WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Critic Watches "White House Down" in 2D, Confused Why His 3D Glasses Weren't Working

Posted: June 28th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Critic Watches "White House Down" in 2D, Confused Why His 3D Glasses WerenSubmit Comment
"White House Down" was not shot in 3D, it was not converted to 3D and was never shown in 3D. But Kurt Loder, a journalist for Reason.com, was convinced the film was in 3D, which is why he was wearing 3D glasses during a recent screening. In his review, he points out his confusion.

"The movie was shot in 3D, which is appropriate for this sort of picture. About 15 minutes in, however, I peered over the top of my 3D glasses, expecting to see the usual unmediated blur up on the screen, but noting very little difference," wrote Loder. "I tried this a few more times as the film progressed, and at one point took the glasses off altogether and watched about 10 minutes of the movie with an equal lack of general effect. Anyone who has the same experience should please get in touch, so I know I'm not losing my mind."

It's not clear what exactly happened. Did the studio hold a screening of the film and gave out 3D glasses for it? Did Loder believe it was a 3D movie and brought his own glasses? Or was he a victim of a prank?

Source: Reason, RopeOfSilicon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:13:03 PM

The irony here is he's the movie critic for the website Reason.com, a website that prides itself on critical, rational thinking, and yet this guy never thought to wonder if maybe the movie he was seeing wasn't shot in 3D.


Vulcans these guys are not.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:31:54 PM

"The movie was shot in 3D, which is appropriate for this sort of picture."

Let's be fair here and say that films of the White House Down sort should be shot in 1D so no one can see them, and the director should just be shot.

I mean, come on, the man made a movie about saber toothed tigers in the year 10000BC, okay?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:36:02 PM

Kurt Loder is an old MTV News reject fag that I thought had died years ago.

f*cktards gonna f*cktard.
WallyDee writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:42:00 PM

April fools
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:42:20 PM

What a tool.. Lol
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 7:44:50 PM

3D glasses? Why didn't he go in wearing a sound-proof hood? Other than the likely asphyxiation and heat stroke, he might have actually enjoyed not seeing Channing Tatum, of recent weepy birth fame, not run around the set giving both John McClane and Jack Bauer a bad name.
cress writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 8:18:49 PM

At least the Smell-A-Rama aspect in theatres always works, regardless of whether it's 2D or 3D--armpits, farts, bad breath, old people sitting in front of you with that mothball stink. The theatre experience is fan-f*cking-tastic!
KillerCOck writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 9:47:00 PM

hahahaha! do ppl bring their own 3D glasses to a theater?? cuz thats hilarious.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 10:08:44 PM

that kurt loder dude's a f*cking dinosaur.he's almost 70.no wonder he wasnt in MTV he can be all those kids grandpa.
Dreamcast writes:
on June 28th, 2013 at 10:51:23 PM

Kurt Loder is still alive? Who knew?
Rambo writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 4:05:24 AM

It's not clear what exactly happened. Did the studio hold a screening of the film and gave out 3D glasses for it? Did Loder believe it was a 3D movie and brought his own glasses? Or was he a victim of a prank?

the simple answer to all questions is - who give a f*ck?
ChaseEvoIution writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 4:06:38 AM

Tanman, do not PM me a picture of your penis next to a soda can (for a size reference) because I am not homosexual. If you do, then make sure you're shaved down there. But again, don't send me such a picture because I'm not queer.

I am going to leave at this time. Your negativity is again making me nauseous. f*ck all of you. I shall now depart.

P.S. Tanman, make sure you absolutely do not PM me that picture of your d*ck.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 5:38:32 AM

next movie he will forget to open his eyes and claim its audio only
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:10:39 AM

Says a lot about movie critics with their heads up their asses !!
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:17:46 AM

Did he watch the f*cking movie alone? Didn't read the comments yet but I'm sure someone else thought that. Just shows how little intelligence you do have Alex.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:22:35 AM

f*cking A dude there wasn't a single person wearing 3d glasses sitting near you? Time to retire old man
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:40:43 AM

Chase if you had friends, I'm sure they would have pulled an Aaron Hernandez on your ass by now.

And for everyone on this planet - it would be a positive thing.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 6:43:43 AM

Just Putitinman gave this a 3/10 and with tatum in it for the first time I may agree with him
ProfMovies writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 11:18:46 AM

More confirmation that film critics are a bunch of self-inflated clueless clowns.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 9:16:15 PM

Chase. Please die. Your death would bring a smile to my face.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 29th, 2013 at 10:43:16 PM

Going to watch this now
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 7:20:37 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved