WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Restaurant From "The Sopranos" Finale Crowded with James Gandolfini Fans

Posted: June 20th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Restaurant From "The Sopranos" Finale Crowded with James Gandolfini FansSubmit Comment
Yesterday we reported the sad news that "The Sopranos" star James Gandolfini passed away from a heart attack (which happened at his hotel) while on vacation with his sister and young son in Italy. The actor was only 51 years old.

Since then, almost all of Hollywood has been expressing its grief on Twitter, Facebook and official statements. HBO and movie studios are also shocked by the loss of Gandolfini.

To pay their respects, fans crowded into Holsten's, an ice cream store in Bloomfield, NJ that served as the diner setting for the final scene of "The Sopranos." The table that Gandolfini sat at during that scene remained empty. A reserved sign was put there in the actor's memory.

Holsten's Photos: (click to enlarge)


Source: NaughtyButNiceRob, Tumblr, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:11:49 AM

Most anticlimactic end to a series
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:36:18 AM

and by anticlimactic i mean sh*tty
supaflywill writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 7:49:05 AM

yeah i agree,
SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:08:58 AM

Not sure why but I got a little pissed off watching CNN's coverage of his death last night. He was definitely one of my favorite character actors, and I enjoyed almost every role he ever played (his part as The Machine in that sh*tty 8mm movie being the lone exception). So for some reason it bothered me when the Anderson Cooper show ended last night by showing the final diner scene from the Sopranos. I just found it ironic that in a day when you should remembering someone's life and accomplishments CNN chose to show the infamous "death" scene of his most iconic role. Maybe I was still a little thrown off by his sudden death, but I really thought that was in bad taste and somewhat too soon. It sure didn't help that following this the host of the next show (Erin Burnette TV's worst anchorbitch) immediately mispronounces "Tooni" Soprano in her opening sentence then proceeds to talk about how much she loved a show she obviously knew nothing about. CNN's just can't seem to do anything right anymore.

RIP James
Rambo writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:12:14 AM

f*ck the sopranos
boogiel writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:23:04 AM

They should play Journey's Don't stop believin'.
Stapes writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:28:14 AM

He didnt play machine, sac.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:51:34 AM

Bet that diner was glad for the businesses boost.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 9:25:21 AM

pornfly- If you didn't already know, he died at the end. I think that's about as climactic as you're gonna get...
angelus5621 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:05:10 AM

He didn't pay Machine in 8MM...
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:15:10 AM

@SAC

Chris Bauer played Machine in 8mm, not James Gandolfini. Gandolfini was Eddie Poole, the gross talent scout guy.

@cinemaisdead

How are you certain that Tony Soprano died in the series finale of The Sopranos. As Don't Stop Believin' is playing it just cuts to black with the family in the diner. Tony is still alive. It is left ambiguous if anything.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:15:50 AM

-.,+?
velocityknown writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:29:06 AM

@Deaftone

I agree, I don't think it's inappropriate to play. It's the most widely recognized scene from the most iconic role of his career and one of the most iconic roles of all time.

And I definitely wouldn't call the ending to The Sopranos sh*tty. People can't handle any ambiguity in this world, everything has to have so much finality to it. Do you really need to know if Tony lived or died? Does that change anything about the character that was portrayed for six seasons? Take the ending anyway you want, but I don't think it's sh*tty.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:35:37 AM

Deaft0ne- David Chase has openly discusses the ending and said that Tony is dead, the whole season builds up to that moment. The guy in the trench coat who goes to the bathroom is the same guy who shoots Silvio in the penultimate episode. Every time someone walks through the diner door you see Tonys POV right until his daughter is just outside then when she walks in its just a black screen showing that Tony got shot from behind by the guy in trench coat.

Interview: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/17/sopranos-david-chase_n_2317801.html
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:39:45 AM

No Country For Old Men-sh*tty ending
There Will Be Blood -sh*tty ending
jerkin off with no completion-sh*tty


pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:43:07 AM

Thx CINEMA
too bad now that Gandolfini is dead I'll never see the series again on Netflix

Stingy ass hbo
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:49:34 AM

Out of respect, Ian Mckellan has stopped performing The Gandolf-ini on his boyfriends

He will allow it to be performed on him though
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:52:50 AM

Interpretation, interpretation, interpretation...thats what Chase might have meant, but its not what he put on screen which for a TV show that protrayed drug use, f*cking, whacking, gratuitous nudity, and hard, real New York life of the foot soldier mafiosi...it just looks like, in a way, he pussied out at the last minute.

Now I know many could say Chase wanted to leave in a good ending with the family, but he could've still inserted a shotgun blast after the blackout or easter-egg like blast after the credits if he really wanted to protray Tony got killed...its only right, IMO
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:54:06 AM

^^ oops that was for Cinemaisdead.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:59:53 AM

Celluloid-

Yeah but that would have been too easy, Sopranos has never been one to spoon feed the audience. Even though the final season was probably the weakest of the lot it still respected the viewers intelligence and unlike too many other modern tv/films doesn't need to tell you exactly how it happened.

Even though it had as you mentioned drug use, f*cking, whacking, gratuitous nudity etc. it still used to look at the psychology behind choosing that path, family values were embedded in to the whole show and a lot of surreal dream sequences with hidden meanings. To hear the gun shot at the end would have been a cop out in itself. Like you said it's open to interpretation but Chases intended interpretation was that Tony died and that ultimately living a life of crime will always end badly.
leezy84 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:11:52 AM

Cinemaisdead......what are you talking about, they guy who whacked silvio was not in the diner, the guy who goes to the bathroom is not wearing a trench coat, you should look up trench coat while you are at it, and again there was no guy in the diner wearing a trench and where in that interview with David Chase does it say Tony got shot ?
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:12:23 AM

Fair enough Cinema... Cheers, mate.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:27:13 AM

leezy- Not trench coat sorry, I'm getting my facts mixed up with something else. The guy is called “Man in Member‘s Only Jacket” and he was the same guy that shot Tony in an earlier episode not Silvio. I should have really reread this before I started saying things as my memories obviously f*cked. But you can't really dispute that Tonys dead there's enough evidence other than the fact that the writer himself has said that he's dead.

Here's a site explaining it all: http://masterofsopranos.wordpress.com/the-sopranos-definitive-explanation-of-the-end/

David Chase heavily implied in a radio interview that he was dead. (We know he was shot because of the conversations that Tony has with Silvio and Bobby about not hearing the bullet when you get shot.)



SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:07:13 PM

Thx for the correction guys. That movie was so sh*tty I obviously have wiped most of it clean from my memory. Guess he never missed then.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:21:15 PM

@pornfly

TWBB doesn't have a sh*tty ending. In those final scenes Daniel Plainview effectively ends and ruins his entire life by his actions.

He obliterates his relationship with his adopted son by telling him he is not his real son. He then murders Eli Sunday in the mini bowling alley and proclaims "I'm finished!" Which indeed he is.

His butler obviously had to call the police because he is a witness to a homicide in the home.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:12:39 PM

It's a good thing he's dead then or there'd be no room for anyone else in the restaurant.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:14:53 PM

Wow, Sac didn't know James didn't play Machine in 8MM? I mean you can say you don't recall the movie in detail but how the f*ck do you forget the film's conclusion?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:37:36 PM

Lol by that point of the film everything was pretty pointless. That's easily one of the most forgettable films I've ever seen. We all can't be right every time like you Mink :-)
SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:40:36 PM

Can you think of any bad performances by Gandolfini?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:04:52 PM

Possibly in Terminal Velocity with Charlie Sheen, but that was just an overall terrible movie.
vincere01 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 4:15:44 PM

RDJ just signed on for avengers 2 and 3 people
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 4:21:48 PM

Yeah but no Iron Man 4.

MACHETE KILLS moved to Sin City 2 slot, Oct 4th

New X-Men:Days of Future Past images show a 70s era Wolverine

Poltergeist remake greenlighted
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 4:36:20 PM

The Rock may appear in Terminator 5
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 4:49:34 PM

DEAF
till i get a beer in me
I'll just say
feh
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 6:14:50 PM

I do agree that NCFOM had a dopey ending though, no one gaf about TLJ's old man dream
Also did Two-Face/The Terminator/Anton Chigurgh just morph into a f*ckin squirrel and escape through the motel vent? WTF?
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 8:34:23 PM

The Coen brothers stated something along the lines that they left the ending open because thats how life is
Unpredictable and left to chance

I havent read the book but it sounds like a copout to me
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:06:36 PM

"We all can't be right every time like you Mink"

True, true, SmackDaddy, but then I'm not the one who erroneously thought George Orwell was an American...
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:12:57 PM

"Also did Two-Face/The Terminator/Anton Chigurgh just morph into a f*ckin squirrel and escape through the motel vent? WTF?"

What? IIRC, Brolin's character was murdered outside the motel near the pool, so why would Chigurgh need to escape from inside the room?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:19:56 PM

I will NEVER understand why people didnt like the ending.. It's so f*cking well done its not even funny. You might have to do Research and or know how the camera angles work and what they mean.

It's absolutely f*cking brilliant. If you think otherwise, Google what the ending means and do some research. It's amazing man,.
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:46:15 PM

Ethan Coen says the ending is verbatim from the book

Nothing about camera angles

He also said to go watch Psycho already
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 10:46:26 PM

@mink

Brolin's body was found inside the room and he was on his back and then there is a shot with the small a/c vent unscrewed to imply that Anton somehow fit in there and crawled away through the vent system which is absurd unless he shrunk down to fit.

It makes him seem like some apparition and not a real person.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:21:47 PM

I'm watching the NCFOM ending again now and Brolin is dead inside the room as TLJ finds him. TLJ then goes back to the room at night and Anton is shown hiding in the closet (gay).

TLJ then sits on the bed and sees that the a/c vent was screwed open with the dime and they show the small opening and it dissolves to him at the old guy's trailer home.

It seems to leave it up in the air that Anton Chigurgh was still in the closet and TLJ left or Anton escaped through the vent and TLJ didn't see him.
pornfly writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:24:57 PM

Got my beer:

DEAF
Youre a goofball
Thats where Brolins ' character likes to stash his booty
XD
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 11:35:42 PM

@pornfly

But I thought he got it from the vent in an earlier scene lol
i124q writes:
on June 21st, 2013 at 3:36:26 AM

That end scene of The Sopranos is all from Tony's P.O.V. Apart from where they show The Man In Members Only Jacket(there's a couple of red herrings with other people coming into the diner). Tony watches the door for each member of his family coming in (he's not expecting someone to come in to kill him, so he takes no notice of these others walking in). The Man In Members Only Jacket goes to the bathroom (which we see, but Tony doesn't take much notice of), as Meadow arrives TMIMOJ comes up behind Tony and shoots him. It goes to a black screen because Tony never hears the shot, doesn't see it coming. We see it all happen from his POV. It's mentioned in several episodes before hand wioth Bobby giving him the AK47, that you don't hear it coming. You wouldn't if you'd been shot in the head.

So I agree with CINEMAISDEAD in his assessment of what happened.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved