WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Prometheus" Sequel Hires Writer

Posted: June 18th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Prometheus" Sequel Hires WriterSubmit Comment
While working on the first "Prometheus" film, Ridley Scott brought on Damon Lindelof ("Lost") to help figure out the story for the movie. Lindelof ended up completely re-writing the script and taking the "Alien" prequel in a completely new direction.

Scott and Lindelof worked out ideas for not only "Prometheus," but also it's follow-up. Unfortunately, Lindelof is too busy to return to write the actual script for "Prometheus 2."

Now comes word that Scott and 20th Century Fox have hired newcomer Jack Paglen to write the sequel. Paglen doesn't have much of a resume, but he recently wrote the script for the upcoming "Transcendence" sci-fi thriller, which will be directed by "The Dark Knight" cinematographer Wally Pfister, and stars Johnny Depp, Morgan Freeman and Cillian Murphy.

Noomi Rapace and Michael Fassbender are expected to return for "Prometheus 2," which will show us the planet of the engineers and introduce us to god. The original film was R-rated, but was still a success, grossing $403 million globally on a budget of $130 million.

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
supaflywill writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:13:56 AM

i enjoyed the first one but i knew there would be another one ....looking forward to the next instalment
WallyDee writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:32:05 AM

So looking forward to this one -_-
Rambo writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:32:07 AM

better hurry,Ridley Scott is not getting younger and who knows what will happen the next time he crosses a bridge?
Stapes writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 8:30:44 AM

Should have hired m night shyamalan.
Morbius writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 8:53:36 AM

For all its faults I really enjoyed Prometheus 1.
Much better than Alien 4, AVP 1 or 2 and on par with Predators (3).

So. There you go.
Dirt writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:20:20 AM

Such a f*cking boring film..
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:35:57 AM

I'm still so bloody frustrated by the 1st one that I'm not intending to watch it again anytime soon and just because of that I WILL download the 2nd one.

f*ck you Ridley and DO cross that f*cking bridge too.

Old Fart Wanker!
pornfly writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:36:30 AM

What a soup sandwich

Lindelof should finish the sh*t he started

He obviously doesnt care about this project anymore
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:14:49 AM

Wishing death upon Ridley Scott because you didn't like Prometheus and because he lost his brother to suicide is just a ghoulish and vile thing to say.

As for the article, I hope that this new writer will be able to craft a logical story for the sequel. One of the first scenes has to be Elizabeth and David's head finding elder Engineers so David can talk to one. If they meet the giant hulk ones then there is no sequel.
vincere01 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:18:04 AM

Well if lindelof is not involved maybe a more coherent plot and story can come about. I actually enjoyed the first one alot, so if the biggest complaint that its detractors had is no linger involved....then that should theoretically mean it will be an improvement right?
velocityknown writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:34:42 AM

It won't ever get made.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 11:44:00 AM

Prometheus just needed some common sense applied to the script.

Didn't realise it cost 130 million. A good price considering how impressive the visuals were.
velocityknown writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 12:12:38 PM

But it didn't even make its budget back domestically (126 million) and I don't care what anyone says, studios still place the highest value on domestic box office. Foreign stuff is good to have, but it's gotta be a hit at home first.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 2:03:12 PM

Can't wait..
DeVries writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 2:12:07 PM

Prometheus was nothing more than meh. Get your sh*t straight with this one.
CelluloidMan writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 3:05:24 PM

IDK, I think this needs to have some fresh blood on this. Maybe Scott needs to stand back and note what made the original and sequel so good for the fans and build on that...

As for Prometheus, it was as bit of a head scratcher, but really it didn't have be that way. Remember it was just about an alien...what's up with this "why-we're-here" crap. Too over my head about a action/ terror alien movie, IMO.

Good topic...wrong franchise.
Kurskij writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 3:33:10 PM

What Ricky said. Also Rambo.

There were some interesting concepts in Prometheus, and it looked terrific.

But, Ridley, if your pic doesn't have a three-part structure and leaves open ends - it doesn't mean it'll be a Blade Runner.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 4:37:31 PM

If only they had hired a writer for the first one.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:05:22 PM

"There were some interesting concepts in Prometheus, and it looked terrific."

It did look fantastic, I'll give you that much, but I feel greatly compelled to ask you for elaboration on these "interesting concepts", because everything in the film, concept-wise, made no sense, from the location of a moon of some planet located from a mere cave-wall marking to them somehow traveling trillions of miles with such magical ease, to biologists afraid of finding new life, to people taking off their helmets just because the air content seems "normal", forgetting a variety of immediately lethal pathogens may lurk in the supposedly breathable air undetected.

In fact, I've read comic books that made more sense than Prometheus, but the worst part is it calls itself science fiction, but then proceeds to unabashedly lumber towards its conclusion in the most unscientific of ways.

Probably one of the worst-written scripts for a big-budget film in a decade or more. Even beats out Matrix Revolutions for that title.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:09:42 PM

I'm slowly beginning to understand why do many people disliked the film. All you really need is a good explanation like the above, Rather than "Omg that movie made no sense! f*ck this movie, Blah blah"
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:11:06 PM

"I don't care what anyone says, studios still place the highest value on domestic box office. Foreign stuff is good to have, but it's gotta be a hit at home first"

Yeah, you may be right, V, but that's very quickly changing I'm afraid, and as the world grows smaller expect the US to matter less and less and less to Hollywood. And why not? Every other American industry long ago abandoned the US for higher profits, so why not Tinseltown?
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:28:38 PM

Well the good news is that this newbie writer Jack Paglen's script for this Transcendence movie was apparently strong enough to attract the A-list likes of Johnny Depp and Morgan Freeman (sorry Cillian Murphy fans, while a fine actor he's no A-lister). So maybe that bodes well for the chance that Paglen will actually produce a decent script for Prometheus 2.

But I don't know, the story so far for the Prometheus series is so f*cked up and nonsensical that I wonder if ANY writer can salvage it... call me a negative nancy but I'd bet probably not!

As for Lindelof... well his fans say he's so great at mystery like in the supposed golden age of Lost. So maybe he can tackle the live action Betty Boop film and explore the mystery of why a human woman apparently f*cks a dog, or whatever that black-furred bipedal creature is that's on those Betty Boop T-shirts with her.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:44:44 PM

Mark: the dog's name is Pudgy.
Kurskij writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:47:30 PM

"I feel greatly compelled to ask you for elaboration on these "interesting concepts"

Didn't mean the characters or their decisions.

But the way they made engineers look like greek/roman statues (David, Apollo etc.) was interesting in intself and etc.

We discussed those "concepts", which were many when it came out.

There were (are) seeds of ideas in those visuals. Sadly, by the end of that particular movie they all came to null.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:49:33 PM

Okay I never watched the Lost series, I confess, but here's my understanding of what happened with it. The height of Lindelof's critical and fan acclaim was at the beginning of the series when Lindelof's writing apparently created some intriguing mysteries and some cool atmosphere. However, Lindelof's critical and fan acclaim gradually decreased as the series went on because Lindelof's attempts at payoffs for the mysteries were unsatisfying due to being nonsensical and sometimes outright silly, thus pissing off critics and fans. (Again, that's just my understanding from what I've read about Lost, maybe someone who actually watched the series can set me straight.)

So in Prometheus (which I DID watch, btw), the same thing happened, basically. The previews showed a potentially intriguing mystery and some cool atmosphere. But when it all played out in the actual movie, the payoff again didn't make much sense and ended up pissing off a lot of critics and fans.

So I find it hard to see why anyone could have faith, at this point, that Lindelof will be able to deviate from this pattern with his next project (whatever it ends up being).
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 5:53:52 PM

lol @ Minkowski

Actually I got curious and looked it up on Wikipedia. Pudgy was the name of her actual pet dog (like Pluto is Mickey Mouse's pet dog). The bipedal creature's name is Bimbo, and look at this:

"He appeared in Fleischer cartoons from 1930 to 1933, when he was eliminated from Betty's series by the Production Code censorship laws, since a dog with a human girlfriend gave implications of bestiality."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bimbo_%28cartoon%29
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 6:11:50 PM

@Mark: all I saw with respect to the post in question was something about Betty Boop f*cking a dog, and the only dog I know of with respect to Boop is Pudgy.


"But the way they made engineers look like greek/roman statues (David, Apollo etc.) was interesting in intself and etc."

I didn't see it that way. In fact, I saw the original Engineers from Alien and Aliens as far more interesting as they seem to have possessed an elephantine face and an exoskeleton. Never mind the fact neither Apollo nor David are classically depicted as bald.

Instead, with Prometheus we got tall Mr. Cleans wearing suits made to ret-con with what we saw in the first two films, even though you can clearly see in those movies the aliens in question weren't wearing masks and bio-mechanical suits.

So I still fail to see anything within Prometheus that's even remotely thought-provoking or interesting, aside from the very well-done visuals and thus it is my opinion you're merely trying to add some kind of artistic and intellectual value to Prometheus' art direction the same way Ridley added such value to Blade Runner, and I'm just not seeing it, statuesque Engineers notwithstanding.
Rambo writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:18:25 PM

the best thing about Prometheus were it's trailers - probably the best trailers along with the star trek reboot in the last 3-4 years
velocityknown writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:32:29 PM

@Mink

There is a shift happening. As a result we now have big budget films trying to pander to foreign markets (Transformers 4 in China, Iron Man 3 having a Chinese cut with extra scenes, Die Hard 5 set in Russia). It's becoming quite grating.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:37:46 PM

Supaflywill: Gary Oldman from Leon the Professional

Stapes: the Superman symbol

Morbius: artwork of Boris Valejo

Dirt: don't know

M. Bullitt: Steve McQueen

Pornfly: one of the characters from those Puppet Master horror B-movies

Vincere01: scene from the Howard the Duck movie

VelocityKnown: don't know

RickyGabrielBird: Bill Hicks

TanMan: Mulder and Scully from X-Files

DeVries: Cthulu (not sure how to spell that)

Kurskij: one of the Pokemon? (just a guess)

BJsForEveryone (Iíll pass, btw): the alien from the Alien movies

Avirex: still donít know

PhoenixFire: the phoenix

Celluloid Man: celluloid

I skipped the others that I got in the past.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:46:24 PM

Rambo: For me, the best thing about the promotion of Prometheus was that "radio transmission" that went viral on YouTube before the release of the movie. The images that the voice-acting in those audio clips conjured up in my imagination were far more effective than what ended up in the actual scene in the film... one of the dumbest scenes I've seen in any recent movie considering the idiotic actions of the scene's characters, imo, lol.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:49:04 PM

Rambo: You should switch your avatar to a picture of Rocky just to mess with people's minds, lol.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 7:54:48 PM

World War Z Lacks Bite

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2013/06/18/review-world-war-z-lacks-bite/?partner=yahootix

World War Z is interesting idea hamstrung by a generic narrative format, with a leading man given nothing to do surrounded by characters too thin to resonate, along with a flurry of action beats too chaotically cut to follow and too emotionally hollow to care. The film fails as an action film, fails as a human drama, and barely masses muster as a spectacle. But even the filmís worthwhile technical credits are undone by choppy editing and a 3D conversion that robs the film of any visual splendor.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 8:37:50 PM

@mark2828

Did you already guess my avatar?

Also, I am watching Lord of War. What is everyone else watching?
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 8:51:48 PM

Deaftone: Yeah, I got it last time. It's the first photograph ever taken. And Minkowski's avatar is Herman Minkowski the German mathematician. Avirex had me stumped last time and still has me stumped now.
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:04:40 PM

^^I already told you Avirex's avatar! Homey the Clown, Keenan Ivory Wayans, In Living Color!



"What is everyone else watching?"

Season 2 of 24 and cmiVFX's Caustics in Houdini
minkowski writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:12:31 PM

Sorry. That was supposed to be heavily emphatic, not angry exclamatory, Mark.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:13:17 PM

cool to both^
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 9:41:15 PM

Thanks Minkowski, must've missed it the first time that you told me.

I'm on the third episode of the first season of House. A friend recommended the show to me because I like Sherlock Holmes... he said that the Dr. House character is very Sherlocky. Honestly, so far, the show is not doing anything for me. Probably not gonna continue watching the rest of the show... not my cup of tea.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:01:22 PM

@mark2828

I didn't watch House, M.D. much during its original run but I do watch it in repeats from time to time when nothing else is on and some episodes are not bad. Hugh Laurie can get annoying though.
mark2828 writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 10:14:17 PM

Deaftone: VERY annoying... and his character's quips aren't really all that funny.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 4:54:12 AM

Lol Mark, mines Sooooo easy, I haven't changed mine since the day I joined :P

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved