WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an Insult

Posted: June 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an InsultSubmit Comment
In a new interview with Gene Wilder (The Producers, Young Frankenstein), who just turned 80-years-old, the actor was asked why he hasn't acted in over twenty years. He replied that today's movies are too "dirty" and that includes the 2005 remake of his "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory."

"[Films are] so dirty. If something comes along and it's really good and I think I'd be good for it, I'd be happy to do it. Not too many came along," he said. "I mean, they came along, but I didn't want to do them. I didn't want to do 3D, for instance. I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

Wilder also doesn't like remakes, including "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," which was directed by Tim Burton and starred Johnny Depp in the role that Wilder played in the original movie.

"I think it's an insult," he said of the remake. "Johnny Depp, I think, is a good actor, but I don't care for that director. He's a talented man, but I don't care for him doing stuff like he did."

And finally, Wilder was asked for his thoughts about working in Hollywood today. "Yuck! I don't like it," he replied.

Source: Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:07:47 AM

The CNA care giver was asked what its like talking care of Wilder. "Yuk, I don't like it. "
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:09:19 AM

Wait. Gene Wilder is alive?

Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:39:46 AM

^^^^ Gene Wilder is alive? Lmao
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:48:01 AM

The guys got a bit of class and self respect. Something modern Hollywood actors don't have...
pornfly writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:53:57 AM

Good thing he didnt see Dark Shadows
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:03:44 AM

Blucher!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:12:27 AM

^ ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCkSJhCD6SA
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:15:01 AM

Wilder's awesome and I agree.
cress writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:53:00 AM

Gene Wilder is awesome. YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, BLAZING SADDLES...he's brilliant.
velocityknown writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:10:34 AM

I agree with him about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but I hate how broad of a brush people use to paint today's film landscape. There are films beyond the mainstream releases and I find it hard to believe that he hasn't seen a good number of independent roles thrown his way.

Why should we define the movie landscape by mainstream releases? Though I guess if you're 80 years old and that's all you hear about, you're inclined to do that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:21:05 AM

What does Richard Pryor gotta say?
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:26:40 AM

Forget edit buttons. There NEEDS to be a comments option for Putzman's reviews.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:59:44 AM

Gene Wilder sounds really gay and really senile.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:43:03 AM

"[Films are] so dirty" ... "I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

This coming from the man who starred in Blazing Saddles.

vincere01 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:54:57 AM

He has acted in the last 20 years. Get your facts straight!! I remember him having a guest star multiple episode story arc in the show will and grace(wife loved the show).

he played an old executive who was losing his mind. He was hilarious in it.

I also remember a recent doc*mentary/interview he did with alec baldwin. Talked about his life, career etc. Definitely worth checking out if you hadnt seen it. Its shot at wilders house
Planetastudios writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:04:43 PM

I agree with Wilder and he was amazing in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory, and will forever be a timeless classic. (because every student in america has seen that movie in their school).
frost-ogre writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 2:02:21 PM

Its was Gilda Radner's death that wreaked him! After that he was never the same guy.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:08:31 PM

He hasn't acted in a major theater release in over twenty years but he was in A and E's Murder in a Small Town in 1999, around 14 years ago. Great research!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:26:07 PM

The bar for accuracy is really low when using IMDb is considered research.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000698/
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:27:38 PM

Gene Wilder really should reviews movies for this website.

He can say: "Yuck! I don't like it!"

Which is what Bustin' Buttman's says when he sees a hot lady.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:55:43 PM

Even though i agree that the remake sucked balls, Wilder comes off sounding a bit like Richard Simmons here (which I guess would be a tad redundant considering what Mink called him).

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved