WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Man of Steel" - What Did You Think?

Posted: June 15th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Man of Steel" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"Man of Steel," the latest attempt at a Superman movie, is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes, "Man of Steel" has an unimpressive 57% fresh rating that has been dropping ever since the first review came out. While most critics agree that the film looks and sounds fantastic, and is overall entertaining, many are not happy with the story, claiming it focuses too much on action scenes and not enough on characters. At the same time, there are plenty of other critics who believe that "Man of Steel" is one of the best movies they've ever seen.

"Man of Steel" cost $225 million to make and was profitable before it even hit theaters, thanks to product placement and tax incentives. It grossed $21 million from Thursday screenings and midnight showings, and will likely end up with over $100 million for the weekend. "Superman Returns," which hit theaters in 2006, grossed only $52 million during its opening weekend and cost a whopping $270 million.

Click here to read our "Man of Steel" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MarshallErikson writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:40:31 PM

It did focus too much on the action. It sacrificed story and character development and spent that time on action instead. Which is something i'm incredibly thankful for.
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:56:41 PM

I thought it was all right. sh*t load of Christ references and analogies. It took a different direction than the traditional origin story and I think that's what has some pissed. Too much blindingly dumb cgi action in the third act. It was a lot better than expected so I dont feel cheated. Not bad overall, anxious to see where it goes next.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:02:13 AM

I will post my thoughts on it after I see it on Sunday.

@stapes, check out the new Alice In Chains, The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here.
Phantom Limb sounds like a time capsule track from DIRT. Overall a solid album. Voices and Stone are standouts too.
danisp writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:21:37 AM

This movie did focus a lot on Action (really a LOT). Strangely it was also very very Entertaining at the same time!!! After all isn't that what all summer Blockbuster are supposed to be??? :)
sedibus writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:22:56 AM

I might go to see this, brainless entertainment.

Sadly you wont ever see a person like Ingmar Bergman, Andrei Tarkovsky or Alejandro Jodorowsky tackling this sort of stuff.

That could have been greatly cool.
pornfly writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:25:22 AM

Where were all these 'haters' when Into Darkness was released
it seems like the same argument could be made for both movies

velocityknown writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:26:58 AM

My worst fears were confirmed when I walked out of the theater realizing I'd just gotten Superman: The Dark Knight Rises edition.

Sloppy storytelling, very bloated, themes that are carried through the first hour of the movie and then dropped as if they never existed, action sequences that go too big, inconsistent script that's just plain bad in many places.

I can maybe give more complete thoughts later, too tired, underwhelmed and disappointed right now.
My Cocaine writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:46:48 AM

Hello, I'm My Cocaine.

This film would be far better if Clark Kent had a butler who spoke with a distinctive c*ckney accent and often teared up during numerous cloyingly emotional conversations with Clark.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:51:48 AM

ntmu my cocaine. don't just be a short-timer here.
sedibus writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:01:01 AM

Oh, man, what I just needed, A Satanic sect like Hollywood doing their anti-version of christ.

Really, this f*cking *ssholes are going down.

Christ references, motherf*ckers.

I remember watching the final scene of Matrix Revolutions when blind Neo was in front of that Deus Ex-Machina sh*t and to times there is the prescense of Baphomet, or the inverted star of David.

Pieces of sh*t. The same people that cursed the Templar Knights as Heretics.
BlueMobius writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:01:07 AM

@velocityknown: I agree 100%. They dealt with some excellent themes but ultimately just ignored them. They just didn't commit to anything.

I'm a diehard Superman fan and am fine with any interpretation of the character and mythos because that's what's fun about an eighty year old franchise. However, there are certain things you should stay true to and some of those important Superman-specific elements were raped unapologetically (I don't want to give spoilers).

However, I WILL say that Michael Shannon was AWFUL! I started wondering if they were playing Zod as some kind of mentally challenged product of inbreeding!
JackTheStripper writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:09:25 AM

Others have already mentioned my only issues with the film: too much use of CGI (especially at the end)and focused a lot on action rather than story (would have liked to see the two balanced a bit more). But overall, it was a fun film to watch. I'd give it 8/10.
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:13:27 AM

Fantastic movie. Everything I wanted it to be and expected. I think critics are way to harsh on this film and the reason being is because it's not the superman they are used to from the previous adoptations on the screen. One big problem I have with most reviews is the whole "superman doesn't kill" thing and them confusing what johnathan Kent's message was to Clark. Ill start with the first...superman does kill he's done so in the comics and he should remorse after by screaming his lungs out because he didn't want too and was so devistated he cried in Louis Lanes arms. Second, the message he was trying to get across was not "hide who you are forever" it was when the time is right and you find out who you are you'll change the world you just gotta be ready. I feel like a lot of critics got that wrong and I personally loved the script and the story and found it amazing. The fight scenes were amazing and just al together I enjoyed the movie and can't wait to see the next

Also, Russle Crowe owns as jur-el
boogiel writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:36:53 AM

-Some reminiscence or nod to scenes from Superman I and Superman II such as baby kal-el lift-off

-The fight/action scenes are superb
- Awesome CGI especially the flying scenes
- Nice visuals and special effects.
- New punchline: " A good death is its own reward"
- Rumored easter eggs are confirmed. ( Blaze comics, Wayne Satellite, Lexcorp tanker etc)


-The Plot and storyline is terrible. Too much jumping back and forth between past and present scenes, also between flashbacks and dream scenes. For example: Jonathan kent is dead but hey, there he is again.

-Still from the storyline, it seems the people accepted Superman very quickly. And Lois knew that clark is superman.WTF?? The whole thing that spiced up Clark/Superman -lois relationship is the secret identity of Superman. The fact that she is looking for her "guardian angel" and not knowing that he is in front of her nose all the time. THAT is what make the Lois-Clark relationship to be an all time classic and it seems goyer/snyder completely forgetting about it.
- Too much screen time for Jor -El, I think he's stealing supes' thunder. This is about kal-el/Superman for f*ck sake.

conclusion: It's great eye candy but not much greater than Transformers franchise.

Overall: 7/10
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:56:09 AM

Longest post ever from boogiel.

Also, I know it might be off topic and alex cand delete my post if he wants but this is a recommendation to everyone here. Random Access Memories by Daft Punk is the best album of the year and will probably win that at the Grammy's. It's as good as Thriller or Dark Side of the Moon or The White Album. A genuine masterwork. You will know when you hear it all.
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:56:51 AM

sedibus writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:24:05 AM

IŽll take a note, Deft.
sedibus writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:24:43 AM

Deaft n_n
Rambo writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 2:38:58 AM

'While most critics agree that the film looks and sounds fantastic, and is overall entertaining, many are not happy with the story, claiming it focuses too much on action scenes and not enough on characters.'

You can say the same about every Zack Snyder movie so far(except maybe Watchmen which was low on action) - this sh*t comes out in my country only in 12 days so it will take a while till i post my verdict.

nicholas56 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:27:23 AM

why didn't we hear kneel before zod somewhere at the end of the movie. the plot sucked throughout the movie going from past to present back to present to past. why the f*ck was there so much cgi and where the f*ck was the kryptonite at in the f*cking movie to hurt superman/general zod ???? I rate this as a 5/10 superman returns was way f*cking better then this movie
pornfly writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:56:59 AM

When i heard a buff british dude was gonna play Superman, i said,"WAY TO GO, MADONNA"

*thx Craig Ferguson*
Detrimental writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 4:08:26 AM

Useful tidbits from thread:
Velocityunknown's first paragraph
& boogiel's list of pros/cons.

My useless opinion (roughly bouncing off said pro/con list):

Action was great. I really feel like I was the only person who wanted more of it. Mainly because of the beginning pace.
Flying (despite few awkward points which are easily forgiven during final fight)
Didn't care for the "blaster smoke" filtered in with every weapon shooting a beam. I will never understand that.
And Krypton was pretty.. dark. In a world robbed of color scheme, finding a blue suit with bright red cape on a random ship nested thousands of years in ice seems out-there.

Faora was best. Killer. Threatening. Liked her job. Perfect.
Martha Kent did her job well besides "go to hell."

Lois Lane had the right lines & character, but the wrong person playing her.
Jonathan Kent had the wrong lines & character, but a decent enough person playing him.

LexCorp was on 3 visible truck trailers. 1 construction building's sign.
Wayne satellite.
There's prominent Sears, IHOP, nokia, 7/11 product placements.
And General Swanwick's lackie,
Her tag said "Ferris." Her name's Major Carrie Ferris. Carol Ferris from the Green Lanternverse always wanted to be a pilot instead of (perhaps before) inheriting an air company. And her name technically being Caroline "Carol" Ferris is cause to tease with Caroline "Carrie" Ferris. Just food for thought.

I never think of Superman as invincible. There's a lot of ways to beat him even in a fair bout. One of the ways in the movie which happens to someone else just doesn't seem like it would be one of them.

The plot is OK at the expense of risking time travel or killing off Kara, the latter being more likely.
The story although rehashed & reinvented with new goals falls loose in many places but that's only 50% of the point here.
So the visuals, the other 50%, were worth their reasonable goings-on.

If anyone actually complains "too much fighting; not enough story," you are literally complaining about not hearing more of an origin story. An origin. Story. So this movie just wasn't for you. But luckily, there's nothing for any Superman fan to brag about other than the fighting.

Lois knowing his identity is fine. Their entire relationship can now be a team effort while he tries to hold down a job. Which makes more sense. And there are two Jimmies, neither named Jimmy. Take your pick.
Taco writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 4:08:51 AM

Oh so boogle can post comments off topic and not get deleted, but I cant. f*ck you Alex!
Detrimental writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 4:17:13 AM

Unless it's Farris. Then nevermind that part.
Rambo writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 5:33:18 AM

De Palma's 'Passion' 8.5/10 - old school de palma is a glorious throw back of how to make a great movie without a big budget or CGI - the camera work is f*cking amazing in this movie,only minus is the heavy Apple/Panasonic advertising during some scenes.great soundtrack as well and a lot of lesbian sexual tension under the surface.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 5:49:49 AM

Haven't heard one single person ding Nolan for his obvious and heavy-handed contributions to Man of Steel's bullsh*t story. Not one.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:04:13 AM

"At the same time, there are plenty of other critics who believe that "Man of Steel" is one of the best movies they've ever seen.

Yeah and those so-called critic are idiots impressed with fantastic visuals or they've seen very, very few films, like a number of people on this thread ejaculating over Man of Steel like they do every time they've just come from a theatrical CGI roller coaster, like little children thrilled with their latest and greatest plastic noise-making toy.

By the time the next CGI explosion-a-thon comes out, these same people will have already forgotten Man of Steel just like they've a;ready forgotten Transformers 3, Avengers and Star Trek into Darkness.

People don't go to theaters anymore to see FILM, they go to get visually high. It's all become just another drug in an overly-hedonistic culture where art is thrown by the wayside in favor of the latest pleasure-seeking carnival rush, and these fools would be bored out of their minds if they had to go back to 1955, with no CGI, no Xbox, no iPhones. They'd commit suicide if the latest Jimmy Stewart movie didn't feature CGI-laden talking trucks and guys in plastic suits screaming hyperbolic, moronic lines to a backdrop of exploding buildings.

Spielberg is right. Cinema Is dead and all that remains is its Michael Bayification.
Rambo writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:05:23 AM

'Zack Snyder, Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer have managed to become Superman's very own Kryptonite, stripping the iconic character of his greatest assets: wit, charm, and most importantly, hope.'

Rambo writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:15:35 AM

Spielberg is right. Cinema Is dead and all that remains is its Michael Bayification.

and Spielberg is producing Bay.
pornfly writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:15:40 AM

That 'visually high' paragraph should be shouted from the rooftops

minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:16:38 AM

I meant REAL critics, not the Republican's anti-science mouthpiece.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:19:40 AM

"and Spielberg is producing Bay."

Yeah and Spielberg's a whore, but that doesn't mean when a whore screams your d*ck is ripping her ass in two, she's wrong.
scotty7471 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:21:10 AM

it was a good movie. not great but very good.
i had 'trouble' with the lois and superman "connection'' (seemed RUSHED) and the last scene between Zod and Superman (like Banes last scene, it seemed ... forced)
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:36:34 AM

So how does he shave?
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:40:38 AM

You know what the problem with Hollywood is? They make sh*t. Unbelievable, unremarkable sh*t. Now I'm not some grungy wannabe filmmaker that's searching for existentialism through a haze of bong smoke or something. No, it's easy to pick apart bad acting, short-sighted directing, and a purely moronic stringing together of words that many of the studios term as "prose". No, I'm talking about the lack of realism. Realism; not a pervasive element in today's modern American cinematic vision. Take Dog Day Afternoon, for example. Arguably Pacino's best work, short of Scarface and Godfather Part 1, of course. Masterpiece of directing, easily Lumet's best. The cinematography, the acting, the screenplay, all top-notch. But... they didn't push the envelope. Now what if in Dog Day, Sonny wanted to get away with it, REALLY wanted to get away with it? What if - now here's the tricky part - what if he started killing hostages right away? No mercy, no quarter. "Meet our demands or the pretty blonde in the bellbottoms gets it the back of the head." Bam, splat! What, still no bus? Come on! How many innocent victims splattered across a window would it take to have the city reverse its policy on hostage situations? And this is 1976; there's no CNN, there's no CNBC, there's no internet! Now fast forward to today, present time, same situation. How quickly would the modern media make a frenzy over this? In a matter of hours, it'd be biggest story from Boston to Budapest! Ten hostages die, twenty, thirty; bam bam, right after another, all caught in high-def, computer-enhanced, color corrected. You can practically taste the brain matter. All for what? A bus, a plane? A couple of million dollars that's federally insured? I don't think so. Just a thought. I mean, it's not within the realm of conventional cinema... but what if?
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:41:36 AM

"So how does he shave?"

Ask Chris Nolan. He's the king of comic book realism.
minkowski writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 6:57:18 AM

6 Superman movies that didn't get made

Stapes writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 7:07:12 AM

@mink, I'd like know what your beef with nolan is these days, dont get me wrong, I think the guy's way overrated, and there are a lot of stupid story decisions and missed opportunities in MOS but seem to recall you being staunch defender of nolan in older posts.
mrstretch writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 7:18:24 AM

It sucked
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 7:40:46 AM


I'm gonna have to disagree, I don't go see movies for the CGI, I see them for the Entertainment and the story telling. The CGI is just sometimes a bonus, hell a movie without CGI that looks like it has Heavy CGI is an even bigger bonus, But that's a rarity.

And although everyone on this site thinks I like EVERY movie i truly dont, I just give films a chance, Because not every movie I go to see am I watching for Oscar Nominations. Some movies are just fun and silly. Enjoyable like that. And that's what I like.

So obviously I liked Man of Steel. It's a good Reboot. I don't go into hardcore detail, But my review is in my profile. Have a go and if anyone wants to discuss further I'll be here later on. Time to sleep for now lol Night ladies <3

SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 8:59:49 AM

(guess I'll get this in its proper thread)

Man of Steel....7/10. Great visuals and action (as you should expect from Zach). Nice revision of the origin story that adds a decent amount of heart but lacks some depth at times. It actually could have used a little more of Snyder's patented Slo Mo to slow down some of the fighting and hash out more of the destruction, but I thinking he was going for a more realistic look to the Kryptonian action.

At times the film does feel a little thrown together, occasionally missing good opportunities to build character and emotion, but I've kind of grown use to that from these popcorn blockbusters now. I also wished the writing was more fleshed out and dynamic for the characters, especially for Lois and Clark. It causes their performances to be somewhat flat and less iconic than there predecessors (Reeves and Kidder). Still, the film is pretty entertaining for a superhero movie. TDK and Avengers are better though which I suspect will show in the box offices returns.

wavelength writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:09:37 AM

Really cool movie and LOL at the critics who complain that there is not much joy or fun in this movie. How the movie was told in its timeline by going back and forth between the timelines did work as well too.

The only issue is, of course is Zack Snyder still is not much of a director (directing actors is not much of a strength of his) and it looked really forced that he was trying to emulate the Nolan style of directing. They should have gotten someone like Alfonso Cuaron to direct it, or someone like Ang Lee, Guillermo Del Toro, or at least a director who knows how to portray spectacle and at the same time knows how to actually direct and how to properly piece and direct together a story with substance.

But I came out of it satisfied actually rather than indifference (i.e. The Dark Knight Rises) or just like "Eh, whatever good movie" (i.e. new Star Trek) and at least Man Of Steel is better than those joke Marvel movies.

velocityknown writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:24:10 AM


I'd say it suffered from the same problems as The Dark Knight Rises. So I'd definitely say Nolan and Goyer had the biggest contribution to this film's problems. Definitely doesn't make me very hopeful for Interstellar.
velocityknown writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 9:53:40 AM

Okay, I've reasoned my thoughts out. Here we go:

I guess I'll preface with this: I've never been crazy about the Reeve/Donner films and I never saw Superman Returns. I entered Man of Steel with just about a clean of a slate that you can have, however, when it comes to this movie, it doesn't really matter what baggage you came in with. It's just not a very well made movie.

Spoilers ahead (duh)

This could've been a very good movie about fathers and sons, only they didn't seem interested in pursuing that theme after the first hour of the movie. They skipped right through the Jonathan Kent scenes and I never felt like the chemistry or material that Kal and Jor El shared was enough to make me feel invested in their relationship. Also, you just can't help but feel that Pa Kent is a little...illogical in what he says about keeping Clark's secret. It's one thing to say, "Don't fight kids because you could really hurt them." But to imply that he "maybe" shouldn't have kept a school bus full of children from drowning would be totally irredeemable for a character that wasn't being played by Kevin Costner. All I could think after that is: How stupid is he? Clearly, it'd be more of a problem if Clark was the only survivor of the crash. Either situation is going to draw attention to itself, at least the saving option comes with more lives saved and less guilt for his son.

Nothing between Kal and Jor worked because their whole scene was exposition of something we'd already seen. It was just boring.

Goyer's script ranged from inoffensive to just plain bad in so many places. There were lines that literally made me cringe backwards into my seat and one that actually made me throw my hands up in the air. The pacing and structure of it was all wrong as well. You have Superman getting his suit in the first 30/40 minutes which is fine, but they built it up as this moment where the audience is supposed to say "Finally!" Superman has his suit and he's flying!" But it just fell completely flat, probably because there was no real build up since the movie had pretty much just started (at least Clark's Earth story had).

Lots of moments that were annoyingly on the nose. Clark sitting in front of the Jesus stained glass. Sinking into the skulls. C'mon. You gotta be a bit more subtle than that.

Zod was a little too...villainy for a villain. Let me explain: He showed his cards to his detriment at every turn and it just made me think he was kind of an idiot. It also was never made clear which genetic beings he would want to wipe out on Krypton (stupid people?) and it seemed like his villainous plans were divulged only so that the audience would really have a clear picture of Zod as the bad guy. Because his coup makes sense considering what we've been presented with and then he talks about genocide like two seconds into his presentation to Jor El and you're just wondering: Is this guy the world's worst villain? Even Hitler didn't make the Holocaust a part of his original pitch. Michael Shannon, an actor I usually love, was lackluster here as he was never really given much to do except yell, which he does well, but it's nothing I haven't seen before done to much better effect.

Speaking of actors: Henry Cavill. Cannot tell if he is a good actor or not. He had some very good moments and more than a few moments where I felt as if the material would've been bad coming out of any actor, but also it didn't seem that he had the capability to elevate bad material (a la Andrew Garfield in The Amazing Spider-Man).

The ending was frustrating in a number of ways. It's supposed to be this huge moment when Superman kills Zod (because Superman doesn't kill I'm assuming) but he hasn't even been Superman long enough for us to be aware of the weight of this no-kill rule AND he just probably killed thousands of people with his reckless fighting. So it didn't really sit with me that he'd be so upset after just killing one evil dude. This might be a personal preference, but if Zack and Co really want to make this a 21st Century Superman, they should've dropped the Daily Planet angle. It made me so mad in its idiocy that people who definitely saw this guy fighting in Metropolis and other parts of the world, who was found so easily by a reporter, would walk into a newspaper organization with only a pair of glasses using HIS REAL NAME. One of the largest cities in the world was just destroyed, more reporters will be trying to find out who he is, they definitely will (and that's not even considering in this day and age that some people definitely got pictures of him on their phones), and they'll say, "Oh Clark Kent works at The Daily Planet. That secret last 2 full days!"

Anyway, I've written too much here. Sorry for that. Thank you for anyone who took the time to read this.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:04:59 AM

@Boogiel: Allowing Lois to know his true identity overcomes a huge problem we've all had for years with the SM franchise. Lois not recognizing Superman just because he wears glasses and slumps his shoulders is easily the dumbest part of the character's mythos. Sure it added nice irony and dynamic to Lois and Clark's relationship over the years, but people are way too cynical and serious now to buy that cheap plot device anymore.

I have to admit, I was a little concerned most of the film with how they would handle this, but I think by the end I really appreciated the new direction they chose with Clark's character. Lois' character, on the other hand, could use a lot of work in the next film. Kidder's ballsy LL was very dominant and reflective of the era the film was made. She smoked and talked like a sailor and commanded every scene she was in except when she was around Superman (who always made her panties wet). Amy Adams' LL just isn't tough enough for me. She doesn't have that commanding presence that I had grown to love from the character over the years. Its not Adams' fault, I've seen her better in other films (like Trouble with the Curve where she basically plays a Lois Lane of a law firm). It's just bad writing and lazy directing.

Speaking of bad writing, David Goyer has to be the luckiest writer in Hwood. He obviously has no clue sometimes how to flesh out a character. They are generally very flatly written much like Lois and Superman. He always blows his cookies on one character in the film (like Bane, Joker, Jor-el, or whatever character Ron Pearlman is playing in a Toro film) and then leaves everyone else completely devoid of any depth. Nolan should cut the chord with this hack and find a real writer for his next film.

SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:16:50 AM

Superman 2 is still the best superhero film ever made IMO. Followed by TDK, Blade 1 & 2, and The Avengers. I did like MOS more than all the other Marvel movies though (including Iron Man).
SACdaddy writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:17:56 AM

BTW that Gravity trailer looked AWESOME in 3D!!!!
tolgaboy writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:36:53 AM

f*ck you all
tolgaboy writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:37:16 AM

Superman is the best
struck21 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 10:53:42 AM

I just want to know how old that dog was. They showed flashbacks when he was maybe 10 and he is 33 so the dog is at least 23.
SaulSilver writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 12:17:24 PM

I gotta agree with what Mink is saying sort of, but also say that I'm as guilty of it as anyone as well. These days....I only actually go to the movies for the big spectacle films that are meant to be seen on the big screen. I save smaller films and comedies for viewing within my own home. I Know this kind of viewing probably hurts the bottom line of those types of films, but I just find it to be the best way to enjoy them.
And although he's right about the general movie going public....I don't think it's really that much of a bad thing.
Maybe I'm just too laid back and easy going, but sometimes you just gotta accept the way the world has become and realize your better off going with the flow than expecting to be able to change things.
KillerCOck writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 1:41:54 PM

I loved it but They wasted alot of f*cking useless time on Jor-El who was the worst f*cking thing about the film.
donangel01 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:00:08 PM

Man you guys are unbelievable!!! If a movie has too much action, it's bad. if there isn't enough action, it's bad. If there isn't a story, it's bad, if too much story, it's bad. I swear, it's like being in a room with a pack of bitches!! you guys are like women in a support group or like some book club. all you do is complain. you go watch a movie and then come here and talk bad of it. YET you ALL go an WATCH!!!

there JUST movies! make believe. they are all what they are worth, the $10 and the 2 to 3 hours of your night. I go every Friday and catch a movie and during the summer 2 movies on the weekend. I run my business all week long and deserve to just enjoy a good movie. back to work Monday and then same at end of week. it's just leisure, never have I left one and complained about it. it's just a scripted event like any other.
do you guys like any movies?? bicker bicker bicker, like a pack of whores.
P.S. you all know I am right but I know all the smartass immature comments are sure to follow now. But I am right. as I read each post for each movie topic, it's the same old bickering. so go ahead and pour on the stupid comments and curse words, but I am right
Stapes writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:14:00 PM

Not true, sac, he parts his hair on the other side when he's clark. Bitches be dumb.
mrstretch writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:28:00 PM

Too much shaky cam. No excuse for that bullsh*t.
velocityknown writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:39:22 PM


I reject the claim that I should blindly enjoy every movie just because. I love movies. I love going to the movies. It's my favorite thing. Even if I don't like the movie. But guess what? I also like for a movie to be good because it's an artform. And there's something very fun about seeing what missteps a movie made and how it could've been better.

So you're claim that we're not enjoying movies because we criticize them is idiotic. Surely you've had a movie you've disliked in the past. Think about that before you go an rant like that again.
sherv writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:48:54 PM

Just saw it at IMAX & it has to be one of the best films I've ever seen!! But I'm a big superhero fan so i'm going to be biased. Can't think of anything they could've done to make it any better & I've said from day one that Zack Snyder is a sh*thot director!
Stapes writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 3:58:13 PM

@mrstretch, I noticed that crap too, cinema verite is good, but when used properly. The cam got strangely stable during action scenes. I think it's a trick to keep retarded youth of this gen engaged and it's annoying as hell. I appreciated the BSG actor cameos though.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 4:53:55 PM

too many plot holes and bad story... I was hoping for an awesome movie...

What about his suit? What the hell was Superman's suit doing on an old surveyor ship that landed on Earth 8,000 years ago? LOl!!! We were laughing throughout the whole movie...

The government is trying to find out where he lives, but he tells the General he's from Kansas...lol. Who writes this sh*t? I could go on about the stupid sh*t in this movie...
Han0 writes:
on June 15th, 2013 at 8:58:35 PM

Does Man of Steel really need more story telling than the first hour itself? I think its safe to say everyone knows his origins by now..
goeygogo writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 12:43:02 AM

I really, really enjoyed this movie. I've been a pretty big Superman fan and watched everything since the first Christopher Reeve movie. However have never gotten into the comics. I don't know how they could have done any better job given the story the way they were telling it. Henry Cavill did a phenomenal (I don't throw that word around lightly) job. I really don't understand the negative reviews out there. Just people trying to one up each others' negativity because they think it makes them sound smart.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 5:21:18 AM

I put this film alongside the Transformers flicks. No brain, all action. Although Transformers at least tried to add personality and humour to their characters, although forced. The script was poor and the plot moved in such an erratic manner. Snyder has to learn that less can sometimes mean more when it comes to visuals and action. Henry was OK with what was given and I really can't remember him having to talk a lot, which is odd for the main character. I can't help feel like they have blown their wad over a computer screen and left themselves with a difficult task of a sequel.

Such a waste of an opportunity. The fanboys really do have to look outside their little bubble and realise that this film missed the mark for the larger audience at hand.
japaninmotion writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 5:59:59 AM

oh sulerman returns was boring cuz there wasnt enough action sobson oh moan of steel is boring ciz theres too much action boohoo. I loved it the moive tries too hardt o explain why zod comes back or why krypton is going it ?implode? but theres isnt the hey we can beat them if we just use kryptinite and zod doesnt give a sh*t about ruling the earth
SACdaddy writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 10:39:08 AM

Here's looking at you Stapes.

SACdaddy writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 11:31:22 AM

I wish someone would flip the script on this religious debate and start asking the Prometheus question "Was Jesus and alien like Superman?" and if so what are he and his "father's" real plans for Earth and mankind?

Am I the only one who was confused about I Jor El's true intentions for the human race. Does he want his son to just lead by example and inspire man to be kind to each other (like Jesus)? Or does he want Kal to eventually impregnate a human and spread his super seed so the Kryptonian race could live again? Why else would he embed the Kryptonian race's "codec" in his son's body? If this is the case, what happens to the human race? Is Jor El some alien Edward Longshanks trying to breed us out of existence Prima Nocta style? Giving humans Kal's powers might not exactly be a good thing considering he just destroyed an entire city and killed potentially millions to "protect" the planet. Does Earth really need more of these super beings roaming around causing property damage every time they fart? The more I think about this the scarier it gets!!! This actually sounds more like Scientology than Christianity to me. Alien beings sent from another planet to inspire humans to be nice to each other and eventually defend the Earth from meaner alien invaders. Isn't Tom Cruise somewhere playing this scenario out right now?


SACdaddy writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 11:32:08 AM

"an" not "and"
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:24:18 PM

best superman ever better than the avengers my opinion i'd love to see it knock one of camerons off 2nd spot titanic sh*t i'll be definately go and see it again in 2d this time

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved