WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Can Superman Beat The Flash in a Race? Zack Snyder Has the Answer

Posted: June 16th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Can Superman Beat The Flash in a Race? Zack Snyder Has the AnswerSubmit Comment
"Man of Steel" director Zack Snyder already said that if Warner Bros decides to move forward with "Justice League," he'll likely be asked to direct it. This is why Digital Spy asked him a question that fans have debated for decades. Who would win in a race, Superman or The Flash?

"That's a really interesting concept. I believe that in a straight 50 yard dash, probably The Flash would win," said Snyder, adding that a fight between the two superheroes would be one-side. "In a fight it's difficult for The Flash because if he gets touched, he's gonna explode! Maybe he would get lucky and avoid Superman, but I think eventually he would get tagged and that would be that."

When asked if Snyder plans to address this in "Justice League," the director replied: "Clearly it's a raging debate which needs answering."

Click here to read more about "Justice League."

Source: DigitalSpy

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 65 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:25:04 AM

Perhaps Snyder can also answer that important and pressing intellectual matter of how many angels can dance on the head of a pin...
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:26:55 AM

I rather doubt that he can mink but here's hoping
pornfly writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:30:47 AM

NO! It does not need answering!

Figure out how to make a decent francise that wont get its ass handed to it by Marvel first

Who keeps asking these directors stoopid ass questions any friggin way?!

Why doesnt anybody have the nutz to ask,how come you cant recreate the Marvel formula?

Why are you sacrificing good story telling for a quick expensive CGI fix?

BadChadB33 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:36:54 AM

Who the f*ck cares??
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:48:39 AM

"Figure out how to make a decent francise that wont get its ass handed to it by Marvel first"

Man of Steel is on track to make or break a few records, pornfly, and I and others predicted as much. No way you could throw that many explosions and that much CGI at the screen and not have it stick.

The problem now is DC has a Transformers-esque franchise on their hand, which means they'll have to step up the boom and the pretty colors for Man of Steel 2 if they have any hope of out-doing Man of Steel, which I think they will.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:50:47 AM

Goyer hired for Justice League

pornfly writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:56:42 AM

Who wouldve thought while enjoying comic books as a kid
That DC would be pop
and Marvel would be considered culture by comparison

No f*ckin sh*t
I guess if i want quality DC
Im gonna have to watch the animated stuff
kickit writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:57:50 AM

I really wish DC would put off a Justice League movie until at least 2017 so they can do a MoS sequel and introduce other heroes in their own movies as well. By being too greedy they'll just rush it and mess it up, have these studio execs never heard of delayed gratification?
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:01:32 AM

Yes, pornfly, that's a conundrum: how is DC able to make such spiritually spot-on animated movies like The Dark Knight Returns and Under the Red Hood, but fail entirely to bring such rousing epicness to their live-action films.
boogiel writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:08:41 AM

What's the point of being a Flash if he weren't faster than Superman.

donangel01 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:19:08 AM


I don't know, do you think the DC/Marvel race can get tight like a "one team wins game 1 and then next team squeaks by in game 2" kinda way? I ask because Marvel won the first round with phase 1 but I don't think they are off to a good start for phase 2. Could DC squeak by? I see all of these posts like "loki not in Avengers 2" and "Guardians Galaxy not in this" or "this bad guy not in that". I see these posts and wonder if the Phase 2 direction won't be as good? Iron Man 3 was a stand alone and though a good movie, noooo tie in to Avengers 2 and nooooo other super heroes in it. Unless they have a great spoiler surprise later, could phase 2 end with all of us saying, "eh" while DC creaps up? what do you think?
jthm-1 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:33:30 AM

The Wally West version of the Flash could easily beat Superman, as some writers made him so powerful, he was traveling at close to the speed of light. Back in the late 90's, the character became overpowered. I have not read a Flash book in the last few years since they brought back Barry Allen, so I'm not sure if they have him connected to the "Speed Force" the way Wally was.
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:05:09 AM

they should sort it out like this:

RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:07:10 AM


I tend to think that WB execs handle the cinema adaptations and DC have creative control over the animation output.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:19:24 AM

@RG: maybe you're right and I wouldn't argue the issue with you, but...all my DC animated films have WB all over them. Maybe WB doesn't have a such hand in the animated films because not much money is involved whereas the live-action cost a couple hundred mil, demanding studio micro-management.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:20:18 AM

such a heavy hand...
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 11:15:13 AM

well,looks like 'Man of steel' is a success.125 mil is the forecast for the weekend - which means sequel is guaranteed and maybe as well Justice of league movie.
vincere01 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 12:30:51 PM

Saw Man of Steel last night. Heres my review.

This movie's version of krypton is by far the best ive seen on film. It was fully realized on screen. Russel crowe has a meaty part for sure. They go into the planets history, the expansion of the race and culture. They explore the cast system in place there. Its the classic politicians versus the military situation. The scenes involving crowe and shannon were magnificent.

While this movie touches on supermans origins and childhood. It does it in flashbacks that are directly connected to current day events and triggered by his surroundings. While only spending a few minutes at a time in said flash backs, there do carry some weight. Especially all the scenes involving kevin kostner. He gave an outstanding performence and his presence is felt throughout.

As far as action and pacing goes, id like to clear a few things up. Ive heard some "respected reviewers" complain that the movie is non stop action or too much action. Thats a bunch of hooey. The movie is 2 hours and 21 minutes long. There are a few short action sequences during the first hour and a half, small moments of him rescuing people etc.

The rest of that time is all story. Flashbacks, him trying to fit in and hold down real jobs etc. It does meander a bit for about 20 minutes or so halfway through. Then the final 45 minutes to an hour is non stop action, as any superman movie with this story should be. I have zero complaints for the amount of action, and neither did anyone else in the packed theater.

Acting wise, performences by the leads were good to outstanding. Some bit players were less so. None detracted from the experience. Michael shannon as zod and russell crowe as jor el were both scene stealers. As was commander feora's character, I forget who played her. She was perfect for the part. Mysterious, evil and menacing. Her and shannon embodied they're respective roles.

Henry Cavil was good as superman. At times maybe a little to serious. But he showed glimpses of humor and lightheartedness that I have no doubt will be fleshed out more in sequels. I feel that was moreso a product of story and preplanning than poor acting.

Kostner and diane lane were both subtle and meaningful as mom and pop kent. Kostner however was the better of the two. His final scene in the movie was touching. The emotion he conveys while acting against what im sure was nothing like the circ*mstances shown on screen was moving.

The daily planet characters were well acted but had little to do this time around. I look forward to seeing what they can do in the sequel when clark spends more time there. Both fishburne and amy adams gave perfermences worth noting, just not alot of dramatic meat for them.

The military character side of thing was another story. Each of those characters were played by the book and uninspired. However they are used more as plot devices than characters to serve the story. For the purpose given they were adequate.

The action itself was well paced and shot. Things were not overly gray. There was hardly noticeable lens flare, if any. The special effects were top notch. You can tell alot of time and care was spent crafting this world, the look of krytptons world, people and ships. To those who would describe this movie as transformers esque id have to disagree. I do not believe the fx was any more or any less than needed to tell the story.

I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes not just superhero movies, but anyone who likes action movies, sci fi movies, or good movies in general.
id give it a solid 8 out of 10.

the good
-great acting from the leads and main supporters.
- great story that provides an origin without beating you to death with it.
- great vilans
- great fx
- a snyder film that has a story as good as the fx

the bad
- the military section of the movie underwhelmed
- meandered a bit in the middle
- could have used more feora
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 12:40:15 PM

Man of Steel down to 56%. Basically as good a film, in the critics' eyes, as the first Transformers.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 12:57:26 PM

Man of Steel has second highest opening of the year so far, behind Iron Man 3

Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 2:44:09 PM

UFO alien disclosure by Canadian Minister of Defense:

minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:04:15 PM

UFOs are bullsh*t. Not one shred of physical evidence to support their existence has ever been found. Some blurry photographs, some hallucinating pilots. That's it.
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:05:27 PM

so how do you explain Michelle Obama?
pornfly writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:07:48 PM

History tells us theres a sophomore curse

But DC/Marvel could also go the way of Coke/Pepsi,McDonalds/BurgerKing

Which could only benefit the hardcore fans if DC ever wises up
Cuz pretty soon the novelty of superhero movies will wear off for some

Almost a hundred percent of the time the hot chic goes home with the hottest guy
And the fat chic goes with whomever pours on the attention

Idk if that makes sense but i gotta sh*tshowershave
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:11:08 PM

"so how do you explain Michelle Obama?"

Her father f*cked an ape?
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:14:56 PM

"Cuz pretty soon the novelty of superhero movies will wear off for some"

Exactly what I've been saying: by the time Dc gets their asses in gear, the season will have passed.
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:25:15 PM

Novelty or not if the movie doesn't have good action and bad ass villain what you get is a snooze fest like 'superman returns'.

haven't seen MOS yet,but 45 min action scene sounds already better then that piece of sh*t.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 3:27:01 PM

To answer your questions you first need to ask the biggest one: "Who in the hell thought Snyder would have been a good idea in the first place?!" LOL

Saw "Man of Steel and frikkin' wanted to kill somebody. Seriously how do you go from the odyssey like journey in the original 1978 to this overly science fiction film that basically ripped off the first two films and doesn't do a very good job of doing it. Goyer usually is on par with his writing abilities but this is just ridiculous. Superman is not complicating!!! He is just a symbol of pure good. Stop trying to make everything "gritty and realistic". It's getting old. Whedon I think knew that which is why he gave "The Avengers" a mild tone in terms of the dark nature of the characters.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:03:15 PM

I just saw Man of Steel too and I agree with vincere01's review. I'm not sure what all these critics are smoking or what else they expected from a Superman film but I thought it was excellent.

None of the action scenes were like Transformers 3 at all so I have no idea where that comparison originated. If it is because Metropolis is being obliterated by Zod's terraforming ships and it LOOKED similar to NYC being smashed up in TF3 then it's not accurate.

The destruction in MoS was more devastating and very different.

This movie was better than Superman I&II imo and I was not expecting to be because I have always thought they could not be surpassed but MoS does.

Fantastic film and a definitive and nearly perfect retelling of the origin of The Son of Krypton.

minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:11:48 PM

"Who in the hell thought Snyder would have been a good idea in the first place?!"

At first glance, Snyder isn't such a bad choice. After all, he would come comparatively cheap, versus a maga-star director like Nolan, and his visuals are rather superb, actually.

So then, pairing him with Goyer and Nolan, two rather more accomplished comic book writers, would seem to alleviate the issue of the film having a decent story, right?

And yet, the critics aren't faulting Snyder's visuals. Instead, they seem to have huge issues with characterization and the story, none of which can be blamed on Snyder, who in this case had not one screenwriting crutch but two.

Seems people just want to bash Snyder, then, because he's the easy target instead of going after Goyer and Nolan, the latter of whom is rather especially known for his absurdist theater, dark humorless depictions, and lack of sensible character development, thus they can trash Zach without much thought or peer recrimination.

To be perfectly candid, whatever story problems exist in Man of Steel are imo clearly the fault of three entities: Goyer and Nolan, for making what was once a fun comic book story into a grim, gritty and dark science fiction epic, and WB for trying to outperform both Paramount's Transformers 3 and Disney's The Avengers' CGI'ed metropolitan devastation.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:12:42 PM

"The destruction in MoS was more devastating and very different."

How many very different ways can you blow up a city?
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:20:23 PM


You should see it and tell me what you think of it because MoS has no noticeable Nolan influence at all and his story credit is confusing to me.

It has a good script and sometimes I feel like I saw an alternate universe version of a movie that others are trashing.

I don't even like Zach Snyder's films that much but he did a great job directing this.

For people bitching about the "heavy sci-fi aspects" of Krypton in the film, WHAT THE f*ck IS WRONG WITH YOU?!?


Anyways mink, dl it. I really have zero complaints about it and that is very rare for me.
minkowski writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:25:35 PM

Yeah okay, I was tempted to see it in the theater, but like I said previously, I'd rather just sit at home and watch the four hour edition of Apocalypse Now Redux instead.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:37:31 PM

The Last Son of Krypton*
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:42:27 PM


Yeah I would recommend seeing it in a theater if you can and that is not only for the visual effects. It is worth experiencing it on a big screen.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:45:04 PM

i want everyone to know i raped my daughter this weekend for fathers day. i f*ck her little *sshole with a broom for two hours and boy did the little bitch scream and bite.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 5:11:13 PM

Plastic Mans back from the dead with a vengeance. You sure you're not the Elmo pupeteer?

Here's a few questions for Snyder...

Who would win in a race between Marvel and DC to make a successful movie franchise out of their characters?

What would win in a race between style and substance in any of your movies?

Who would win in the not giving a f*ck race for Superman or any of this other childish sh*t... I'll answer that one for ya ME.
bandolero999 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 5:17:46 PM

good for you plasticman
ranger would be proud
Rambo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 5:33:51 PM

Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 6:00:48 PM

I think TF3 took place in Chicago but really, like mink said, it all seems the same no matter what city they destroy.

I think the reason why is Snyder, as the director, didn't do a better job of directing the cast and the action was overly done which Snyder tends to do in most films. Nolan may have been the producer but it is clear Snyder was taking most scenes in his way. I wasn't expecting Nolan to look over Snyder's shoulder every scene, but I was expecting the screenplay to be channeled better through Snyder. Visually Snyder is brilliant. Thematically he has no idea how to conceive subtext.

Also, they totally rushed the origin story and over thought the Krypton origin which is ironic since they were trying to be, I guess, more realistic and gritty. Just a thought on that.

To me the original 1978 film was perfection of Superman in my opinion. The sort of odyssey the character goes through and not overkill on the action.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 6:10:25 PM

As a sci-fi film...loved it. As a Superman film...nothing can compete with the 1978 film. Superman was always meant to be Batman's opposite. A purist of good and justice. And they turned him into a loner and, frankly boring. But as an action movie sure I love it. Just not Superman to me. But I agree with your rating and also feel the military was greatly underplayed...especially because I think Harry Lennix is a very underappreciated actor who should have been allowed to have more screen time.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 6:36:36 PM

What retelling?! I don't remember any of this stuff in regards to the "codex". What issue was that in?! Throughout it seems like they were making this stuff up as they went along.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 6:50:35 PM


Kal-El barely goes through any personal odyssey to become Superman whatsoever in the 78 film. Maybe you need to watch it again.

The original films are very campy and lighthearted. They hardly have a serious tone. Terence Stamp was great as Zod but he is more humorous because he is like a Shakespearean actor as a villain and even though he is british in real life, he is very hammy as Zod. Non is comic relief even more and Lex Luthor and Otis's dialogue is humorous as well.

If there is any odyssey for Kal-El it's in Man of Steel, not the Reeve films. Nothing ever felt truly at stake in them but they did in MoS.

Also, taking the approach of how the world would really react to a "Super-Man" that can fly and is godlike is the logical way to tell the story of Superman.

In the Reeve movies he is just automatically embraced by the world which is absurd. I never thought it made sense myself. Superman has to earn acceptance by humankind and by the end he does just that by defeating a clearly evil force and threat to earth and that is the way it should be.

But hey if you didn't like it you will always have the Reeve films.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 6:59:03 PM

So seriously how does he shave? Heat vision and a mirror? Or does he lose it when he becomes superman ? And is there a post credits scene? I need to knoq these things before I go to see this.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 7:01:19 PM


If you are thinking of Superman going through a personal odyssey in Superman II when he gives up his powers I would slightly agree with you on that but the only scene where he realizes he is powerless is in the bar when the trucker kicks his ass.

The rest of the time he's just farting around with Lois Lane and then conveniently gets his powers back at the Fortress of Solitude and then throws the red cellophane S at Non and hilarity ensues.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:28:19 PM

Right so an over abundance of sci-fi and flying dragons is...less campier to you? Just checking. And what odyssey did you see?! Dude is a loner for about 5 seconds, almost ripping off the Batman Begins origin story, and then finds the ship. And there was no characterization in the new film. Cavill basically stares a lot and, again, tries to add more depth to a character that didn't require anything. The new one also displays little of the brilliance he can do with all his powers. All I got was he is frikkin' strong and can smash through sh*t. The original the guy frikkin' repairs an earthquake!!! Anyone can smash through a thousand buildings. And there was no immediate acceptance in the 1978 film!!! The guy was an enigma that no one could get close to to question until Lois Lane got involved. And Lois Lane was so plain in this one. Basically what every "tough girl" is these days. She's tough and no really uniqueness to her character unlike Kidder who had some flaw to her version. Yeah Lex was humorous...and maniacally insane! The dude killed a guy five seconds into his character's appearance. What more do you need? And plus his character was intelligent. Otis was funny, but not intentionally. He was just far below Lex and, when they are put side by side, of course it will be hilarious to watch him squirm. Sorry not every scene is over dramatic and totally has no variation. Everyone in this new one are either serious or cynical the whole 2 and a half hours!!! And that "campy" film you are talking about basically was so popular that the comic book added stuff from the movie to it's mythology such as the crystal technology of Krypton which allowed the culture to appear alien and unique. Like seriously...the new one had a dragon that comes out of nowhere. Like what the hell? And I find it hilarious that Crowe calls the two worlds different and really the landscape on both planets was the same with just more advanced weapons and those silver machines that made images out of metal dust. That was it.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:30:49 PM

Dude...this new film was fine...as just a random action film. This sh*t is no Superman film though. Just obscure action mixed with fun sci-fi concepts.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:31:36 PM

And again I ask you...where the hell was this whole "legacy of the families of Krypton in Superman's DNA" in the original comics? I don't remember any of that at all.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:33:15 PM

Oh yeah and you call Stamp Shakespearan...which is basically what Crowe was in this film. Dude might as well have been King Lear at the end of the story.
pornfly writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:43:02 PM

UFOs are bullsh*t

All these "abductions sightings encounters" over THOUSANDS of years and I havnt heard or seen one friggin phaser!
pornfly writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 8:43:51 PM

..heard of..
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:05:20 PM


An alien world is just that, and Krypton can have flying dragons if it wants to, it's not our world.

Crowe was not Shakesperean at all and neither was Marlon Brando as Jor-El. I prefer to compare the same characters instead of old Zod and new Jor-El.

In the first Superman the public is basically j*zzing over their pants over a flying man in a red cape. This unrealistic aspect just does not translate well to film. Real people would be freaked out so it's not even worth debating.

Ned Beatty as Otis IS a comic relief character in Superman I&II so you are just f*cking lying about that sleuth, sorry. He even has his own goofy theme music!


Anyways sleuth, you seem to be needlessly hating on what was a very well-made film. Most of your complaints are minor anyways.

For me, I cared about the Superman character by the end and his development was a presence the entire time.

I can enjoy the Reeve films for what they are but there is no real emotional heft to them.
WallyDee writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:20:44 PM

I think the real question here is ''Can Superman beat god in a race?''
Because i dont think he can......

pornfly writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:31:11 PM

How in the hell is FastFurious Tokyo Drift the third movie
But it takes place after FF6?

I still refuse to watch it!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:43:02 PM

You know man it has become clearer and clearer to me that you are an arrogant little ass. Seriously is there not one thing I have ever said you haven't called incorrect? And if by care about the development of Superman you mean care about the incredibly general character that was in the place of Superman sure. Well-made?! Are you that narrow in intelligence that you actually think a movie that was half "300" was well-made?! There was zero development in this film and lacked completely in the Superman department and more in the "Wanna-be Batman" department. They tried to create a tragic hero out of a character that was never tragic. And let's ignore the fact that they basically ripped off "Smallville" EXACTLY with the look of the character and his general heroics. Like seriously everything in this film was ripped from the old ones if you actually know your film. Guy saves a bus full of students off a bridge...this was EXACTLY what was done in the original film. And you really want to tell me about Non beign just for looks. You didn't notice the big guy in this one fighting with Faora. You didn't connect the dots that he was an obscure fill in for Non? You ever read Sherlock Holmes Deaft0ne? I doubt it as you obviously are a wise-ass who likes to be the pot that calls the kettle black. Basically what was said was that the eye is in the little details. You crack me up Deaft0ne. You didn't even remember that TF3 took place in Chicago and "The Avengers" was New York. Again little details that matter. But more to the point as I admit I am straying. You obviously care very little for the development of Superman as you this was not Superman. Still waiting for you to tell me what issue pf the comics that whole "Legacy of Krypton's DNA in Superman" was from. You take cheap shots at a classic because you don't know sh*t about subtext. This new film basically said two things: Superman broods over nothing. Like literally there is no real drive to this character throughout the whole story other than he feels alone I guess. Really wasn't sure what he was so miserable about. In all the versions of Superman he is proud to be who he is throughout his life and by realizing his origins he gains a deeper understanding of his purpose in life. And, for whatever reason, he is a pain in the ass to his Earth parents. The writers didn't make a Superman movie you moron...they added a load of stuff that wasn't even in the original comic books. He liked who he was and left to become Superman only after his father died. The last one is all they got right and basically overlooked the first one to make it look like he was a loner who felt lost in the world. Course it's hard to tell in this sporadic film that jumps back and forth between three or four really boring flashbacks of him saving people as a kid. But the greatest atrocity is you actually think the original was campy and then not dare call this new one the same. I point out the ridiculous design to Krypton,and you just say they can do it however they want. So why is the old one any more campier than the new one? The new one went full nerd on introducing an entire army of aliens. Superman didn't develop at all. I don't know what you were talking about. He is like many newer heroes that sort of get from point A to point B with no connection between the two. It's all about the journey and this wasn't really a journey. They could have done that but instead of pacing the character learning who he was he puts on the suit like 30 minutes into the film after a quick rescue at sea and like a 5 minute explanation by Jor-El with Jor-El I guess just telling him to go out and experiment instead of telling him how to do that.

And Superman is suppose to be lighthearted man. There is a reason why Batman and Superman have always been fun to see go against each other in the comics. He is good and friendly and trusts people. Batman basically is paranoid about everyone. Don't kid yourself Deaft0ne. This is not Superman. This is Batman with a more colorful paint job. In fact, I'll say it, he was the new Non. Dude is a brute for most of the movie.

And finally, don't insult dear Ned Beatty. Yes he was comic relief I'll grant you but that fits perfectly when you consider Lex's insane nature, which was fueled by mad brilliance. And Shannon was fine as Zod, but Stamp gave the character a superiority complex that Zod always had in the comics that was avoided in this film. In fact in this film they try to make him more relatable which I guess works, but sort of obscures the good Superman does by making it seem like it was a bad thing Zod was destroyed.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:51:49 PM

And yeah it makes sense how people reacted back in the 1978 film. The way it is done now is post-9/11 reaction and paranoia which is fine. An incredibly over-militarized approach to a foreign entity. See you obviously didn't get that I thought the movie was fine as just an action film, but not as a Superman film. They turned him into a brooding nutcase, much like how they recently did with Spider-Man. And the development was terrible. Just feel I need to mention that again. Like seriously the romance with Lois was ridiculously rushed. I actually enjoyed the idea of her right away knowing who he is as that indeed took forever in the original films, but come on. Some thrown in kiss just to add a romantic feeling to it. That needed to be developed better. Especially because the character shared maybe 5 minutes together alone and during that time there was mostly distress of the situation (Her getting injured and being with him during the time he is on Zod's ship). Little reason for there to be such passion. I mean that kiss was overkill and the desire in her eyes, which by the way is over the top next to Cavill's very underacted role, was ridiculously under developed. Don't talk to me about development Deaft0ne. Give a movie that isn't mostly action and science fiction stuff and then we can chat about development.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 9:59:29 PM

I apologize for my brutality. I realize that I am being harsh but I have loved this character since I was a kid. I grew up on the cartoons, the movies, and such. Then they throw this film that is strangely the opposite of the purist nature of the original character although I guess that is unfair to say for in the original Action comics he was kind of a d*ck but when he settled into his now popular version he became a great symbol of just being good for the sake of being good...kind of what Captain America was portrayed as now in the movie Chris Evans does. I suppose I could say to each his own like when I got in a fight with mink although I'm not sure what film that was that we fought over. Point is that Superman is not Batman and that was silly that Nolan tried to write him as such. Goyer is a great writer, but this one he seemed to try and make Superman as he wanted instead of how Superman is and that's not okay to me.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:02:44 PM


What I gather from your opinion on Man of Steel is that you either wanted a straight remake of the 78 film, because you clearly feel the need to defend it like an injured puppy, or you don't think a new Superman movie should have been made at all because you are unable to accept a different take on the character.

It seems that you prefer the Donner films and you loved Superman Returns and wanted more sequels after that movie and no reboot.

Yes it was clear that the giant guy was Non-esque but that was what they decided to do for that scene.

For me, this was the Superman movie I have always wanted to see because film technology has finally caught up to truly represent the character on screen.

I barely watched Smallville but Henry Cavill looks nothing like Tom Welling and I don't recall him being a day laborer on the show at any point.

Were you upset when the movie didn't end with some gay-ass spinning newspaper with an IT'S SUPERMAN!! headline on it?

Deaft0ne writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:11:31 PM

It's cool sleuth.

Also Superman was hardly a brooding nutcase in the film. He seemed very level-headed and caring to me which is the basics of the character.

Any woman that has her life saved by a dude like 5 times is going to be pretty wet for him, so that was not fake at all.
WallyDee writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:15:35 PM

Superman or god people?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:37:38 PM

He was caring sure, but he was brooding a little you have to admit. Could be resonating anger from the Amazing Spider-Man reboot I say that but I feel like he needed to be more friendly to people. See in the original film, he was more open to people. He wanted people to understand him. In here it's like he is afraid of it. Now, again, that might be based on the current period where are in post-9/11 with dudes flying around being a mistaken idea of carrying an alien pathogen or being dangerous. So yes makes sense. But come on with Lois. I want the tough girl who is not swayed like that. I think it should have been implied, but you have to admit Adams overacted that kiss and Cavill underacted it. It was kind of funny how over the top that kiss was. LOL

Truth is Deaft0ne it comes down to what kind of hero you like. Some like the more realistic attempts and some want the insanely, imaginative version like the original. I enjoyed the new one as an action film and a science fiction film. It just doesn't feel like Superman. There are elements there, but it doesn't feel completely right to me. And the fact that Krypton got painted as this regime is silly considering how Krypton used to be portrayed as basically being a utopia. I feel like they just warped a lot from the classic story of Superman and I'm a purist for the most part with that sort of thing.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:04:06 AM

Have to agree with Sleuth. The original Superman story is timelessly classic and a truly well-balanced, fun Superman narrative.
minkowski writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:06:57 AM

story=film. Reeve was awesome as well.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 1:45:40 AM

Thanks man. The one awesome thing about "Man of Steel" though is that armor design for the Kryptonians was unbelievably badass. And I like that Superman's suit was the underarmor of that armor so as to show his symbol proudly. So, on behalf of Deaft0ne, there were some good elements. But yeah the original was just too perfectly done from the ominous feeling of the Kryptonian technology/the fortress of solitude. The strange trek of the character's journey which wasn't overplayed, similar to how Raimi's Spider-Man did it which, as I understand it, Raimi even said was an inspiration to the film. And, more than anything, each character's distinct and wonderful performances. Kidder's spelling-handicapped Lois Lane, Brando's original Jor-El of infinite wisdom, Hackman's insanely brilliant Lex Luthor, and, of course, Reeves's pure and wonderful split performance as the perfect Superman and the stumbling Clark Kent. Not to mention the actors of goofy Otis, young and naive Jimmy Olsen, and the brash/driven Perry White. That is just how it goes. You can't improve on characters that left their mark over 30 years ago.
BlackDynamite writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 11:43:04 AM

Considering the Flash has run faster than the speed of light, and ran so fast one time he traveled back in time and became the lightning bolt that gave him his powers, I'd say Flash could beat Superman in a race.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved