WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Liam Neeson to Return for "Taken 3," Will Get Massive Pay Raise

Posted: June 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Liam Neeson to Return for "Taken 3," Will Get Massive Pay RaiseSubmit Comment
While promoting "Taken 2," Maggie Grace told us that the first "Taken" film was never meant to become a franchise. But since the movie became a massive hit, grossing $225 million globally on a budget of $25 million, a sequel was quickly greenlit.

Liam Neeson wasn't very interesting in returning for "Taken 2," since he had plans to take some time off from acting. But he was convinced to reprise his role and the sequel became another hit, grossing $378 million on budget of $45 million.

That was it for Neeson. In all the interviews promoting the sequel, he kept saying that he's done with the franchise. No more for him. But that didn't matter to the filmmakers, who quickly confirmed plans for "Taken 3," stating that they will replace Neeson if they have to.

Now comes word that Neeson is in final negotiations to return for "Taken 3." Considering how little these films cost, it took a lot to bring him back. Deadline is reporting that Neeson's deal is worth almost $20 million.

Grace and Famke Janssen are also in talk to return, while Robert Mark Kamen and Luc Besson are currently working on the screenplay. The plan is to have a new twist on the "Taken" formula.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 109 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:20:02 AM

Good for you Liam!

Let's just hope that the 3rd (and last part) will be much better than the 2nd part.
Taco writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:30:33 AM

Taken pt 3: Now im really mad!

Taken pt 4: f*ck it, just keep her
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:46:52 AM

Taken pt 5 : The return of marco from tropoja

Taken pt 6 : Kim runs to Albania

Taken pt 7 : The pink Elephant!!!
Taco writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:51:24 AM

The only way I see this working is a plot involving the daughter working as a councilor for an advocacy group of woman, and she is approched by another group of parents with missing kids. The parents ask Liam to investagate their kids who havent been found to find closure. This would give the story a chance to show the team in action not just Neeson again as a one man army. Thats just my thoughts.
knight bitch writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:53:08 AM

Well this means michael bay will return for transformers 5,6,7 and so on and it will not change
knight bitch writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:53:08 AM

Well this means michael bay will return for transformers 5,6,7 and so on and it will not change
Taco writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:54:18 AM

Taken pt 8: Marco Strikes Back

Taken pt 9: The Return of the Liam
Wyatt Derp writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:55:32 AM

Taken Part 10: Gritty Reboot of Next of Kin but this time subbing in footage from Ghost for Patrick's character. On the plus side, they could probably get Ben Stiller for less than they paid him for the first one.....
Gates writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:02:44 AM

Taken 3: An entire Albanian church youth group is out to avenge their fallen comrades, who died at the hands of Bryan Mills. The youth group go to extreme measures and hold Mills' beloved family chihuahua for ransom. Mills uses his very particular set of skills and calls Animal Control.

The twist: Mills disguises himself as the Animal Control officer, fools the youth group, kills everyone, and returns home with the chihuahua, just in time for dinner.

Taken 3: Everyone dies, again.
The Tall Man writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:03:37 AM

Simple plot: He's hired by others to find others. This way they can crank out as many sequels as they want.
shamusot00le writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:23:05 AM

The twist is that the only way he can see this stopping is that if he takes one of them. Ooops, sorry.... *Spoiler alert*
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:36:55 AM

Taken again? His particular set of skills are obviously not good enough... give up Neeson.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:49:29 AM

everyones already been taken now its going to be the family dog or his hat
Mudders writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:11:56 AM

this will turn into another die hard style franchise

it will get to #4 and everyone will be like...ok that's enough now...then out comes #5
donangel01 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:19:39 AM

@taco

your actually headed in right direction with that idea. I was thinking same thing, not just him, but his whole team. But the plot has to be more badass then some group that his daughter works for. it's too simple, someone's missing kids and asks Liam for help? Liam himself said he wouldn't do part 3 because what else could possibly happen to his daughter. I doubt he would do that for someone else. It has to be someone more important and that way, like you suggested, he has to call in his team. kinda makes you wish that they would have castes tougher lookin dudes as his team, I remember them being kinda nerdy.
donangel01 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:33:17 AM

ohhhhrrrrr...... They can put the Rock in this movie as well. you guys all criticize but the numbers don't lie, right? didn't Journey part 2 make more money than the first? GIJoe part 2 made more? Fast Five made more money than parts 1-4 combined!! It is what it is, like him or not and whether it's just for the moment or not but he's got a following. I believe it only cost $20 million to make Pain n Gain and that was profitable right? I'm just saying, Liam has beat up people his own size for 2 movies, how about him versus a big badass the Rock? or how about Jason Statham? why not, he's the bad guy in Fast 7, why not?
Bunny X writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:37:53 AM

Money talks and bullsh*t walks Round 1
Stapes writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:54:59 AM

Two words for you, Liam. "Good luck."
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:01:58 AM

I'd like to see a team-based 3rd movie as well. DB Sweeney and those other dudes can work together in a Mission:Impossible type capacity. Maybe have a European consulate get 'napped or something.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:02:47 AM

Taken 3: A Good Day to be Taken...meh.

We all talk about actors's abilities, credibility, or artistic integrity, but when it comes down to it, it's a business...a business to make money. Neeson is no exception. Like the WWF wrestler Million Dollar Man Ted DiBiase's slogan..."Everyone has their price."
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:14:26 AM

Taken pt 11 - taken to the cleaners.
GreenLensman writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:24:15 AM

Taken pt 12: Nigga stole my bike!
Kurskij writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 11:21:09 AM

Can't blame him.

$20 mil. is a lot of money. In these temrs this franchise has been kind to him (plus, a bet he had a sweet profit share from the second movie and will have another from the 3rd).

It's not like people will sigh "Liam sold out" and ignore his movies. Everyone loves Liam.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 11:47:25 AM

Liam is such a great actor man, He deserves a little 20 mill for a second sequel now and again! Good for him lol
Stapes writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:22:14 PM

Meanwhile, george lucas just tied the knot with his brown sugar sweetheart.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:27:08 PM

Taken pt 13: The Taken Strikes back
TheAmicko writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:28:06 PM

I like taken. And even thought taken 2 was ok. I think I was the only one that did not think it was that unrealistic. But Liam is great and would rather se him in something showing his abilities as a great actor.
TheAmicko writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:29:11 PM

By the way... Movie daughter is HOT!! Mmmmm.... Movie daughters.
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:06:31 PM

Please kill this franchise already. The last one was horrid and I doubt they're really going to bring anything new to this one. Besides neeson is way past the believable stage of his action career. But if they' go forward I'd like his friends to be more involved, kind of like the black ops team they allude to them being. Maybe have one of them be forced to betray neeson to protect his own family. That could be a good twist.
j-man writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:06:45 PM

Make it a prequel
Taken : the oscar schindler years
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:17:18 PM

I'm probably going to crap for this but I actually thought the second one was better than the first. More fast-paced and some more clever action scenes. The first one was good. Better story obviously, but since the series was basically, up until this point, just someone getting stolen, I like how the second one just jumped into it and went right into the action. These are fun action movies. They are meant to be. And I enjoyed both so far.
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:39:41 PM

I didn't like the second one,it wasn't bad but it was lacking the vengeance motif that made the first one so great,Neeson was running here and there but you didn't really feel the anger and deadliness he expressed in the first movie - I guess that's a script issue,they should have killed his wife early in the movie - that would have made it a bad ass sequel.Also the main villain was weak.
I hope the third will be a bit more darker like the first and less politically correct like the second.
Dreamcast writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:49:22 PM

If Taken was about the daughter getting kidnapped and Taken 2 was about the wife getting kidnapped, it stands to reason that Taken 3 will be about the daughter's baby getting kidnapped.

"GIVE ME BACK MY GRANDDAUGHTER!" Liam Neeson will growl grizzledly into a phone, his paycheck digits dancing before his eyes. And in the ending, maybe he'll throw something that looks like a baby but is actually grenades wrapped in a blanket. And the villains will be French or German or some kind of non-American non-English-speaking non-white people so we know that they're really evil.

f*ck it, it's a Taken movie, these things write themselves (boring scenes with family where everything is fine, kidnap scene, chase scene, phone negotiation scene, slow talking scene, fight scene, rescue scene, car chase scene, another slow talking scene, another fight-chase-car scene, explosion, end).
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:14:52 PM

@Rambo
I feel like redoing the theme of vengeance would be bad though. I mean not a bad idea, but I liked the idea of preservation in the second one. I liked that Grace's character was suffering a little Post-Traumatic Stress after the first movie so you feel that the emotional resonance of the first film was still there. I like how they didn't get stupid and let Neeson get captured so easily. Yeah the villain was weak which sucks because I like the guy who played the villain. He has had some great villain roles in the past but unfortunately they let the stereotype lead the character since that guy is known for being a villain. So whatever they do on Taken 3, the villain needs to be less of a stereotype although I doubt that will happen.
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:29:50 PM

^I guess it's all up to the script and the director - Liam will be Liam.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:38:56 PM

@Rambo
Agreed. I think Luc Beeson has a habit of surprising you every once and awhile.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:50:55 PM

Luc Besson should just direct this one so the series goes out with a bang and not a whimper.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:53:05 PM

Liam Neeson is that rare fine actor who's also a class act as a person, so it's nice to see him score a big payday for the third film in a franchise that (I'm sure most, if not all, of us can agree on this) wouldn't have been such a huge success without him.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:56:37 PM

Well, that just looks awful. :(

(my avatar)
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:06:37 PM

what's the 2828 stands for?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:17:53 PM

Who gets taken this time? The dog? The daughter's virginity?

Perhaps the ghost of Victor Drazen will appear.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:38:44 PM

My date of birth, obviously: 2/8/28. :P
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:39:21 PM

you've never seen an ass like that before:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFf5K75UWjQ
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:46:43 PM

I guess a happy lion will have its tail up just like a happy domestic cat.

And yes, you're correct, I've never seen an ass like that before.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:54:12 PM

Man of Steel = big budget action movie. Nothing else.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:57:53 PM

And it's so damned easy to see how they assemble the scenes, too. Actual set with fake lighting/ind, and a really big greenscreen, upon which they composite a space battle.

And I love the one scene they stole straight from Avatar with the flying creature and how, like Sam W., Crowe clambers onto it only to fall right off the edge.
Rambo writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:58:51 PM

saw it mink?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:11:42 PM

Watching it now.

Babies in bubbles harvested by some weird looking biomech thing...The Matrix.

So far, not a very original film full of explosions, fighting, gun blasts and screaming.

Hopefully it gets better...
obmaR writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:12:56 PM

okay...please let me know your final verdict when you finish,I'll be watching it on the big screen on Thursday.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:14:26 PM

Jor El fall off tall thing only to be caught by his flying thing.

Never seen that one before...

...more explosions, more fighting, more laser blasts that miss their target.
kickit writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:15:36 PM

I personally liked Man of Steel a lot, but I think it was a good movie that could have been great with better character development/vision. I think with the set-up, villains, and angle they chose, there was a lot of potential. Zod's character especially had a lot of potential to be a lot deeper.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:19:16 PM

So far, worth the price of admission, but not better than Donner's opening. And I could have done without seeing Baby Superman's erect wang.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:43:26 PM

School buses move very slowly, not fast enough to blow a tire, lose control and slam through a bridge's concrete barricade, unless the driver is Dale Earnhardt.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:43:43 PM

Hey Minkowski, what's the name of the torrent that you're watching, if you don't mind saying?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:49:27 PM

Nice choice mark lol And I'm going to see World War Z now lol
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:51:32 PM

Yeah, I've got an avatar now, Tanman, so get off my case, you insensitive bastard, lol
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:52:45 PM

lol, what Supes did to the man's truck. hahahaha!

@MarK

Man of Steel 2013 CAM XviD MP3 MiLLENiUM

One the best cams I've ever seen, almost DVD quality.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:57:34 PM

This Lois Laneisn't nearly good or hot enough for the Man of Steel. Hell, she's not good enough for me. And what journalist/adult says "what if I need to tinkle?" lol.

Betcha they find Zod and Company just like they found Megatron: ensconced in millennia-old ice.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:01:45 PM

"what if I need to tinkle?"

Really?!??! Did she giggle like a schoolgirl when she said it?
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:03:04 PM

Thanks for the torrent, by the way.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:10:44 PM

You're welcome Mark. She also said "are we gonna compare d*cks now?"

Nothing turns me on like a woman who thinks she has a d*ck.


And a little disjointed. Maybe I missed something. Perhaps some scenes were dropped, but, Superman is like up in the Alaskan sea, right? And then he's stealing clothes from somewhere, and now he's in Antarctica. And so is Lois Lane.

Not a very organic film.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:13:18 PM

We laugh when a Harrier jet lasts a thousand years in Battlefield Earth, but no one says a word when an alien spaceship runs perfectly for twenty thousand years under the f*cking ice in the world's coldest clime.
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:19:07 PM

How's Perry White, who's now black like Barry White and not white like Jack Black?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:26:47 PM

Fishburne phones it in, as usual, Mark.

Some other questions: how is Jor El on a space ship 20k years old, even though Superman came to earth only 30 years previous? And how did Lois Lane know Kent didn't have a legitimate work history? And how is Superman the Last Son of Krypton if Kryptonians have been spreading across the stars for a 100k years? How did the planet's core explode again?

Damn you Goyer. Go write pornography.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:32:55 PM

So Kent runs into Lois on this spaceship and tells her his name, and now she's all over the globe hunting him down? How the hell does she even know he has a bullsh*t work history if he's working odd jobs? Because he filed with SSI? So how does he have a bullsh*t work history, and how the f*ck does she get the cash to romp all over the planet? And why would she have clearance to attend a military expedition to Antarctica? And if it the expedition wasn't military, why are American civilians being allowed to unearth a Soviet submarine?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:43:04 PM

@Mink: Now u know why I kept rolling my eyes when I saw MOS this weekend. Question: How do u hide the whole DNA of your race inside someone's body?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:47:14 PM

Dear Zod. What a contrived scene.

So there's this tornado out of nowhere, and they leave the dog behind inside the car, and instead of sending the Indestructible Man, Old Man Kent goes right into the tornado...and didn't the Kents get the memo? An overpass is a terrible place to go when there's a tornado. Guess it's better than hanging with the dog and Pa Kent.

And then Superman is telling Ma Kent "it's okay, it's okay" as cars fall on his adopted father, instead of going out there to help him, just because Pa raises his hand to wave Supes off. So he lets his father die to keep his identity safe, only to do the exact opposite before and after this scene? What a stupid sacrifice. And then Supes tells Lane "blah blah because my father said blah blah..."

A script written by morons, for morons. Should have let the damned dog die.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:50:36 PM

@Horrorjunkie:

"Question: How do u hide the whole DNA of your race inside someone's body?"

No f*cking clue, girl, especially when Superman was a natural birth and not genetically engineered....
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:52:05 PM

Fascinating. Zod appears right after Kent becomes Superman. What a coincidence!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:52:25 PM

@mink
I found it funny that Singer recently did an interview about when he did Superman Returns how no one liked the romanticism that he instilled in it and wanted a more action focused film. Yet if you look at the Superman films that have worked, that romanticism is the reason they were so good! Not just with Clark and Lois but also with the wonderous nature of the set pieces and the beautiful backgrounds as he flies. Those little things go a long way.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:54:15 PM

@mink
Amy Adams is a good actress...but she can't be Lois Lane. I gets old the when every woman these days is like invincible. Give me some damn emotional frailty for God's sake. These women are robots more than people anymore whether it's for bullsh*t feminist reasons or what but now they are all just ballbusters who ruin the film.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:55:06 PM

I liked MAN OF STEEL, but I did have problems with the script. And does anyone else think Snyder's direction of this, with all the hand-held, was bland? I thought he arrested his style, a visual aesthetic that I loved in 300 and WATCHMEN, and it was sorely needed in this film. The fight scenes looked fantastic, but save one or two other shots (when he's under water, and there's a flashback) it didn't look like a Zack Snyder film at all.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:56:38 PM

So now Zod is loose. Somehow. You'd think Kryptonians, you have been colonizing the galaxy ten times longer than human civilization has existed, could come up with effective imprisonment techniques. Even now, hardly anyone ever escapes from an American or Chinese prison...
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:59:17 PM

@Sleuth: my bet is people hated SR because it was boring, stupid and had a telekinetic child thrown in like a Poltergeist version of Season 7 of Married With Children. That and the "romanticism" was far too pervasive, maudlin and soap-operish.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:04:29 PM

So Adams is on the phone with Fishy and he tells her the FBI is on-site right at the time she just happens to look out of the window of a supposedly big building like The Daily Planet to see two more very-tardy FBI cars arriving. You know this because the letters FBI are three feet across in bright yellow on the agent's jackets. Then she somehow escapes the building only to run into some guys in a dark SUV stolen from 24. Like they can find her when she hits the street, but not while shes effectively trapped upstairs?

Riiiiiight.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:05:20 PM

@Sleuth. I know SUPERMAN RETURNS gets sh*t on a lot by everyone, but I liked it. If they could've combined the romanticism and, imo, more heart of that film with the f*cking awesome action and spectacle of this film, it would then be the perfect Superman movie. I'm not saying MOS didn't have a heart. I found the flashback scenes of young Clark growing up to be the strongest, most emotionally solid parts of the film. But the Lois/Supes didn't work well, and Amy Adams wasn't feisty enough for Lois. Lois, in justabout every incarnation, has always been a feisty personality. Adams was bland. But I blame Goyer's script for that. Adams had a very firecracker-type of charm in THE FIGHTER. Too bad it wasn't on display here.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:08:14 PM

Oh, I get it. Superman is Christ, Zod and his cohorts are Pontius Pilate and the Romans, and human beings are the Jews.

That's actually kind of clever.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:18:17 PM

Also, I thought the Krypton scenes at the beginning were great, but felt rushed. I know it's a 2 hr, 21 min. film, but damn, it seemed like they were in a rush to get that sh*t out of the way. Maybe a trademark Snyder slo-mo shot here and there would've come handy.

And when it was rumored that Snyder might direct a STAR WARS spin-off, I thought it was an awesome idea. His style in the SW universe was an intriguing prospect. After seeing his work on MAN OF STEEL, I'm glad it was only a rumor. I just don't understand why he was so boring visually with everything except the fight scenes. It does not look like a Snyder film.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:21:48 PM

@Horrorjunky: Zod says the entire genetic code or template of every Kryptonian is encoded within the codex located inside Kal-El's ship, the one they can't find, somehow.

And Zod explains that all of Krypton's "outposts" long since died, as if they wouldn't have already built entirely new worlds and bases throughout the galaxy. He also says him and his troops were freed from the Phantom Zone when Krypton exploded, because apparently Kryptonians never invented the battery...
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:25:54 PM

I don't understand. Krypton is nothing like Earth, and yet they want to create a new Krypton there. Why doesn't Zod just go find a more suitable world? He can travel the galaxy at will, right? And there's TONS of other planets, a fact even humans seem to now know, so why does he deliberately choose then to obliterate Earth and kill billions?

Zod reminds me of Nero. A villain so stupid and deranged his actions make him look more like a comedic buffoon than a proper, realistic antagonist.

Even Hitler chose to not destroy Paris...
donangel01 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:26:16 PM

how sad are you f*%#ing people that you are watching a movie and instead of enjoying it, you are on this stupid site talking about it like a play-by-play. unbelievable
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:26:22 PM

And what's with all the Christ stuff. I know Superman was inspired by many stories, including Biblical tales, but they were heavy-handed with that sh*t. Like when he's sitting in church, and Christ is in the window pane behind him. The absolute worst is when he's on Zod's ship and a hole is blown out in the ship. Crowe is preaching to him about saving Lois and the people of Earth, and Supes floats out of the ship into a "Christ on the Cross" pose. I wanted to punch someone at that scene. It was bad.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:27:44 PM

he, not him
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:31:30 PM

"how sad are you f*%#ing people that you are watching a movie and instead of enjoying it, you are on this stupid site talking about it like a play-by-play. unbelievable"


This is a movie website. I'm discussing a movie, which contradictory trolls such as yourself claim I never do.

If you don't like it, child fascist, then LEAVE.



And why does the one Kryptonian scientist have a German/Austrian accent? Direct reference to Nazis?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:33:32 PM

@Cress: I knew something was up very early in the film when I got a very distinct Roman vibe from the Kryptonian architecture.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:36:04 PM

I see. Jor-El's "essence" is encoded into Superman's command key. Interesting, I guess, but how does that work on technology twenty thousand years old?

You can't even find a record player these days.


These Kryptonians are some hard-core Luddites.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:40:05 PM

Where are you now in the film, Mink?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:46:39 PM

@Cress: The battle in Smallville, which is pretty thrilling, actually, but with the caveat of me not really understanding how, in a place so sparsely populated, Superman can hit every building in town.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:47:44 PM

Yeah, I understood about Jor-El's essence being encoded in the S key, but he tells Clark he designed that ship. How is that possible in a 20000 yr. old ship? I thought the ship was from an ancient Krypron outpost, but I swear Jor-Crowe says he designed the ship. Someone correct me if I'm wrong...
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:53:25 PM

lol. I guess Superman getting thrown and taking out an entire acre of corn stalks just wasn't that thrilling to the filmmakers.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:54:18 PM

@Cress: you're not wrong, unless Kryptonians are immortal or live a REALLY long time, but then if so, why does a mere knife take Jor-El's life, and why does Zod age, and why does Jor-El wait so long to have a child?

Anyway, some epic action going on now.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:56:19 PM

"lol. I guess Superman getting thrown and taking out an entire acre of corn stalks just wasn't that thrilling to the filmmakers."

And corn doesn't explode, either.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:58:49 PM

Splosions. Must. Have. Splosions.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:58:53 PM

@Horrorjunky: okay, so now the Nazi doctor is telling Zod Superman has the Codex inside his cells, so you were right.

@Cress: yeah I must have missed the whole part where Jor-El put his essence inside the command key.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:06:11 PM

Uh oh. Zod is going full-Nero on Metropolis. Looks like the real estate values are going to take a hit.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:08:49 PM

So, is the ship his Fortress of Solitude in Goyer's version?
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:11:25 PM

That's what I'm thinking. And with what he has on hand, technology wise, he can rebuild whatever Kryptonian tech he wants or needs.

I do like the little floating robots which seem to have been appropriated from the comic books.
cress writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:11:52 PM

@Mink. The construction industry is is going to be booming in the aftermath.

Supes/Zod Fight: Metropolis' 9/11
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:23:10 PM

@Cress: lol, no sh*t. Some of that destruction footage was lifted directly from CNN.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:30:48 PM

Damn guys, I've only been gone 2 hours lol 50 Comments later, I'm done World War Z. Actually was pretty damn good, It'll easily become the top grossing Zombie film. I liked the plot, The acting, Makeup, And the ending. All in all a nice 9/10.

Couldn't find much wrong with it, It delivered what I wanted: A good Zombie flick with a good story and great acting. Not to mention good zombies.

I'll make a more thorough Review Later on
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:40:23 PM

So. The negatives. Zero character development on anyone other than Superman. Chaotic, choppy and disjointed editing. Sloppy script. Mostly average acting, with the exception of Michael Shannon who really gave it his all.

Positives. Intense action, exceptional visual effects, better than average action blockbuster score, although not nearly as rousing as the original, quick pacing for most of the film, and some heartwarming flashbacks, although I felt Costner and Lane were mostly wasted.

Maybe a 7 out of 10 if I'm being generous.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:36:23 PM

"Henry Cavill Says ‘Justice League’ Is Not ‘Around the Corner’"

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/henry-cavill-says-justice-league-not-around-corner-000217916.html
Donyae 420 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:37:40 PM

Thanks For The Link Mink,Watching It Right now!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 10:42:27 PM

Gone are they days of WP being updated by 8:30.
R.I.P WP!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 26th, 2013 at 3:41:30 AM

However would I get my movie news!?!???!?????
Mudders writes:
on June 26th, 2013 at 3:58:18 AM

a thread on taken...turns into a play by play of man of steel

hahaha awesome
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 26th, 2013 at 7:48:21 AM

TAKEN 3
neeson lets himself get taken to find out who is the leader of a kidnapping ring

maybe ?
bastardgoblinwolf writes:
on June 26th, 2013 at 10:28:50 PM

What if Liam Neeson gestión kidnapped tris time.
bastardgoblinwolf writes:
on June 26th, 2013 at 10:29:58 PM

Stupid auto correction

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved