WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sin City 2" Delayed By Ten Months

Posted: June 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sin City 2" Delayed By Ten MonthsSubmit Comment
After endless years of delays, "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For" finally went into production in October of last year with plans of being released on October 4th, 2013. But now comes word that Dimension Films has decided to push the movie back all the way until August 22nd, 2014.

The sequel weaves together two of Frank Miller's classic stories with new tales in which the town's most hard boiled citizens cross paths with some of its more repulsive inhabitants.

The sequel focuses on Dwight (Josh Brolin), who is hunted down by the only woman he ever loved, Ava Lord (Eva Green), watching his life go straight to hell. The story takes place prior to "The Big Fat Kill" (featured in "Sin City") and explains how Dwight came to have a dramatically different face. The role was played by Clive Owen in the first movie.

Click here to read more about "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For."

Source: Dimension Films


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:09:46 AM

They probably ran out of money.
Rambo writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:36:31 AM

or got negative feedback and need some reshoots
Avirex writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:48:44 AM

It was rescheduled to add Channing Tatum.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:49:11 AM

Didn't see this coming at least they're finally making it
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:49:58 AM

^ you mean The Rock
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 8:16:45 AM

Why the delay, RR films all his sh*t in his backyard.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:57:16 AM

f*ck IT THEN!!! I no longer want to see this movie. I don't like being teased.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:19:08 AM

I'd like to know the reasoning behind this because the film is completed and there is not much competition in October.

Releasing this in August 2014 pufs this up against The Expendables 3 which is out August 15th. Possibly Clerks III, and who knows what else.

Stupid move, Dimension/RR.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:20:11 AM

puts*

Also Guardians of the Galaxy is on August 1st and it could be a sleeper hit as well.
vincere01 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:26:44 AM

Usually if a high profile movie gets delayed from fall to summer it denotes studio confidence that it has potential to be a blockbuster a la star trek 09 moving from december to may.

however they didnt move this to a prime aummer spot. They threw it at the ass end of summer where so so expensive movies go to die.

Id be willing to bet the studio has seen anrough cut of it already and hated it. It must be really bad. The only reason ti delay this movie 10 months and put it where they did shows that.

they want reshoots, renwrites and they are gonna try to squeak it out the week before summer ends to try to trick people into thinking its a blockbuster and make some quick money.

nice try. I blame robert rodriguez. I always knew he was a hack. Only reason he waited so long to do a sequel was because he knew he wouldnt make a good one. Frank miller, and luck made sin city good. And he tried to take the lions share of credit. Since then the curtain on his career has slowly been pulled back to show him for what he really is.

I hope studios finally wake up now and stop giving him money. Him and m night should go circle jerk til they d*cks rip off and die
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:51:09 AM

@vincere

RR is hardly as terrible as Shyamalan. RR's films are usually entertaining schlock. M. Night is just a boring and incompetent filmmaker.

They probably delayed this because it was too much for RR to have both this and MACHETE KILLS in post-production. Another article mentioned that more visual fx work needs to be done.

Remember that the first Sin City was good because of RR's directing. When Frank Miller directed The Spirit on his own in the visual style of Sin City, it was sh*t.
vincere01 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 12:39:12 PM

@deaft

were gonna have to agree to disagree on RR. He became extrememly overated after sin city. I honestly believe it was millers talent that made that movie what it was and that any competent director could have imitated the look of his comics with some accuracy. Its not that difficult to do black and white with some color here and there. Id day the cinematographer played a bigger part than RR.

The spirit only proved that miller is not a competent director on his own. RR movies just have no originality to them. He just skates by copying other artists ideas. He reminds me of the kid in school who just copied other kids answers in class and squeaked by the class with a d after sleeping all semester.

He has no consistency to speak of whatsoever. I just cant get behind the idea out there that RR is this big creative talent. When he can string together quality movies that have originality to them then ill lay off. Till then hes just a wannabe zack snyder to me
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 12:39:23 PM

RR is a lazy hack, as vincere said, tarantino and millers involvement in sin city was the only thing that made it decent.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 12:42:19 PM

Hahaha deaf I totally forgot about that terrible crow wannabe spirit! Thank god they swept that one under the rug
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 12:51:22 PM

Robocop 2 proved Frank Miller's place is in comic only long before The Spirit.
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:05:00 PM

The moment I realized RR was a hack was after watching the directors cut of Grindhouse. See the main difference I noticed between Tarantino and Rodriguez, and I mean other than one is a very talented and proven filmmaker, was work ethic. While Tarantino shot all of the scenes that he purposely removed from Deathproof in the theatrical release, Rodriguez was so f*cking lazy that he saw the intentional scene removal as a way of cutting a corner, so when the directors cuts were release, Planet Terror had absolutly no deleted scenes to include simply because Rodriguez's lazy ass didn't shoot anything extra. Plus Planet Terror is about the stupidest thing ever, only watchable due to good performances by good actors tricked into being in this stupid hack's movie because he's butt buddies with Tarantino, and a few decent practical FXs created by make up artists in the same boat as previously mentioned actors.

BJsforeveryone writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:05:31 PM

Why am I not surprised !!!
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:09:36 PM

@stapes

Tarantino only directed the one scene with Benicio Del Toro in the car with the bottle in his forehead. The special features show that is all he did. He was not a producer on the film nor did he direct any other parts.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:16:09 PM

Additionally, Frank Miller mostly has a directing credit on Sin City due to it mostly being a panel-by-panel adaptation of the comic. RR said that many times. Miller was not on set directing the performances of the actors.

This is why The Spirit was so awful because Miller is not a director. The movie bore no resemblance whatsoever to the original Will Eisner comic strip.
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:16:45 PM

As for the first Sin City, if I were to ask everyone on this thread what their favorite, or what they thought objectively speak from a technical perspect, what the best scene in Sin City is... I'll bet 9 out of 10 of you would say it was the car ride scene between Clive Owen and Benicio Del toro, and you know why that scene stands out from the rest of the movie? It's because Robert lazy hack Rodriguez didn't direct it! Quentin Tarantino did. Anyway, sorry for the rant, I just hate that hack.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:20:10 PM

Sorry, gun barrel in Toro's forehead. Haven't watched it in several years.
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:21:10 PM

I understand all of that, deaftone, and that's why I don't really give much of a sh*t about Sin City anymore, the casting was awful, the all cgi fx tack taken by Rodriguez doesn't look nearly as good as an actual film and actual cinematography would look. Now you see idiots like Rodriguez making themselves look like a horse's ass when they say "the only way we could have done an adaptation like sin city is with green screen digital work," bullsh*t, the only way a hack like YOU could have adapted sin city was with digital fx, Robert.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:24:13 PM

@stapes

It's a good scene but if no one told me QT directed it I would not say it's better than the rest of the entire film because that's ridiculous.

Marv's entire segment is the best one in the film and is usually cited by many others as being the best one. Dwight's segment is kinda sh*tty.
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:25:21 PM

Bottom line, the original Sin City is a piece of timely garbage that will be forgotten in the next decade or so and thankfull will have degraded to the point that is disappears entirely before someone comes up with the technology to make digitally stored media as long lasting as celluloid. I honestly could care less about Sin City 2 being delayed, a rental MAYBE if I'm really bored on that day, but nothing more.
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:27:09 PM

Dwight's segment is so sh*tty because it's the Big Fat Kill, which was an awful comic series to begin with, A Dame To Kill for adapted at the same time as Marv's story would have made more sense and would have been much better.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:29:01 PM

RR is certainly not my favorite director but I liked the Mariachi trilogy and Sin City and Planet Terror and Machete because like I said, they are just schlock/trash cinema and don't try to be anything else.

Also as a person, RR does not seem to be some *sshole or anything, his commentaries are good for the filmmaking process and he is very interactive with fans.
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:33:36 PM

fair enough, deaftone, and that's probably all true, however, I disagree with him being a talented filmmaker. He's just a lucky bastard who Tarantino was nice enough to hoist up on his shoulders, otherwise his career would have ended after Desperado. also a crap movie imo.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:40:12 PM

Yeah I suppose I liked Desperado because it was a blatant spaghetti western with Banderas. Once Upon A Time In Mexico was not as good because Depp was incredibly obnoxious in it and Banderas became a supporting character.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 2:01:39 PM

Bring back Willis!
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 2:59:44 PM

Sorry Stapes, I'm with Deaft0ne on this one. RR might be a lot of things but a hack he ain't.

Check out his CV...he's done some flicks for action as Mariachi Trilogy, horror with From Dusk Till Dawn, Comic book movie with Sin City, and even made a couple of kid movies (even did an original one with his son called The Adventures of Shark Boy and Lava Girl). The guy is prolific and sign of a good director...handles different genres with ease.

I think the topic has come up of why he always is working and it has been brought up this guy works on the cheap..he directs, edits, does the soundtrack to some, and has a quick turnaround which makes him profitable.

You have to understand what a maverick he is. He is always into something and is really hands on. For example, he is one of the few directors that will actually been known to shoot himself doing 10-15 min cooking recipes in almost each of his DVD/ Blu Ray movies where he goes step by step...who in HWood does that? He doesn't have to do it, but he does it because he likes doing it.

As for the news...meh. As long as he makes it, it's been years in gestation and at one point I thought it was never going to get done.

Now, if only he could do Deadpool. Think about it, he's the few ones that get the character and doesn't shy away from the violence...I submit Planet Terror/ Sin City as evidenc, your honor.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 3:17:21 PM

At Stapes:

Read his biography, bro. RR does a lot of unorthodox things. For example, he quit the Director's Guild for not letting him share directing credit with Frank Miller/ Q. Tarantino on Sin City. That cost him the director's seat on John Carter from Mars. Weird huh?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 3:28:08 PM

@vincere

Calling RR a wannabe Zack Snyder makes no f*cking sense whatsoever. RR directed his first major film in 1995 with Desperado and Zack Snyder's first film was the Dawn of the Dead remake in 2004.

RR was a filmmaker first and none of his work emulates any of Snyder's so I would like you to explain and justify this comparison.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 3:28:09 PM

@vincere

Calling RR a wannabe Zack Snyder makes no f*cking sense whatsoever. RR directed his first major film in 1995 with Desperado and Zack Snyder's first film was the Dawn of the Dead remake in 2004.

RR was a filmmaker first and none of his work emulates any of Snyder's so I would like you to explain and justify this comparison.
Kurskij writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 3:48:30 PM

@vincere

Rodriguez was a cinematographer on Sin City.

As others have said, he might shoot on a cheap, but a hack he ain't.

Desperado, Dusk, Machete - wonderful, trashy movies. And I enjoyed his part of Grindhouse far more than Quentin blowing one on girls feet and so-so dialogue. Car chase was masterful though.
vincere01 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 4:00:39 PM

@deaft

the snyder comparison is for his "style" over substance approach to directing. I just dont find his movies enjoyable
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 4:54:30 PM

I think Stapes means hack for making that Spy Kid garbage, probably forgetting that's how he gets his funding to do other films like Machete and whatnot. So maybe he's a whore, but in reality I would just says he's a business man used to quid pro quo.

As for the news, well if they need reshoots, that means they realized something wasn't right and decided to spend the cash to correct it. They could have gone ahead with 2013 release, but instead, they're willing to delay the film's release for hopefully a better product.

We'll see.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 4:59:22 PM

@vincere

So according to you, Michael Bay, Roland Emmerich, and Simon West are all 'Zack Snyder wannabes', not the other way around, as all of them were also directing films before Zack Snyder.

Got it! Thanks.
vincere01 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:49:54 PM

@deaft

not my intention at all my friend. I was only attempting to say his style over substance directing style is not good. And with all the posts about snyder on wp lately he was the first comparison to come to mind as to which I was able to tie in an insult with.

so it was actually meant as an insult to them both, and directors of theyre "type".

however I can see now what made you think that. So hope that clears up the intention of my rant
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:15:23 PM

Now that Mickey Rourke almost looks like Marv in real life I wonder if less makeup was needed this time?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved