WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Monsters University" and "World War Z" are Box Office Hits, Paramount Announces "World War Z" Sequel

Posted: June 23rd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Monsters University" and "World War Z" are Box Office Hits, Paramount Announces "World War Z" SequelSubmit Comment
Pixar's "Monsters University," which is a prequel to "Monsters, Inc," took first place at the domestic box office with an impressive $82 million opening, earning the second best debut of any Pixar film, behind "Toy Story 3" ($110 million). The movie earned another $54.5 million overseas, for a global debut of $136 million.

"Monsters, Inc" was released in 2001 and grossed $62.5 million during its opening weekend. The movie went on to earn $562 million globally. And while "Monsters University" will easily surpass it, it has only a 77% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, compares to 96% for "Monsters, Inc."

Brad Pitt's zombie film "World War Z" took second place with $66 million, the highest debut for an original live-action film since "Avatar." It also marks the biggest opening for any Pitt movie, surpassing "Mr. and Mrs. Smith" ($50.3 million).

Internationally, "World War Z" earned another $45.8 million, for a global debut of $111.8 million. The movie, which has a 67% fresh rating, cost $190 million to make, but is on its way to becoming profitable.

Paramount Pictures seems to feel comfortable with the opening numbers, because the studio just announced that it's moving forward with a sequel, with Pitt expected to return. "World War Z" was initially envisioned as a trilogy, but those plans were scrapped when the project ran into trouble by going over budget and requiring massive re-shoots. But now those plans are back on. The studio, however, will take it one installment at a time.

Due to amazing performances of both "Monsters University" and "World War Z," "Man of Steel" fell to third place in its second weekend. The Superman film still grossed $41.2 million, bringing its worldwide total to almost $400 million.

Click here to read our "Monsters University" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 11:10:03 PM

So, what will they call the sequel to World War Z? And will there be a graphic novel tie-in?
minkowski writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 11:10:58 PM

Wonder if Man of Steel is even going to break the 800 mil mark...
mpiper821 writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 11:18:07 PM

The next one will be "The Zombie Survival Guide" set for a 2014 release and The Zombie Survival Guide: Recorded Attacks would follow after. Unless they completely change the title from the books.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 11:24:01 PM

So I guess Brad Pitt retiring from acting at age 50 is off for now.
Rambo writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:06:06 AM

never underestimate the power of pitt over women.
Rambo writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:12:42 AM

'North by northwest' - a bit overrated imo,I'll take 'Vertigo' over any other Hitchc*ck movie any day.Kim Novak was perfect.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:12:52 AM

Exacty^

Not only is he a great actor, But he's a ladies man. The ladies wanna watch him, Therfore he gets the big bucks and so do his movies.
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:19:54 AM

@mink call me crazy but I think man of steel will pass the 1billion mark
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:33:35 AM

I think Man of Steel will make about 750 million worldwide, but not a billion.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:33:56 AM

^^Not seeing it. Other markets haven't opened yet, true, so you may be right, but I have this feeling we're looking at 800-900 million mark.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:38:18 AM

"a bit overrated imo,I'll take 'Vertigo' over any other Hitchc*ck movie any day.Kim Novak was perfect"

No Hitchc*ck film is more over-rated than Psycho.

Haven't seen Vertigo. Yet.

Absolutely favorite AH film is Rear Window. Just f*cking fantastic.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:42:11 AM

"never underestimate the power of pitt over women."

From what I can tell, Pitt is pretty big overseas, more so than here, and the fact he doesn't do many films any more makes his lead in WWZ even more compelling (for some). Plus, zombies. Need I say more?

Not really thinking women, who would find Pitt at 50 attractive, would help this film much, as most of the female demo inside the US is probably under 30, which is an age bracket not exactly hot for teacher, I mean Pitt.
vincere01 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 12:57:33 AM

@mink. Pitt is so big oversees that some ad agency in australia paid his twin brother big bucks to make commercials playing off how he is the less successful twin. Crazy
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 1:04:02 AM

^^^This one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAyTES9gDAU
Dreamcast writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 1:15:42 AM

They need to stop announcing potential sequels after opening weekend results. Prometheus, Snow White and the Huntsmen, even last week's Man of Steel...all had good opening weekends, all cratered with weak word of mouth.

Opening weekend means nothing. It doesn't matter how many people you sucker into seeing it for the premiere...if they don't actually like the sh*t you're shoveling, they won't want seconds.
pornfly writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 2:06:30 AM

Crossing Lines
What did you think?
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 2:31:22 AM

I saw World War Z today. Decent flick with some great action sequences. Anti-climatic ending for sure. I'll give the sequel(s) a shot.

On the random Hitchc*ck comments: I agree with Mink - Rear Window is f*cking fantastic and by far my favorite Hitchc*ck movie. I thought Vertigo was a tiny bit overrated (although I've only seen it once and need to watch it again), but I prefer North By Northwest over it. Strangers on a Train & Dial M for Murder are great as well.

f*ck, now I miss Jimmy Stewart. I think I'll watch one of his movies again.
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 2:36:47 AM

@vincere - Had no idea Pitt had a younger brother.
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 2:39:09 AM

I've missed Jimmy Stewart for a long time now, and damned shame how Grace Kelly died (car accident). Even more curious is that Princess Diana attended Kelly's funeral.
pornfly writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 2:48:55 AM

Saw Mel Brooks talk about his dinner with Hitchc*ck regarding High Anxiety
http://www.bonappetit.com/blogsandforums/blogs/badaily/2013/05/mel-brooks-dunkin-donuts-coffee.html

Since nobody wants to talk about Crossing figgin Lines
pornfly writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:15:35 AM

friggin
f*ckin
muthaf*ckin
hellsingfan writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:26:08 AM

Ok firstly world war z is not an original film get it right and second how can anyone say psycho is overrated its the perfect film
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:35:51 AM

Yer Love Rear Window but favourite would have to be between Rope and Rebecca
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:40:10 AM

"how can anyone say psycho is overrated"

I apologize. I'll be sure to ask a Pokemon fan's opinion next time, okay?


"its the perfect film"

Well, that's the mass consensus opinion, but perhaps you should either tell us YOUR opinion, or say just why you think Psycho is "perfect".
Rambo writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:48:04 AM

most women are stupid and don't care that Brad Pitt is 50 years old,In their mind they still remember him young and just hearing the words Brad Pitt makes their vagina automatically wet.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:55:04 AM

Finally saw MOS and I can't see how people are saying this movie is great. It had some interesting fight scenes to be sure but there was never an explaination as to why there hadn't been a natural birth in centuries on Krypton. And why would Ma Kent ask her husband to go back to fetch the dog? If I had been her husband, I would have told her "f*ck the pooch! I'll buy you a gold one to replace the last one."
minkowski writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 3:59:14 AM

In a better world, Take Shelter would have made what Man of Steel is making.

Watching that now.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 4:08:42 AM

My favorite so far is Rear Window as well. It's so f*cking well done. North By Northwest is a classic too.

You guys thought you were gonna talk about Hitchc*ck without me!? Lol, How'do you guys like Bates Motel? Can't wait for season Two, It's a good show lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 4:14:07 AM

mpiper821- World War Z came out after Zombie Survival Guide, which hasn't actually got a linear story line at all it's literally just a guide. Not that they cared about the story of WWZ anyway when converting it to a film. Would have definitely worked better as a TV show focusing on different characters around the world each week.

One thing I forgot to mention about World War Z yesterday was the similarities to 28 days later. They rob a big shop for food and supplies, they stay with a family in a tower block, the Zombies are quicker than normal zombies, the army have a strong hold etc etc. Considering the difference in budgets I'd say 28 days later is a lot, lot better. Just shows that it's not all about explosions and CGI, it's about tension and good directing.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 8:39:35 AM

Agreed ^

Bunny X writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 9:46:09 AM

I'm sure some Hollywood dolt is saying they should make a sequel to Monsters University showing the characters lives in the workplace post College. And another Hollywood dolt thinks its a great idea

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved