WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Some Kind of Beautiful," with Pierce Brosnan, Jessica Alba and Selma Hayek
Jul 19th, 2015
Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller is Here!
Jul 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an Insult

Posted: June 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an InsultSubmit Comment
In a new interview with Gene Wilder (The Producers, Young Frankenstein), who just turned 80-years-old, the actor was asked why he hasn't acted in over twenty years. He replied that today's movies are too "dirty" and that includes the 2005 remake of his "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory."

"[Films are] so dirty. If something comes along and it's really good and I think I'd be good for it, I'd be happy to do it. Not too many came along," he said. "I mean, they came along, but I didn't want to do them. I didn't want to do 3D, for instance. I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

Wilder also doesn't like remakes, including "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," which was directed by Tim Burton and starred Johnny Depp in the role that Wilder played in the original movie.

"I think it's an insult," he said of the remake. "Johnny Depp, I think, is a good actor, but I don't care for that director. He's a talented man, but I don't care for him doing stuff like he did."

And finally, Wilder was asked for his thoughts about working in Hollywood today. "Yuck! I don't like it," he replied.

Source: Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:07:47 AM

The CNA care giver was asked what its like talking care of Wilder. "Yuk, I don't like it. "
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:09:19 AM

Wait. Gene Wilder is alive?

Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:39:46 AM

^^^^ Gene Wilder is alive? Lmao
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:48:01 AM

The guys got a bit of class and self respect. Something modern Hollywood actors don't have...
pornfly writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:53:57 AM

Good thing he didnt see Dark Shadows
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:03:44 AM

Blucher!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:12:27 AM

^ ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCkSJhCD6SA
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:15:01 AM

Wilder's awesome and I agree.
cress writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:53:00 AM

Gene Wilder is awesome. YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, BLAZING SADDLES...he's brilliant.
velocityknown writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:10:34 AM

I agree with him about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but I hate how broad of a brush people use to paint today's film landscape. There are films beyond the mainstream releases and I find it hard to believe that he hasn't seen a good number of independent roles thrown his way.

Why should we define the movie landscape by mainstream releases? Though I guess if you're 80 years old and that's all you hear about, you're inclined to do that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:21:05 AM

What does Richard Pryor gotta say?
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:26:40 AM

Forget edit buttons. There NEEDS to be a comments option for Putzman's reviews.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:59:44 AM

Gene Wilder sounds really gay and really senile.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:43:03 AM

"[Films are] so dirty" ... "I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

This coming from the man who starred in Blazing Saddles.

vincere01 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:54:57 AM

He has acted in the last 20 years. Get your facts straight!! I remember him having a guest star multiple episode story arc in the show will and grace(wife loved the show).

he played an old executive who was losing his mind. He was hilarious in it.

I also remember a recent doc*mentary/interview he did with alec baldwin. Talked about his life, career etc. Definitely worth checking out if you hadnt seen it. Its shot at wilders house
Planetastudios writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:04:43 PM

I agree with Wilder and he was amazing in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory, and will forever be a timeless classic. (because every student in america has seen that movie in their school).
frost-ogre writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 2:02:21 PM

Its was Gilda Radner's death that wreaked him! After that he was never the same guy.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:08:31 PM

He hasn't acted in a major theater release in over twenty years but he was in A and E's Murder in a Small Town in 1999, around 14 years ago. Great research!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:26:07 PM

The bar for accuracy is really low when using IMDb is considered research.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000698/
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:27:38 PM

Gene Wilder really should reviews movies for this website.

He can say: "Yuck! I don't like it!"

Which is what Bustin' Buttman's says when he sees a hot lady.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:55:43 PM

Even though i agree that the remake sucked balls, Wilder comes off sounding a bit like Richard Simmons here (which I guess would be a tad redundant considering what Mink called him).

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved