WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Henry Cavill Reveals His Brutal "Man of Steel" Workout and Diet

Posted: June 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Henry Cavill Reveals His Brutal "Man of Steel" Workout and DietSubmit Comment
Henry Cavill and Michael Shannon trained with "300" trainer Mark Twight to get in shape for "Man of Steel." Shannon says that he had to do squats all day, but Cavill went into a little more detail.

"It's a very, very long and involved process. I ate a lot and worked out like a fiend," he said. "Five months before shooting there was varying stuff which ended up being mass building and then leaning down."

During the mass building phase, Cavill says that he had to suffer through painful workouts, eat over 5,000 calories per day, and was told to sleep 9 to 10 hours per night.

And then when filming began, so did the leaning down phase. "They just cut my calories right down to 2,500 [per day]," explained the actor. "[And] throughout the shoot it was just waking up and making sure I got an hour in [of exercise] before I went to work."

He added: "But then only for the shirtless scenes I really stopped eating. It was hard but it paid off."

Regarding what was the first thing that he ate immediately after filming ended, Cavill said: "I had an apple pie, a tub of ice cream and a full pizza."

Source: People


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cress writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 7:56:12 AM

He had to sleep 9 or 10 hours a night? Goddamn, I hope he's alright. Why reveal that, because now you sound like a superp*ssy.
cress writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 8:08:29 AM

I would just tell reporters the exact things Rocky did when training to fight Dolph Lundgren in ROCKY IV. They're too stupid to know it was a lie, and they really would think it was brutal.
cress writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 8:14:29 AM

"I had an apple pie, a tub of ice cream and a full pizza."

Also known as a Melissa McCarthy Appetizer.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:04:50 AM

@cress

Did you know that our illustrious former President George Dubya Bush would typically hit the hay around 7PM and rise at 7AM for his morning breakfast burrito and intelligence briefings?

He usually insisted on 12 hours of sleep a night.

A Superman indeed!
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:25:46 AM

Love to the actual workout.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:26:59 AM

A hundred thousand dollar trainer can make anyone look like a Superman. Zzzzzzzzzz.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:28:17 AM

"He had to sleep 9 or 10 hours a night? Goddamn, I hope he's alright. Why reveal that, because now you sound like a superp*ssy"

Wrong. It's for restorative capabilities. The body heals better during sleep. And with his work-out, he was doing major shock to his musculature.
boogiel writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:43:32 AM

I like the ice cream part.
WV-Films writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:46:17 AM

Apparently Henry turned into a fat girl who just got dumped.
Kurskij writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 11:10:17 AM

Where's the workout? Where's the diet?

Dirt writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:01:05 PM

What's the bet this Cress bloke is a fat c*nt.
cress writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:13:53 PM

That's a bet you'd lose, you stupid motherf*cker
coldplayesence writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:26:40 PM

Or they could just paint him some abs like they did with the guys on 300.
KinskiJew writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:47:29 PM

The abs in 300 were not a result of cgi, nor are the pecs in MoS, as I noticed some limpprick reviewer stated.

The Gym Jones programs are brutal, and Mark Twight has been training top tiers assets (Navy Seals), high grade athletes, and others (individuals and actors), for some time.

Check out the Gym Jones site, watch the workout videos that are available (not all are, you must be a member for full access), and then attempt on your own to duplicate those workouts.The modern bs'ing of cgi will be the furthest thing from your mind.
kickit writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:13:34 PM

@Kinski: are you a member on the Gym Jones website? If so, is it worth it?
DeVries writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:32:10 PM

Tell me again what you know about the importance of sleeping while you train hard, you c*ckbag cress ?
TheAmicko writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:41:52 PM

Mink is correct.
cress writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:05:25 PM

Yes, we all know sleep is important. But when you're describing your 'grueling and exhausting workout for Man of Steel, give me details--how many sit-ups a day, how many push-ups, how many miles you ran a day, your weight lifting regimen, etc. Not that you slept 10 long hours a night or, in Hugh Jackman's case, had to suffer through eating steamed chicken breasts. Oh, and if you can pull your head out of your ass long enough, DeVries, you can suck my c*ckbag.
pornfly writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:42:28 PM

Bangin Gina Carano burned alot of calories too
I bet
*shredded bastard*
movieworkouts writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:43:17 PM

Here's a pretty comprehensive write up of the workout plan of Henry Cavill used for the Man of Steel:

http://www.movieworkouts.com/man-of-steel-workout
cress writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:48:07 PM

^^useful
Gates writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:53:20 PM

I agree with Kurskij,

Where is the workout and diet? The only thing the article mentions is how many calories he consumed.
Rambo writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:58:49 PM

Box office update: 'Man of Steel' soars to $44.1 million Friday, will speed past $100 million:

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni55801400/?ref_=hm_nw_tp_t1
TheAmicko writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:01:23 PM

@Cress....Yes. It was because you basically said that sleeping for 9-10 hours per night makes him a p*ssy. When I rarely get a week I can sleep for 9 hours per night I recupirate much better and have better result from my weight resistance training. I think your right about how boring it is to know when we want the details in the program etc. But then again if a movie reporter asks he/does not want to know (would take to much time of the interview) the details. They just want to hear it was hard bad ass etc. Not how many skullcrushers, wieght he could bench etc. If you buy mags like men's health they sometimes have these details from an interview with the actors.
insightlessness writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 4:51:14 PM

Naturally, the 5000 calorie diet - Hollywood's way of saying, "I took steroids and HGH."
seveltoto writes:
on October 21st, 2017 at 9:03:22 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved