WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First "Man of Steel" Reviews Arrive Online

Posted: June 11th, 2013 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First "Man of Steel" Reviews Arrive OnlineSubmit Comment
"Man of Steel" is set to hit theaters this Friday (June 14th), but the first reviews are now appearing online. While most are extremely positive, as more reviews are released, the better idea we get of what to expect.

On RottenTomatoes, "Man of Steel" has a 70% fresh rating, which has been dropping all day. Many critics love the movie, but others believe it's nothing more than one big action scene, with little else. Almost everyone agrees it's entertaining and far better than "Superman Returns." Check out some of the reviews below.

* We Got This Covered: A true historical milestone. (10/10)

* SFX: This is a Superman for today. (9/10)

* Screen Crush: Scratched all my fanboy itches. (9/10)

* Empire: This is spectacular sci-fi. (8/10)

* The Playlist: We finally sigh in relief. (8/10)

* Hey U Guys: The biggest surprise of the summer so far. (8/10)

* Digital Spy: Not quite the perfect movie. (8/10)

* Indiewire: The most dazzling Superman movie. (7/10)

* Cole Smithey: Never connects tone, rhythm, and theme into a unifying whole. (6/10)

* Crave Online: Just dull. (4/10)

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 7:49:49 AM

Way to go WB suits. You bought a blockbuster.
Stapes writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 8:11:55 AM

Almost everyone agrees its better than Singer's? No sh*t.
Dr. Damariusvashanti writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 8:38:23 AM

Smallville is better than singers
Rambo writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 8:46:16 AM

The sh*t I took this morning is better then singers
rocketman writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 9:30:40 AM

The sh*t sandwich I had this morning is better than Singers
FrancoUnAmerican writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 9:44:59 AM

The puke that I puked today is better than Singers
dioncassio01 writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 9:51:56 AM

I will laugh so hard if fails. with a overrated director that didn't made nothing that i can say wow
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 9:52:54 AM

"but others believe it's nothing more than one big action scene, with little else"

Just like every single comic book blockbuster movie! I don't expect a masterpiece and I'll watch it for what it's supposed to be: entertainment. Even Spielberg failed with his Lincoln so a comic book...Pffft!
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 9:56:43 AM

Iwonder if all these stupid critics,, who fall over Man of Steel, Star Trek and Fast and Furious, would have had such a job back in the 1940s, 50s and 60s when nary an explosion, sports car street chase or spandex-wearing superhero could be found, nor was there an ounce of CGI and the VFX was minimal and used only when needed.

I really do think CGI has ruined cinema, and the critics are too often mindless loyal followers of it, and explosive action spectacle, to serve as useful cinema reviewers.

Just too damned easy to be a critic these days.
BadChadB33 writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 10:05:59 AM

Wonder what dipsh*t DPs review will be?
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:02:29 AM

Neither Jake Coyle of the Associated Press nor Variety like Man of Steel

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/review-laden-man-steel-doesnt-soar-092446914.html

http://movies.yahoo.com/news/film-review-man-steel-030037861.html
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:05:35 AM

I just burned my tongue.
Stapes writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:11:40 AM

Judging fron the Putzman's reviews of snyder's past work: I'm guessing a 4 or 5. If it has a penile shot of Supes: perfect 10.
kickit writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:24:10 AM

If only they'd hired a real director instead of Snyder, he's s poor man's Michael Bay.
Stapes writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:36:03 AM

My humble opinion of Snyder's past work:

Dawn of the Dead - fantastic, responsible for the whole annoying zombie trend now though, so it's a two-edged blade in that respect.

300 - annoyingly overrated, responsible for every latent homosexual soldier and marine's overused "This is Sparta!" meme.

Watchmen - a decent enough if not respectfully faithful attempt at adapting every shoe-gazing "comics are as important a literary art form as novels," geek douche's bible.

Suckerpunch - seriously... should have been called nutpunch, because that's what you feel like you got after leaving the theater and realizing you'll never get that 90 minutes back.

Man of Steel (prediction) - the fact that this will be a huge success goes without saying. One reviewer said it's Snyder's best work since Dawn of the Dead, if that's the case then I'm optimistic. I'll probably go see this, hope I don't leave feeling raped.
Fightclub1 writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:36:50 AM

The thing to me is, the people that don't like it seem to want more of a silly superman than anything else. Not that there's anything wrong with that I just wish people would make up their minds. Most people that didn't like superman returns said it didn't have enough action, now they are saying this has to much. Haha make up your mind. Regardless I think the movie will be phenomenal and I can't wait to see it.
Stapes writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:41:26 AM

Oh yeah, almost forgot... that Owl cartoon. Serviceable enough for kids I guess.
velocityknown writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 11:42:13 AM

Hitfix loved it: http://www.hitfix.com/motion-captured/review-zack-snyders-man-of-steel-delivers-a-whole-new-level-of-superhero-thrills
vincere01 writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 12:26:10 PM

Im calling it. Man of steel will out gross IM3 and have better reviews. Im gonna say 1.5 to 1.6 billion end total
witwicky-potter writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 1:15:56 PM

Snyder dropped the ball with Sucker Punch,I hope he can redeem himself with this one.I predict a 700-900 million gross for this.
thelazybum writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 1:37:07 PM

Apparently its too many action that has offput critics on RT who marked it rotten. I wonder what is it they were expecting.

Anyways, Not sure if anybody will dig this, but here is complete score for MOS from Hans Zimmer.

blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/listen-hans-zimmers-complete-score-for-man-of-steel-20130610
Biz Malarkey writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 1:51:10 PM

Deaf - you shouldn't hit the bowl from the carb no wonder you burned your tongue
SACdaddy writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 2:09:30 PM

Too much action?!?! Look I understand the need for a narrative and by all mean encourage it, but these people complaining should go read a few Superman comics then get back to me about the amount of action in the film. The Supes comics I grew up reading were loaded with action. His powers were always on full display constantly reminding you why he was the most powerful superhero ever created. We've had 5 movies already to build the character. He might be one of the most iconic characters in the world. It's about time someone gave us the action that also made his comics great.
Stapes writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 2:30:28 PM

How quickly people forget the positive consensus among critics for Singer's. Even my favorite film critic gave it a glowing review. I NEVER liked it. I hope MOS is different.
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 2:37:54 PM

Superman comics are NOT non-stop action, and the people saying so probably should try reading one before making such an ignorant comment.
WallyDee writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 3:17:24 PM

''I really do think CGI has ruined cinema, and the critics are too often mindless loyal followers of it, and explosive action spectacle, to serve as useful cinema reviewers.''

@Mink

Well said
WallyDee writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 3:19:33 PM

Still cant wait to see this one! They're gonna do a midnight Imax screening here in Holland next week, im definitely going.
pornfly writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:13:59 PM

Even the JL cartoons arent action packed
For the most part theyre the same story lines as the comics

I blame the networks for playing content over the closing credits of tv shows and shortening or omitting opening credits of tv shows for the ADD of audiences

Anything to keep the audience from changing the channel
velocityknown writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:48:00 PM

My concern is that it Tranformers 3s its climax and drags it on for way too long. No climax should start halfway through a movie. Completely desensitizes a person to what the hell is going on. Too much action is absolutely a valid complaint.
james236 writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:48:17 PM

Just picked up the steelbook mos soundtrack. Have yet to open it
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:48:29 PM

In related news:


http://themetapicture.com/the-evolution-of-an-icon/
Rambo writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:48:57 PM

Michael Bay is up to something new:

http://www.imdb.com/news/ni55774494/?ref_=hm_nw_tp_t1
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:57:58 PM

Actors laughing between takes…(good ones)


http://themetapicture.com/actors-laughing-between-takes/
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 4:59:26 PM

When Night Shamawanker was supposed to be...:


http://themetapicture.com/oh-2002/
M. Bullitt writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 5:00:47 PM

Off topic, I like this one too:


http://themetapicture.com/back-when-education-was-for-the-99/
sedibus writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 5:36:37 PM

Nah, this is steril bullsh*t, doesn´t work quite, I mean, as my granpa said to me before he died:

Movies from Hollywood are entertaining but empty. Dropping thousands of millions on effects. They live for that.

By the way, I recently saw The Big O, what a big f*cking epic animated tv series. As I was watching it, I was seeing and now I´m worried that Pacific Rim has been riping the sh*t out of this Anime.

Anyway, All photorealistic cgi in Hollywood is animation. You know.
sedibus writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 5:41:45 PM

Want to see a good Sci-Fi Film with little to none Effects, go and watch Andrei Tarkovsky´s STALKER adaptation of the Stugarsky Brothers novel Roadside Picnic, I think that the creator of GANTZ stole elements from that book.

Well. That´s the job of the thief and is rough too, you know.
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 6:19:50 PM

@sed: I think I said, weeks ago, there's a cool connection between Pacific Rim and Big O, and that I would love to be the first person to mix Pacific Rim's live-action footage with Big O's theme.

Not tooting my own horn, but...
minkowski writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 6:21:57 PM

In reality, Pacific Rim is a live action Neon Genesis Evangelion.
Rambo writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 6:37:34 PM

Many critics love the movie, but others believe it's nothing more than one big action scene, with little else.

sounds already better Iron sh*t 3 and STD into herpes
Rambo writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 6:38:42 PM

better then
Deaft0ne writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 6:41:08 PM

@mink

I already mentioned this a while ago, but it's historically the original summer films that end up being the best ones. I think it will be Elysium and Pacific Rim.
WallyDee writes:
on June 11th, 2013 at 7:00:19 PM

@Rambo

Man, you said it!

That was probably the most disappointing movie of the year, and we're only half way there....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved