WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Did Superman Let So Many People Die in "Man of Steel"?

Posted: June 17th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Did Superman Let So Many People Die in "Man of Steel"?Submit Comment
Some of the scenes between Superman and General Zod in "Man of Steel" would have created billions of dollars in damage in real life. But movie-goers want to know about all the innocent lives lost. Why didn't Superman do more to save them? "Man of Steel" writer David Goyer has the answer.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Goyer said: "One of the things we were hoping to depict is that Superman is not a god. We say he's a god-like figure but he's not omnipotent. Even in the comic books he cannot save everyone. I think people die [in Metropolis]. Clearly hundreds if not thousands of people have died while the gravity machines are going off. There were probably even people who died in Smallville.

When you're dealing with a threat like this, there will be collateral damage. This is something that hadn't been depicted in comic book films, [but] is what it would be like if these powerful figures did clash, if The Hulk and Thor fought, people would probably die. Particularly in this case where Zod and the Kryptonians really don't care if people die. I think people died and I'm sure that upsets some people.
"

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 5:12:34 AM

THanks for the spoiler
Kurskij writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 5:34:03 AM

Goyer and his logic.

When Supes and Zod duke it out like there's no tomorrow - people die, and it's kinda bad, but it's alright. But when Zod goes berserk (*SPOILER*) on some cute lil family - suddenly that's too much.

nuttie30xx writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 5:42:42 AM

amazing film a must see for everyone best superman yet but it had to be with the cgi whats about nowadays

changed the story a bit too explains why he is the last son of krypton
Gates writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 6:01:05 AM

Alex, you do realize not everyone has seen "Man of Steel", right? Even something as broad as the article's title is a major spoiler.
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 6:20:30 AM

WP is the best place for spoilers. If Alex isn't doing it, It's some jackass doing in on an unrelated Thread.
pornfly writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 6:31:59 AM

Could have waited a week or two
Or just use some sense and preface the headline with
S P O I L E R

even a trailer for Bobcat Goldthwaits' found footage horror movie would have sufficed
http://badassdigest.com/2013/05/21/willow-creek-movie-review-a-found-footage-bigfoot-movie-that-gets-it-right/
WallyDee writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:26:34 AM

I'm so excited about seeing this movie, it comes out wednesday night here in Holland.

I havent seen any trailers except for the very first one, and i havent read anything about the movie so i have no idea what to expect when i see it!

The title of this article honestly just ruined it all a little bit.....

minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:37:23 AM

People not dying isn't realistic, and Nolan and company are nothing if not realistic, ergo, people had to die.

After all, that's what sells tickets, according to the guys at DC/WB who believe Nolan's realistic take on comic book movies is what made all that moolah.

Funny thing is, Nolan loves to give his films a realistic look and feel, but the details are always anything but.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 8:14:51 AM

What makes the level of death, destruction, and property damage in MOS any different than that in The Avengers (city destroyed), Transformers (cities destroyed, ancient ruins reduced to rubble, and thousands of soldiers killed over 4 films), or GI JOE (London blown the f*ck away)?
boogiel writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 8:42:00 AM

"Funny thing is, Nolan loves to give his films a realistic look and feel, but the details are always anything but."


@mink

Very well said, sir.


JonDrama writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 9:11:40 AM

Thanks for the spoiler, f*ckhead.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 9:12:51 AM

As a movie-goer, I'd like to know how the hell an advanced civilisation can't fly off a doomed planet. They had the spaceships.
kickit writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 9:15:56 AM

This site has turned into an absolute joke. Why would Alex post an article with any possible spoilers IN THE TITLE? Add that to the constant speculation-painted-as-news. At least Latino Review focuses on the news (even if they get it wrong half the time). Comingsoon.net makes this site look like a colorblind man with a rubix cube.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 9:18:13 AM

^ I wondered the same. They had a few weeks and Jor-el was the only one who knew? Wtf??
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 10:16:16 AM

No different from any other superhero movie once you think about it. This movie was awesome
velocityknown writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 10:28:44 AM

I was already angry about what a bad writer Goyer is and this has only increased it.

He's missing the f*cking point. Of course people die in movies like this, the only problem is, Man of Steel had this extra serious tone about it and got really serious when Superman killed Zod but failed to even acknowledge the horror that had befallen Metropolis!

So the main problem is you want us to care that Superman killed Zod (without even building up to that by the way), but then have Superman show no emotion or remorse for the damage he caused in his first day on the job? He took the initial fight with Zod from an open field to the main street in Smallville which drew attention that decimated the buildings on that street with people in them!

Superman and Lois make out in the middle of this destruction and Lois delivers a one f*cking liner?? Then after all of this Superman goes home to tell his mom he got a job??? The point isn't that you killed these people Goyer, it's that you refused to acknowledge that it happened.

The reason people don't care with movies like The Avengers, Transformers, Fast and Furious, or GI Joe is because those movies don't have their characters whining or killing one evil person and then no emotion over causing the deaths of thousands of innocent people. They also don't try to cover themselves with the ultra serious tone that Man of Steel came with so they can get away with things like that.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 10:54:06 AM

@velocityknown

Agree. A shot of Superman helping to clean the city or rescue trapped civilians after the devastation would have gone a long way to showing the type of character he is. As well as establishing himself as an ally to the people and government.
pornfly writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 10:56:10 AM

Why did Darth Vader cut off his sons hand?

Why was Bruce Willis a ghost through the whole movie?

Why was the Delorian destroyed by a train?

Where did Batmans ex-fiance train to be The Phantasm?

Why is Santa Claus not real?

minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 11:06:55 AM

From what I can tell, this new Superman is a real self-centered prick.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 11:12:24 AM

BTW, I find it quite amusing I pointed out months ago, after we saw the first trailer or so, Superman using other people's homes and work places for weapons, which for me at the time seemed to draw a very poor light on his characterization, only to hear from the usual peanut gallery how I was wrong and stupid for thinking such an erroneous thought.

The yolks on you, f*ckers.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 11:22:43 AM

Nice title, Alex -- f*ckin *sshole. Last time I come back to this site.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 11:37:51 AM

It is colossally f*cking stupid for alex to post this spoiler headline. The movie just came out Friday and not everyone has seen it yet you turd.
hellsingfan writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 12:33:44 PM

mink you do realise no one gives a damn what you think so go and watch your kiddie films while the grown up's talk
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 12:39:38 PM

lol, you're a funny troll, hellsingfan, with your cartoon moniker and your big talk in a thread on an article about a f*cking live-action cartoon made for children who never grew up. lol.

I recently watched Apocalypse Now and Lifeboat, you've watched Man of Steel. Which one of us is the f*cking child again? Oh, that's right, you.

f*cking internet troll-children.
Odd writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:05:31 PM

@SACdaddy "What makes the level of death, destruction, and property damage in MOS any different than that in The Avengers (city destroyed), Transformers (cities destroyed, ancient ruins reduced to rubble, and thousands of soldiers killed over 4 films), or GI JOE (London blown the f*ck away)"

Well dammit you just ruined GI Joe for me!! ;)

As to the article- It would not have been as good or as realistic if people did not die and yes I agree that it does help sell more tickets. If there were no deaths this movie would have been lame...

Also this article could have waited a week or so...


Kurskij writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:34:24 PM

btw, what's wrong with the headline?

Levels of destruction in the trailers kinda insist that there will be casualties.

Those trailers that everyone were discussing. About how epic they look. Those trailers where helicopters and trains and f*cking skyscrapers get destroyed?
goeygogo writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:45:33 PM

@Velocity SPOILERs ahead: I think the take on this new Clark Kent/Kal-El (we should realize the in this film, and even Smallville for that matter, that these characters really did not have interest in being "Superman")is that his experiences with people, outside of his adopted parents, were pretty antagonizing throughout his life to that point. I think what Goyer/Snyder/Nolan were trying to portray in this character, is that the trust that was mentioned in the movie, kind of went both ways. I don't think Kal/Clark had any inherent loyalty to humans like previous incarnations of Superman maybe had. So it sounds cold, but yes, maybe he was more ok with humans dying in those couple fights because he focused more on the bigger threat...which is actually pretty logical. No, Superman as we've known him over the years is typically more emotional than logical, but I'm fine with the new take. This character, like Mink said, could be taken as selfish, but I just take it that he was more on the indifferent side when a larger threat loomed (he of course still went out of his way to save some people before the Zod/Kryptonian threat entered the movie. I am fairly critical of Superhero movies, and yes, also like Mink said, have noticed the gaping detail misses in Nolan's Batman movies...but dammit, they are still entertaining and intriguing. I have no excuse for Nolan as to why such a serious tone (Joker reference?...Bueller?) but I don't mind it. Good contrast from the Marvel flicks.
goeygogo writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:47:39 PM

My sentences were pretty poorly done in that last post, but I think you get the jist
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 4:08:49 PM

Mink

How was Lifeboat?
Bluegirl285 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 10:24:12 PM

Oh thanks a LOT, *sshole!!! I DIDN'T EVEN SEE THE MOVIE YET!!!!!!!!
GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 12:55:22 AM

my favorite line
from Man of Steel
amy adams says..

''it's supposed to go all the way in''

http://www.nowvideo.eu/video/856826494f0c2

GENERAL ZOD writes:
on June 18th, 2013 at 1:23:45 AM

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Superman-Batman-Finally-Share-Screen-Man-Steel-Porn-Parody-Trailer-38101.html
Rocksteddy writes:
on June 19th, 2013 at 2:28:28 AM

his film was a fat, stinking turd and I pity it with every fiber in every inch of my black ass body. God, I get more amusement out of watching Meatspin.com

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved