WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro Responds to Lousy Tracking Numbers for "Pacific Rim"

Posted: June 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del Toro Responds to Lousy Tracking Numbers for "Pacific Rim"Submit Comment
It was recently reported that Guillermo Del Toro's "Pacific Rim" sci-fi film isn't tracking well among potential movie-goers. In fact, Adam Sandler's "Grown Ups" sequel is on track to beat "Pacific Rim" during the weekend of July 12th.

Early predictions place "Grown Ups 2" to open at around $40 million, which is great for a film with a budget of $80 million. "Pacific Rim" may also get $40 million, but the movie cost a whopping $200 million to make.

Del Toro recently spoke about the lousy tracking numbers, telling his fans: "We just need to keep working. Our numbers are going up. Not in a minor way. Significant. We are on the right track."

He went on to say that he's not surprised that "Grown Ups 2" is tracking better than "Pacific Rim." "Whatever sequel opens will have, by definition, higher awareness and numbers across the board, but we are moving strongly in the right direction," he explained.

Overall, Del Toro isn't worried. With two weeks still left before "Pacific Rim" hits theaters, the director expects a big marketing push. "We are working on it. We concentrated on the core for a long time -- but we barely started on the campaign," he said. "I am seeing the ads now and I am seeing outdoor [ads]."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:15:39 PM

How come they didn't just hire Tatum and Bruce Willis?
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:17:07 PM

Hmmmm. I heard somewhere they used creative means to cut their CGI budget in half, or something to that affect, and yet the film still has a pre-marketing production cost of 200 million and no big headlining actor like Cruise or Pitt?

Something's not right. CGI was invented and perfected in part to make effects cheaper and more approachable, and yet budgets for films such as Pacific Rim continue to balloon.

Are they paying the VFX crew in gold bullion, or is the VFX industry taking the studios for a ride?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:33:41 PM

I really like Guillermo Del Toro as a filmmaker and I liked him even more after watching both 2.5 hour making-of doc*mentaries for Hellboy and Hellboy II:The Golden Army along with their respective commentaries.

I said this before, if Pacific Rim does not make back its budget its okay, I never expected a sequel but I expect it to be a unique and enjoyable experience.

Once again, f*ck Grown Ups 2!!
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:48:07 PM

I like del Toro, but let's face it: Micheal Bay throughout the marketing and a moved up release date would have done this movie a lot of justice, more than del Toro could ever do in ten of his lifetimes.

That's just the sad fact, and really, one has to wonder if the head of marketing was on vacation in Pakistan when the production authorities green-lit such a high budget.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:53:35 PM

too. Michael.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 8:04:04 PM

@mink

Yeah but also GDT had said that a lot of the robots and monsters are forced-perspective puppets about 5 feet tall with CGI augmentation. So I have no idea how that cost 200 million.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 8:15:50 PM

What all that means is they did motion capture on animatronics and CGI'ed the results, like Avatar for robots.

A total waste of money, in my opinion, because it's like doing it both ways at the same time, whereas Bay did a sh*tload of robots in full CGI with perhaps animatronics for key close-up shots.
Stapes writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 8:25:39 PM

@mink and deaftone. Go check out amalgamated dynamics interview with comic book girl 19. Youll enjoy.
cress writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 8:30:01 PM

I'm actually really surprised by those tracking numbers. I was at least expecting $60 million+. On paper, it seems like a sure-fire hit--dinosaurish aliens vs. transformerish robots. It's a big, brawny sci-fi spectacle in a season that caters to that audience. I hope it does well. It's one of the few films I'm actually going to the theatre to see this summer.
kickit writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 8:50:22 PM

It's a bad sign for the world we live in if Grown Ups 2 makes more money than Pacific Rim.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 9:32:21 PM

It's not that surprising that Grown Ups 2 is tracking better... Del Toro explains it best, it already has audience awareness and goodwill from the first one, which people apparently liked (I never saw it, it looked kinda dumb to me). And it's not a preexisting property like Transformers or GI Joe, both of which have literally had DECADES of market presence to prepare people for the film's release. Add to that: no widely recognizable stars, a crowded summer blockbuster slate, and an anemic marketing campaign, and *-presto-*, instant summer flop. It doesn't really matter if it's good- look, Del Toro is a decent director, I like some (but definitely not all) of his stuff- this is a case of the studio f*cking up the marketing and, as Mink already observed, rubber stamping a preposterously large budget for such a film. Sadly I think even if they push hard starting now, it's too little too late, the best they can hope for a middling numbers that hopefully bring them to break even. Maybe it'll do well overseas, those Asians love their big robots....
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 9:42:42 PM

@mm

I know you edit or do sound sh*t or something in the industry but I do not think that GDT f*cked up the film. If it hopefully breaks even its great. If barely or not its a setback but you cannot knock GDT for giving his all.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 9:47:16 PM

I'm not knocking GDT at all! For his movies I ALWAYS reserve judgement until I've seen them, since he tends to be a bit hot and cold.

My point was that it doesn't matter if it's a good film anymore, at this point. A massive film like this takes an equally massive marketing effort that I believe WB has already f*cked up, and now it's too late in the game to fix it. I hope it's a good film (god knows we could use all the good films we can get), I hope it does well, but the reality now is tricky, and likely insurmountable.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 9:55:01 PM

@mm

Also GDT has typically been a very resourceful and budget-conscious filmmaker. He has an old interview where he says movies like Gremlins and Ghoulies and Dead-Alive were done with low budgets but are great movies and are a big inspiration on him.

So maybe the 200 mil from WB for PR was a goodwill type of thing. I have no idea. I do know that GDT is a nerd's nerd as in he is a film geek making movies for film geeks.

I hope Hellboy III:Son of Hellboy is his next film.
Dreamcast writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 11:14:15 PM

Why does every blockbuster have to cost $200 million? Is that the new magic number?

Also...

How does Grown Ups 2 cost $80 million? Oh right, it's another Sandler N' Friends ponzi scheme.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 11:40:19 PM

I forgot there even was a Grown Ups 2.
Kurskij writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:18:05 AM

Del Toro insisted it cost around $190 or slightly less - since, yeah, they only did VFX when they needed it and were sure it'll end up in the movie (i.e. no deleted VFX heavy scenes).

Marketing was great IF it was only aimed at teens and geeks (also knows as "already converted") - the crowd that would show up anyway. But marketing for general audience was bad. No human element, vague story, blank representation of heroes, dark action scenes - can't tell one robot or creature apart from another.

It's like WB felt their upcoming "divorce" from Legendary and decided to bury their main homeboy as a farewell gift.
james236 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:38:08 AM

@kurskig absolutely couldn't of put it better.
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 4:15:14 AM

I think it will make 50-60 mil and probably world wide 400 mil or so which will be okay but not enough for a sequel.
Skidmark writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:19:19 AM

I'm waiting for Asylums rip off, Yawnasaurus Vs Snoozertron...I'm guessing Dacascos is available to stink up the sci if channel with another unholy abortion
thelazybum writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:27:30 AM

Didn't world war z also have a lousy tracking number? every forecast isn't necessarily right.
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 2:14:50 PM



i am still angry
Guillermo Del Toro didn't direct 'The Hobbit'
jikae writes:
on July 1st, 2013 at 11:06:55 PM

So let me get this straight.

Transformers gets ripped on because it's Michael Bay and it's a massive robot movie with heavy visual effects.

Pacific Rim gets praised before ANYONE watches it because it's Guillermo Del Toro with a similar premise? And yet, it's tracking low?

Let me break it down for you people. Michael Bay IS action. He creates action films on a "reasonable" budget (Transformers is all ILM) and rarely goes over budget or has delays.

Transformers has human characters that the public can relate to. Who stars in Pacific Rim? I can't think of one actor off the top of my head. Hate Shia Lebouf for whatever reason you want, love it or hate it, you recognize him. We can't relate to robots fighting each other. There needs to be that human element that we can relate to, and besides the humans being used to control "avatar" robots, we don't know anything about them.

Pacific Rim WILL bomb considering the 200+ million budget. It'll make about 500 worldwide, decent, but not great. People will get all confused on why it didn't make anything and it'll back to the drawing board and lots of head will roll. You give Michael Bay 300 million and he'll bring in 1 billion worldwide. That is why he still makes movies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved