WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Iconic Sci-Fi Author Richard Matheson Dead at 87

Posted: June 24th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Iconic Sci-Fi Author Richard Matheson Dead at 87Submit Comment
Richard Matheson, the author of classic sci-fi stories such as "I Am Legend," "The Incredible Shrinking Man," "Duel," "Real Steel," "What Dreams May Come," and "A Stir of Echoes," has passed away of natural causes at his home in Calabasas, California. He was 87 years old.

While many of his stories were turned into major Hollywood films, Matheson also worked in television, writing for series like "Star Trek," "Wanted Dead or Alive," "Combat!," "Kolchak: The Night Stalker" and "The Alfred Hitchcock Hour" -- but it was with his 16 episodes of "Twlight Zone" that he influenced a future generation of storytellers such as Stephen King, Anne Rice, Steve Niles and Seth Grahame Smith.

"Richard Matheson's ironic and iconic imagination created seminal science-fiction stories and gave me my first break when he wrote the short story and screenplay for 'Duel,'" Spielberg said in a statement. "His 'Twilight Zones' were among my favorites, and he recently worked with us on 'Real Steel.' For me, he is in the same category as Bradbury and Asimov."

Among "The Twilight Zone" episodes was the 1963 installment "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet" starring William Shatner.

"We were all with him when he passed," said Matheson Jr. "It was very peaceful. Even though we were sobbing, it was beautiful in its own way. He was a majestic talent and he was every bit as wonderful as a father, a friend and a husband."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 10:38:22 PM

RIP
Avirex writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:25:05 PM

He and Philip K. are definitely two of the most prolific and interesting writers of the genre.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:38:08 PM

Didn't see that one coming.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:39:19 PM

Should have been Harlan Ellison instead.
The Tall Man writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:41:53 PM

Love his "Zones". I think I'll flip on Netflix and watch some in addition to the Sy Fy 4th of July Twilight Zone marathon.

Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 11:47:27 PM

@mink

Yeah I always wondered why Harlan Ellison acts like such a f*cking *sshole. Every single time I see him being interviewed, he is either saying that he came up with every sci-fi idea first and everyone ripped him off, or he is saying everything sucks for whatever reason.

I don't know what's wrong with him, he's like an insane person.
minkowski writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:43:53 AM

@Deaft0ne: he's a bitter, over-compensating *sshole. He's five foot two, and he's been in a wheelchair since 1962 or so. That's enough to make any man hate himself.

My favorite HE quote:

"Now you see what happens when you speak to me nicely. You see what happens, how sweet I can be. But if you get on my wrong side, I know where you live. I will come to your house and I will nail your pet’s head to a coffee table."

Classic.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:45:37 AM

RIP.
Brody writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 12:59:30 AM

R.I.P. He is Legend!
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 1:15:58 AM

@mink

Yeah that Ellison is a real class act!

Ugh.
Džeko writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:27:19 AM

R.I.P
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 5:45:06 AM

Loved I am legend shame no adaptation could do it justice

RIP
RedAutumn47 writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 9:43:33 PM

Damn, what a shame. R.I.P Richard. I've always wanted to watch more of The Twilight Zone but i never had the time to. Does anybody have any great Twilight Zone episodes to recommend?

@Avirex
I agree. I've always loved Philip K. d*ck's work and loved most of his adaptations including Minority Report.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved