WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"World War Z" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 22nd, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"World War Z" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After going over budget to over $200 million, re-shooting the entire ending, and the constant arguing between Brad Pitt and director Marc Forster, "World War Z" has somehow come together and is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "World War Z" has a 66% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that the story is sloppy, and even though the action sequences are great, it's obvious that only a fraction of the $200 million budget ended up on screen. At the same time, for every negative review, there are those who think that this is a true summer blockbuster and will leave you on the edge of your seat for the entire two hours.

"World War Z" is on track to gross $52 to $58 million at the domestic box office over the weekend. That's not enough to beat "Monsters University," but it may be good enough to push "Man of Steel" to third place.

Click here to read our "World War Z" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 9:55:26 AM

where the f*ck is the daily spider-man 2 update??? I need my fix!!!
Rambo writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 9:56:33 AM

or maybe there should be a 'Latest Spider-man 2 update - What did you think ? '
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 10:01:23 AM

lol rambo
WallyDee writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 10:54:30 AM

@Rambo

That cracked me up
j-man writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 11:16:45 AM

I love how the c*nt who runs this site thinks everbody automatically goes to watch a film a half an hour afters its released
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 11:31:20 AM

"World War Z" was probably the most "grounded" zombie film I've seen. Zombie films used to be straight horror. Then action/horror. Even comedy. This one has a little more drama to it. Still has some shocking moments, but taken a little more serious.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 11:40:12 AM

I didn't think it was too bad but I think Brad Pitt sleepwalked through this movie.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 1:47:58 PM

"I love how the c*nt who runs this site thinks everbody automatically goes to watch a film a half an hour afters its released"

You and me both. The f*cker posts questions on movies the next morning after they debut, like everyone rushes to see it its first day, instead of waiting for MONDAY, but Alex has to have article to drive that traffic...
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 1:48:51 PM

s
j-man writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 2:54:19 PM

Lol

Id say tomorrow 'pacific rim' what did you think? 2/1 favourite
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 3:02:03 PM

lol, or what Rambo said in his second comment.
[StuntMan_MiKe] writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 3:20:45 PM

I haven't seen it yet. Re-post this after the weekend is over. I'll try to go see the movie by then.
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 3:47:59 PM

I liked it. It was pretty f*cking tame, though. A zombie movie with no bite. I know the studio needed a PG-13 rating to help make back it's $200 million budget, but this is a genre that needs blood and guts. There was very littke of that. For example, Pitt field-dresses a gruesome wound, and not one drop of blood is shown, from what I remember. Most of the gory stuff takes place just off-screen, or is filmed in such a way that nothing is really shown. I would've liked more zombie close-ups as well. Call me a romantic, but I enjoy seeing what the FX crews can come up with in terms of rotting, disfigured faces. Very little that in this, a goddamn zombie film.

And I got a chuckle that Matthew Fox, Mr. LOST, is in only one scene. Someone correct me if I'm wrong about that. Damn, son.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 3:54:51 PM

My question for people that have seen both is what is worth me seeing in the pictures tomorrow. Man of Steel or this? I should add that I'm getting the tickets for free so it's only my precious time that I'll be wasting...
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 4:00:38 PM

Sorry.. I accidentally hit 'Submit' too soon.

It did have some tense moments, but wasn't scary at all. It's a serviceable contagion thriller that kept me interested throughout. But it's very forgettable. There is not one centerpiece scene that will have people talking around the watercooler the next day. Also, the end sequence at tge W.H.O. was a bit anti-climatic and needed more tension, imo. Marc Forester didn't impress me at all. He's a pain-by-the-numbers director with zero visual flair.

Not a bad flick at all, but not a great one either.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 4:34:46 PM

"a pain-by-the-numbers director"

Perfect grammatical faux pas unintentionally describing Michael Bay et al.

I'll certainly use this one in the future....
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 4:43:00 PM

^^^oops..my bad
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 4:46:00 PM

No, no, beautiful tiny mistake. Pain-by-the-numbers. And it's all mine now. Bawahahahahaha!
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 4:48:27 PM

@Cinemaisdead. Definitely see MAN OF STEEL. It's not perfect by any means, and I'm still trying to figure out exactly what my main criticisms of it are, but I enjoyed it. The Superman/Zod/Kryptonians fight scenes are a thing of beauty.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 4:52:27 PM

cress- Cheers mate I'll have to give it a go. Mainly because World War Z is a good book and I'm not up for getting angry about how they've Hollywoodified the sh*t out of it. I have no attachment to Superman in any sense, so expectations will be set at zero.
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 7:39:15 PM

I saw MAN OF STEEL yesterday. I guess I'll wait till the box office report tomorrow night to ask others here about some criticisms I had of the film. If I go off topic in this thread, my comment will probably be yanked. I did that with a mini-STAR TREK reaction in an unrelated thread, and it was quickly pulled.
boogiel writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 7:56:29 PM

World War Z is how resident evil is supposed to be, especially the scene in WHO clinic.
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 8:11:43 PM

@boogiel. Didn't you think it was a bit anti-climatic, though? Sure, I was glad they slowed it down a bit, but it had very minimal tension to be film's big send-off. I blame Forester for that. He didn't do enough to generate any palpable sense of fear or terror with his direction.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 8:59:02 PM

Saw this movie on the 19th & thought it was pretty good. My only problem was was some of the plot holes. For example: if the zombies are attracted to noise, then why didn't they follow the helicopter when it was outside of the city? Why were they only attracted to the human's singing? And since when was it easy to bust into a soda machine? Wish they had shown how it was done as I'd like to get some free sodas from the cafeteria.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 8:59:02 PM

Saw this movie on the 19th & thought it was pretty good. My only problem was was some of the plot holes. For example: if the zombies are attracted to noise, then why didn't they follow the helicopter when it was outside of the city? Why were they only attracted to the human's singing? And since when was it easy to bust into a soda machine? Wish they had shown how it was done as I'd like to get some free sodas from the cafeteria.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 9:00:20 PM

Sorry for the double post. (Stupid Nook!)
cress writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 9:09:07 PM

And why can't these dipsh*ts be more careful when they're trying to not make noise? Kick a soda can, step on some glass...doesn't anyone look where they're going anymore? Good thing there wasn't a hole in the f*cking floor, cause they would've gone right through it.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 10:05:39 PM

^ Truth!!
JonDrama writes:
on June 22nd, 2013 at 10:27:18 PM

Pretty good film, thrilling, shocking (in parts), extremely fast-moving but very anti-climatic. Basically, only the premise of the book and some minor nods are what made it to screen. Pitt is good. CGI 'Zack' are surprisingly effective. The scene on the jet is a stand out as is the first 15 minutes. I'd rate it 8/10 and I'll definitely see the sequel(s)
holtlt writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 2:27:58 AM

It was good, pretty claustrophobic, even if it focused on a worldwide scale. It is one of the most "serious" zombie movies I've seen that it feels quite believable thanks to the nation crumbling element.

The only thing I didn't liked was the 3rd segment, the one with the W.H.O clinic. I laughed a few times, which is not what it should've provoked me.
Dreamcast writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 6:09:13 AM

Yet another movie where the behind-the-scenes problems are more interesting than the actual movie itself...
defiant1 writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 7:06:38 AM

I read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it. So I was pretty psyched when I heard about the movie, even though I heard Pitt was in it. Saw the movie opening day. It was good, but it was a very watered down zombie flick. It was more about spreading the disease than actually eating the living. No blood, no guts. Not really all that scary. I think the infected were more like "28 Days Later" than any zombie I've ever seen. How many of you laughed when the doctor tripped and shot himself in the head? I did enjoy the movie, but it wasn't great. Anybody who's looking for real zombie action, just pop in your "Walking Dead" dvds.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 8:20:25 AM

Wow, all these positive WP posts and Putzman's negative 5/10 "review" may have inspired me to see this today. I had all but written it off. I haven't seen two good films in a row all year. Maybe this will break the drought after seeing (and loving) Man of Steal last weekend.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on June 23rd, 2013 at 11:52:56 AM

I heard it was really bad so had low expectations so thats probly why I enjoyed it still would have been nice for a better storyline than just brad pitt travels the globe watching zombies f*ck sh*t up
Cowman writes:
on June 24th, 2013 at 2:35:02 PM

I'm not sure why it's called World War Z because it is nothing like the book, but I did enjoy it. I'm glad a sequel is coming.
jikae writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 2:57:32 PM

World War Z was quite enjoyable. Off the top of my head, it's the best movie of the summer so far. Man of Steel, I mean Matrix Revolutions, was a bit of a downer for me. The complete act 3 was almost a direct rip-off of Matrix Revolutions-- and the graphics weren't THAT much better now.

With that said, World War Z, I believe took some of the best elements of the Walking Dead series and added it to this. It was probably the best zombie film I've seen in quite a while since the original Romero classics.

Wikipedia says that Act 3 in this film was re-written by at least 2 different writers, including Damon Lindeloff, you come to your own conclusions with that. *ahem* Prometheus *ahem*

If you want a fast paced, fun ride of a movie, you'll get that here. The action starts not even 5 minutes into the film and doesn't really let go until the end. Character development was solid, not great. In the end, it opens up to sequels, which they've already announced, so it's a good starter film.
jikae writes:
on June 25th, 2013 at 3:00:24 PM

Oh, and the Underworld Bill Nighy zombie at the end really distracted from the weight of the scene towards the end.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved