WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"White House Down" is a Box Office Flop, "The Heat" is a Surprise Hit

Posted: June 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"White House Down" is a Box Office Flop, "The Heat" is a Surprise HitSubmit Comment
"White House Down," the $150 million action film, which is directed by Roland Emmerich (2012, Independence Day) and starring Channing Tatum and Jamie Foxx, has officially bombed in theaters. It needed to open to about $50 million domestically, but ended up with $25.7 million, which was only good enough for fourth place at the box office.

The opening numbers is one of the worst for an Emmerich film. In 2004, his "The Day After Tomorrow" debuted to $68.7 million, while "Independence Day" opened to $50.2 million in 1996. "White House Down," which has a 48% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, will desperately depend on foreign box office to make any money.

The similar themed "Olympus Has Fallen," starring Gerard Butler, opened three months earlier to $30 million. And it cost only $70 million to make, eventually grossing more than double its budget.

The other wide release of the weekend was "The Heat" comedy, starring Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy, which landed in second place. The R-rated film was a surprise hit, grossing $40 million on a $43 million budget. The new movie marks the best opening to date for Bullock, McCarthy and director Paul Feig. It has a 63% fresh rating.

Taking first place was once again "Monsters University," which took in another $46 million for a worldwide total of $300 million. Meanwhile, "World War Z" landed in third place with $29.8 million, bringing its worldwide total to $259 million. It was assumed that the $190 million zombie film would be a flop, but it's now officially a success.

Click here to read our "White House Down" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:00:35 PM

I saw "The Heat" 3 weeks ago. It was fairly funny but very predictable. I have interest in seeing "White House Down".
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:07:50 PM

Olympus Has Fallen was a solid movie and alex deleted my comments about it on the kurt choder thread where I said it was like a 24 movie and Splinter Cell.

I think the f*cker hates video games.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:10:51 PM

I talked about Metal Gear 3 times on other threads and alex tinyc*ck deletes my comments like a f*cking assc*nt.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:19:34 PM

no one wanted to see a male stripper save the white house and team up with obama.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:30:17 PM

the audience of olympus has fallen were probably republican.and the president was white
SACdaddy writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 11:38:25 PM

My prayers have been answered. Hopefully White House Down will be the beginning of the end for Tatum. Too bad WWZ is surpasing expectations though. Nothing good will come out of a film that poorly edited and watered down for profit being so successful. The industry bean counters will see this as a sign to green light more mediocre, bloodless (and essentially pointless) films like it in the future.
mark2828 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 11:46:21 PM

For all of the hype surrounding Channing Tatum, Melissa McCarthy has quietly become a more reliable box office attraction (at least this year) than Tater-tot.

Female Chris Farley > Former Male Stripper
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 12:08:33 AM

Seen white house down and WWZ. Going to see The Heat probably Tuesday.
John1017 writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 1:27:55 AM

I think I'm becoming a human, google box office predictor. I had a feeling about white house down and The Heat. I would also like to make a prohecy that R.I.P.D is going to be a huge BOMB.
hehehe Then again with all the horrible movies coming out it isn't that hard to predict bombs.

By the way, I am up for seeing any movie now, after watching The Last Stand last night,, one of the worst movies I have ever seen.

Rambo writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 1:42:29 AM

Olympus Has Fallen started great,the Terrorists raid on the white house was the best action scene I've seen this year but as the movie continued it turned into a pretty mediocre Die Hard look a like movie which was very predictable.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 1:52:18 AM

ALex stop deleting comments that are not relevant to the thread its a goddamn movie site where comparisons and tangents are bound to happen. It will generate more talk on the thread and might justify you getting some more precious ad revenue which is the only reason i can think of you being a thread nazi.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 2:13:01 AM

A Channing Tatum film bombed?! Even though it has Jamie Fox in it?! If I may quote Michelle Obama, “For the First Time in My Adult Lifetime, I’m Really Proud of My Country”
BJsforeveryone writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 2:34:40 AM

Melissa McFatty is really not fuinny at all...just fat !!
Tanman32123 writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 3:14:38 AM

Well said Batemen!
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 3:44:03 AM

Shock to the System with My Cocaine
coldplayesence writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 3:58:04 AM

I saw WWZ this weekend thinking how bad it would be and how much I was gona trash it but hell, Brad Pitt made all the nonse enjoyable and fun. The man proved why is he called "a star".
On the side not: stop giving forster action movies, he great with the drama scenes but when it comes to action he sucks mayor balls.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 4:02:11 AM

f*ck this phone, I can barely understand what I wrote there.
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 4:07:23 AM

The Heat was pretty good, huh? It still smells like a McCarthy vehicle with Sandra Bullock in tow to me...like a Miss Congeniality 2, but like a funny Regina King role...meh.

FYI: Melissa McCarthy is actually Jenny McCarthy's cousin...how the f*ck does that happen? But is see the resemblence...like if I watched Jenny and squinted while shaking my head from side to side to see a wider blur of a figure...yeah.

CelluloidMan writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 4:10:25 AM

Speaking of family in Hollywood, the one that I barely found out is that Warren Beatty is actually the brother of Shirley McClain!!

Who knew?!

Tanman32123 writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 4:49:12 AM

@Coldplay

Yea.. I use my phone for the majority of my comments and it makes me occasionally mess up as well. Life's a bitch eh?
pornfly writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 5:15:20 AM

watchin The Legend Of The Lone Ranger on YouTube
WallyDee writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 6:53:29 AM

@deaftone

Metal Gear fan?
Bunny X writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 8:25:02 AM

No real surprise here. Kiddie movie keeps #1 spot now that schools are out and families have more time together. The Heat is still predictable but still a good solid buddy cop film. And McCarthy is still funny and still fills the seats. And Jaime Foxx's portrayal as a president is about as believable as Tatum playing a hero saving a president....
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 9:08:18 AM

Tanman32123 stop fingering your ass over every thread.

Wow was banned for Jewish armpit porn!
JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 9:10:56 AM

Heat makes me mad! I hate that fat c*nt in the movie. Unfunny fat c*nt of a woman.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 4:38:37 PM

white house down = american propaganda
minkowski writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 5:59:44 PM

Stupid, stupid, stupid. These idiot Hollywood studios really have no clue how to gamble.

Invest low and aim for the big payoffs. Maximize your profit margin. Give the audience what they want and spend as little as possible doing it.

Who's running these studios? Kermit the f*cking Frog?
citysims writes:
on July 2nd, 2013 at 2:07:15 PM

Just show it in the Middle East i'm sure all the Camel Jocks will cream themselves watching the White House Burn....So Happy this CRAP MOVIE BOMBED!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved