WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg and George Lucas Predict Movie Tickets Will Cost $150 Soon

Posted: June 14th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg and George Lucas Predict Movie Tickets Will Cost $150 SoonSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg and George Lucas attended a panel at the USC School of Cinematic Arts, where the two filmmakers attempted to predict the future of the movie industry, stating that VOD will become the norm, while movie theaters will be rare and cost as much as $150 per ticket.

"There's eventually going to be a big meltdown," said Spielberg. "There's going to be an implosion where three or four of these mega-budgeted movies go crashing into the ground and that's going to change the paradigm again."

Lucas added: "You're going to end up with fewer theaters, bigger theaters with a lot of nice things. Going to the movies will cost 50 bucks or 100 or 150 bucks, like what Broadway costs today, or a football game. It'll be an expensive thing. [The movies] will sit in the theaters for a year, like a Broadway show does. Everything else will be on a small screen. It's almost that way now. 'Lincoln' and 'Red Tails' barely got into theaters."

Lucas went on to make another prediction, stating that brain implants will soon be used for entertainment purposes. He noted that such implants are already being used to control artificial limbs.

"The next step is to be able to control your dreams," said Lucas. "You'll just tap into a different part of your brain. You're just going to put a hat on or plug into the computer and create your own world. We'll be able to do the dream thing 10, 15 years from now."

Source: Variety

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:30:04 PM

also in the news;

nobody will be going to the movies.
SaulSilver writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:34:17 PM

Movie tickets arent even that much more expensive than they were twenty years ago.
Phoenix Fire writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:34:30 PM

Your stupid Alex.
SaulSilver writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:35:05 PM

Aside from the stupid 3d bullsh*t
WV-Films writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:35:53 PM

Welp, shoulda majored in Dream recording.
boogiel writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:37:27 PM

Great. Spielberg and Lucas go politics. Oh btw, it's cheaper to buy on DVD or rent it for $1.50.
SaulSilver writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:40:49 PM

"Lincoln' and 'Red Tails' barely got into theaters."

Than hey, why don't you washed up hacks try making a movie that isn't about sh*t we learned in 6th grade history class?
SaulSilver writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 10:47:00 PM

Not saying they aren't legends but I dare you to name two film makers whose greatness is more propped up by nostalgia than these two.

Maybe I just have fallen too far into today's what have you done for me lately attitude of the world.
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 11:03:47 PM

well i've had my imax 3d man of steel tickets booked since the 17th of may and thats cost me 87.00 thats just for 4 tickets by the time i buy me familys pop munchies etc it will have cost me around 150 pound probably more so for a family day out its already costing that mr spielberg :)
pornfly writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 11:05:25 PM

I recall a different source

And what ONETIME said
nuttie30xx writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 11:09:49 PM

you must live in the usa or something here in the uk the prices have more than tripled in the last 10 year a cheap ticket at my local odeon is 9 which is about 14 to 15 usd or there abouts

p.s cool name me nephew is called saul
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 11:34:04 PM

$150? RIP Hollywood.
telur writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 11:39:57 PM

what drug lucas and spielberg eat nowday?
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 13th, 2013 at 11:48:28 PM

Well Lincoln wasn't a big budgeted movie and it could have been put in more theaters if it wasn't a 3 hour snore Fest. Loved the movie but damn.. Thats boring as f*ck lol and red Tails just didn't have the huge audience potential.

As for $100+ For theaters. I HIGHLY doubt that'll ever happen. It has been costing more but that comes with the age of money and it being worth more. It'll never go more then $20 for a ticket. Nobody would pay that.

Also: Juat got home from Chicago. Had a good time lol, Jays won one and lost one. All in all good trip :)
30YoVirgin writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 12:05:05 AM

Shrooms. It makes you see the future
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 12:19:19 AM

Lucas is just talking absurd sh*t now because he sold Star Wars to Disney like a Ho and he's just gonna do f*ck-all for the rest of his life.

No movie has or ever will play in a theater for an entire year. In the next 10-15 years home tech will equal or exceed what theaters have and it will ALL be VOD/Streaming.

All movie theaters will close eventually like video rental stores did and physical media will go the way of the dodo.
Dirt writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 12:39:17 AM

3D tickets in Australia cost $26. Gold Class is like $49 I think.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 12:43:18 AM

Like I'm going to take predictions of the future from a guy who thought Jar Jar Binks was a proper cinematic character.

As for theaters...they'll just disappear as televisions get bigger and as resolution increases. Already they're working on making 4K televisions affordable. Eventually there will be a point where wall screens will be good enough for most people. That's in First World nations, like China and maybe the US. Everywhere else, theaters will be the norm for a long time yet.

As for the implant/dream control thing...Lucas is insane.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 12:59:45 AM

George Lucas says he's looking forward to Star Wars 7

Tanman32123 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:14:57 AM

Well duh lol ^
GreenLensman writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 1:38:54 AM

I find the idea of recording your dreams a highly fascinating subject. Whether we can plug our brains into a computer at one point is a completely different subject. However, it will take a lot more than 15 years for that technology to even begin being tested. There are some scientific experiments around that process neural signals into single pictures that manifest during REM sleep, but they are very obscure and have no credence by those results.

Anyway, Lucas is only mentioning that because eventually, it will happen, and when it does, it will be monopolized just like the film industry, and there will be professional dreamers who sell their dreams as art for people who are unable (or unwilling) to cognitively experience the same level of unconscious creativity. These ideas have been mentioned in many science fiction novels throughout the years, and is something that will be very real one day.
mark2828 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:14:36 AM

Thats pretty cool Green Lensman, I honestly dream about having sex a lot so maybe I can sell my dreams as porn videos one day. My dreams could never be art though cuz even when I'm awake I have no artistic talent to speak of so oh well
mark2828 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:23:42 AM

I wonder what the big movie bomb that crashes the industry is gonna be. Hey imagine if Marvel does end up shelling out all that money for Downey to be in Avengers 2 and because they did, they had to increase the pay for all the other Avengers stars AND THEN all that on top of all the money for the crazy special effects, but then it all happens to coincide with people finally having their fill of comic book movies, and so Avengers 2 comes out and it's a big box office disappointment or even a BOMB, and so think about it... maybe Avengers 2 will be the movie that crashes the industry!

But people would much rather see the next two Avatar movies be the ones that crash the industry because so many people hate James Cameron's big ego.

but no, I'm calling it, it's gonna be either Avengers 2 or 3, for the reasons I said above.

Anyone have any thoughts?
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:36:07 AM

Lucas didn't say anything about recording dreams. He said at some point a person will be able to receive a neural implant that will allow them to CONTROL their dreams, very much like a internal virtual reality.

But here's the question: why the hell would anyone want to record their dreams when recording what they imagine while awake would be a hell of lot more productive and useful, commercially, and here's the kicker: if you're awake, you can control what you imagine. No need for an implant. So Lucas is a f*cking idiot.

Besides, most people's dreams are garbage anyway: fragmentary, incoherent, wholly elusive and insubstantial. Might be a cool party game, sharing dreams, or something on which to waste more Youtube bandwidth instead of dancing cats and Justin Beiber, but recorded dreams will likely never have much commercial value, if any.

And then there's the matter of whether or not (not) people are going to want strange devices inside their heads just to record them being chased by a cheese sandwich.

Furthermore, as of recent, scientists in Japan have already started "recording" dreams using very expensive MRI machines. The technique doesn't actually record a dream, as getting direct visual information from the brain by magnetic scanning is neither practical nor commercially feasible. Instead, they look for patterns and match them to known patterns. If you're dreaming of a car, the MRI records your brain activity, the data is crunched into a pattern, and then that pattern is matched. Basically broad details instead of the bizarre minutia that makes dreams memorable. And even then, this primitive, crude technique has no better than a 60% accuracy rate.


Sure, people will say something like, well even the Wright brothers had to start somewhere, forgetting that nothing about flight was unachievable considering even heavy birds routinely accomplish the task. On the other hand, recording dreams requires access to deeper and widespread areas of the brain, a fact that would seem to indicate a single implant will never accomplish the task, assuming people opt for having weird devices shunted into their cerebrums.

More like you'd have to wear some kind of sleeping cap, which is far more practical and feasible than an implant, but this is Lucas, who invented midichlorians to explain the force and alien crystal skulls, so I wouldn't take much of what he says with any seriousness.

Long story short: Lucas said control, not record, but in either case, he should just shut up because now that his assets belong to someone else, he has no reason to speak.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:45:44 AM

"maybe Avengers 2 will be the movie that crashes the industry!"

Even after having read the article, assuming you did, you still think only one big bomb will be enough to implode Hollywood?

Even Spielberg thinks it'll be three or four, and I'd say upwards of ten, spread across the major studios, just because even a crashing freight train needs a lot of time to expend it's momentum.

GreenLensman writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:51:41 AM

I agree with Mink in that theaters will eventually disappear as bigger and better televisions become more affordable. Plus theaters are nasty, irritating places, especially on opening weekend. People talking during the movie, little kids who can't sit still...mass murderers...It's inevitable down to the point that I'm surprised they are still around today. It reminds me of the douche bags who go around saying "I hate Ebooks because you can't turn the pages like a real book"...It's the same thing as someone who goes to the theater to enjoy the experience of watching it on a big screen, next to hundred other people who could care less how your experience goes.

To say that the movie industry will "melt down" is a very hard thing to back up...But I do see a future where the only people going to the theater are poor as f*ck and can't afford a nice television / home theater system. So basically the opposite of what Lucas said in regards to the "bigger theaters with lots of nice things"...That's bullsh*t to me, all the good theaters will shut down and you will have little ghetto theaters where all the poverty stricken rats go, while the rest of us relax in our living rooms to a wall sized 8K rez.
mark2828 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:57:28 AM

Yeah I see your point. But then I still think either Avengers 2 or 3 will be the one bomb that starts that ten movie streak. because for one thing, I bet that when Avengers 2 or 3 bombs, Marvel/Disney, DC/Warner Bros, and Fox. will already have a couple of super hero movies completed or close to completion, and what are they gonna do but release them, and then BOOM 4 or 5 more bombs right there. could be how it goes down.
mark2828 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 3:58:49 AM

That last one was to Minkowski but thank you too GreenLensman for replying
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:01:00 AM


I said Lucas never mentioned recording dreams, he said controlling them, but then I go on to call Lucas an idiot for using the word record instead of control.

Regardless, Lucas is an idiot if he thinks people will want brain implants just to *control* dreams when most people already have a totally serviceable and controllable capability called imagination.

And how the f*ck he thinks a single small device inside the head will give people conscious control over a brain activity that only usually occurs when the individual is unconscious, I have no clue.

What a fatheaded idiot.
mark2828 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:06:21 AM

I wouldnt mind seeing AMC and Loews go the way of the dinosaur anyway, GreenLensman. 15 bucks for some popcorn and a Coke? f*ck those greedy bastards, lol. And yet they give you sh*t if you try to sneak in a soda bottle under your jacket.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:08:12 AM

That's why you put it next to your d*ck so it keeps your balls cool.
mark2828 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:10:45 AM

Yeah filmmakers think just because they can write some sh*tty sci-fi and then turn it into a movie that all of a sudden they're neuroscience experts or whatever, imagine trying to talk about hardcore neuroscience in front of film students. Might as well talk about how to ride a bicycle in front of a school of fish, lol
GreenLensman writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 4:17:57 AM

I realized he said "control" which is why I deviated from that bullsh*t and talked about recording them. People already have the ability to control their dreams. If that ability was amplified by a computer, the next step would inevitably be to record them and sell them as art, for people, connoisseurs if you will, who would appreciate the level of detail that only a certain kind of person can unleash in their dream state. It might not be a commercially demanding area of distribution, but there will be people out there who will pay millions for certain people to dream for them.

I'm really only on this subject because of what WV-Films posted at the top. I could talk about it all day long, the endless possibilities of dreams and what kinds gems lay hidden deep in your subconscious.
Kurskij writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 5:14:02 AM

Going to the movies already costs 50 bucks, but yeah, I get the point "theatrical experience" is going to cost you.

I do understand why there might and probably will be fewer theatres - because presumably people will be able to watch movies from the comfort of their homes with their 4k-5k projectors.

But IF they cost $100-150 to attend - that will only be attributed to greed of studios and owners. One thing that never changed during 100 years of cinema is "make a good movie, market it well and people will come". Do your f*cking job basically. However good home systems will be, before it'll be some kind of immersive virtual reality kit - people will always go to the movies, because you can't install IMAX screen in your living room.

As for "Lincoln and Red Tails barely got into theatres" - Lincoln is an HBO movie at its core, glorified, Day-Lewis starring, Spielberg directed HBO special. Like "John Adams". And "Red Tails" is simply not a very good movie with limited audience.

Lincoln earned $275 mil. WW though, so people clearly saw it. And if you had some problems getting it in theatres - boo-f*cking-hoo, no one ever this problem, you are the first.
Kurskij writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 5:20:54 AM

Oh, and if movies will cost $100-15- bucks like Broadway shows - what will it mean for, ah, Broadway shows?

Broadway costs more than cinema because those are real people working on stage, tens of them, plus a couple of dozen backstage. And they have to build and maintain the show for a year, change costumes, fix decorations if needed, eat, live and get paid.

Movie you film and show over and over again till the end of time if you so desire. Then why the f*ck would it cost like a live Broadway show?
HerrGeneral writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 5:58:41 AM

These guys know everything about anything especially making sh*tty movies like black pilots killing nazis during wwII
thenaturalist writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:00:05 AM

I dont know about prices for movies in the US or UK but here in OZ our local movie tickets actually came down in price.

They were charging about $18.50 for a 2d movie but now its only $8.50 or $9.90 at another cinema. 3d movie are a few extra dollars.
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:50:32 AM

Wow DP is def smoking crack that review of MOS could have been written better by a second grader
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 7:53:45 AM

The drive inns out here are still 7 bucks for 2 movies and as long as there isn't a couple feet of snow on the ground they'll run the movies
Tanman32123 writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:47:38 AM


"Most peoples dreams are such and such"

Don't Slander my dreams you bastard! Lol But you are right, Nobody's dreams are even worth remembering. But it would be cool to do whatever the f*ck I want in my dreams. But you don't NEED new technology for that, People can control their dreams easy, As long as you know how.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 10:55:56 AM

I feel that Independently owned movie theaters will see a return to popularity. Old histortic theaters in smalls town all across the nation still stand and have the potential to serve a very specific local experience. Hipsters love small theaters. I ran a movie theater in Columbus Ohio and one of our goals was to have affordable ticket prices and concessions. Our regular ticket price for an adult non-3d in the evening was $6.50. Our adult 3d ticket was only $8.50 and $6.50 for kids.

I worked directly with a booker to secure movie. I learned that, if you fight for a movie, you can get it. I got 35mm prints of My Week with Marilyn, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, The Artist, the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and Lawless to name a few. The studios didn't nesecarily wanna give them to us, but I fought for them.

One thing people don't know is that it's the theaters asking for the high dollar prices, not the studios. The studios agree to take a percentage of your ticket. The studios never once cared about the price of our tickets.

Although the theater was forced to close because the sh*tty mall it was attached to had its power shut off, I do we feel we made an impact on other theaters in the Columbus area. To this day I see non 3d ticket prices for $7 and I wonder if those theaters offered that because we did.

Lol one time the Marcus theaters (big boy theaer) down the road (less than 3 miles away) lost electricity on the release of The Amazing Spider-man. LOL everyone came to our theater. I made a sh*t ton of money that week.
BigRedCat writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 11:06:02 AM

Insofar as dream/brain control ... I have no interest. These are just the ramblings of two nerds.

Pills that contain entire meals, like in the Jetsons, will never catch on because people love eating too much.

This dream control sh*t wont work because most people are boring and unimaginative, which is unfortunately why Speilberg and Lucas were popular in the first place. The fandom these men have conjured is an illustration of how this dream control sh*t will never work. If other people were on whole just as imaginative they wouldn't spend the money and time to dress up like hobbits and collect stamps.
DeVries writes:
on June 14th, 2013 at 5:46:33 PM

Yeah, and if it ever happens, shame on people like you, Spielberg and Lucas. So f*ck you and f*ck your sh*t.
swoooop writes:
on June 16th, 2013 at 4:29:19 PM

100-150 bucks? Well, that would solve the piracy problem...no... wait!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved