WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Takes Full Control of Its Superhero Films, Cuts Ties with Co-Financiers

Posted: June 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Takes Full Control of Its Superhero Films, Cuts Ties with Co-FinanciersSubmit Comment
Warner Bros and Legendary Entertainment had a great relationship. They shared the financial risk on such films as "Man of Steel, "The Hangover" franchise" and Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" trilogy, but also shared the reward, something Warner Bros never liked.

Warner Bros didn't allow any other company to co-finance its "Harry Potter" films, which meant that it took in 100% of the profits. And now that "Man of Steel" is a hit, the studio would like to take more control of its lucrative properties and put up the entire budget in order to collect all the profits. To do this, the studio had to cut ties with Legendary.

Legendary, meanwhile, is already looking for a new partner to help co-finance their films, with Universal Pictures and 20th Century Fox being at the top of their list. But the company is also hoping to continue developing its own properties.

Legendary put up 75% of Guillermo Del Toro's "Pacific Rim" budget, which is north of $200 million. Unfortunately, the sci-fi film is not tracking very well. In fact, audiences have shown more interest in seeing Sony's "Grown Ups" sequel rather than "Pacific Rim," which they've been comparing to "Power Rangers."

It will be interesting to see what happens with Warner Bros. While it's good that it's taking more control over its superhero properties, like Marvel has, it's also possible that losing a co-financier like Legendary will mean that the studio will not be able to take as many risks.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:44:21 AM

Im actually hoping Pacific Rim fails cause im sick of these stupid CGI sh*t fests. Plus its plot logic is beyond ridiculous. Better films could benefit from the money wasted on this film.
gcerda88 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:57:50 AM

Most of Pacific Rim is actually not CGI.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:39:55 AM

In fact, audiences have shown more interest in seeing Sony's "Grown Ups" sequel rather than "Pacific Rim," which they've been comparing to "Power Rangers."

So what, Transformers was a kids show that featured a sh*t load of CGI and made a f*ck tonne of money, why would the Power Rangers comparison be a bad one. Why would anyone want to see Grown Ups 2? What is wrong with these people?
Stapes writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:46:22 AM

Wow, Grown ups? Seriously, Adam Sandler's popularity puts a dent in my hope for the human race and living to see the singularity in my lifetime.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:40:21 AM

I wasn't anticipating Pacific Rim to become a franchise anyways and as long as it is another creative and fun film like all of Guillermo Del Toro's work, then I will enjoy it and I don't care how much it makes.

Oh and f*ck Grown Ups 2.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:42:59 AM

I think it's a big mistake on WB's part
venomex writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:56:55 AM

comparing pacific rim to power rangers makes me want to see it more
Kurskij writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 11:24:52 AM

Pacific Rim isn't the worst of their problems - they have "Seventh Son" supposedly coming out in november.

They have a 100% stake in that, WB is only handling distribution. Movie looks terrible and cost at least $130 mil.
n8dawg writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 11:49:29 AM

Anyone who says that Pacific Rim is going to be garbage is either a liar or a troll. Make no mistake about it, this movie is going to be a bad ass mother f*cking movie.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:16:12 PM

I'm no Troll and I think it'll be garbage. I'm also not a Del Toro fan doh so I have no interest or hope in the film.

So...You could shove your troll nose up your own ass with your trollish behavior.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:27:49 PM

Yeah Taco's comment is stupid and HarmlessMicroPenis likes very sh*tty movies.

Pacific Rim will be awesome and it's not a f*cking sequel/remake/reboot/comic movie! At the very least you have to acknowledge that this is an original idea. There is nothing wrong with that and calling it sh*t before you even see it just makes you a c*nt.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:23:00 PM

So does saying it will be awesome before you've seen it and calling other people c*nts for doing the same thing but calling it the opposite.
hahaha!
Your Logic s funny.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:43:32 PM

@HarmlessMicroPenis

Actually no, it's not the same thing. Going by Guillermo Del Toro's track record, he usually makes very entertaining and well-rounded films with well-written stories.

Pan's Labyrinth is a fantastic film regardless if you are a fan of his work or not. Since GDT is a very meticulous filmmaker who gives a lot of attention to detail and is very creative.

From reading about Pacific Rim, this still seems to be the case. So it's safe to assume that it will be an awesome movie by judging his past films, none of which have been disappointing so far.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:43:43 PM

obviously people who like Grown ups and movies like that dont go on film sites because they dont give a sh*t about movies and just want to go stare and adam sandler fall over for 2 hours
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:46:40 PM

@deaftone

what about mimic havnt seen it for years but I remember it being pretty bad
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 2:13:55 PM

@patrickbateman

Mimic 2&3 were awful but the first one wasn't too bad. The 111 minute director's cut is also better than the theatrical version.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 2:15:15 PM

i really dont get the hate for pacific rim.is gonna kick transformers ass for sure
defiant1 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:01:25 PM

I'm really looking forward to Pacific Rim. I'm not going into it expecting a genius story. It's gonna be a big, visual, fun, action packed, summer movie.
Stapes writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:05:00 PM

Ive hated all of del taco's movies, with the exception of Cronos. I think his heavy use of great practical fx mixed with quality cg are going to make rim watchable at least though.
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:08:43 PM

This is either the smartest or dumbest thing wb has done regarding the DCCU.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:19:16 PM

@Taco
Well Pacific Rim is inspired by Japanese anime wasn't it? Like how much logic were you expecting? LOL
jikae writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:23:00 PM

"WE ARE CANCELLING THE APOCALYPSE!" -- that line alone makes me NOT want to watch the movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:58:56 PM

I am amazed by Alex's ability to squeeze in the word "superhero" when the partnership between WB and Legendary wasn't all about Superheroes. Unless Zack Galafatnaked's character counts as one.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:01:23 PM

I would say that this is a smart move on the part of Warner Bros. if I had any faith that they actually know what the f*ck they're doing with their DC films, lol
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:14:20 PM

All that's need now is for Disney to buy Warner Brothers and then we can see Iron Man fight Superman inside the Justice League Avengers headquarters.
Chris_G writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:42:01 PM

It's been confirmed by numerous sources that the budget for Pacific Rim is between $180 and $190 million, Del Toro even said that the methodology they used for the visual effects reduced their VFX budget by nearly 50%.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:35:52 PM

"Most of Pacific Rim is actually not CGI."

You twat, that's about the dumbest thing you you could've said. First off, it's a summer action flick, it's going to use a relatively enormous amount of CGI when you compare it to most films. And regardless of 'how much' CGI is in the film, it is the #1 reason people will go to see it. Because Idris Elba unfortunately isn't quite the same draw as someone like Tom Cruise. The marketing department obviously knows this too, if you've managed to catch a trailer.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:39:52 PM

Oh yes, and with regards to the article, I hope WB knows what they're doing. I guarantee that a Superman sequel will generate smaller box office returns on a bigger budget... once again Zach Snyder has managed to squander the goodwill generated by the highly effective and venerable WB marketing/trailer team. I'm not sure how much longer they can prop that guy up. LOL
KillerCOck writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:06:16 PM

I think most would agree that Pan's Labyrinth is a fantastic film, myself included. But the rest of his track record is questionable to me.

I think other then Devil's Backbone and Blade 2, his movies flat out suck despite how the look visually.

Now I'm not saying Pacific Rim will Suck for sure but I don't doubt that it will. I Think Del Toro works better with smaller budgets.

Del Toro just reminds me of Raimi who I also don't think to highly of as a director.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:07:31 PM

"Del Toro even said that the methodology they used for the visual effects reduced their VFX budget by nearly 50%."

Okay, but that doesn't mean they used practical effects either, it only means they perhaps found a way to stretch their budget to encompass more creative use of CGI.
sexyofsteel writes:
on June 26th, 2013 at 5:23:52 AM

Get more News About Man of steel, World War Z, Monsters University @ Here

Download World War Z Movie : http://worldwarzmovie.org/

Download Man of steel movie : http://www.manofsteelfilm.org/

Download Monsters University Movie : http://monsteruniversity.org/
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 27th, 2013 at 7:10:29 PM

Warner Bros. best movies recently have all been done with Legendary Pictures.

seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 8:30:39 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved