WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Alec Baldwin Plans to Quit Acting and Never Use Social Media Again

Posted: July 3rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Alec Baldwin Plans to Quit Acting and Never Use Social Media AgainSubmit Comment
After posting homophobic and violent comments on Twitter, Alec Baldwin immediately deleted his account and has now announced that he will never return to social media.

"I went to Jimmy Gandolfini's funeral, and when I was there I realized Jimmy Gandolfini didn't have Twitter," said the actor. "Jimmy Gandolfini was so beloved as a person, and he was so admired as an actor, and he didn't give a f*ck about social media."

Meanwhile, Baldwin told Vanity Fair that his dream is to be out of the public eye. He wants his future daughter to never know him as a celebrity. When asked if he plans to quit acting, Baldwin replied: "I'd love to if I could, yeah. That would be the greatest thing in the world."

It's not clear why he can't quit acting. It's probably just another meaningless statement, similar to when he said he would leave America if President George W. Bush was re-elected. Bush was re-elected, Baldwin never left.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 78 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:37:18 AM

Yeah, he also said if W. Bush got reelected he would leave the country. We were all almost fortunate.
Taco writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:38:49 AM

Guess I should read the whole article before I post. My bad.
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:46:14 AM

Probably just another meaningless statement

He said he would love to if he could
Which is what anyone who works would say

He never says he is going to quit

Unlike what this headline reads

Someone sure is coming off as butthurt

Its not clear why he cant quit acting

Its pretty clear to me:
New hot young chic
New baby

You do the math
I cant do everything
M. Bullitt writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:47:36 AM

"...I realized Jimmy Gandolfini didn't have Twitter,"

Really?!
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:58:30 AM

No self respecting straight man
with nothing to sell or market or advertise
Should have anything to do with social media

None of my friends have a FB/Twitter
and when i was working in a warehouse we goofed on guys with accounts all day

Gandolfini sounded like he was all man

From your kids names on your rear windshield
To pics of your beer

NOONE CARES
knock it da f*ckoff,already
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:17:37 AM

suits me well !!
BadChadB33 writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:25:55 AM

When did he ever start?
donangel01 writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:28:18 AM

@pornfly

you should be given a medal. first because your name is Pornfly. but second, because you are right on the money with your comment. No one could have ever put that in better words and I agree 100%. People can't stay off that crap. constantly updating and letting others know what they are doing or where they are "at".
Knock it the f*ck off because no one cares!!! I love it
Avirex writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:58:59 AM

I've been too stubborn to create a personal Facebook, Twitter or whatever other sh*t people use these days. I recently made a business Facebook page but its never updated. Made one for Twitter but never filled in any info. Even for business I'm reluctant to use the sh*t.
Cannon writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:37:18 AM


@Pornfly -- we park are cars in the same garage. Smartphones are for teenage girls. If I'm out somewhere and I need to make a call, I'll walk my ass to a f*cking payphone. Otherwise, the sh*t can wait. Like you said, selling a product is the only excuse for carrying around such things, and even then it's a big maybe.

Mankind managed his daily affairs just fine for thousands of years. I for one am not all the sudden going to fall off the world for not "updating" my goddamn Twitter account. And even if I somehow did, well, to quote the great philosopher John Rambo: "f*ck the world."

*Cannon walks away, catches cobras*

j-man writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:10:56 AM

His tweets werent homophobic
kickit writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:20:38 AM

Seems like there's a lot of men ok n here that are insecure with their manhood.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:27:13 AM

"when I was there I realized
Jimmy Gandolfini didn't have Twitter,"

somebody just died and baldwin wonders
oh.. did he have a twitter account

what a dumb cu**
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:29:59 AM

@ j-man

His tweets werent homophobic ? ?

''I'd stuck my foot up your ass
but you'd probably dig that too much ''
cress writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:05:55 AM

I couldn't give two sh*ts about Facebook or Twitter. Facebook just seems like a good way for some *sshole childhood acquaintance that I haven't seen in 20 years to track me down and start annoying the hell out of me again. Twitter..who f*cking needs to know you're rubbing one out on the toilet. I bet Anthony Weiner wishes he'd never signed up for Twitter. I can see the use for these services for businesses, f*ck all this constantly "connected" personal bullsh*t.
Kurskij writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:19:09 AM

"It's a blueish kinda morning".

"Watching TV with my cat".

"Wanted to eat ice cream. Found out I'm out of ice cream LOL"

^ That's what I imagine twitter looks like.

Oh, and of course some "daily wisdom" quotes.

Smth like. "Only those who never fly never fall - Shiatzu the Second".
Kurskij writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:21:52 AM

He is seemingly unable to say anything and not sound like an *sshole.

"I went to Jimmy Gandolfini's funeral, and when I was there I realized Jimmy Gandolfini didn't have Twitter"

Terrific, Arec Bardwin. Just terrific.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:36:56 AM

@Cannon

Facebook and Twatter are for attention whores and teenage girls, not smartphones alone.

Also, unless you are living back in the 1990s still, which mentally it sounds like you are trapped there, I have no idea where you are finding a payphone to use in 2013 aside from a subway or train station or an airport.

Alec Baldwin is a stupid f*ck though.

j-man writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:52:20 AM

@gen

Haha i hadnt seen that one i thought they were on about him saying queen or something, anyways people cant say sh*t these days wuthout some c*nt being offended
Cannon writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 12:01:36 PM


@Deaft0ne -- If I can't find a payphone then I'll just contact whomever I need to with my mighty mountain call.

I can also befriend bears.

JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 1:48:42 PM

It is time for Mr Baldwin to go on a diet and become a decent father, he has not done anything interesting since The Getaway film which was by no means a highlight of his career but he has not done anything remotely as good now has he... the c*nt!
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 1:50:05 PM

This made me laugh:

http://www.movieonline2u.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/The-Lone-Ranger-2013-Movie-Poster.jpg

http://www.deathbyfilms.com/images/White-House-Down-poster-xl.jpg
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 2:02:15 PM

^^ Explain?
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 4:03:30 PM

Who is this Alec Baldwin guy and why should I care?



"No self respecting straight man
with nothing to sell or market or advertise
Should have anything to do with social media"

That's a pretty incorrect statement, Pornfly, unless you think "men" shouldn't have any connection with their family who live across the country, because I can tell you, email isn't nearly as good as having them post something direct to your Facebook.

Also, people use Facebook for more than just "social media". They use it to share their artwork, which may or may not have anything to do with commercial interests.

But I do agree with what you said concerning Twitter, for sure.


"Gandolfini sounded like he was all man"

Gandolfini sounds like he was too fat, too old and too busy banging hookers and snorting coke to use Facebook or Twitter. Doubt it had sh*t to so with him being a "real man" because if he had been a real man, he wouldn't have keeled over dead at his relatively young age and with all his money to buy the latest and greatest medical treatment.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 4:33:07 PM

"If I'm out somewhere and I need to make a call, I'll walk my ass to a f*cking payphone."

So you can find a payphone where you live, and you carry around a sh*t load of quarters?

You must not have kids, a wife, a girlfriend or family, then. No friends either.

Can't you just buy a ten dollar TracFone? Doesn't have to be a "smart phone", which aren't "smart" because they connect to Facebook, but because they can run applications like a computer.

Payphones and quarters. That's just weirdly anachronistic as f*ckety f*ck.



I'm also amused I was saying the same sh*t concerning "men" and social media more than two years ago, to crowds of either silence or hate.






This reminds me...how and where will Superman change into his alter-ego in the upcoming Man of Steel 2?
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 4:40:57 PM

Nobody Caresss!
Rambo writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 5:15:26 PM

I liked him in 'The Shadow' - very underrated super hero flick and 'Glengarry glen Ross' - probably his best performance ever. other then that he is watchable but didn't care much about him in the last years.

p.s

Laura vera is f*cking hot...off to her facebook page i go
Rambo writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 5:16:48 PM

hmmm...married with children,meh...those profile photos are always misleading
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 5:38:14 PM

I saw Laura Vera last night, Rambo, and she's not as hot in all her other photos as her profile image would make you think.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 6:15:35 PM

Despicable Me destroying The Lone Ranger in ticket sales.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/lone-ranger-lining-disneys-next-210447534.html

"Variety points out in its latest issue that lead actor Armie Hammer's lack of social media presence could be hurting "The Lone Ranger.""
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 6:25:17 PM

Lmao
As i was typin that Gandolfini bit, MINK i could hear you saying exactly that (and no you didnt sound like Unicron)

But youre are right
I was posting out of emotion
Because as i awoke later, i heard on the news about the coup in Egypt and how alot of the news is being posted on FB
Just because i dont see that there is alot of good being done with FB doesnt mean that it isnt being done
I was going to post something along those lines if you hadnt already
If you werent around, i would slowly fade away from this site as well
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PYbIEqMFg4&feature=youtube_gdata_player
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:20:05 PM

I have a Facebook account, Pornfly, and I use it to speak with family and host 3D "artwork" images. That's what I meant.

Facebook is fast for communication and you can easily share more than simple text. You can also chat and host images. In that respect, Facebook is useful, for me at least.

I have only family members as "friends", and I don't do Twitter, nor do I use a smartphone, aside from an old iPhone I've recycled into an mp3 player. I have a regular dumb phone, and that's more than enough.

I merely wanted to clarify that just because a person uses some aspect of social media doesn't mean they're one of these now-common emosexual emasculated manchildren who now dominate the internet.

And you should know, of all people on here, I've criticized such behavior more than anyone.





Wasn't trying to be a jerk, really, just as usual doing what I can to stir up some life out of this increasingly moribund website.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:22:50 PM

"If you werent around, i would slowly fade away from this site as well"

Believe it or not, I enjoy your presence too. You're not mean, you never get angry, you always have something to say that isn't just the typical attention whoring, and you're usually on topic if only in some esoteric bong-hazed way, which is more than most people's parroting and knee jerk negative aping.

You're one of the three or four people I'd retain if I had the power to reboot The Matrix, so to speak.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:26:53 PM

I'd delete Dustin and Alex for sure, though.

They're as worthless as tits on a male dog, as my kind mother used to say.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 7:56:45 PM

C'mon guys, get yourselves a smart phone, you can look at porn anywhere you go! Seriously though, I stopped buying digital cameras because my smart phone takes great quality ones, and can even do time lapse. I can also play Majoras Mask, Legend of Dragoon, and many other sexy titles when ever the f*ck I want. I even have an app that tells me when cam versions of new movies hit youtube, and watch them before they get taken down.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:02:59 PM

I'd rather just have an Asus tablet instead.
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:12:05 PM

I appreciate smart people with common sense and an open mind which have always been hard to find qualities,MINK

There some folks that would lump you into the troll category
Last night i was on YouTube to watch a Gordon Ramsay video when i saw a comment that said,"this recipe is from the 70s" and another saying somethin along the lines of hes just putting everything on the plate blahblahblah

You propose solutions
rather than just pointing out faults

BTW your mother sounds like a common sense gal herself
Just like mine(still the smartest woman i know)

BTW-BTW
men who seek attention on these sites by posting 'selfies' were more than likely raised by single moms who treat their 'little man' like small girlfriends
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:17:55 PM

I think tablets suck, all you need is a smart phone and a laptop, a powerful laptop, not one of those cheap ass ones. Tablets are great for housewives and rich douchebags who provide their 2 year old with one to warp their brains as early as possible. The only tablet I ever had was a Kindle though, and I sold it for crack. So I have a very biased opinion.
Stapes writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:30:30 PM

He should start by quiting acting like an idiot. Tough stretch though... old dogs and all.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:35:00 PM

@Pornfly: people who call me a troll only do so because I call them a troll, and I call them a troll because they come here only to start sh*t with me and others, like that ChaseEvolution guy. They never have anything to say about the topic at hand. They post to make trouble and then demand everything here conform to their wishes like spoiled, petulant children.

Sure, I talk a LOT of sh*t, like many of you, but most of it I mean even if it's couched cynically or in sarcastic wording, and the sh*t I don't mean is just that: sh*t talk. A bunch of guys blowing off steam, talking crap. Typical male behavior.

As for my mother, she was not a really nice person, but you're right: she did have a common sense to her. She would always say things like "true giving hurts" and "if you want to be liked, be likable". She was hard and would say sh*t that could hurt, I guess because she thought the truth was better than lying, but damn she could cut you in half like Superman's heat vision. My father was no lily either.


"You propose solutions rather than just pointing out faults"

Dunno about all that, Pornfly, but the way I see it, I simply call it as I see it. People say I'm overly negative and maybe I am, but maybe they're all too willing to eat heaps of sh*t and like it.

Why can't things be better? Why can't modern movies NOT suck? Why can't we get some good old school action and science fiction films that don't reek, like Bullet to the Head and Prometheus?

You don't see me sitting here talking sh*t about movies made back in the 80s and 90s, do you? Nope. Just the garbage they make now. And that's almost all they make now. Garbage. sh*t made *ONLY* to make money.

Hell, I've had to watch ancient B&W movies just to clear out my mind.




As for the people on here, seems to me just a bunch of groupthink. Someone says something and then someone jumps on the bandwagon. You or Cress tell a joke, someone lols, and then the hyena clones pile on.

Or someone says something and it's a race to see who can agree the most. A bunch of leaderless yes-men in search of a daddy to tell them when and where they can sh*t.

Like you said, little lost boys raised by single women.

Why can't people think for their selves, deal with the facts, be honest and stand up for themselves?
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 8:41:37 PM

@Greenlensman: you're wrong because you assume your needs conform to everyone else's needs.

Fact is, a tablet is a beautiful thing for the RIGHT reason, and the right reason is BOOKS.

See, I have about, dunno, up to 50k books, mostly science and mathematics. Great sh*t. But do I want to read that crap on a heavy-assed laptop? On a ditzy tiny phone? Nope. A properly configured large table with a high-capacity smart card port would be the PERFECT portable library.

Think about it. If I could buy, say, mini smart cards capable of a couple hundred gigs, I could break my terabyte library into a four or five cards, carry them in my wallet or taped to the tablet.

Imagine carrying around ALL the books in the world, all the books you could ever want or need, on ONE slim, small device, the size of the average 8.5 by 11 sheet.

And it's even perfect for movies and training tutorials on the go.


Deaft0ne writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:15:55 PM

@mink

Good thread, I was napping. I have a Samsung Galaxy S2 and use apps like Skype to talk to my family and I like all the free radio apps to listen to random music or podcasts.

Not a twittertard or instagram c*nt at all.

I do like google play books also for being able to dl a lot of classics for free.
Cannon writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:29:08 PM


@Mink: "You must not have kids, a wife, a girlfriend or family, then. No friends either."

As if such relations never existed before cell phones. Besides, it's not necessarily the technology I hate (which serves its purpose) but the lifestyle and obsessive daily habits.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:42:56 PM

@Cannon: you're right, they didn't exist then of course, but unless your friends, family and significant other(s) don't use social media, it behooves me then to ask you how you and them stay in touch, because I hate to think you and them communicate mostly by pay phone, as your original post seemed to indicate, especially given that in most locations pay phones are virtually non-existent.

I have no idea if you were being serious at all, really, but even drug-dealers don't use pay phones any more.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:45:55 PM

"it's not necessarily the technology I hate (which serves its purpose) but the lifestyle and obsessive daily habits."

I agree with you. Nothing worse now then sitting around a bunch of people absorbed mindlessly into Angry Birds and other phone-based bullsh*t, people who selfishly refuse to even acknowledge the presence of other people.

In fact, I've said it before, the three worst inventions ever are the sell phone, the automobile and the internet.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:46:29 PM

cell.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:49:04 PM

@Deaft0ne: free books you said? Try these two out:

en.bookos.org and www.libgen.org


....makes Google Books look like the Salvation Army of literature.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 9:51:39 PM

I wasn't assuming anything Mink, I'm quite aware that my ideas aren't synchronized with everyone elses. I'm just saying that tablets are for douche bags. By douche bags I mean people who instead of hang out with their friends will go and find a quiet corner to read a book because they are socially awkward or some sh*t. I don't understand why you need to have every book ever published. You can't read them all. If you like a book, buy it on amazon, read it before you go to bed. Don't carry it around like you're better than everyone else because your exercising your brain at that particular moment. I have tons of books on my laptop, but leave my laptop at home, where it belongs. I also have a library of real books, I leave them at home as well. If I'm going to carry around a huge LED screen, it has to have the functionality of a high end laptop or I'm not interested.

So if I'm wrong for having an opinion, then so be it, all I'm trying to get at is that until tablets can be as powerful as my laptop, I'm not interested. Like I said, I'm very biased on this topic. So, I'm sorry if you thought that I was trying to brainwash everyone who read what I typed into hating tablets, which is completely insane, and that you think everything I say has to be taken literally in all circ*mstances.

I'm only on this topic because of all the Smart phone trashing at the top. I just think people who don't have smart phones are missing the f*ck out!
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:11:37 PM

@Greenlensman: I once owned thousands of physical books. Do you have an idea how hard it is to store, maintain and move that many volumes? I had my own damned refrigerator dolly just to move them when needed.

It's far easier to work with digital books instead. They weigh nothing, and through one small device I can access ALL of everything I want to read, which may be a chapter of this book here or a chapter of that book there, which is entirely feasible because unlike fiction non-fiction such as science and mathematics and art can be read non-linearly which is how I often read books.

And then I can take them into the bathroom without worrying they'll get wet, or eat while I read without worrying I'll stain a page. I can borrow a book from the library, scan it and keep a high quality copy for myself forever.

Tablets, for books anyway, are a miracle for people like me.

As for why I would want that many books...because I like having the freedom to read what I want when I want, the same reason people would rather collect movies instead of heading to Redbox or do Netflix every time they want to catch a flick. Just like they might wish to pop in a film to catch a few key scenes or an ending, I might want to load a book to read a few chapters.

That and most of the books I would want to read cost fifty to two hundred dollars a copy, unlike a cheap paperback or a Barnes and Noble cheap edition of some classic.
pornfly writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:12:49 PM

DONANGEL
sorry i forgot about you there
Thankusir
I luv my name too
I used to have an OG Crip buddy who always said,"IF YOU DONT KNOCK IT DA f*ck OFF" lol

CANNON
you shouldve posted that as Ahnold and DEAF wouldve left you alone lol
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:24:06 PM

By douche bags I mean people who instead of hang out with their friends will go and find a quiet corner to read a book because they are socially awkward or some sh*t.


I don't get that because at my age, which is well past that of the teenager, hanging out with friends is not only a non sequitur, it's undesirable, not that it was ever in my interest to hang out with other people as most of them were punk skater dopeheads.


I don't understand why you need to have every book ever published.

I don't but with a tablet, that's clearly a possibility.



You can't read them all.


Perhaps not, but I have the absolute freedom of choice to read what I want when I want, rather than reading what's already present.



If you like a book, buy it on amazon, read it before you go to bed.

Right, like I can afford this book

http://www.amazon.com/Computational-Paleontology-Ashraf-M-T-Elewa/dp/3642162703


much less read it all before bed. I do wish I was both that rich and that intelligent.


Don't carry it around like you're better than everyone else because your exercising your brain at that particular moment.

It has nothing to do with being better, GL, it has to do with the freedom to have access to whatever I want to read through one device without cracking the foundation.

Stapes writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:25:15 PM

Haha, guess I wasnt invited to the virtual circle jerk.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:28:52 PM

No circle is ever complete, Stapes, without the jerk, so now that you're here, let the party begin!
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:30:42 PM

That 150.00 book to which I linked was just downloaded for free, in PDF, and can be read anywhere.

Awesome.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:40:55 PM

Guess I'll go ahead and post on topic...

"Jimmy Gandolfini was so beloved as a person, and he was so admired as an actor, and he didn't give a f*ck about social media."

I never gave a f*ck about Jimmy Gandolfini...I do use social media all the time though. I follow my favorite bands and video games. Unfortunately it's the only way to get the newest information on things that interest you the most. For example, if I didn't follow Dr. Michiu Kaku on twitter, I would never know about his upcoming appearances and how to access them.

@Mink, agreed on the fact that having all the books on one portable device would be complete bliss, especially advanced textbooks that usually cost about as much as a Kindle Fire and weigh about 10 pounds. But, I just don't see the need to access that sort of information anywhere but the comfort of your own living room, unless you simply enjoy flaunting your intellect wherever you go by whipping out a segment on organometallic chemistry. Anyway, I'm waiting for tablets to improve drastically before I start wasting money on yearly improvements.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:50:46 PM



lol. At no point did I ever say I even read a book in public, and in fact everything I said mentioned reading at home.

Where you're getting this gross mischaracterization of what I said, no clue, but if you need to paint me engaging in an activity I clearly never claimed to do, in order to make some kind of point, so be it.

Not like anyone can SEE what I'm reading on a tablet anyway!




You guys...you're such a joyous hoot.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 10:57:11 PM

"Anyway, I'm waiting for tablets to improve drastically before I start wasting money on yearly improvements'

Improve in what way and for what reason? You already stated a tablet doesn't have what you need in comparison to a laptop, so even if someone built a tablet with 16 gigs of ram, a GeForce and a hexacore dual-processor Xeon, it would still be just a tablet in form factor. You would still need to hook a mouse and keyboard up the damned thing, and then you have what you had previously. A laptop.

I would love to know why you need such power, though, as most hardware intensive computers are geared towards either games, or visualization, like non-real time rendering.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:00:48 PM

I use facebook to add families of chinks and abuse them :P
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:09:47 PM

It's not always about you Mink, I never said you read in public, I never even considered that you would, because only complete douche bags do that, which is what I was saying the entire time. I'm not even trying to make a point here, which you seem to be adamant on representing. If there was a point to be made by my mischaracterizations, it would be that laptops are better than tablets. That is all, it's not some crazy paranoid idea that I'm trying to hatch as a conspiracy to destroy the integrity of tablets, just a simple opinion which I tried to back up in my own words. Nothing more. If you feel that I tried to win an argument somehow by making sh*t up then this conversation is over. It always seems to come down to that.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:17:38 PM

unless you simply enjoy flaunting your intellect wherever you go by whipping out a segment on organometallic chemistry.

lol, GreenLensman. Okay. So you weren't talking about me, conditionally characterizing me, indirectly, out of the side of your mouth when you said the above?

Instead you think I'm merely insisting on talking about me (me me me!) when you invented this non-existent, iff stereotype, but only right right after I said I do something similar, except in my home?

lol. It's all my fault, of course, and now you'll reply to say that what you said in your latest post wasn't to or about me either, and thus once again it's me and me alone perpetuating an argument.

Mea culpa.


(excellently ambiguous troll, my friend)
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:19:10 PM

I love to edit movies, make music and create 3d animations using pro software, if I could do that without my laptop, I would pay for it.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:23:04 PM

It's not always about you Mink

Its NEVER, ever about me, GL, and I'm actually quite fine with that. Really.

Fact is, I was having a conversation with a few other people about books and social media, right up until you inserted yourself into the convo, talking about how "people who use tablets are douchebags", (right after I said I prefer using a tablet) and people who read advanced science on tablets are just attention-seeking douchebags, right after I said I use a tablet to read advanced science on a tablet.

But hey, make me the source of the friction, okay?





People and their easily-bruised egos. No intellectual Gokus here, that's for sure.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:23:31 PM

I was only saying that hypothetically man, like anyone would ever do that. It doesn't even make sense to point that out unless you DO do that lol.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:25:21 PM

"I love to edit movies, make music and create 3d animations using pro software, if I could do that without my laptop, I would pay for it."

Yeah, so do I. Maya, Max, XSI, Zbrush, Nuke and Avid if I could run it right now, but damned if that doesn't mean a tablet, like any other tool, doesn't have its place in my computer hardware toolbox.

Hell, I don't kick the hammer to the curb just because it sucks at driving a screw...
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:28:16 PM

@GL: then apparently we've misunderstood one another, which, let's face it, is no f*cking surprise given the enormous limitations of the media we're using for communication.
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:31:28 PM

^^ Blame Alex
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:33:04 PM

This entire pseudo-argument reminds me of a story of some guy walking into a room with one other guy and saying "someone in here smells like sh*t", and the second guy saying "are you saying I smell like sh*t?", and then the original guy goes "why? do you smell like sh*t, because if not, I wasn't talking to you".

lol.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:33:27 PM

@Enforcer: I do. For everything.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:34:52 PM

"Fact is, I was having a conversation with a few other people about books and social media, right up until you inserted yourself into the convo, talking about how "people who use tablets are douchebags", (right after I said I prefer using a tablet) and people who read advanced science on tablets are just attention-seeking douchebags, right after I said I use a tablet to read advanced science on a tablet."

My first post was supposed to be a plug for smart phones, until you said you'd rather have a tablet, which had nothing to do with smart phones. Which is why I felt the need to joke about why I tend to think tablets suck. Then of course you thought I was trying to start an argument, about tablets, which is just stupid, pointless and a waste of f*cking time. I'm not directing the hypothetical situation toward you just because you feel like it was. Either way, taking it this far is uncalled for.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:39:14 PM

All you would really need is one of the gay little "track balls" attached to the tablet, that would allow you to move around like a mouse. and possibly one of those flip out keyboards like some older phones had..That would make a great tablet, and I would jump all over that sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 11:52:14 PM

All I'm saying is, I was the only one in the "room" talking about tablets, other than you, and what I said about them was in direct response to what you said.

In my mind, there was no one else talking but you and I, and then you go on to make these characterizations that amount to saying "someone smells like sh*t" and then I say what amounted to "are you talking about me?", to which you disingenuously replied "do you you smell like sh*t? If not than I'm not talking about you".

You see how it appears, right? That it's really not about me thinking everything is about me, like you claimed, but you making these indirect, sleight of mouth replies to what I said, only to then swear you were talking in what-if general terms.

Right. Like I'm so stupid I would believe such a coincidence.

But like I said previous, good troll, Lensman. Very good. Excellent, even.
GreenLensman writes:
on July 4th, 2013 at 12:00:48 AM

I wasn't talking to anyone in particular until you replied to my first comment, so if that's trolling, thanks, I trolled the f*ck out of you.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 4th, 2013 at 12:22:05 AM

@ Rambo

if you like glengarry,,

you will love 'THE COOLER'

in my opinion his best performance to date
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 4th, 2013 at 12:26:15 AM

@ Rambo

if you like glengarry,,

you will love 'THE COOLER'

in my opinion his best performance to date
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 4th, 2013 at 12:26:21 AM

@ Rambo

if you like glengarry,,

you will love 'THE COOLER'

in my opinion his best performance to date
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 4th, 2013 at 1:13:39 AM

Zod has to be bane :|
YoungChris writes:
on July 4th, 2013 at 2:31:12 AM

Nigga Alex .. Who give a f*ck ??
i124q writes:
on July 6th, 2013 at 9:34:05 AM

Alec Baldwin was/is/thinks he's an actor? In what reality did that happen?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved