WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"White House Down" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"White House Down" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"White House Down," the latest big-budget action film from director Roland Emmerich (Independence Day, The Day After Tomorrow, 2012), is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "White House Down" has a 50% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that this is a brainless action film and that Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" is the better movie out of the two.

"White House Down," which cost $140 million to make, grossed $1.35 million from its Thursday night screenings. The film may end up with an opening of under $40 million, one of the lowest-grossing debuts for an Emmerich film.

Click here to read our "White House Down" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 105 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:50:53 AM

They sure promoted the sh*t out of it
compared to the handful of commercials and one or two appearances promoting Gerard Butlers' movie

f*ckin Tatum every five friggin minutes on tv. Every damn talk show and bein talked about on every talk show
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:53:25 AM

movies gonna bomb

no heterosexual male will watch this in the movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 8:25:29 AM

I doubt you'll get much feedback on this site for this film. No respectable WP member with a d*ck will see this in the theater.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:20:40 AM

Putman Gave it a 3/10 maybe he's right for once
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:01:28 PM

$140 million to make..

jeez,which idiot green light such a budget for a channing tatum movie?
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:06:05 PM

‘White House Down’ Tanks as ‘The Heat,’ ‘Monsters U’ Lead Box Office:

http://variety.com/2013/film/box-office/box-office-white-house-down-tanks-as-the-heat-monsters-u-sizzle-1200503316/
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:11:37 PM

Looks like filmgoers don't want this movie to Channing all over their Tatums after all!
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:15:36 PM

Good news for Gerry Butler. He managed to pull off a $30 mil. opening with a movie that cost twice as little as WHD, had much smaller marketing campaign and was rated R.
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:18:13 PM

^with a movie that had half the budget of WHD.

My original line doesn't make sense...
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:24:08 PM

so no 'Black house down' sequel?
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:31:49 PM

"My original line doesn't make sense..."

Yeah, I was head scratching to that one. Thought is was an oblique Russian aphorism or something.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:32:02 PM

it.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:36:54 PM

"f*ckin Tatum every five friggin minutes on tv. Every damn talk show and bein talked about on every talk show:

Yeah, I don't understand that one at all. Over here in Pacific Beach, there's guys more heavily built than him, guys arguable better-looking, although that's difficult for me to say because I'm not gay, and plenty of leashed dogs smarter than him.

To be honest, I have no goddamned clue what any woman, who has ever seen an attractive guy, sees in Taters. Really. The guy's stupid as f*ck, a fact easily provable in any court of law, not nearly as muscular as the average garden-variety gym rat, has a head like Mr Potato Man, has virtually zero cinematic talent, and possesses the personality of a medicine ball.

What ANYONE sees in this guy, I have no clue. Robert Redford, Harrison Ford, Cary Grant, sure, yeah, but Taters? Dude looks like he did Ukrainian porn. Gay Ukrainian porn.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:50:14 PM

"jeez,which idiot green light such a budget for a channing tatum movie?"

First, it's a Roland Emmerich movie, and Emmerich has made Hollywood more than three billion dollars on a 900 million dollar investment. By the numbers, then, Roland is bankable. But even still, who's one of the hottest young-ish stars in Hollywood? Taters.

Not so much an idiot, right?
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:07:26 PM

GATTACA. I wonder how many people realize that title was formed from the first letters of the four ribonucleic nucleotides (DNA) guanine, adenine, cytosine and thymine? GATC.

Zero, probably. And not even that good a film.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:07:43 PM

no worries,and yes,Andrew Nicole does get worse with every movie he makes.'The host' was unwatchable
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:10:57 PM

You can delete my GATTACA post too, Alex, and this one as well.

If only you could be this attentive every day, every article...
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:12:16 PM

Lord of War is the only good movie that Andrew Niccol has made, Gattaca was terrible and I have no idea how anyone can say its a good movie.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:14:50 PM

His best creation was 'The Truman show' even though he only wrote it.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:16:23 PM

The Truman Show sucked balls too.

@Deaft0ne: exactly.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:19:31 PM

no it didn't.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:20:49 PM

as for the spiders,he said,

"Well, they are the progeny of Shelob..but Shelob was quite a promiscuous girl."

www.aceshowbiz.com/news/view/00028656.html
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:21:01 PM

Sure it did.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:24:32 PM

no
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:29:54 PM

"no it didn't."

Unless you can prove that factually, Rambo, then my opinion is as valid as yours, and I say The Truman Show sucked.

Hell, almost every film Jim Carrey ever made was a piece of sh*t because the guy can only do one thing: flash his big chompers and make stupid faces while screaming incoherently. And when he doesn't do that much, he looks like a f*cking sleepy creep.

I've often tried to figure out what people see in Carrey. Sure, Liar, Liar is watchable once or twice, but the novelty of Carrey making an exaggerated ass out of himself time after time gets old fast, which is why his career is in the toilet, because even his die-hard fans are totally bored with him.

As for The Truman Show itself, they made it just to cash in on reality television, but dressed the film up in "high concept" fashion. One of those "well-made" flicks that fail to provide the viewer any depth beyond some preachy, bland superficial Hollywood homilies better suited for a children's cartoon on PBS.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:33:59 PM

Oh and Bond is another mass male infatuation I've never understood. Casino Royale and GoldenEye. Those two are pretty much the only good Bond films. And don't even get me started on the terrible Connery films with the horrible story lines. You know the ones. Connery f*cks babe, babe runs around in bikini, babe dies. Cue credits.

Pure British trash.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:49:00 PM

I see. I can explain my opinions, you cannot. All you and the others can do, besides recite IMDb factoids, is talk about what you like but you can never cogently really explain WHY you like what you do. Never.




I may be negative, but at least I can offer valid, detailed reasons for that negativity. All you can do is construct a paper house of positivity and hope it doesn't rain.

Regardless, the article concerns White House Down, not Jim Carrey or The Truman Show.
Sega Genesis writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 3:34:23 PM

those guys are pushing the envelope
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 4:25:13 PM

^ Thought Carrey was great in Phillip Morris and Cable guy, while Poppers Penguins and Fun with d*ck and Jane were abominations !!
Bond movies will always be the bomb !!
..and oh yes , Trueman Show is an act of genius !!
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:17:13 PM

I liked 'The Truman show' since it presented a similar idea to 'The Matrix' - that we live in a world which is not real.I'm not saying it's a great movie as 'The Matrix' was but it had some very inspiring scenes like the one in which the Carrey character realizes for the first time that his world is not real and fake.
As for the Bond movies -I've enjoyed some of them 15-20 years ago but today all of the Connery/Moore seems very outdated. Craig is overrated imo,Casino Royal had it's moments,QOS sucked and Skyfall was meh.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:27:43 PM

Lol Alex deleted all my comments bashing Chase on that last White house down thread.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:28:06 PM

'The Thirteenth floor' and 'Dark City' were both also very good speaking about the same theme.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:28:20 PM

And I'll most likely see this within a week
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:30:58 PM

Like I said, the only Carrey movie I could stand to watch more than once is Liar, Liar, mostly because of the comedic put-downs. Even Dumb and Dumber lost most of its hilarity after the first half when it gets too caught up in trying to be some kind of Spies Like Us film.

And like I also said, how anyone can watch Carrey over and over and over, doing the same damned schtick, for years, I have no idea. Must be a sub-human characteristic.

Folks do realize one reason Carrey tried to branch out into more serious dramatic roles is because his comedic schtick, which was always a one-trick Shetland pony, was losing commercial steam, right?


"and oh yes , Trueman Show is an act of genius !!"

Only if you've never read even one of the books The Truman Show liberally plunders for its source material. Never mind The Truman Show originally started life as a far superior straight-up science fiction script for The Twilight Zone, which is where it SHOULD have gone anyway. Not like the movie's premise makes much real sense anyway.

What was Carrey's character? An AI? And his life was a show? And then it segued into a critique on reality television, which was a big "mind-blowing" fad then, but only a fad, and not a fad worthy of having a film fixate on it, right? And where's that fad now? Nowhere. A movie about a man who realizes reality is a sham, but a sham worthy only of the Jersey Shore crowd.




Maybe one day someone will roll some early unused Terminator script into the pet rock, the mood ring or bell bottoms and the resulting movie will win thirty Academy awards.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:31:33 PM

That was @...the mass blowjob person.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:36:24 PM

'Liar Liar' has the funniest outtake I've ever seen.

1:45 in this clip

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QU-IwKRRFyU

Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:38:43 PM

@Tanman

I said earlier that no one gives a bloody f*ck about this movie and thanked alex for deleting nearly all the comments from the White House Down Kurt Loader thread and called alex a turdburglar.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:44:44 PM

You know what's funny? The fact I've never even seen The Truman Show. lol. All that sh*t just to yank Rambo's chain.

But most of the Bond films ARE crap. Almost unwatchable. Maybe they were fine when they appeared, but for someone like myself who grew up on more modern flicks, watching Timothy Dalton act like a bad ass or Connery f*ck the third soon-to-be-dead Asian chick is just really BAD cinema, akin to drunk Japanese men in rubber suits knocking down cardboard buildings.

Thought I was going to murder someone watching You Only Live Twice. Right. Maybe I live only twice. But that's one more than I'll watch this heap of drivel. A secret base inside a volcano? Really? And there's an entire train track and more computers than what NASA has? Like no one noticed this dude excavated a volcano? What, was it like that preposterous moment in Contact when the creepy guy revealed he had his own 80 trillion dollar alien space machine?

And the title's f*cking wrong anyway. It's you live only twice, not you only live twice. It's like the title is saying the only thing you do is live. Twice. Bad grammar, bad f*cking film. And the exploitation. Christ I actually felt bad for the Japanese girls running around in nothing but a f*cking bikini, just waiting to die.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:50:33 PM

You can't yank my chain.Only Putman is allowed...
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:53:20 PM

40 min into Statham's latest 'Redemption' aka Hummingbird - pretty solid, an improvement compared to 'Parker'
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:59:06 PM

Anything is an improvement to Parker, which was almost borderline comical, not because it was so bad it was funny, but because the script was so damned light-hearted for a film based on a bunch of books written about the really dark underbelly of organized crime.

Wrong f*cking tone for the subject matter.

And Lopez and Statham were both total miscasts. I mean how the f*ck do you compare Gibson's dark, demented 70-ish throwback Porter to Statham's...whatever it was. Reminded me of Transporter if that film's protagonist got turned into a total p*ssy like Thomas Jane's candy assed Punisher.

Think they were going for "realism" and instead ended up looking realistically stupid.

Won't ever watch that crap again, but I will see Payback for whatever time I have left on this rock.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:04:04 PM

I loved 'Payback' - one of Gibson's best.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:11:30 PM

Yeah, but you're not a true fan if you can't tell the difference between the two very different versions and which one you like better.

I prefer the theatrical cut because although the kid subplot is weak, Kris Kristofferson trumps Sally Kellerman with ease to spare and Will Devane plays menace from the cuff.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:12:58 PM

Original version was superior - barely remember the director's cut since it's sucked imo and never watched it more then once.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:13:38 PM

Oh that's right, Devane is in both. Can't remember how much of the film is cut from the theatrical. Seems like about half but I know that's too damned much.

but really, Kris Krisofferson, reason number two the first Blade was by far the best of that series.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:16:56 PM

The original had the blue tint IIRC, whereas the director's cut had a warmer tone. Complementary color, like orange I think. The original also had far better music and Gibson's darkly comedic narration.

The director's cut is a piece of sh*t in comparison.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:18:43 PM

Blade 1 was simple - Blade working alone with kristpherson being the side kick.that's it.there was the black girl which Snipes barely gave a f*ck about.then in the sequels they decided to bring in all kind of characters we didn't give a f*ck about.much like the matrix revolutions mistake.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:23:05 PM

Christ, the other day you people were talking about THE Frozen

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2363439/

and not Frozen

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1323045/


Two VERY different films.


...and here I was talking about the stupidity of getting caught on a ski lift.


f*cking Hollywood.

minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:28:37 PM

Origin stories always simpler and better, and I can't think of a counterexample either. Batman, Superman, Iron Man, Blade, and so on. Maybe Spiderman 2 over 1, but I still say that's too close to call.

Regardless, Blade 2 was stupid because they brought back Whistler IIRC, as a f*cking vampire, and then threw in this mix of big f*cking who cares characters that weighed the story down. A weak antagonist didn't help either.

Blade 3 was just a total pile of garbage, especially with Reynolds cracking jokes and pushing Snipes to the edge of his own damned film. It was like Dracula Meets Scooby Doo. Just f*cking awful.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:29:56 PM

Dark Man, Robocop, The Matrix, POTC...
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:31:25 PM

Is it bad I saw Man of Steel and don't care?
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:33:31 PM

Aliens is a rare example of a superior sequel.The first was scary yes but very slow and looked very outdated already in the 90's.
Aliens imo was Cameron's finest hour.bad ass sci fi action movie.we were speaking the other day about 10 out 10 movies...this is one of the rare ones I give that grade.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:36:05 PM

I even liked the 'they mostly come at night' little girl
kickit writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:37:30 PM

Mink, try a little suspension of disbelief. Do you really enjoy films nit-picking that much?
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:39:56 PM

Is it bad I saw Man of Steel and don't care?

It's bad you saw Man of steel.period.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:42:19 PM

Alien is definitely out-dated, and when you realize the xenomorph (strange shape) is just a black guy in a suit, a black guy who disappeared off the face of the earth decades ago, the sense of fearful dread is largely diminished.

Aliens, on the other hand, is not only a great science-fictionish action film, it's the mother of all modern video games that meld high-tech future military with insidious aliens. Basically, without Cameron's Vietnam allegory called Aliens, we wouldn't have Halo and all the other similar interactive titles.

But none of that takes away from the fact Aliens is the perfect combination of high-testosterone action and scary as hell horror, all set within a perfect science fiction environment.

If Prometheus had been only have as enjoyable.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:44:25 PM

"Mink, try a little suspension of disbelief. Do you really enjoy films nit-picking that much?"

Yes, actually, because as someone who likes to think of himself as half scientist, half artist, I try to appreciate a films aesthetic beauty while simultaneously tearing the thing apart to see how it ticks, and doing so, I often see the Emperor is buck f*cking naked.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:44:35 PM

half.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:49:09 PM

"It's bad you saw Man of steel.period."

Like I said the other day, really, really bad editing. Horrible editing. Bad, bad script. Bad dialogue. Bad acting. Exceptions: Crowe, who almost always delivers because that's who he is, and Shannon, who isn't spoiled enough to think he doesn't have to work for his next meal.

Cavill was nothing more than a live-action toy, Amy Adams had zero character and zero development on that zero character. Fishburne could have been just edited out and no one would have noticed. The chick who got caught under the building was worse than worthless. Costner and Lane were grossly underused and provide the film virtually no room to emotionally motivate Kent because their acting forcibly played second string to CGI theatrics.

Only the CGI was noteworthy, beyond Crowe and Shannon, the latter of whom stole the film imo.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:55:17 PM

@Kickit: When I was a kid, a thing, on object, was no fun unless I was taking it apart. Hell, when I was really, really young, I received a radio/tape player for Christmas. First thing I did...took the f*cker apart and put it back together. Took the vacuum cleaner apart too but I spent a weekend in juvie for that one. Took all my Transformers apart too.

Poor Rodimus Prime and his stripped screws...

Hell, took my laptop apart not long ago. Why? Why not?

That's what I do. Take sh*t apart. It's just most films don't deserve me taking the time to put them back together again.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:57:43 PM

agreed with all the things you've said.

Shannon's performance is a bit overrated imo - I didn't really feel intimidated by him as I did with other great villains in other movies.his female side kick actually seemed more dangerous then him.
Crowe - great actor,lousy agent,this guy should have been much bigger after 'Gladiator' but instead he ended up making mediocre movies with the exception of 'The next three days'
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:07:11 PM

Don't care what the critics say or said, The Next Three Days is one of the best films I've seen in years. Almost old school in the ambiguous way it handles the guilt or innocence of the character's actions until the film's end, and then some of the scenes/sequences (one of each IIRC) with Moby's two tunes was some of the better use of non-ambient music I've see in a while, perhaps outside Scorsese's The Departed.

As for Shannon, dunno. I thought he did great, really, and the whole psychopathic demeanor really carried over well while also retaining some personality and humanity, whereas his female sidekick didn't seem to have much going on upstairs. She was all menace and evil without anything to even it out. Too evil. Not enough anything else.

Regardless, Zod was a far, far better villain than Bana's Nero, which for me ranks as one of the most laughable and under-developed cardboard antagonists of the last five years, big budget wise, which, let's face it, is bad because evil acting comes at next to no price.


The one thing I haven't seen ANYONE discuss is why were all the other Phantom Zone criminals virtually unused? They were there, right, but we hardy ever saw them. Again, sh*tty script and perhaps more sh*tty editing. You'd think they'd drag the film down, but then Donner had the sense to use only three, which was far better than what Snyder gave us.

Too much tech too. Made the film too Silicon Valley and not enough fantastical.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:11:02 PM

What was her name, the evil sidekick? Feora? Feore? She was hot. I'd like her to heat vision my nuts any day.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:12:56 PM

http://www4.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Antje+Traue+Emporio+Armani+Front+Row+Milan+wSHuIMfuC3Pl.jpg
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:13:15 PM

Faora-Ul
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:14:29 PM

and here's our beloved god damn Matrix Revolutions Obama look a like:

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0502015/?ref_=tt_cl_t7
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:18:30 PM

Yeah, she's really beautiful. And that Lennix guy looks like what Jaden Smith will look like in about forty years, if someone doesn't throw him under a cement mixer first.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 7:22:01 PM

if someone doesn't throw him under a cement mixer first.

now that's worth the price of a cinema ticket.and bring it on in 3D in slow mo
cress writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 8:38:56 PM

@Rambo. In your review of MOS, you criticized it for more rehash of the origins story, Clark in his youth. I thought that this was some of the strongest scenes in the film. Donner's film came out in '78, and I think it's necessary to retell his origins somewhat given the vast amount of time between these two versions. Not all of today's audiences grew up with that film, like us, nor watched SMALLVILLE (I've never seen an episode). The flashback scenes to his youth were minimal and, for the most part, mostly a fresh look at Clark growing up. The flashbacks, the Krypton scenes, and the fight scenes were the saving grace for me with MOS.
cress writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 8:41:01 PM

@Mink. What did you think of TAKE SHELTER? I thought Shannon's performance was great.
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 8:50:31 PM

@mink, Rambo

About Payback/Parker

Haven't seen Parker yet, but even with Curtis Hanson involved it looks all kinds of wrong.

I own both Paybacks (og and directors cut) and iirc DC had a blue tint. Plus different soundtrack and different villain. Both are solid IMHO. Jazzie soundtrack on DC is better, but tone and colors are better in theatrical cut.

It was a spot-on role for Mel and the last terrific big budget noir I've seen from Hwood.

It was a movie with balls and attitude. Without tonal shifts, unnecessary action and every character(including underused Bill Cobbs and that country singer with him) served some narrative purpose. In other words, it was a Manly movie. Ugly, dirty and raw.

Parker looks like another Statham flick with a Texas vibe. Empty, generic.

Now, gents, ill read your MOS discuss.
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:03:29 PM

@rambo first and @mink

Next three days is severely underrated. Crowe's agent might have hit the spot with the project, but it grossed next to nothing (and it was a rare occasion where Crowe went for reduced payday for the sake of material iirc).

About Moby's tunes (@mink) - yes, never since Mann's Heat and earlier movies (Tangerine Dream is closer to ambient, right?) has anyone used it to such effect.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:12:58 PM

Nice one Deaft lol
All this Jim Carrry talk, He's one of my fav comedic actors. One of my favs is, as mink said, Liar Liar. Nobody but him could have acted that movie out lol

Payback I don't think I've seen, I'd have to google it, I might even have it lol And I loved Parker, Wich has had some hate on here. Lastly with The next three days: Great flick. Couldn't find much wrong with that one, Lots of action and a good story.
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:17:06 PM

About MOS

Can't say anything about it except that Antje Traue is a classically beautiful woman (one could see her in Hitchc*ck movies - say, Vertigo, with those features).

To continue with Crowe/GibsonPayback - it looks like there's no place for their charisma in modern cinema. Willis is on a backburner, cashing checks. Gibson is evil etc.

Studios try to cash on "hot properties" like Tatum. And not having anything against th guy - he is no action star. Gibson, Crowe, Neeson, Willis in the right mode - those are the dudes you can believe in when they're supposed to be real, threatening, manly etc. but they seem to have little place in modern cinema save for supporting roles (French Gerard Lanvin is another example).

Sad, really. It's ok for us - cause we grew up on them + Arnie, Sly, Bronson etc. but for kids growing up now - f*cking terrible.
pornfly writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:21:49 PM

KURSKI
saw Parker last week and i felt it was slightly too long
But on the whole it was better than what the commercials played it out to be
They made it out to be all about Lopez when she is only a small piece of the movie
Him being a pretend Texan was an even smaller piece of the movie

If the adverts were more faithful to the main plot
Instead of cowtowing to J-Lo fans
It would have been reasonably more successful

You should check it out

I myself watched Stranded and The Penitent Man these last two days
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:44:07 PM

Going to see this now lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:50:36 PM

lol Tanman
Sega Genesis writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:13:04 PM

hey get those bad guys outta the white house
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:16:30 PM

@pornfly

Thx for the heads up, it moved up a couple notches on my list.

About the other two - love Lance, but he usually stars in movies I take time to watch (i.e. b-movies; a couple of years). Solid actor, always watchable. But his "I simply like to work" attitude often works against the quality of the material he participates in.

About "Stranded" - how was it? Cause I rarely even consider watching Slater movies these days.

So many movies, so little time.
Sega Genesis writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:17:50 PM

gotta watch the movies at your own pace
cress writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:38:58 PM

Still not one comment from anyone who went and saw this flaming sh*t heap Tater film.

f*ck, think I'm going to watch Carpenter's THE THING...
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:44:00 PM

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/06/28/nymphomaniac-clip-lars-von-trier_n_3516529.html?utm_hp_ref=entertainment
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:45:32 PM

@ mink

if you like 'the next three days'

you will love ANYTHING FOR HER -diane kruger
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:52:49 PM

Satellite Awards 2000

Best Supporting Actor
WINNER
Titus: Harry Lennix
NOMINEES
The Cider House Rules: Michael Caine
The Talented Mr. Ripley: Jude Law
Magnolia: Tom Cruise
The Insider: Christopher Plummer
The Green Mile: Doug Hutchison



Chlotrudis Awards 2001

Best Supporting Actor
WINNER
Traffic: Benicio Del Toro
NOMINEES
Erin Brockovich: Albert Finney
Titus: Harry Lennix
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Chen Chang
Quills: Joaquin Phoenix
Dancer in the Dark: Peter Stormare
Requiem for a Dream: Marlon Wayans
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:05:15 AM

first review is here :)

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/killing-season-karlovy-vary-review-577554

some moments of gore
the first pairing of two veteran stars
might spark some initial audience interest


a few clever details
such as the use of walkie-talkies
so the two can communicate even when they're running from each other
both men hunt with a bow and arrow
Their archaic weapon of choice
directly leads to the film's
first scene of gore
, which sees one of the men hit in the calf
by an arrow and subsequently hung
from a string pulled through
the resulting hole

waterboarding with a laughable amount
of salt and lemon juice instead of water

The screenplay by Evan Daugherty (Snow White and the Huntsman) lacks humor

Things even unintentionally
tip over into parody when
Travolta and DeNiro face off in a church
at the crack of dawn.

Travolta chews the scenery

De Niro is particularly subdued here,

The obvious use of body doubles
in several sequences is also distracting
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:11:19 AM

The 3D didnt work.
pornfly writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:45:29 AM

KURSKI
Lance is the O N L Y good thing about The Penitent Man
i would even pay Kick Starter to have a remake
Just keep Lance
If you watch it there is
an unintentionally friggin hilarious bit about the end

Stranded has some bad dubbing and a frazzled Vincent Gallo(BrownBunny) that french PulpFiction chic
The hot spanish director and Joaquim de Almeida who i like to watch in just about anything
But he is more normal in this
But its more of a drama than an alien planet movie
But there is just enough of a pay off at the end to make you not pissed about the time you lost watching it

thx BANE
Travolta/Deniro
Two italians at eachothers wits but i could have done without the Serbian accent and Backstreet Boy beard

Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 12:57:15 AM

Just left the theater, I'll have my review up in about.. 20 mins. I actually liked this. My only complaint is how 80% of the film would never happen lol But that's basically 100% of Action films so anyone who gets on the film because of that is an idiot.

You can't have a huge action film without extravagant action scenes.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:11:46 AM

And I don't understand why everyone here hates tatum so much. Yes I know everyone here's hates everyone to begin with but come on guys.. What has he really done to be hated? Acted in films you don't like? Or is it just that he's wanted by so many girls that you hate?

He's not a douche in Public or in interviews. He's my full of himself or is an *sshole, He sees like an alright guy.

There. I did my job as a Canadian. We're just That nice.
Sega Genesis writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:22:23 AM

do the bartman
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 1:39:38 AM

-Dances- ^

And how do you guy make 500+ Comments a month!? I'm just over 200 and that wasn't easy lol. What do you guys do! I'm not bashing, I could care less how you spend your days, I just think its crazy how you guys find enough to comment about! Lol
Rambo writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 2:01:31 AM

@cress

As I recall Superman Returns also had some throwback scenes to superman coming to earth - same as smallvile and Lois and Clark adventures.
They could have used a bit more original origin story like the league of shadows from Batman Begins which actually was the best f*cking part of the Nolan's batman franchise.
Rambo writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 2:10:51 AM

@tanman

we hate him for the same reason we hate Jaden smith - they're both sh*tty actors.maybe he is a real nice person in real life but tha's out of the point - he's just a pretty face without any talent,he should keep doing magic mike movies for the ladies and putman/alex
pornfly writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 2:19:47 AM

Facebook to remove ads from websites with violent images and hate speech

Uh-oh
Wooks wike twoubow
Sega Genesis writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 2:21:46 AM

they got lotsa water in venice
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 2:58:06 AM

@spraytanman

Taters is basically a useless tard with a generic playgirl face. He was ok in 21 Jump St but aside from that he is a twat.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 3:08:44 AM

Fair enough guys lol
steamluv writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 3:27:14 AM

So, has anybody actually seen this show? And if so, what did you think?
Sega Genesis writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 3:30:09 AM

they're giving us the crumbs from their table
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 4:12:51 AM

I have yet to understand any of your posts Sega.
And I'm gonna write my review in a second, of you want to click my profile and read.
Rambo writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 5:09:14 AM

9 out 10?

This is madness !
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 5:11:22 AM

i know it's everyones go to point to say carey can act but in my opinon Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mindis his best work.
Rambo writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 5:14:54 AM

I tried to watch Eternal sunshine...2 times - never really understood the hype,quite depressing and annoying movie with terrible camera work
Rambo writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 7:58:08 AM

breaking news:

http://channing.tatum.mediafetcher.com/news/top_stories/actor_skiing.php
SACdaddy writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 8:08:03 PM

@rambo: if only we were so lucky.

Just saw WWZ. Decent but nothing special. Too much shaky cam and too many plots holes for a movie that didn't have much of a plot. Brad Pitt was playing a robot again, so I'm not really sure why they picked him other than to put female butts in the seats. Still, its somewhat entertaining and suspenseful. 6/10 (would have been better if all the good scenes weren't in the trailer and they explained more).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved