WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Strong Rumored for Lex Luthor Role in "Man of Steel 2"?

Posted: June 25th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Strong Rumored for Lex Luthor Role in "Man of Steel 2"?Submit Comment
"Man of Steel" is already a big hit for Warner Bros, which is why the studio is moving forward with a sequel. The rumored plan is to have the second film in theaters by next year, which means that things will be moving at an accelerated pace.

ComicBookNews reached out to its DC Entertainment source and claims that "Man of Steel 2" will enter pre-production later this year and that director Zack Snyder wants Mark Strong to play the role of Lex Luthor, who was hinted at in the first movie.

Strong has already appeared in a DC superhero movie, playing Sinestro in "Green Lantern."

David Goyer is already working on the script for the sequel. And while Christopher Nolan is involved with overseeing the story, he won't be as involved as he was on "Man of Steel."

Source: CBN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 10:37:32 PM

not another lex luthor for f*ck sakes.that character has been done to death.

mark strongs a great acteur though
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 10:42:31 PM

Since all this guy does is play villains, which he is very good at, I say let him take a crack at ol' L.L.
Moose756 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 10:58:09 PM

He can't be lex do to that fact that he dies In every movie and they already done one villian lol. also Green lantern does not count due to him becoming bad at the end.
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:01:45 PM

Aside from my preferred choice of a younger Bruce Willis as lex, this is probably great casting. I really wished that sinestro had a bigger chance to shine in a green lantern sequel but if this is what we can get to have mark strong aboard in the DCCU then have at it. Though I wood love to see Jude law in this series. Or even guy Pearce. Pearce is a bad a$$!
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:10:05 PM

lol @ 'wood love'
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:12:42 PM

@professor

Jude Law was going to play General Zod when Bryan Singer was working on Man of Steel when it was still a followup to Superman Returns.
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:31:02 PM

@Deaft0ne

well that obviously fell through, but In a way thats kind of a good thing in my opinion, to me he isn't really General material, a soldier maybe but not a General. I really can picture him being as sinister and unforgiving as Lex but if I had to give him a different gig it would probably be BRAINIAC.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:35:16 PM

Dunno. Will they have enough time to build Lex up so as to be a big enough threat to Superman, or will they just introduce the character so they can use him more predominantly in the third?

As for Mark Strong, doesn't matter. One bald white guy looks like the next.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:42:38 PM

@Professor

Yeah, I mean Jude Law's voice does have a unique sound to it and I can imagine HEARING him as Zod, but part of that may just be because he is british like Terence Stamp. But Jude Law did not really look the part to me very much.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:51:12 PM

Sinestro! Lol
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:51:13 PM

Sinestro! Lol
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:55:35 PM

@Deaft0ne

if it came down to it, then id say throw him into an animated feature as Zod, cause i agree his voice has the quality, but I think what made Shannon a great choice is his stature and build, he polish, so hes not a small guy lol. But yea I wouldnt be mad if Strong got the gig. Just throw in some BRAINIAC or something else, Lex really is the strategist not the brute force.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:04:24 AM

@Professor

Yeah, Jude Law could be a good Zod in an animated version. As far as this MoS sequel goes, I hope Lex is not the primary focus. I would like to see a villain not used in a film before like Brainiac or Bizarro or even Doomsday. I presume that Darkseid would be saved for the JLA movie much like Thanos for The Avengers 3.
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:09:02 AM

@Deaft0ne

Absolutely, I'd like to see Lex play a role similar to ra's al ghul via batman begins, except that he is present throughout the film as opposed as a misdirection. But in the sense that he's really pulling the string the whole time but no one not even supes can prove it. If and when they use Doomsday Id like him to be a creature unleashed on the JLA via darkseid as a precursor to his own personal invasion, kind of as a way to test their metal so to speak. That would be the best way to kill two birds with one stone.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:20:31 AM

@Professor

Yeah and any buildup to the JLA movie will rest on Zack Snyder's shoulders towards the end of this sequel and then will have to logically be maintained in the actual JLA movie.

I don't think its the best idea to scrap already established versions of Batman and Green Lantern with rebooted versions just for the JLA movie.

This is why WB is having problems with their DC film universe, they either can't stop fiddling with it, or they are giving Goyer/Nolan/Snyder way too much creative control.

WB needs to draw a line and say:"Look, we own the rights to these damn characters and we want Bale as Batman and Ryan Reynolds as Green Lantern along with Cavill as Superman in the JLA movie. We will cast Wonder Woman, The Flash, and Aqua Man as needed."

By rebooting/recasting Batman&GL again, they are just going to confuse audiences that from a casual viewpoint would have expected to at least see Bale as Batman again.
rusty writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:23:00 AM

wheres doomsday? i want to see superman die
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:32:23 AM

@Deaft0ne

I 100% agree that WB has to get their Shizz together. For christ sakes it can't be that freaking hard, Honestly, if you let snyder have at JLA Id be cool with that. Give goyer a tune up, cause aside from TDK and BB his writing is subpar. I love nolan, his batman films changed the face of CBMs forever but I'd like him to take a back seat from now on. I know Im being selfish but I'd like to see a batman in a bat designed vehicle who is actually a detective and can stand up to the likes of Superman. However that being said I could live with bale coming back but it probably won't happen. As far as confusion goes I think general audiences will probably be ok. If chris evans can jump from being the human torch to Captain America, I trust audiences enough to go along with it. I would totally be down for a chris pine green lantern and a either a Karl Urban batman or even joel edgerton would be cool. But yea I think if we move on from the nolan trilogy it will actually be much better for us in the long run.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:43:32 AM

Cast an unknown for gods sake. Strong is always a villain. Good actor but cmon.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:02:03 AM

@Professor

Yeah and if Bale does not come back as Batman I could see someone like Matthew Fox as Bruce Wayne/Batman too. I just hope that in the JLA movie that he is already organically established as The Caped Crusader and they don't insert another origin story for the character.

He does not even have to be that drastically changed from Nolan's version. Just merge the characters so it works in the JLA universe.
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:09:18 AM

He could be a great lex, I can see that
mark2828 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:14:53 AM

Yeah, sure, why not? He was solid in the three films in which I saw him (John Carter, Sunshine, and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy).
ProfessorV531 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:29:02 AM

@deaft0ne

Yea definitely, I mean by the time JLA hits he should have an established rogues gallery and a few allies, and yea mathew is another great choice. Yea like I said I'm probably being a bit selfish but if I got anything close to the batman from the JL animated series I could be happy with that. What are your thoughts on a good flash?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:45:55 AM

@ProfessorV531

For whatever reason, I always felt as if Hayden Christensen would make a good Barry Allen/The Flash. Part of that may be because I enjoyed Jumper even though it was somewhat cheesy but the character was somewhat of a superhero and seemed to be somewhat inspired by The Flash.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:48:20 AM

lol, I said 'somewhat' 3 times in that last post. Getting tired. Have a good night everyone.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 2:19:10 AM

Damn! He's too bad ass for Lex. He plays an obvious villain. You need someone with a creepy but likable charm. Like Tom Cruise or Nic Cage or Liev Schreiber. hahaha! Strong was an awesome Sinestro doh.

I'm sure he'll be awesome as Lex but only if they stick to his darkness.
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 2:27:57 AM

Mark Strong would be perfect.But if he takes the role,that would mean Green Lanterns events won't be recognised in Man of Steel 2.Hope he gets the part
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 2:32:28 AM

Mark Strong would be perfect.But if he takes the role,that would mean Green Lanterns events won't be recognised in Man of Steel 2.Hope he gets the part
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:11:56 AM

love the strong but never been a fan of superman so dont really care
shakeelalani writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:21:52 AM

http://notrecently.tumblr.com/tagged/manofsteel I found a screenshot and wrote about this hint/easter egg from Man Of Steel, which is pretty good evidence of Lex Luthor appearing.
python6 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 4:37:49 AM

Moving to fast DC is gonna f up Superman again. And i feel that Lex should not be the main villain in Superman:The Man of Tomorrow.Build him up.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:07:01 AM

Strong is perfect for the role and You canīt tell the Superman story without getting around Lex.
But since he is not a supervillain, he should only have a supporting role - like the cancerman he should lurk in the shadow ( a puppeteer if you will)!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:21:35 AM

Don't f*ck with the baldies!
WallyDee writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:38:24 AM

''Christopher Nolan wont be as involved as he was on Man of steel''

Thats great news!!!!!!!!!!! I really didnt like ''Man of steel'' ive seen it twice already and i wanted to like it so bad!!! but i just dont...

It felt like i was watching a Chris Nolan film.
Dont get me wrong, i like his work i really do, but it just didnt belong in ''Man of steel'' if you ask me.

Im was glad when i heard a sequel was being made, may be a good chance for some redemption, and know with this news that chance is even bigger i think.
WallyDee writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:40:10 AM

Oh and i dont really care about the Mark Strong/Lex Luthor news.

Sorry for the misspells in my previous post.
WallyDee writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:43:43 AM

''Christopher Nolan wont be as involved as he was on Man of steel''

Thats great news!!!!!!!!!!! I really didnt like ''Man of steel'' ive seen it twice already and i wanted to like it so bad!!! but i just dont...

It felt like i was watching a Chris Nolan film.
Dont get me wrong, i like his work i really do, but it just didnt belong in ''Man of steel'' if you ask me.

Im was glad when i heard a sequel was being made, may be a good chance for some redemption, and know with this news that chance is even bigger i think.
WallyDee writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 6:44:26 AM

oops! sorry about that.
knight bitch writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:57:14 AM

Well as long as he kicks children's butt and throws them down tables like in kick ass count me in
knight bitch writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 7:57:14 AM

Well as long as he kicks children's butt and throws them down tables like in kick ass count me in
Mudders writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:52:26 AM

@mink

so verne troyer for lex luthor then lol
Bunny X writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 8:58:45 AM

The beauty of adding LL to the mix is that LL's character is a permanent fixture. Mark Strong would be perfect to play out Lex's brooding distain for Superman the figure and his deep seeded fear of Superman the alien. I think the direction MoS is going plays out perfectly for a Lex Luthor appearance. After all the chaos, damage, and death by these "aliens" (Supes included) Luthor can go on his crusade against them trying to raly the nation/world against Superman. This would prompt Superman to realize he needs help not only in protecting folks but in the we are not alone (heroes) department and goes looking for recruits.
I think adding Luthor to MoS sets them up perfectly to drive to a Justice League film.
donangel01 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:40:50 AM

if not Mark Strong, Luke Goss
Dre-EL writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:08:12 PM

They are gonna f*ck it up by rushing it?
jikae writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:14:39 PM

@shakee I guess you missed Superman being thrown through a Lexcorp gas-truck during the climactic fight at the end.

As for Mark Strong as LL, he's a great villian as demonstrated in Kick Ass as well as all the other films you guys have already listed. But @killerc*ck had the right idea. You want him lurking in the sequel like in Batman Begins. Problem is, it'll lead to bringing on Doomsday in the 3rd movie and you'll just get the TDKR comparisons.

I say, introduce Lex, but pick some other villian not shown in movies. Someone along the lines of Darkseid, which someone already mentioned.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved