WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Confirms He'll Make "Battle Angel" After "Avatar 3" in 2017

Posted: July 6th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Confirms HeSubmit Comment
About a year ago, James Cameron revealed that he can deliver any message and story he wants through his "Avatar" franchise, adding that he no longer feels the need to make any other movies other than "Avatar" sequels.

Several months later, Cameron said that he really loves the story for "Battle Angel," promising to make the movie immediately after "Avatar 4." And now at the TagDF conference in Mexico City, the director revealed that he plans to begin developing "Battle Angel" in 2017, while he's still in post-production on "Avatar 3."

We've heard Cameron and his producer Jon Landau talk about "Battle Angel" many times in the past. It looks like they're now becoming serious about the project. It also sounds like we'll have two new "Avatar" films in just four years.

"Battle Angel" is set in a cyborg-dominated 26th century, 300 years after society fell to a catastrophic war. The main character is a young girl in a cyborg body who, after being found in wreckage and repaired, realizes that she has lost her memory and doesn't even know who she really is.

Click here to read more about "Battle Angel."

Source: The Film Stage


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:09:39 AM

So in other words, we have to suffer through two more Avatar films before Cameron gets back to his roots, the roots that made him who he is today, i.e., cyborgs?

Whatever, Jimmy. Go make more Avatar, but until you can enthrall me once again like you did more than twenty years ago, I'm not interested.

Thanks anyway.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:20:32 AM

Cameron should just adapt Metropolis to the live-action big screen because IIRC he really enjoyed that anime.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:26:13 AM

cameron f*ck off in the ocean
boogiel writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:33:45 AM

So basically, Cameron wants to make Terminator 3.0
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 8:46:25 AM

Why not? We're already getting Terminator 5: Incontinence Day.
Chris_G writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:15:14 AM

I'm about 1000X more excited for sequels to the best sci-fi film of the millennium than I am for ANOTHER adaptation. We have enough films based on pre-existing properties, I'll take sequels to Avatar over Battle Angel any day of the week.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:15:21 AM

If the old f*ck lives that long and I'd the second avatar is the second story of pochahantas I'm definitely out
i124q writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:30:25 AM

Prediction of the day: Cameron will NEVER make Battle Angel.

There I said it. Go cry into your bowl of cornflakes.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:42:33 AM

I like Avatar as I keep saying, unsure what Battle angel is. But I must say Tanman32123 is most definitely c*nt of the day.
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:49:43 AM

Why ya gotta bust balls?^
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:02:44 AM

f*ck off James!!
j-man writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:44:45 AM

The rest of the workd confirms 'we dont give a flying f*ck'
j-man writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:45:35 AM

world*
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:16:48 AM

just make battle angel fek avatar
shiteater writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 12:06:49 PM

James Cameron is a great director, he just doesn't always make movies that appeal to me. And since I don't generally enjoy movies that have a female lead, I think this will be one of those movies.
vincere01 writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 12:10:45 PM

I doubt he ever makes battle angel. This is how I see jimmys life going.

he makes the 2nd and 3rd avatar back to back, spending 300 million making them. But since its almost 7 years later no one cares anymore and the younger demo has no idea what avatar is let alone have any interest in seeing a part 2 and 3.

movies come out and fall way below expectations. Studio loses way more money than disney on john carter. Becomes biggest loss in movie history, and universally panned by critics.

jim gets all cranky and yells at people. Grows a hobo beard and stops showering. Goes "exploring" in his little subs for anyear or two until no one wants to keep working in a sub with him due to the stink.

2019 rolls around and hes hit rock bottom. Then rights to terminator fall back to him. He immediately gets a geriatric boner that breaks his d*ck off and calls arnold. Gets the old crew back together to make a new terminator.

in interviews he just says he can say any message or story he wants to in the world of skynet. If anyone brings up avatar he punches them in the groin and bites a nipple off. All the while arnold is sitting near idle watching and says " dis iz phantaaasssticcck!"
Cannon writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 1:56:10 PM


Poor Cameron ...just too hung up on a his Avatar world that, despite its huge box-office success, no one every really went fan-crazy over it like they did with Star Wars or The Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter ...or The Terminator. To reiterate what others here have already said, no one cares, Jim. No one cares.

Unfortunately, Battle Angle also feels like he's a decade late and a dollar short, does it not. I mean, cyborgs and a post-apocalyptic future? Haven't we already been there in numerous iterations? From various 90s anime to The Matrix and the Terminator films, to name but a few. It just feels like old hat to me.

But, hey, I'd take anything over another formulaic, blue cat people preach-fest. For a while there Cameron was talking about adapting The Informationist. Now that was that sounded promising, as it would have been something refreshing for Cameron's output by bringing him back to something more grounded in our reality, but still with his patented female hero and lots of third-world, techno-thriller action.

Looks like it's gone, though. Too bad.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 3:23:19 PM

Couldn't give two sh*ts, sounds boring as f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 7:22:17 PM

Cameron says studios are overdoing 3D

http://www.complex.com/pop-culture/2013/07/james-cameron-thinks-studios-are-overdoing-3d
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 7:30:30 PM

Cameron says "don't get high on your own supply"

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/james-cameron-dont-get-high-on-your-own-supply-8650777.html
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:03:53 PM

Had no idea Cam studied physics
Hollywood needs more like him
Wheres the next James Cameron?
Study some physics,BANDO
watch BigBang Theory...somethin
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:12:10 PM

Thank god for you, Pornfly, or this place would be absolutely dead.

Yeah, I read that too, the physics part, but...the kind of physics Cameron would have studied during those years would have been basic classical mechanics and statics. sh*t like forces and the physics of springs. Trigonometry, some calculus. Cameron called such math "advanced".

Funny thing is, Cameron is more of a right brain person whereas his brother is left brained. His brother IIRC is into engineering, whereas Cameron is into the visual arts.

People tend to be that way, although not always. Most people can either draw or understand math, but relatively rare is the person who can do both.
YoungChris writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:14:43 PM

2017 ? Ok .. I'll wait ...
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:03:10 PM

I figured given that time period,his range of study was somewhat limited
Much like the physics i was taught in the Navy regarding the propagation of sound in the ocean and utilizing that sound to determine a submarines characteristics course and speed

Im sure he must dabble in some studies on his own

Im sure i utilize both hemisperes of my brain
But not enough to do me any friggin good
What i would give for some direction

sahlute MINK
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:14:36 PM

@Pornfly: well even now standard undergraduate math or physics doesn't typically go beyond calc, real analysis, discreet math and classical mechanics. It's not like he was thrown into quantum mechanics or Lie Algebras.

So that tells me he's a right-brained artistic individual, and from what I've seen of his approach to Avatar and the artwork of "Rose" seen in Titanic, I'm not surprised. He even did a pretty good sketch years ago, one for the first Terminator.

As for doing both, yeah, I have drawing skills, and I can also understand most physics and mathematics. My problem, and it's a HUGE one, is an inordinate and profound innate laziness. I'm just a born slacker.



"What i would give for some direction"

Don't need it, just do what you like.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 10:32:49 PM

@pornfly : He annoys me :P
kickit writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:07:27 PM

A whole lot of losers on here telling each other they're still intelligent individuals even though they've done nothing with their lives.
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:12:58 PM

^^So I guess you've pretty much abandoned all hope of contributing to the website and instead have relegated yourself to playing the role of yet another heckling troll with nothing constructive or useful to say, huh?

As for "losers" and whatnot, you presume much, namely the nature of what constitutes a "loser", and whether or not someone has to equal James Cameron's accomplishments in order to criticize whether or not Cameron's commercial ventures hold personal interest to the person in question.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:21:37 PM

If that is to me Mink, I do contribute but I do love to stir the pot. I believe I am one of the few who actually loves Avatar
minkowski writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:24:57 PM

@Enforcer: you know I'm not talking to you. I was referring to this kickit guy. He started off joining the conversation(s), now he's resorting to calling names.

And unlike more than few people here, I find you amusing as I know much of what you do isn't done in hate but just to f*ck around. Unfortunately, people take you far more seriously than you take yourself, but then that's nothing new.
pornfly writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:43:21 PM

He annoys me

Of i course i do
I also annoy friends girlfriends/wives
Authority figures and niggas who cant get laid

But when its all said and done
Im always da mutha f*ckin man

Keep up da bad work ENFORCER
just take it easy on ol'TANny boy
mmmkay?
that'll be gr e a t
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 11:56:56 PM

@pornfly stop being a Gnat!! Tanman32123 annoys me, nobody can like THAT many movies
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 12:00:02 AM

I'm kind of with Enforcer on this one...tanman likes almost everything...much of it sh*t. I mean, there's positivity, and then there's tanman.
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 12:17:31 AM

Lol
i guess da boyz on his own lol
I wouldnt mind if he hadnt watched pop-culture movies like Twins,Psycho etc etc etc

gnat lol
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 1:48:39 AM

Bunch of Marvel Knights stuff being released for the summer
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 1:49:33 AM

Pretty dead in here....
regnaR writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 2:26:26 AM

.nem fo shtuom eht hguorht orf dna ot ssap I sa ,evil llits I
ikswoknim writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 2:39:15 AM

.etis gnikcuf siht no gniht gnikcuf a tsop reve dluow eno on ro sllort derob rof dog knahT

!selur /sdrawkcabetirw/moc.derob//:ptth
hellsingfan writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 3:32:03 AM

Sweet nice to see this movie is finally getting somewhere but it does sound a little ghost in the shell ISh for those that don't no what ghost in the shell is look it up
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:06:35 AM

Watchin the first three Trancers on youtube
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 4:30:03 AM

Totally forgot Helen Hunt was in this
she was a friggin hottie at 22

agings a bitch
pornfly writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 7:16:21 AM

LOL
well then it must be true
Hank Azaria dates her for like 7years no problem
Marries her
Cheats on her at the Playboy Mansion
Rambo writes:
on July 7th, 2013 at 5:07:24 PM

next week news : 'Battle Angel' is dead.
Bunny X writes:
on July 8th, 2013 at 12:21:39 PM

f*ck you Cameron. You've delayed Battle Angel for so long, I doubt it'll ever get made. But if I wanted someone else to pick it up, I truly can't cause you're the only one I trust at this point to do it.
I swear, this had better happen and it better be EVERYTHING I hope it could be.
BlackDynamite writes:
on July 9th, 2013 at 1:54:18 PM

God, I hope Cameron's films fail.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved