WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Bioshock" Creator Hired to Write "Logan's Run" Remake

Posted: June 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Bioshock" Creator Hired to Write "LoganSubmit Comment
About three years ago, Ryan Gosling was set to star in the upcoming "Logan's Run" remake, which would re-team with his "Drive" director Nicolas Winding Refn. But then Gosling dropped out and Refn's involvement is unclear.

It turns out that Warner Bros isn't giving up on the project, because the studio just hired a writer to begin work on the script. That writer is Ken Levine, the creator of the "Bioshock" franchise, one of the most popular video games today.

"Logan's Run" is based on the 1967 novel by William F. Nolan that was adapted into the 1976 film starring Michael York. The story takes place in the future where people are executed upon reaching a certain age and those that seek to avoid their fate are deemed "Runners."

Click here to read more about "Logan's Run."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 6:50:15 AM

I saw Logan's Run few months ago and I found it very boring as it was very long and very slow, so I'm hoping this one will be more action based.
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 7:42:47 AM

Soo no MILFs then??
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 10:46:33 AM

It's a sad day when Hollywood has to hire game writers to script screenplays. A very sad day indeed.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 10:56:40 AM

A remake of Logan's Run already came out in October 2011 with Justin Timberlake and it was called In Time.

You snooze, you lose, HOLLYWOOD!
rabb1t34 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 10:56:50 AM

How is it a sad day? They are basically the same industry these days if you've actually played some of great games out there. Bioshock has an amazing story line and it is delivered very well in the game.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:22:34 AM

Yeah I have to agree with rabbit here, I don't even like FPS games but BioShock 1&2 are absolutely fascinating and very cinematic games.

The narrative is told through recordings you find and the big picture is formed by the end. All the recordings do comprise an actual screenplay and the story is very well-written. You do feel like a character going through an epic movie.

It sucks that the BioShock film is on hold now.
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:45:11 AM

Didn't they already remake this?
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:56:00 PM

If you people can't tell the difference between the time when John Steinbeck wrote Lifeboat and the day (now) when some video game writer scrips an unwanted remake to an overly long and boring film from decades ago, then I can't help a single one of you.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:21:14 PM

@mink

I don't give a sh*t about a Logan's Run remake because I never liked the original film that much. What I am saying is that BioShock has a very well-written narrative and is very impressive for an interactive game. If the same guy is writing this remake it might be decent but I won't go see it because that story just doesn't interest me but I hope others enjoy it.

I have read plenty of classics as well and I was not comparing BioShock to any of them.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:26:01 PM

And what I'm saying is there is no comparison to a guy like Steinbeck (and others) who wrote masterpieces and a guy you basically threw down some video game narrative and cut scenes. It's a low bar, but whatever, I don't give a sh*t because f we've fallen so low video games are now equivalent to masterful literature then f*ck culture up the ass with a blowtorch.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:26:31 PM

you = who.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:38:31 PM

@mink

I don't know if you have an XBOX 360 or a PS3, but if you were to actually play through the first BioShock then you would understand why it is such a unique experience and why it has a good story.

I think most stories in games are completely inane and I usually just skip the f*ck through any cutscenes because I don't care but BioShock is an entirely different animal.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:47:13 PM

If you say so.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 2:57:44 PM

I don't give a f*ck about this movie but Levine is a fantastic writer.
rabb1t34 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 3:37:15 PM

Now im not going to argue with you mink, but the way i see it, unless you are going to go out there and become the next Steinbeck, we're all going to have to sit back and take what hollywood gives us. To me this is a great oppurtunity for levine to break away from video games and show what he can bring to the big screen. Whether that works out for him or not remains to be seen. But if he can make a simple cut scene driven screen play(vg) into an engaging story, then maybe he can help hollywood pull its head out of its a## an inch at a time.
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 6:31:07 PM

BioShock has received universal acclaim.
Mainstream press reviews have praised the immersive qualities of the game and its political dimension.
The Boston Globe described it as "a beautiful, brutal, and disquieting computer game ... one of the best in years," and compared the game to Whittaker Chambers' 1957 riposte to Atlas Shrugged, Big Sister Is Watching You.

The Chicago Sun-Times review said "I never once thought anyone would be able to create an engaging and entertaining video game around the fiction and philosophy of Ayn Rand, but that is essentially what 2K Games has done ... the rare, mature video game that succeeds in making you think while you play".

The Los Angeles Times review concluded, "Sure, it's fun to play, looks spectacular and is easy to control. But it also does something no other game has done to date: It really makes you feel."[92]The New York Times reviewer described it as: "intelligent, gorgeous, occasionally frightening" and added, "Anchored by its provocative, morality-based story line, sumptuous art direction and superb voice acting, BioShock can also hold its head high among the best games ever made."

Ive only pasted reviews from non-video game sources
And Ive never played this game before but i know that when MINK explains something
the smarter more open minded people usually say something along the lines of
i'm gonna have to re-watch that, you've given me something to think about
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 6:34:37 PM

BTW this plot is as ridiculous as The Purge

BillyBunter writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:25:11 PM

Bioshock is a fantastic gaming experience, the art deco world under the sea with the twist at the end had me hooked. I don't think i have found or played a game as unique as Bioshock to date.
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 12:10:43 AM

lol, okay guys, okay, Levine is a *fantastic* writer because he made a video game I refused to even finish, but I'll take your word for it, okay? He's just AWESOME.

Now, that said, why the f*ck is he writing remake trash like Logan's Run? Shouldn't he be adding his stupendous talent to Star Wars or something? Huh? Why is such widely-accepted genius toiling on trash people aren't going to watch?

@pornfly: I read the reviews you posted, but I'll be damned if I read anything that said Levine's writing makes the game, and instead it seems people just think the game was well-made. Strange then no one hired the goon who wrote Half-Life 2, though, because that's one of the highest rated games of all time.

Whatever. Hollywood is dead.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved