WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Thriller
Apr 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson's "Hercules" TV Spot, From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Seth MacFarlane's "A Million Ways to Die in the West" TV Spot
Apr 14th, 2014
New TV Spot for "22 Jump Street," with Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill
Apr 14th, 2014
Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters
Apr 14th, 2014
James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Doesn't Like Last Two "Terminator" Films, Says T-800 Would Beat Alien Queen and Na'vi in Battle
Apr 13th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses "True Lies 2" and "Prometheus"
Apr 13th, 2014
Will Spider-Man Appear in "Sinister Six" Spin-Off?
Apr 12th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Apr 12th, 2014
"Divergent" to Split Last Book Into Two Movie, Release Dates Announced
Apr 12th, 2014
Johnny Depp Joins Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Apr 12th, 2014
"Street Fighter: Assassin's First" Web Series Unveils Ryu Trailer
Apr 12th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Reveals a Few "Transformers: Age of Extinction" Plot Details
Apr 12th, 2014
New Trailer for "24: Live Another Day" TV Series
Apr 12th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an Insult

Posted: June 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an InsultSubmit Comment
In a new interview with Gene Wilder (The Producers, Young Frankenstein), who just turned 80-years-old, the actor was asked why he hasn't acted in over twenty years. He replied that today's movies are too "dirty" and that includes the 2005 remake of his "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory."

"[Films are] so dirty. If something comes along and it's really good and I think I'd be good for it, I'd be happy to do it. Not too many came along," he said. "I mean, they came along, but I didn't want to do them. I didn't want to do 3D, for instance. I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

Wilder also doesn't like remakes, including "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," which was directed by Tim Burton and starred Johnny Depp in the role that Wilder played in the original movie.

"I think it's an insult," he said of the remake. "Johnny Depp, I think, is a good actor, but I don't care for that director. He's a talented man, but I don't care for him doing stuff like he did."

And finally, Wilder was asked for his thoughts about working in Hollywood today. "Yuck! I don't like it," he replied.

Source: Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:07:47 AM

The CNA care giver was asked what its like talking care of Wilder. "Yuk, I don't like it. "
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:09:19 AM

Wait. Gene Wilder is alive?

Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:39:46 AM

^^^^ Gene Wilder is alive? Lmao
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:48:01 AM

The guys got a bit of class and self respect. Something modern Hollywood actors don't have...
pornfly writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:53:57 AM

Good thing he didnt see Dark Shadows
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:03:44 AM

Blucher!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:12:27 AM

^ ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCkSJhCD6SA
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:15:01 AM

Wilder's awesome and I agree.
cress writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:53:00 AM

Gene Wilder is awesome. YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, BLAZING SADDLES...he's brilliant.
velocityknown writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:10:34 AM

I agree with him about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but I hate how broad of a brush people use to paint today's film landscape. There are films beyond the mainstream releases and I find it hard to believe that he hasn't seen a good number of independent roles thrown his way.

Why should we define the movie landscape by mainstream releases? Though I guess if you're 80 years old and that's all you hear about, you're inclined to do that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:21:05 AM

What does Richard Pryor gotta say?
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:26:40 AM

Forget edit buttons. There NEEDS to be a comments option for Putzman's reviews.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:59:44 AM

Gene Wilder sounds really gay and really senile.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:43:03 AM

"[Films are] so dirty" ... "I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

This coming from the man who starred in Blazing Saddles.

vincere01 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:54:57 AM

He has acted in the last 20 years. Get your facts straight!! I remember him having a guest star multiple episode story arc in the show will and grace(wife loved the show).

he played an old executive who was losing his mind. He was hilarious in it.

I also remember a recent doc*mentary/interview he did with alec baldwin. Talked about his life, career etc. Definitely worth checking out if you hadnt seen it. Its shot at wilders house
Planetastudios writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:04:43 PM

I agree with Wilder and he was amazing in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory, and will forever be a timeless classic. (because every student in america has seen that movie in their school).
frost-ogre writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 2:02:21 PM

Its was Gilda Radner's death that wreaked him! After that he was never the same guy.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:08:31 PM

He hasn't acted in a major theater release in over twenty years but he was in A and E's Murder in a Small Town in 1999, around 14 years ago. Great research!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:26:07 PM

The bar for accuracy is really low when using IMDb is considered research.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000698/
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:27:38 PM

Gene Wilder really should reviews movies for this website.

He can say: "Yuck! I don't like it!"

Which is what Bustin' Buttman's says when he sees a hot lady.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:55:43 PM

Even though i agree that the remake sucked balls, Wilder comes off sounding a bit like Richard Simmons here (which I guess would be a tad redundant considering what Mink called him).

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Josh Brolin Says He Was Almost Batman in "Batman vs Superman"

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Chris Evans Says He Almost Turned Down "Captain America" Because of "Fantastic Four"

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved