WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an Insult

Posted: June 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Gene Wilder Says "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an InsultSubmit Comment
In a new interview with Gene Wilder (The Producers, Young Frankenstein), who just turned 80-years-old, the actor was asked why he hasn't acted in over twenty years. He replied that today's movies are too "dirty" and that includes the 2005 remake of his "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory."

"[Films are] so dirty. If something comes along and it's really good and I think I'd be good for it, I'd be happy to do it. Not too many came along," he said. "I mean, they came along, but I didn't want to do them. I didn't want to do 3D, for instance. I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

Wilder also doesn't like remakes, including "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," which was directed by Tim Burton and starred Johnny Depp in the role that Wilder played in the original movie.

"I think it's an insult," he said of the remake. "Johnny Depp, I think, is a good actor, but I don't care for that director. He's a talented man, but I don't care for him doing stuff like he did."

And finally, Wilder was asked for his thoughts about working in Hollywood today. "Yuck! I don't like it," he replied.

Source: Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:07:47 AM

The CNA care giver was asked what its like talking care of Wilder. "Yuk, I don't like it. "
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:09:19 AM

Wait. Gene Wilder is alive?

Taco writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:39:46 AM

^^^^ Gene Wilder is alive? Lmao
Cinemaisdead writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:48:01 AM

The guys got a bit of class and self respect. Something modern Hollywood actors don't have...
pornfly writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:53:57 AM

Good thing he didnt see Dark Shadows
Rambo writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:03:44 AM

Blucher!!!
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:12:27 AM

^ ^
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCkSJhCD6SA
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:15:01 AM

Wilder's awesome and I agree.
cress writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 8:53:00 AM

Gene Wilder is awesome. YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, BLAZING SADDLES...he's brilliant.
velocityknown writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:10:34 AM

I agree with him about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory but I hate how broad of a brush people use to paint today's film landscape. There are films beyond the mainstream releases and I find it hard to believe that he hasn't seen a good number of independent roles thrown his way.

Why should we define the movie landscape by mainstream releases? Though I guess if you're 80 years old and that's all you hear about, you're inclined to do that.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:21:05 AM

What does Richard Pryor gotta say?
Stapes writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:26:40 AM

Forget edit buttons. There NEEDS to be a comments option for Putzman's reviews.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 9:59:44 AM

Gene Wilder sounds really gay and really senile.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:43:03 AM

"[Films are] so dirty" ... "I didn't want to do ones that were just bombing and swearing."

This coming from the man who starred in Blazing Saddles.

vincere01 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:54:57 AM

He has acted in the last 20 years. Get your facts straight!! I remember him having a guest star multiple episode story arc in the show will and grace(wife loved the show).

he played an old executive who was losing his mind. He was hilarious in it.

I also remember a recent doc*mentary/interview he did with alec baldwin. Talked about his life, career etc. Definitely worth checking out if you hadnt seen it. Its shot at wilders house
Planetastudios writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:04:43 PM

I agree with Wilder and he was amazing in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory, and will forever be a timeless classic. (because every student in america has seen that movie in their school).
frost-ogre writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 2:02:21 PM

Its was Gilda Radner's death that wreaked him! After that he was never the same guy.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:08:31 PM

He hasn't acted in a major theater release in over twenty years but he was in A and E's Murder in a Small Town in 1999, around 14 years ago. Great research!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:26:07 PM

The bar for accuracy is really low when using IMDb is considered research.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000698/
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:27:38 PM

Gene Wilder really should reviews movies for this website.

He can say: "Yuck! I don't like it!"

Which is what Bustin' Buttman's says when he sees a hot lady.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on June 17th, 2013 at 7:55:43 PM

Even though i agree that the remake sucked balls, Wilder comes off sounding a bit like Richard Simmons here (which I guess would be a tad redundant considering what Mink called him).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved