WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lost Interviews Reveal Orson Welles Despised Alfred Hitchcock, Charlie Chaplin and Other Hollywood Legends

Posted: June 30th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lost Interviews Reveal Orson Welles Despised Alfred Hitchcock, Charlie Chaplin and Other Hollywood LegendsSubmit Comment
Orson Welles (Citizen Kane) is considered one of Hollywood's most influential and legendary directors. But according to some long-lost tapes, containing unpublished private conversations, Welles looked down on many of his fellow actors and directors, including Alfred Hitchcock and Charlie Chaplin.

Welles considered Laurence Olivier "stupid," Spencer Tracy "hateful," Charlie Chaplin "arrogant," Jennifer Jones "hopeless," and James Stewart "a bad actor." He said that Joan Fontaine had "two expressions," Norma Shearer was "one of the most minimally talented ladies to appear on the silver screen," and he couldn't stand looking at Bette Davis, "so I don't want to see her act."

Welles also wasn't a fan of Alfred Hitchcock, stating: "I've never understood the cult of Hitchcock. Particularly the late American movies... Egotism and laziness. And they're all lit like television shows. I saw one of the worst movies I've ever seen the other night ['Rear Window'], complete insensitivity to what a story about voyeurism could be."

The director even told a story about Richard Burton, who he said became a big joke after marrying Elizabeth Taylor. According to Welles, Burton approached him at a restaurant, saying: "Elizabeth [Taylor] is with me. She so much wants to meet you. Can I bring her over?" Welles replied: "No. As you can see, I'm in the middle of my lunch."

The tapes were created over the course of several years, starting in 1983. Welles sat down with his friend Henry Jaglom to talk about his career, literature, politics and lots of other topics. The director then suddenly died in 1985 before he could edit the tapes into a planned autobiography. As a result, the tapes ended up sitting in Jaglom's garage until now.

The interviews will now be published on July 16th in "My Lunches with Orson," which also contain quotes from Welles praising some people, including Joseph Cotten ("brilliant") and John Wayne ("some of the best manners of almost any actor I've ever met in Hollywood"). He was also a fan of Marilyn Monroe. "She was a girlfriend," he stated. "I used to take her to parties before she was a star. I wanted to try and promote her career."

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 8:41:41 AM

He loved his Pinks hot dogs,though


He was also heard saying , he "could get Citizen Kane 2 made off Jumpstarter but he wont"
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 9:37:35 AM

I'd love to listen to those tapes sounds like a laugh
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:33:38 AM

Who really cares lol
Stapes writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 10:53:55 AM

Man, you come right out of a comic book.

Noone disturbs Welles while eating lunch, not even Liz, Burton shoulda known better.
shiteater writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:02:06 PM

Alex we know that you don't k ow who the f*ck any of those people are.
Stapes writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:40:21 PM

Hitchc*ck was a great storyteller. Welles was definitely more visually artistic, I cant say that I disagree with any of his opinions here.
cress writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:55:42 PM

Regardless of whether or not you like CITIZEN KANE, whose story is vastly overrated in my opinion, what Welles did as a director with that film is still stunning. Some of his shots and camerawork blew me away when I first saw that film. Upon repeated viewings, the story became weaker and weaker to me. But my admiration for his visual style in KANE still impresses me to this day.
vincere01 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:01:43 PM

Hilarious. Thinks most of the prolific and talented actors of theyre generation are hacks.

yet loves john wayne and monroe. He should have made a movie starring those two. Oh wait, then the movie would have been full of just passable acting and no praise for its director. Thats right.
Kurskij writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:06:44 PM

Welles was famous for being an arrogant bastard, no surprises.

Did he reveal "his insane diet and workout plan"?
cress writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:08:45 PM

I would've liked to hear what he thought of the post-70s filmmakers, the film school generation--Spielberg, Scorsese, Coppola, etc. I also always wanted to hear what Kubrick thought of these filmmakers as well. It would be nice to hear anecdotes of what these filmmakers liked to watch and enjoy at their leisure.
cress writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:13:57 PM

"impresses me" should be "continues"
FBO writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:46:49 PM

Welles was the world's most arrogant *sshole when he was around. He despised people who had more fame than he did. The way I see it is James Cameron is essentially the Orson Welles of today.

And btw, Jimmy Stewart was one of the best actors of his day and is head and shoulders better than Hollyweird actors now.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:53:49 PM

@cress

Yeah Orson Welles is only notable for making Citizen Kane and voicing Unicron and that's about it. Everyone knew he was a f*cking *sshole that turned into an old fat bear and sh*t out Vincent D'Nofrio before he died or something.

Rosebud.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 3:44:17 PM

Favorite Hitchc*ck work, GO!
- Rear Window.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 3:53:38 PM

@FBO
Seriously man. I loved James Stewart films. Guy is all heart. The ending to "Mr. Smith Goes To Washington"...just pure brilliance.

@everyone
Haven't seen many Orson Welles films. I believe I saw, I think it was him, parts of Macbeth but I can't be sure. I heard Welles was beyond brilliant but yeah, as someone said, he was like the James Cameron of then. He basically ripped everyone a new one because they weren't exactly like him. Still, any suggestions for films to watch that offers the best of his work?
Moose756 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 4:03:40 PM

@sleuth watch f for fake and the magnificent ambersons. Classics
cress writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 4:50:59 PM

@Sleuth. Definitely check out CITIZEN KANE, at least for his directing. He's doing shots and sequences in that film that no one else was doing in 1939. Very innovative for it's time. The only other film I've seen of his, to my knowledge, is TOUCH OF EVIL, which wasn't impressive at all.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 5:11:43 PM

Orson Wells huh? Why not dig up an old Wizard of Oz doc*mentary while your at it.
Rambo writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 5:15:35 PM

yes,stop feeding the monkey you all...orson wells news from 2 centuries ago...
mark2828 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 6:49:32 PM

No surprise that Welles praised Joseph Cotten so highly after the two of them collaborated on multiple films, including Citizen Kane, The Magnificent Ambersons, Journey Into Fear, and The Third Man.

Ah, The Third Man, one of those films in which a bit of dialogue from it has become far more well-known than the movie itself... in this case, the Welles character's famous Swiss cuckoo clock speech:

"You know what the fellow said in Italy, for thirty years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland, they had brotherly love, they had five hundred years of democracy and peace and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock."

Cool movie, timeless really... well worth a watch (especially for you cinematography lovers... surely the best cinematography I've ever seen in a black and white film, I'm not sure that its masterful use of shadows in creating such a bleakly daunting world could be duplicated in a color film)


Or, in the style of GENERAL ZOD:

if you like film noir, atmospheric cinematography, and a memorable musical score

you will love THE THIRD MAN
Stapes writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 7:28:26 PM

@mark2828. Good post.
Dreamcast writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 7:37:19 PM

The great auteur behind commercials for beef burgers, frozen peas, and Paul Masson wine.

That's his new legacy.

"Rosebud Frozen Peas. Full of country goodness and green pea-ness..." (The Critic - 1994)
THX1138 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 11:48:28 PM

@Sleuth1989
I really enjoy Citizen Kane, but F for Fake and Touch of Evil are infinitely more watchable. Evil is an especially perverse picture for its era. As well, Carol Reed's The Third Man is exceptional. Although Welles did not direct it, he turned in a fantastic performance as Harry Lime.
Deaft0ne writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 1:29:46 PM

@Dreamcast

That's why I hate Seth Mcfarlane because he totally ripped off the random humor of The Critic when he 'created' Family Guy.

I seem to remember posting this already but some turdburglar deleted it.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 4:45:34 PM

orson welles was the spieljew of his time
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on July 2nd, 2013 at 11:54:07 AM

I have always enjoyed Orson Welles movies. My favorite of all-time is "The Lady from Shanghai," especially because of Rita Hayworth and the famous mirror maze ending.

Although I'm a big fan of Welles, I have to disagree with his assessments of he people he listed. The only Hitchc*ck pictures I didn't enjoy were "Vertigo" and "Spellbound." I saw "The Vanishing Lady" the other night and it is definitely one of his best.

In regards to the other people: Spencer Tracey was fun to watch, I never really cared for Laurence Olivier, Charlie Chaplin was definitely one of the most talented men in Hollywood, Joan Fontaine was a lovely woman, especially in "Rebecca" and James Stewart was simply great.

He was right about Norma Shearer and Richard Burton, but wrong about Marilyn Monroe. She was a horrid actress and just a joke (Billy Wilder was right).

After watching a picture like "The Diary of a Chambermaid" with the great Jeanne Moreau, Welles seemed like a director who would have succeeded overseas. Heck, his favorite film of all-time was "Grand Illusion."

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved