee. He tried to sell us a pullover that used to belong to Ferrigno and offered to have Platz sign it.
Phunky Dubbs writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 4:01:51 PM

Phuck this sh*t, yo. The third Expendables movie is gonna be more pathetic than Zimmerman's defense team's attempt to get the case against Zimmerman dismissed by the judge.


G-I-B to the S-O-N
Mel ain't ever gonna be a star again


BadChadB33 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 5:08:57 PM

Theamicko- always been a van damme fan always will be. Just love for him and Seagal finally settle their dispute.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 7:02:22 PM

I didn't enjoy the second. Maybe it was the copy I watched, but from what I recall, the story seemed contrived and tortuous with the predictable death of Chris Hemsworth's character, the lighting was even worse than some of the really dark scenes in the first, and much of the action was cut so damned fast and hard I could barely tell what was happening. I think I actually developed a headache watching it.

Granted, Willis and Arnold do appear for more than they appeared in the first, but not to their immediate credit, really, as both of them looked like they wished they were somewhere else, perhaps sipping Metamucil and gearing up for a once-a-week sh*t. They both had that show me the money look, and they both looked too damned old to do much more of anything than pop their hips back into place. Less of them would have probably been better, then, as they didn't lend much to the film, except to remind the audience that everyone gets old, and it's never pretty.

I also didn't find van Damme credible as a villain, but then I've never found him credible as anything other than what he is: a bore. He acts the same in all his movies, and in EX2 he acts once again like van Damme and van Damme only, this time affecting the sinister air of a comic book villain in a comic book movie directed by Uwe Boll. He just wasn't wither that credible or that villainous.

As for the pacing, the film seemed to drag on, and thus I didn't feel invested in anything the characters did nor did I care. Even when Arnold and Willis appeared, I was long past the point of apathy, and the final fight scene did little to alleviate it. To be perfectly candid, I found the entire film a huge bore. a rehash of everything seen previously, including EX1, nothing new, and West's direction was certainly no more inspired than his peak work on Con Air.

Like I said, I can barely recollect EX2. It was just that "memorable", and I think the fact it was such a damned bore is what made it feel like a much longer film that the first. Thus, I have zero interest in the third. The original concept was interesting, but it was an interesting one-off. Do it once, say you did it, and them move on. Now Stallone is trying to make into a franchise, and there's just so many again action stars he can recruit. Judging by the diminishing money Ex2 made compared to the first, I think many people agree with me in this respect, and I suspect EX3 will bring in even less money, unless Stallone can miraculously find a magic combination of marquee headers and innovative action combined with a fresh plot. I don't expect that will happen though, and thus I expect more people will watch something else.

I would suggest Stallone consider going in a science fiction or horror route. Put the bad guys up against some iconic horror monsters. Pit them against an alien or Predator-like creature, or the Blob. Something more than just another old dude affecting a bad accent, wearing sunglasses and throwing high kicks, because I just can't take any more of that crap.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 7:18:52 PM

Why couldn't you just put the bunny back in the box?
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:07:55 PM

AMICKO
i always felt bad for Lee Priest
he was always second third or forth in Mr. Universe
That Ronnie Coleman was a friggin monster!
Art writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:07:49 PM

Steven Seagal, huh? How much does that guy weigh nowadays?
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:15:04 PM

@Art: Dunno, but according to CERN, Seagal is quickly approaching the Chandrasekhar limit.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:19:17 PM

Gibson versus Seagal? Hard to believe...Seagal never likes to lose, but guess if he was gonna lose to somebody, might as well be Gibson.

It'll probably will be some self sacrificing scene...Seagal loves those or it'll be a car crash death with like 20 flips & when he gets pulled out, he's only going to have a little cut and blood over an eyebrow. LOL
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:21:36 PM

"Above The Law, Hard To Kill, Marked For Death, Out For Justice, and Under Siege are the only good Seagal movies.

All the other ones are just putrid fecal vomit."

f*ckin' A Deaft0ne.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:21:53 PM

So this one will be set in a jewish theme, with Mel Torturing them and Steven is the half Jew who takes it personally. ... enter the Expendables to help Mel.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:23:00 PM

Celluloid man : the start of his downfall was I think fire in the hole? With Michael Caine.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 1:19:11 AM

On Deadly Ground was the first foot in the movie grave IMO, JB.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 1:52:09 AM

I liked the 2nd better than 1st...#3 cast is insane. If I could add one more person to the cast for sh*ts and giggles, it would be Robert Patrick. Teaming up with Arnold would be pretty cool, I dunno.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:14:28 AM

so the fight will be a pie eating contest
TheAmicko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:43:19 AM

@tebeck and pornfly : Lee is a great guy..... When i tried to get my gym open he did me a huge favor for free (had no money) just because we write together and banter :-) He is just a really nice person and he does not like kiss asses. Nice that some celebs are like that. Thats why I asked him about his honest opinion on Van Damme and Arnold.... Cause he will give it ;-) Sadly he did not know my other childhood hero Stallone. But I hope he is nice to. If I se celebs act like d*cks I don't like it. Btw his loses and infamy now had a lot to do with politics... If you know anything about him you know he speaks his mind and that did not go well with the union. He was to honest about the sport and people behind the shows so he got banned.

@Mink : I respect your opinion but I disagree. Am I totally wrong by saying that you are maybe not the biggest action fan? Because these 2 movies does old school action at it best for me. I think both Simon West and Van Damme does a great job in both their fields. And I think Van Damme is smarter than some people give him credit for and does a over the top evil comic book like villain for at over the top action movie. I sadly must agree with you that Arnold and Willis scenes was not good enough. Maybe except the one when Arnie drills trough to the mountain facility. Peaks out with a cigar in his mouth and says his iconic line.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:52:47 AM

Mink : Damn I thought it grossed more than the second with the adition of Van Damme and Norris and critics mostly agreing it was a better film than the first. Weird! But it still did gross 312 mill. On a 100 mill. Budget. So still a big succes. If they get Mel I think it will be bigger in earnings. He's still has a audience.
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:55:23 AM

AMICKO
Good thing you werent friends with that married couple who killed in Vegas
She was a Miss O champ and him a top competitor
I wanna say Jay Cutler but Im not sure
She was a lil hottie too
But soon as they locked her ass up that was it

Youre also correct on PuppetMaster 1
Its boring as hell
Its the only one they ever show on tv
It pisses me off because it totally turns people off to watching the sequels which are far more entertaining
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:59:59 AM

@TheAmicko: I like action films, most of them anyway, as long as they're Western, but EX2 really offered me nothing but more of what I saw in EX1. Nothing new, really. Seeing van Damme didn't do anything for me because other than a few of his films, I think he's a joke of action star. He play the same character in every film, and almost never does anything that might challenge him.

I just felt EX2 was bland and repetitive. Maybe I'll watch it again to be sure, but as far as I can recall at this moment, there was nothing in the film to make me excited, not like say, Fast and the Furious 5 or 6.

I do agree the casting for the third EX film is a bit interesting, but unless Stallone gets inventive, I expect only more of what we've already seen.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:00:26 AM

an
TheAmicko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:32:47 AM

@Porn. Im not friends with Lee. Just writes with him sometimes :-) Damn I had to Google that. That was Craig Titus and his girlfriend. I did not know that. Crazy sh*t. To bad they don't show the other Puppet Masters then. I will jkeep an eye out.

Mink : I don't really count westerns as action. Name me your top 3 action flicks ;-) In my opinion that is how action is supposed to be. Not as deep as a thriller etc. What about Van Dammes performance in that french movie... What was it called? The one where he makes a little fun of himself and critics like. I have not seen it though. But its said its an heartfelt performance.

TheAmicko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:37:13 AM

His performance in the movie called "in hell" is good to. When you see it it looks like another of his "fight to become the belt owner" but his performance is with some feelings to it. Even my girl liked it. And she hates "roundhouse kick to the head kinda movies" lol
TheAmicko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:39:06 AM

Mink : Ahhh... Just realised you maybe meant that you only like action films from the western region of the world? And not westerns which is its own genre.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:52:56 AM

@The Amicko: yeah I just mean Western action films, not that Hong Kong crap with the martial arts and silly cinematography where everyone is talking in Chinese but really bad English dubbed over it. That stuff is just abysmal.

And three top films I can name immediately: True Lies, Die Hard and Terminator 2. I can others, but EX2 wouldn't be in there for sure. Con Air, yes, Ex2 no.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 6:48:48 AM

@mink: I'm with you on the Hong Kong crap. The worst one for me are the martial arts ones where they fly through the air on wires all the f*cking time! Those you mentioned are some of my favorites to. Also T1.
Džeko writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 9:10:41 AM

The first one was decent and the second one had some good action scenes...but as soon as anyone starts talking in that movie it all falls apart.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 12:30:15 PM

Speaking of martial arts, Enter the Dragon is 40 years old this July...sh*t you not.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:00:39 AM

Id rather see liam neeson fight segal.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:43:36 AM

Riggs vs. Ryback :)
Bunny X writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:18:00 PM

These movies are like dumping ground meat, raw vegatables, dry pasta still in the box, and unopened jar of sauce into a bowl and wondering why it doesn't taste like spaghetti.
If Stallone took the time to "cook" these movies right, they would be so epically awesome. Instead, I got a forkful of raw meat and cardboard.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:40:54 PM

Stallone does put a whole lot of time is these movies. Just the time he uses to get all the action stars and make their schedules come together was very hard for him. The first one he wrote, starred and directed. So fair you don't like them. But Stallone does work to give the fans something special.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 1:44:27 PM

Also think about how hard it must be to get all these action egoes who all wants an important big role. And then "cook" it down to well under 2 hours. And there also needs to be a story. Just saying it must be harder than doing a "normal" movie and not a big ensemble one.
Bunny X writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 2:57:42 PM

well ok then @TheAmicko, then maybe Stallone needs to focus on one or the other. Focus on the story and dial down the number of slots he's trying to fill and coordinate. Because he can't do both. And granted ensemble casts with large egos can surely be a logistical nightmare, but it's been done before. And it's not like these guys are A list prime folks with heavy schedules. About 90% of them are lucky to be getting money for something other than selling their blood. Hollywood ain't beating their doors down, and when Stallone's done with them, neither will he.
TheAmicko writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 3:03:28 PM

Bunny X :I would love to see him direct a more story driven action film. Maybe even action drama. But it is what it says it is. And I think it delivers. You are right about some of the actors not being busy... But hardly 90 % Maybe 1/3. Still a lot of these guys are busy.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved