WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dwayne Johnson and Liam Hemsworth's "Empire State" Going Straight to Video

Posted: June 20th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dwayne Johnson and Liam HemsworthSubmit Comment
Once in a while, Hollywood's top actors team up for movie that ends up going straight to video or at best gets a very limited theatrical release.

This happened before with "The Son of No One," which starred Al Pacino and Channing Tatum. It was written and directed by Dito Montiel (Fighting, A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints), who is now back with "Empire State," once again securing top actors like Dwayne Johnson and Liam Hemsworth (Hunger Games). Unfortunately, Lionsgate is not very happy with the result, deciding to skip the theaters and dump it straight to video on September 3rd.

"Empire State" focuses on two childhood friends who plan to rob an armored car depository, and the NYPD officer who stands in their way. It co-stars Emma Roberts, Nikki Reed, James Ransone and Michael Angarano.

Source: TheFilmStage


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Fat Guy in a Little Coat writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:15:15 AM

Top....actors?
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:17:02 AM

A very loose definition of top actors indeed!
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:21:19 AM

I guess Lionsgate smelled what The Rock was cookin
Avirex writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:41:26 AM

I had no idea this thing even existed. Great marketing job guys.

After such a big year Dwayne has had he finishes it off with a straight to Walmart flick. I guesd he should be thankful his entire career didn't lean this way.
yoshi187 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:27:31 AM

A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints is great.

Fighting is not.

I'll avoid this til I hear anything decent.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:56:04 AM

Its Dwayne it could be worse. All of your movies could be going down the Van Damme route.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:01:53 AM

@alex

I remember seeing quite a lot of ads for The Son of No One on TV when it came out and it even played at the theater right near me that has only 6 auditoriums. I don't think the release was ***THAT*** limited.
Cannon writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:44:16 AM


The Rock has had such a prolific year on the big screen anyways, he figured on pulling a straight-to-video just to balance things out.

minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:20:11 PM

I hear Pacino and DeNiro want a piece of the action.
freebasedog writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:34:24 PM

I think they are simply bowing under the pressure of internet movie critic sensation Ben Kerzer who has declared that The Rock is already in too many movies this year.
P.S. @Deaftone Son of No One apparently played in 10 theatres for 2 weeks. http://boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=sonofnoone.htm
P.P.S. Fighting seemed like it was made by a retarded person.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 3:00:21 PM

someone has a bit of common sense
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 6:10:42 PM

@freebasedog

That's odd because I remember seeing the title on my theater's marquee for just 1 week and then it was gone. I never went to see it but it did play there.
BillyBunter writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:13:39 PM

The movie had a budget of $11 million, i think Lionsgate are more than fine of letting this one go straight to DVD. No point in spending more money on reshoots, marketing and editing. At that price they can let this one sink. Who knows they might recoup some cost through negotiated deals with Streaming services and overseas markets. The rock is becoming a fan favorite of the action genre.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved