WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "No Escape" Action Thriller, with Owen Wilson and Pierce Brosnan
Mar 6th, 2015
"Toy Story 4" is a Separate Story From "Toy Story" Trilogy
Mar 6th, 2015
Video: Adam Sandler Fights Bob Barker in a "Happy Gilmore" Reunion
Mar 6th, 2015
Trailer for Charlize Theron's "Dark Places" Thriller
Mar 6th, 2015
"The Expendables" TV Series in the Works with Sylvester Stallone
Mar 6th, 2015
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Mar 5th, 2015
Warner Bros CEO Says DC Films are Edgier Than Marvel Films
Mar 5th, 2015
Trailer for "Self/Less" Sci-Fi Thriller, with Ryan Reynolds and Ben Kingsley
Mar 5th, 2015
Ian McKellen is Sherlock Holmes in "Mr. Holmes" Trailer
Mar 5th, 2015
Jessie Usher to Star in "Independence Day 2" as Will Smith's Son
Mar 4th, 2015
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Oliver Stone's "Snowden"
Mar 4th, 2015
"Tron: Legacy" Director in Talks for "Gran Turismo" Video Game Film
Mar 4th, 2015
New Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Mar 4th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Captain America Poster
Mar 4th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an Insult

Posted: June 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an InsultSubmit Comment
In a new interview with Gene Wilder (The Producers, Young Frankenstein), who just turned 80-years-old, the actor was asked why he hasn't acted in over twenty years. He replied that today's movies are too "dirty" and that includes the 2005 remake of his "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory."

"[Films are] so dirty. If something comes along and it's really good and I think I'd be good for it, I'd be happy to do it. Not too many came along," he said. "I mean, they came along, but I didn't want to do them. I didn't want to do 3D, for instance. I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

Wilder also doesn't like remakes, including "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," which was directed by Tim Burton and starred Johnny Depp in the role that Wilder played in the original movie.

"I think it's an insult," he said of the remake. "Johnny Depp, I think, is a good actor, but I don't care for that director. He's a talented man, but I don't care for him doing stuff like he did."

And finally, Wilder was asked for his thoughts about working in Hollywood today. "Yuck! I don't like it," he replied.

Source: Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:07:47 AM

The CNA care giver was asked what its like talking care of Wilder. "Yuk, I don't like it. "
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:09:19 AM

Wait. Gene Wilder is alive?

Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:39:46 AM

^^^^ Gene Wilder is alive? Lmao
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:48:01 AM

The guys got a bit of class and self respect. Something modern Hollywood actors don't have...
pornfly writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:53:57 AM

Good thing he didnt see Dark Shadows
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:03:44 AM

Blucher!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:12:27 AM

^ ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCkSJhCD6SA
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:15:01 AM

Wilder's awesome and I agree.
cress writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:53:00 AM

Gene Wilder is awesome. YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, BLAZING SADDLES...he's brilliant.
velocityknown writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:10:34 AM

I agree with him about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but I hate how broad of a brush people use to paint today's film landscape. There are films beyond the mainstream releases and I find it hard to believe that he hasn't seen a good number of independent roles thrown his way.

Why should we define the movie landscape by mainstream releases? Though I guess if you're 80 years old and that's all you hear about, you're inclined to do that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:21:05 AM

What does Richard Pryor gotta say?
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:26:40 AM

Forget edit buttons. There NEEDS to be a comments option for Putzman's reviews.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:59:44 AM

Gene Wilder sounds really gay and really senile.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:43:03 AM

"[Films are] so dirty" ... "I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

This coming from the man who starred in Blazing Saddles.

vincere01 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:54:57 AM

He has acted in the last 20 years. Get your facts straight!! I remember him having a guest star multiple episode story arc in the show will and grace(wife loved the show).

he played an old executive who was losing his mind. He was hilarious in it.

I also remember a recent doc*mentary/interview he did with alec baldwin. Talked about his life, career etc. Definitely worth checking out if you hadnt seen it. Its shot at wilders house
Planetastudios writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:04:43 PM

I agree with Wilder and he was amazing in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory, and will forever be a timeless classic. (because every student in america has seen that movie in their school).
frost-ogre writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 2:02:21 PM

Its was Gilda Radner's death that wreaked him! After that he was never the same guy.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:08:31 PM

He hasn't acted in a major theater release in over twenty years but he was in A and E's Murder in a Small Town in 1999, around 14 years ago. Great research!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:26:07 PM

The bar for accuracy is really low when using IMDb is considered research.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000698/
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:27:38 PM

Gene Wilder really should reviews movies for this website.

He can say: "Yuck! I don't like it!"

Which is what Bustin' Buttman's says when he sees a hot lady.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:55:43 PM

Even though i agree that the remake sucked balls, Wilder comes off sounding a bit like Richard Simmons here (which I guess would be a tad redundant considering what Mink called him).

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved