WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sopranos" Star James Gandolfini Dead at 51

Posted: June 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sopranos" Star James Gandolfini Dead at 51Submit Comment
James Gandolfini, the actor best known for playing Tony Soprano in HBO's "The Sopranos," has died following a massive heart attack while on vacation in Rome, Italy. He was only 51 years old.

Gandolfini started his career on stage, but was then cast in "A Stranger Among Us." That resulted in roles in "True Romance," "Terminal Velocity," "Crimson Tide," "Get Shorty," and "Fallen." His big break came when HBO cast him as the lead in "The Sopranos," recently voted the best TV series of all time.

The actor won three Emmy Awards for the role of Tony Soprano. He most recently appeared in "Zero Dark Thirty," "The Incredible Burt Wonderstone" and "Killing Them Softly."

Gandolfini got married in 2008 and welcomed a new daughter last October. He also has a son with his ex-wife.

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:03:05 PM

RIP Jimmy
bandolero999 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:05:19 PM

gone to soon.but he didnt take care of himself.was overweight.very sad
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:06:10 PM

YOu would think having another kid would inspire him to change his lifestyle

But a great loss to the acting community none the less
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:07:28 PM

The real news is that I didnt hear about this from anywhere else first
KillerCOck writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:08:29 PM

I saw it on CNN
bandolero999 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:16:02 PM

true romance curse

chris penn
dennis hopper
james g
tony scott
Stapes writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:22:58 PM

Holy sh*t, bando, you might be on to something, pity it wasnt slater or arquette, j/k. RIP, Gandolfini, my heart hoes out to your family.
Stapes writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:23:40 PM

Goes, even.
RedAutumn47 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:27:01 PM

This is really heart breaking news. R.I.P James.
cress writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:27:26 PM

The last flick I saw him in was KILLING THEM SOFTLY, and he was f*cking excellent. Damn good actor...RIP.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:30:18 PM

Will never forget him in True romance, The Sopranos and Killing them softly- simply brilliant !
Rest in piece you brilliant bastard !!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:39:12 PM

I was just coming on here now to tell others about this, I'm surprised it was up this fast.

Man.. What a sad day, His portrayal of Tony Soprano is one of the single greatest characters portrayed of all time on Telivision. SOO Glad I watched the whole series last month before he died..

He's Truely going to be missed.. R.I.P James :(
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:42:51 PM

@cress

The original cut of Killing Them Softly is 2.5 hours long and Gandolfini had many more scenes he shot. Maybe now it will be released due to his passing. He was the best aspect of the film.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:46:55 PM

King of wiseguys !!!
Dirt writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:47:06 PM

LOL

'this is really heart breaking news' - RedAutumn47

'my heart goes out to your family' - Stapes
velocityknown writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:47:16 PM

"Too soon" will never begin to describe this. f*cking terrible.
velocityknown writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:50:13 PM

@Pornfly

Of course being overweight is never healthy, but damn. There are people older and fatter than him who are still alive (looking at you, George RR Martin).
donangel01 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:51:37 PM

Truly a sad day. I too last saw him in Killing them Softly, twice. I went to see it at the movies and then bought the Blu Ray for my Gangster collection, he was awesome in this movie. I always hoped that one day, they would make The Sopranos movie and that he would be so great in it that in would earn him an Oscar. I am a fan and he will be missed. R.I.P Tony
cress writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:57:07 PM

@DeaftOne. Yeah, I liked KILLING THEM SOFTLY, but it's a hard film to recommend to people. The things that stand out the most for me were Andrew Dominik's directing, which I thought was pretty creative, and the performances (Gandolfini, Liotta, Jenkins).
Stapes writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:57:18 PM

I see, dirt out to grab a few profile views. They say 1 in 25 people is a sociopath. Guess that's true. Must be in the genes, Australia being a former penal colony. Go f*ck a sheep, dirt.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 8:58:17 PM

What a waste of talent.

Shame he never got his protagonist role after the Sopranos...just got type cast as a 2nd rate character actor. His niche was always on the boob tube.

All the same, RIP.

cress writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:00:27 PM

LOL Stapes
Dirt writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:20:04 PM

Nawww Stapes.. Did someone hurt your feelings? Will you be ok mate?
LordDeathMan writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:28:24 PM

Really bummed out, had just recently finished the entire series of The Sopranos. Gandolini was a fine actor and delivered one of the greatest performances of all time as Tony Soprano. Sad we didn't get to see more from him.
Stapes writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:32:26 PM

Going to have to check out Killing Them Softly. And no, dirt, my feelings arent hurt, mate, as I'm sure pornfly can attest, we sailors have no trouble banging all your women while we're in port, now I understand why.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:39:45 PM

I wonder how long until Max starts making fun of his death.. Some of the users here love the attention of a death, Not pointing out anyone, Just saying.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:46:18 PM

Slim Whitman, James Gandolfini, who will be number 3?
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:48:18 PM

Genetics is a muthaf*cker
WallyDee writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:49:08 PM

To me without a doubt the best series of all time!
Amazing performance by him and the entire cast.
I've watched the entire Sopranos series 3 times from beginning to end, and it only got better after each viewing.

R.I.P Don Soprano
WallyDee writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:52:23 PM

I wanted to make a joke about an old article on this site, asking who would be the next celebrity death, but i couldnt bring myself to do it.
I have too much respect for this man.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 9:55:12 PM

Go with god tony soprano and rip
Avirex writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:13:58 PM

Only 51? I honestly thought he was older.
Dreamcast writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:18:16 PM

That's a goddamn shame. He was one of the great character actors.

And I really hope nobody reports this story using footage from The Sopranos of Tony having his panic attacks, that would be in poor taste...
BillyBunter writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:19:29 PM

The man should have taken care of himself he had it all, its very sad news he was a good actor RIP James.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:36:17 PM

He was fat, he smocked like a chimney and drank like a fish. He looked like death warmed over in Zero Dark Thirty, and if I had had the presence of mind to care, I would have called his death months ago.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:36:38 PM

smoked.
mrstretch writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:49:59 PM

The Sopranos is overrated and you reap what you sow. Should of not treated your body like sh*t. Damn shame.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:53:34 PM

The Sopranos is sh*t. Bunch of fake Italians swapping drugs and shooting each other.

American culture sucks.
WallyDee writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:09:08 AM

Man you guys are hard.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:21:11 AM

Only when I see Kate Upton.
boogiel writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:23:05 AM

Good lawd.....just as the abrupt cut-to-black ending in Sopranos. RIP Jimmy.
darthnoah writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:30:17 AM

RIP Jimmy.. I used to watch his movies just because he was in them. Even if it was a minor role. Gandolfini was a pleasure to watch. Catch In The Loop, to those who haven't. Actually bummed about this.
WallyDee writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:33:30 AM

@darthnoah

Same here, his role in ''True Romance'' was short, but his performance was great.
I bought that movie after i found out he was in it.
Rambo writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:35:37 AM

his best performance imo was in '8mm' being such a sleaze killer.never cared for 'the sopranos' as mink said,bunch of italians killing each other.

dead at 51 while kirk douglas who's almost twice his age still alive and kicking.
Brody writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:36:41 AM

RIP - you are legend! Very sad news, won't forget 8 years obsession with the most brilliant show.
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 1:58:08 AM

rip.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:15:11 AM

Mink of all the people whom I thought would appreciate The Sopranos.. You were number one, How you gonna let a Niggah down!

It's honestly so f*cking well written and acted. There's very few shows that even come close to what that show achieved. I might even go as far as saying groundbreaking. Phenomenal show, And I could have sworn it was a recommendation you have me once lol
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:41:12 AM

sad day :(

http://www.young-celebrities.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/young_james_gandolfini.png
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:45:27 AM

spooky and fcuking scary

at 4 min 19 sec

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_peSCECc4I
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:49:37 AM

in my opinion his best performances were..

1-THE SOPRANOS
2-THE LAST CASTLE
3-ROMANCE AND CIGARETTES
4-THE MEXICAN
5-TRUE ROMANCE
6-WELCOME TO THE RILEYS
7-KILLING THEM SOFTLY
8-WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE
9-ZERO DARK THIRTY
10-THE MAN WHO WASN'T THERE

page i created

https://www.facebook.com/pages/James-Gandolfini-RIP/211053509043309
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:54:36 AM

@ Rambo

if you like him in '8mm'
you might wanna search for this
really dark weird movie
he did with sean penn-- SHE'S SO LOVELY

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=211089275706399&set=a.211055395709787.1073741826.211053509043309&type=1&theater
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 3:01:47 AM

inside the actors studio
fascinating to
hear how he thought about acting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpRTIl9bHlk
Džeko writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 3:30:09 AM

R.I.P
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 4:21:40 AM

minkowski- If that's what you think The Sopranos is all about I don't believe you watched it lol.

This guy was fat but I've seen plenty of fat guys live longer. Truly an amazing actor, very powerful.
i124q writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 5:02:34 AM

A very fine character actor. I also echo everyone's thoughts that The Sopranos was one of the greatest TV shows ever written and superbly acted by Gandolfini.
donangel01 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 9:53:31 AM

@Mink

I agree with Tanman. The Sopranos is a great show.
"Sopranos is sh*t" "American culture sucks" ???
But YET YOU watch it and ALL OF IT and come to this stupid site and post the stupid comments that you do. Go back to your own country and watch whatever they show (which isn't in HD because they are behind in technology) there if you don't like it so much!
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 2:10:02 PM

Thanks buddy!
swoooop writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 5:32:39 PM

@mink
"American culture sucks"

American culture is all about making money. Making it big, the American dream, blablabla. That shines thru inn every product you guys make, with a few exceptions.
And those exceptions are what makes America great. But somebody is to stupid or greedy to figure that out.
Fibonacci writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 6:11:26 PM

His last film was Nicky Deuce on Nickelodeon. Sad one to finish on. Great actor, too soon...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved