WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder Explains Controversial "Man of Steel" Ending

Posted: June 19th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder Explains Controversial "Man of Steel" EndingSubmit Comment
General Zod proved to be a powerful foe in "Man of Steel." So powerful that Superman was forced to do something that many fans are now complaining about. But according to director Zack Snyder, it was important for that scene to happen.


In the scene, Zod unleashed his heat vision while Superman placed him in a choke hold. After a long battle, Superman realized that he can do very little to stop Zod. But when Zod targeted a family with his heat vision, Superman was forced to summon all his strength and break Zod's neck. But doesn't Superman have a rule not to kill?

"David [S. Goyer], Chris [Nolan] and I had long talks about it, and I said that I really feel like we should kill Zod, and that Superman should kill him," said Snyder. "The 'Why?' of it for me was that if was truly an origin story, his aversion to killing is unexplained. I wanted to create a scenario where Superman, either he's going to see [Metropolis' citizens] chopped in half, or he's gotta do what he's gotta do."

Source: The Playlist

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 71 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:24:18 PM

Makes sense, but he didn't have to force the hand like that...why not setup a plot device in which Superman is able to recreate the phantom zone & trap them sending them off to the farthest reaches of space?

Also Snyder needed to take account that this movie would also be seen by kids. Yes, it has adult themes, but ultimately its based on a kids comic. I feel he could've handled differently and made it less sombre/ morbid than just killing off Zod. Plus of he kept him trapped, Snyder could bring back Zod if the future stories needed him to.

Guess 300 & Watchmen really f*cked with Snyder's head.
Donyae 420 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:30:57 PM

Perfect Ending To A Badass Movie.It Would Have Been Impossible To Let Him Live Knowing He Won't Stop Killing And With All The Lives He Already Had taken.
LeeMaca writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:33:46 PM

could he maybe explain some of the worst cinematography i've ever seen? the shaky cam was so distracting at points it pulled me out of the film.
Cannon writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:34:34 PM

I didn't realize it was "controversial". I also don't give a damn either way since the whole movie was joyless, overcooked and obnoxiously filmed bullsh*t from start to finish (though still better than Into Darkness)

At this point, I'm actually looking forward to ANYTHING in its place. Even The Lone Ranger.

And I suspect The Wolverine will prove vastly more fun to watch as a superhero movie.

Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:37:43 PM

Pacific Rim will be the most fun movie this summer. IT'S GIANT f*ckING ROBOTS FIGHTING MONSTERS YAY!!
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:45:12 PM

I haven't seen Man of Steel yet. I downloaded a cam version, but I haven't gotten around to watching it yet.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:46:01 PM

"But doesn't Superman have a rule not to kill?"

No, idiot, that's Batman.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:48:12 PM

Of course, as I say that, I recall the lugubrious Justice League graphic novel wherein Wonder Woman kills this guy who had total control of Superman, only to have to listen to Superman and Batman upbraid her for taking the guy's life, even though there was absolutely no other way to save Superman and the world.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:50:53 PM

"Also Snyder needed to take account that this movie would also be seen by kids."

Man of Steel is rated Pg-13, CM, so that means contains themes and content that might not be appropriate for kids ages 13 to 18. SO the rating is spot on and the content is appropriate.

Also, Man of Steel had no trouble killing Doomsday. He had no trouble obliterating the Cyborg either.
pornfly writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:52:45 PM

DEAF beat me to it
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:55:18 PM

I think Superman's rule, outside the JLA comic book vehicle, is don't kill/destroy the villain unless there's no other way, so this ending isn't very controversial to me if Zod was unwilling to surrender.

Supes also wasted Brainiac IIRC.

I mean, what's Superman going to do if Mongul shows up ready to smash Earth into pulp? Ask him nicely to go back home, or fight him to the death is that's the only way to save the world?

Sounds like you're making a brouhaha out of nothing.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:00:38 PM

lol pornfly
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:01:03 PM

That ending was so poorly conceived. Like seriously everyone else in that scene knew to run to the left, but no, the ridiculously implausible script had to have a set-up for this where those four people decide to freeze for no reason and stay in the corner. He's Superman Nolan! He does the impossible. He isn't forced to make these choices. He finds another way always. That's why I knew I would despise this film. Nolan is all about realism and Superman is meant to defy all possibilities. I mean why couldn't Superman launch himself in the air with Zod in tow to avoid the laser from hitting those people?! How hard was that to figure out Nolan?!
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:03:24 PM

I want to see them cast Jennifer Lawrence to play Wonder Woman in the Justice League movie just to see Sleuth1989's reaction, lol
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:04:43 PM

Man of Steel is gonna give you a heart attack if you're not careful sleuth, lol.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:07:53 PM

LOL Please...that would mean Lawrence would have to not be a bitch for once in a movie. That would kill her if she had to be anything other than know-it-all, whiny teenager pretending to be a woman. By the way dude, no offense, but that's mine and Deaft0ne's thing and this was a cheap shot on your part. Just saying man but that was lame of you.

Well it's downright ridiculous. There were a thousand ways to end that movie and you do it in a way that completely lowers a super being down to the restraints of a regular person with a very poorly structured storyline.
boogiel writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:19:09 PM

Superman DOES kill. Look at what he did to Zod in Superman II. He even kill his own "self" in Superman III for f*ck sake.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:23:44 PM

In fairness in Superman II it is left ambiguous. I feel like, considering they were in the middle Kryptonian technology, that the abyss led them to the Phantom Zone and in Superman III it was just his dark side and it was more metaphysical. In both cases it is left ambiguous to what happened to them.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:28:07 PM


But also I see it as him not being Superman as long either and he decided to kill Zod then because if he didn't, what else would he have done after that?

Also sleuth, you have to remember that Superman indirectly killed Zod and Ursa and Non in Superman II as well. He took their powers away first by tricking them because he couldn't defeat them with their powers and once they fell down into the ice he left the Fortress of Solitude with Lois.

So he presumably leaves them for dead along with Lex Luthor who was stuck there.

In the Donner Cut, Superman blows up the Fortress of Solitude with his heat vision with Lex still in there! So he murders 4 people which is a lot worse than Superman snapping Zod's neck in Man of Steel.

I know the Donner cut has Superman flying around earth to make none of the events of the movie happen anyways so Lois won't know Clark is Superman but that's corny as f*ck.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:30:29 PM

Umm...dumb f*ck copy and paste Alex. Superman killed Zod in Superman II.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:38:05 PM

Okay man you don't get soemthing...he's a frikkin' alien with superpowers!!! He is allowed to do insanely unbelievable things. Dude figure that out will you please. You keep calling it corny. Lois and Clark makeout in front of everybody at the end of this movie and she is basically about to hop out of her clothes. Don't talk to me about corny. The production design for the "new" Krypton was overdone as well. I mean seriously you talk about caring about the development of Superman but you know sh*t about Superman to begin with! And the fact you call anything in the original corny bugs me because at least it was done in a plausible setting in that science fiction/borderline fantasy film. This one they lower him to an idiot. They guy wasn't stupid for crying out loud. So yes I am going to lose my mind when an ending that completely throws the book out the window to create a dramatic ending that doesn't make sense happening. The guy can lift buildings over his head...you mean to tell me who couldn't shoot up into the air with Zod?! Just stop man. You keep ripping on the old one but at least the old one doesn't take a cheap way out to make an easy ending. And nice try. I know for a fact that Lex got rescued in the Richard Donner Cut and, by the way, not everything needs to be shown to figure out. He's Superman. of course he didn't leave Lex in the Fortress. The director expects you to figure stuff out on your own and not waste five minutes watching Lex get arrested or sent in prison. And even if he did kill Zod in Superman II, it sure wasn't so blatant like in this new one that, again, lowers a super being down to the level of a mindless brute.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:39:11 PM

Sleuth: Well, "no offense" to you, but I think you're a bit thin-skinned, lol

For what it's worth, I didn't mean it as an insult at all, and I didn't realize that the whole "I hate Jennifer Lawrence" thing was supposed to be an inside joke between only you and Deaftone.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:39:18 PM

I think what people are forgetting is Man of Steel, the film, is a realistic rendering of what a Superman would do in a world closely approximating our own, and thus the rather idealistic and unrealistic settings typically found within DC's comic books, in which Superman often enjoys z contrived no-kill policy, aren't frequently and predictably realizable in a pragmatic and real-world milieu.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:40:37 PM

z=a, mark=Deaft0ne.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:42:17 PM

"either he's going to see [Metropolis' citizens] chopped in half, or he's gotta do what he's gotta do."

In other words, he's a high-functioning pragmatist instead of an impotent idealist.

Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:48:08 PM


If you actually read and comprehended my post correctly, I said that Superman flying around earth to rewind time and erase the events in the Donner cut was corny as f*ck because it was.

In Superman I it makes sense because he rewinds time to bring Lois Lane back because she died in the earthquake. In the Donner cut of II it's just retarded.

Also you don't know for a fact Lex Luthor was rescued because no such scene exists depicting that happening.

Gene Hackman only agreed to do the deplorable piece of sh*t Superman IV for money and money only, he has said so many times before. It was not for a love of the franchise and both him and Reeve hated making the movie.

So the Lex Luthor character is presumed dead in the Lester version of Superman II and blown up by Superman in the Donner Cut and the rewind time ending can go f*ck itself.

You lose this particular debate sleuth, sorry.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:51:00 PM

Impotent idealist. Good phrase. That's what Nolan turned Batman into with Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy.

If Man of Steel avoided doing that with the Superman character, then maybe there's some hope for the new Superman movie series after all. Like I said, I haven't watched my cam version yet, but I will when I get a chance.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:59:07 PM

"lowers a super being down to the level of a mindless brute."

I fail to see how Superman killing a nearly unstoppable villain reduces the Man of Steel to that of a "mindless brute", because if anything such a thoughtless beast wouldn't have the mind to make the decision to kill Zod or not, he'd just do it and be done and experience zero regrets.

Funny thing is, police are imbued with "superior" power, and yet they too often must exercise lethal force.

Superman is not God.
BlueMobius writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:02:55 AM

Why does his aversion to killing need to be explained? I've never had to kill someone nor have I been put in that position and I personally have an aversion to killing someone. Would I if I had to? Maybe. But I try my best not to be in that situation due to the aforementioned aversion. Seriously, Snyder, you killed a main villain that just as easily could have been thrown into the Phantom Zone. Not only that but you missed an opportunity to show that Superman is simply GOOD. Where is the harm in that? Why can't we have heroes who are simply heroic without their flaws? Batman can have flaws. Superman can be allowed to be a little above all that.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:03:21 AM

Also in Man of Steel, after Zod's terraforming gravity machine ships have presumably caused the deaths of thousands of people, I seriously doubt Superman should have that many qualms over killing the man that caused those mass civilian casualties.

Not a mindless brute.
mark2828 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:06:23 AM

Superman's "turning back time" attempt would've caused structures all across the planet to collapse, tsunamis would've occurred along every coast, people all around the Earth would've at the very least lost consciousness and probably puked on themselves... and oh yeah, then there's the little problem that the little stunt wouldn't have actually turned back time at all, lol

Sorry, my inner troll just escaped for a moment there. Actually, I enjoyed your debate, guys. :P
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:07:42 AM

Sherman did not kill Zod in II... There was a deleted scene where they were arrested...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:07:49 AM

It was a deleted scene in the Richard Donner Cut. And never assume such things. It was left open-ended if anything. I don't lose anything Deaft0ne. You aren't considering any possibilities other than your own. Granted I do the same thing, but calling the time traveling bit corny is silly when you consider the fact that it was a SUPERHERO movie.

Doesn't change the fact there were a couple ways he could have handled the situation and they chose the easy way out. Killing Zod was an easy plot device that kept the writers from having to come up with an ending that was more original then murdering the guy. I will keep saying it till it burns into everyone's heads here. HE COULD HAVE FLOWN UP WITH ZOD IN TOW.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:13:13 AM

Thank you!!! That was my argument with the Amazing Spider-Man reboot too. They turned a nice guy into a borderline autistic sociopath with a wannabe gangster complex. What happened to good people being heroes too? Why do they all have to be that way.

I overstepped. Just so far it's been me and Deaft0ne on that joke. Feel free to enter the arena. But yes you are correct...I would find Lawrence and break her if she dared touch a superhero film. She is good for too things. Being really skanky and really tough. Otherwise she is a useless spoiled rich girl from kentucky who has no grasp of character development. There...now you're caught up. Welcome to the club mark2828. LOL
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:18:00 AM

Why the hell did you bring up Superman IV? seriously you're just throwing sh*t out there. I know all about basically the whole cast hating the producers for replacing Donner after Superman I. That's why Kidder's role was basically turned into a cameo in Superman III and Brando's footage was removed from Superman II. And that time travel bit may have been corny but Donner had to work with basically 3/4 of a completed movie and he did a GREAT job with just that to make his version of Superman II. So what if the time travel bit was corny...again SUPERHERO movie. This is the character who used to be able to breathe in space before they gave him restrictions.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:18:23 AM


My apologies, I did just check the deleted scenes in the Donner Cut of II and Lex is taken away. But there is no scene of Zod, Non, and Ursa being taken away so that does make Superman a murderer in at least the Lester cut because they would have frozen to death since they were rendered human by losing their powers.

The time travel power is corny to be used twice. I think it is only used in The Donner Cut as an excuse to erase Lois's knowledge that Clark is Superman which is silly and is once again used in Superman Returns as a pointless plot device.
mark2828 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:18:33 AM

Sleuth: It's all good, man, I think your "I hate Jennifer Lawrence" thing is cool, it's like your trademark on here. See, my "Guess The Avatars" thing is sort of my attempt at a trademark, a gimmick, a shtick.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:22:01 AM


I mention Superman IV because in the absence of deleted scenes, Lex can be presumed dead at the end of II and is only alive again in IV because Hackman only came back for the paycheck. Of course he knew he shot a scene being taken away but in the 80s when they were out in theaters, audiences would either not know or just go along with it.
mark2828 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:23:48 AM

Guys, I believe that cruzcontrol made the best point of all: Sherman (Mr. Peabody's pet boy) very clearly did not kill Zod in Superman 2. Now I think we can ALL agree on that...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:25:29 AM

Actually hate to drive this home anymore but cruzcontrol even mentioned there is a deleted scene in Lester's version where Zod and his cronies are taken away. Sorry man. Nothing personal. I just have lived and breathed these movies since I was a kid.
kickit writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:26:34 AM

Some of you fanboys are ridiculous, if it's not panel for panel you're all butt hurt.
I thought it was a great ending, it set a more realistic tone and also really emphasized superman's conflicting loyalties to earth and krypton.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:28:12 AM

LOL Well I'd like to think my intelligence and fairly good amount of knowledge on films was my trademark with the Lawrence thing being a bonus trait but lately she has been a hot button for me. Frankly it's good therapy, as mink always tells me. Eventually I just won't care. Although it would help if people woke up and stopped thinking she's a good actress. It's like George Clooney. Guy is the same guy in every film and has gotten like three Oscar nominations for his work. It's like that to me. It's annoying and offends the artform of acting to me. I miss the early days of Sally Field and Charlize Theron who played imperfect women who actually get consequences and have to grow. Not just the same annoying, constant pain in the ass throughout the film.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:30:47 AM

Dude had no loyalties to Krypton! He even said to Zod "Krypton had its chance" to him before destroying the ship with all those baby capsules in them. And it's not that it's the panel for panel thing. The ending just seemed too set-up to me and didn't flow right. I mean this isn't Batman. Superman can fly or throw Zod. I mean two minutes before that scene he's punching Zod around the skies like a tennis ball. Why couldn't he have thrown Zod to the side or something? It just felt like a badly done ending.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:35:37 AM


cruzcontrol is wrong. There is no deleted scene on the Lester version of Zod, Non, and Ursa being taken away, not on either disc. It's not on The Donner Cut either. I have the Superman ultimate DVD collection in the metal tin and just checked it.
slevin27 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:41:03 AM

@sleuth1989 sorry to butt in but Jennifer Lawrence was in a superhero movie X-Men first class.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:43:06 AM

Oh wait it was the Richart Donner Cut version. Still, when Lex is arrested you can see them getting arrested as well.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:43:15 AM

No problem with it! Would've been nice to actually see his neck break doh.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:44:42 AM

Yeah, but she was a villain and I forgive it because you are made to start hating her anyway in that film by the end which works fine for me. I'm saying I don't want her playing a superhero.
slevin27 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:49:07 AM

@sleuth I got ya, misunderstood what was said, sorry.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:52:11 AM

It's cool man. Although she actually is not adhering to one of the things I think she is good at. Being skanky now that her character is basically nude and, assuming she can actually pull it off, really seductive. ASSUMING SHE CAN. She is no Rebecca Romijn and Romijn made that character seductive, clever, and mysterious. I don't see Lawrence duplicating that.
pornfly writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:55:39 AM

Watchin Side Effects right now
i like how Rooney Mara is fine with Channing Tatum in jail for four years
Then after having sex with him his first night out
she tries to kill herself XD

Im countin the hours till i watch Superman:Unbound after Craigy Ferg
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:56:16 AM


Yeah I saw them in the scene now but they are barely visible and they look like stand-ins. Non looks about the same height as Zod.

But this scene also creates another problem: the Arctic Patrol now knows where the Fortress of Solitude is and it's supposed to be a hidden location.

At the end of the scene Superman flies away with Lois leaving it intact and not blowing it up.

In the Donner cut the arrest scene is not there and he blows it up.

Which is it?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 12:59:35 AM

Superman: Unbound was fun to watch. I recommend it to any fan.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:00:55 AM

Well that's why it was a deleted scene. It was an option. You have to remember Donner got taken off the project before he could finish this stuff so it's not fair to be mad him but rather the idiot producers who took him out of the job, rumor is, as a scapegoat when dealing with Warner Bros.
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:10:03 AM

brian depalma --erotic thriller
noomi rapace ..Rachel McAdams


Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:10:40 AM

I do recall Reeve and Terence Stamp mentioning that they were having a lot of fun shooting the film when Donner was still shooting it but once Lester took over they were both very down about it and Margot Kidder was actually very vocal about it to the Salkinds that were producing and they apparently got very nasty with everyone and said something like "Mr. Lester is directing this f*cking movie now!,let's just all work to get it done!"

It was no longer a fun environment but more intimidating and stressful. There are a lot of stories about all the sh*t that went on.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:11:50 AM

my last comment is @sleuth
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 1:29:39 AM

Yeah that's why Kidder was pretty much removed from Superman III. Hackman's scenes weren't reshot and they had to use body doubles. Brando was just removed and recast. Reeves even talked about how, if Donner had done Superman IV, he would have made it a grand film. After the second one it almost came out saving money then doing it right which would lead to more money.
minkowski writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 2:54:37 AM

All this arguing over a fictional dude in plastic tights. I'd hate to have to sit around you guys for any length of time. I'd want to talk about the latest developments in quantum communication or something I read on Slashdot and you folks would be arguing over whether Superman or the Flash can sh*t faster.

Dear god. No wonder Triggax stays away. lol.

Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 4:17:40 AM

did he scream cuz he killed zod or cuz the family got burned?!
WV-Films writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 4:46:01 AM

I think it's pretty obvious that once Nolan saw the final cut of Man of Steel he decided not only to bow out of producing the next one, but also to omit this Superman from his Batman universe. And this whole "death at the end of the movie" convo was probably one of many where Nolan realized this movie would suck.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 4:47:25 AM

I personally think his explanation says it best. He doesn't like to kill but it's kill him or watch innocent people die. Simple as that lol
BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 5:43:40 AM

Only two good movies this year so far : Django and Man of steel but both are rated 10/10 in my book !!
The Master was the biggest disappointment of this year and was too friggin boring !
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 6:53:38 AM

^ yeah i was happy for Joaquin's return, and he did great playing that weirdo who drank photo lab chemicals but the movie was just bland. could've been aired on pbs if u take out the bad words
matternm58 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:39:52 AM

I looked at it as that was what the scream was for after he had killed Zod because it was like he had no choice because Zod would not stop til everyone on Earth was dead. But did Cal also see the damage done after that? Wouldn't mind a few second explanation of him helping rebuild and clean. Think it's safe to say that the damage done to the world was way more than the events of the Avengers in New York. I actually started getting annoyed saying, "Stop breaking sh*t, damn." lol. Great movie though will go see it again.
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 11:56:50 AM

I don't see any controversy. The only people saying that superman doesn't kill is people with a preconceived notion that he doesn't and also people just complaining about something. Which granted its rare but when the situation calls on it and it's his only choice he'll do it.
jatilq writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 5:11:52 PM

I feel it needed it. I been watching Arrow and the big difference between it and Smallville was this Superhero kills.

All the other movies the Hero kills and that's part of the reason Superman Returns was a joke. TV has changed and the violence in Christopher Reeves Superman would be unacceptable, but its strange.. "comic" without it.

I think the ending was perfect, because he to decide if he was the outsider/alien he grew up as or accept that he was human or had humanity.

Then again I could be full of sh*t. You cant have a Dark Knight Returns or Avengers with a p*ssy Superman.
nriq writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 4:12:07 AM

I donīt know if it has been addressed but Superman DID kill someone i the comic books... When John Byrne took the character under his wing, during the Supergirl saga, in an alternate universe, he killed Zod and his two Kryptonian companios, when Zod threatened to find a way to Supermanīs world (Our world) and Supes concluded that he could actually do it and the only way to prevent it was killing them... He used red kryptonite to do it... He later sufered some sever trauma and a double personality, but thatīs another story...
python6 writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 6:47:17 AM

Look hands down the movie was great.Way better then Superman return. The other Superman movies was made for a different time and era.
Just like the 1989 thru 1997 Batman movies.
Superman has never use his power to battle anyone before Zod. So yes he is new at this.
Yes he could have flew off with Zod but no matter where he went Zod would of kept on killing.Their only means to the Phantom zone was already gonna.Was super suppose to put Zod in time out while he talk to Lois about how they may be able to recreate another way to the Phantom Zone?
robbskittles writes:
on June 20th, 2013 at 6:46:02 PM

I thought the movie was awsome... I felt the way they told the story with flashbacks was just right. The action, the action, well after seeing the movie twice now i feel there was enough but i wanted more. I wanted more of the movie. The Ending was just right. Good all around movie. I really enjoyed it.
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 21st, 2013 at 9:30:31 AM

I actually liked the fact that he kills Zod.This was a whole different take on supes and I was impressed with the direction they took.So if that direction meant killing Zod,then so be it.Its no perfect movie but I think its the best Superman adaptation yet.'m still confused if the family did survive because I didn't see thm after he killed Zod.Somebody help me with that

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved