WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Says He Can Easily Raise $7 Million for "Clerks 3" on Kickstarter, But He Won't

Posted: June 29th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Says He Can Easily Raise $7 Million for "Clerks 3" on Kickstarter, But He WonSubmit Comment
Both Zach Braff and the "Veronica Mars" movie were successful in raising millions of dollars for their projects on Kickstarter. In a recent interview with Kevin Smith, the filmmaker was asked if he has considered using the website to raise money for "Clerks 3."

"I love the idea and I want to do it so desperately, but I do have access to money. If I don't use my own money, I can always hit up some of my famous friends," he explained. "I feel like I should leave [Kickstarter] for the [filmmakers] that really need it at this point."

Even though Smith won't be using Kickstarter, he went on to say that it would be incredibly successful on the website. "If our Kickstarter video had been me just walking out in front of a blackboard and writing 'Clerks' and then 'III' after it, without much more than that, we probably would have easily [raised] $5 million to $7 million bucks," he said.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 8:00:49 AM

He's not lying
but thats all he'll get the money for

I hope Dee Snyder brings him down a peg and kicks him in the balls then brings back Captain Howdy
bandolero999 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:00:02 AM

theres no reason a clerks 3 should be made
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:49:29 AM

Loved the 1st and the 2nd was blah.
Skidmark writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:01:38 AM

I'll donate $50 to stop this going ahead
Whitta writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:23:14 AM

You people may think he's being c*cky,
But he is 110% correct.

Personally I wouldn't give a cent of my money to Clerks III, but I would definitely go and see it.

He gets alot of hate, but Dogma is one of my all time favourites, so I will give him credit where credit is due for that.
vincere01 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:38:26 AM

What an arrogant pissant. True or not I dont care. Aside from dogma, and this is mostly due to the other actors not jqy and bob, all his other movies do nothing for me. If it was not for damon, affleck, hayek, and rock etc that movie could have been pretty bad.

I will never understand why people hold kevin smith in such reverence. Ya, ok, hes a decent actor sure. Not worthy of leqding a movie though, hes comic relief at best. His directing leaves much to ve desired. And his writing is extremely hit or miss, especially of late.

if I were to meet him right now, I would only have one question for him. Didnt you say you were retiring??? Wtf
FBO writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 12:45:55 PM

Some bulimics watch Cop Out to make them throw up in lieu of gagging themselves.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 12:59:31 PM

only kevin smith that was bearble was mallrats
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:06:11 PM

Not a huge fan of Smith but I think he is one of the most sympathetic filmmakers out there.
So, he is fat...so what ??
I like Clerks 1+2 and Jay & Silent Bob..., think Dogma,Cop out and Red State were terrible, but he is one comfortable dude !!
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:18:22 PM

@vincere

He was going to make some hockey movie as his last film but that didn't work out so now Clerks III will be his final film.

I really only like Clerks 1&2 and Jay&Silent Bob Strike Back and Mallrats TBH. I thought Dogma was dreadful.

I'm looking forward to Clerks III.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:25:34 PM

Kevin Smith can accomplish such stupendous feats and yet he lacks the simple ability to see his own feet.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:29:34 PM

Kevin Smith is a liar. He said he was going to retire way back when. Now he says he's not?

Look, the only reason the sulking mastodon tit said he was gong to retire is because he couldn't stand being largely ignored and irrelevant. So he decided to go home and take his toys with him.

Now he's going to make Clerks III to see if anyone gives a sh*t, and if Clerks III eves approaches success territory, he'll come roaring back from his supposed denouement, because the only thing Smith gives a sh*t about is hearing people say his name.

Fat stupid spoiled bitch f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 1:30:02 PM

approaches even.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 3:01:26 PM

+1. Smith is a hack who won the lottery with Clerks. Mallrats is amusingly quotable, but everything else that has followed has been a waste of f*cking time, loaded with useless and trite inside jokes and poorly timed humor. f*ck him.
cress writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 4:25:09 PM

CLERKS and JAY & SILENT BOB for me are his best. CHASING AMY was alright. I hated MALLRATS and DOGMA, even though I love it when religion is sh*t on. It was just a crap movie, imo. He just seems like he's stuck in the same poo-poo and pee-pee jokes since he broke onto to the scene in '94.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:25:22 PM

I don't even care, I love the characters first seen in Clerks. I've seen every movie involved except 'Chasing Amy'. That just looked dumb. I'll definitely be watching this.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:52:16 PM

" He just seems like he's stuck in the same poo-poo and pee-pee jokes since he broke onto to the scene in '94."

Yeah, and it's now 2013, halfway to 2014. That's twenty years difference, and in all that time the most growth Smith has mustered, other than the creeping escape velocity his stomach hair now requires just to grow upright, is represented by Red State. That's it.

And now he sheepishly and unashamedly wants to go crawling back to a second sequel to the movie that put him on the map back when he was still hungry for something more than a six pack of watermelons and a dumpster of curly fries.

Really, I think he's earned some contempt, and perhaps a lifetime subscription to Gravity Weekly.
cress writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 8:26:05 PM

@Mink. Is RED STATE even worth a watch? That's the only Smith film I haven't seen.
vincere01 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:05:53 PM

^^ I have refused to watch that movie almost purely based on the tirades smith went on after the movie got left out of award season.

his arrogance is just to much for me these days to even watch his movies
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:15:20 PM

Didn't bother to watch Red State either
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:41:39 PM

Red State is okay but mostly just obnoxious. It is an attempted indictment if the real life Westboro Baptist Church and how far they might go or wish they could.

Michael Parks is the best aspect of the film because he is a hell of an actor.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:44:05 PM

of*
Whitta writes:
on June 30th, 2013 at 11:21:45 AM

I thought Red State was great.

But then again, I liked Dogma and by the looks of it, alot of people on here didn't.

So unless you wanna see a Kevin Smith film that is in the complete opposite direction of his other films, don't worry about it.

I liked the writing in Red State though. Every monologue Michael Parks had was great.
Bunny X writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 8:18:40 AM

Almost as easily as he can raise his arms to stuff a sausage grinder down his throat.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 1:56:49 PM

Kevin Smith Says He Can Easily stop eating fast food, But He Won't

JB_ENFORCER writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 7:25:18 PM

Mallrats, Clerks II (Love the porch monkey quotes) Dogma, Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back are in my opinion great films, hated original Clerks although I saw it after Clerks 2, Chasing Amy Was boring. Red state was ok but would not watch again and did not like Jersey girl at all. Never saw Zak and miri make a porno. I will definatly watch Clerks 3 if he brings back all the favs!.. "You go ass to mouth?
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 2:53:35 AM

At Deaftone...

f*ckin' A!! Michael Parks kills in Kill Bill Vol. 2 as Bill's father...he f*ckin' owns his scenes!!

On the DVD extras, I believe, Tarantino starts talking on putting him up at the same level as De Niro..."that's a bold statement."
CelluloidMan writes:
on July 3rd, 2013 at 3:04:29 AM

As for Smith's quote, he is right. He's made millions of his early films including the merchandise which he personally oversees, by the turnouts of his appearances, and DVD sales of him just bullsh*tting with his fans (Evening with Kevin Smith)...He knows what he's talking about.

His friends? let's begin with award winners Matt Damon, Ben Affleck, Robert Rodriguez, or Tarantino off the top of my head to name a few...

Having said that, Smith reminds me of that Sam Jackson quote when asked if he was a mama's boy, "Yeah, I guess I am, but that makes you an *sshole for bringing it up."...

Smith is right, but comes off as a douche for pointing it out.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved